Sydney Stack Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Roksman

OK. Split hairs if you want to. Make it: “Impossible to know whether he would have gone off the rails so badly without COVID”. Or, “Impossible to know whether he might have been able to get back onto the rails without COVID”.

My point still stands. Contracted Richmond player well out of his depth. The only way we part company is at the end of his contract and until that time we do everything we can to get him back on track. We do it because we take player welfare seriously. We do it because taking player welfare seriously is good for the club. And we do it because it is the right thing to do.

In other words we do it because we are everything that Collingwood isn't.

A proper footy club!

For those suggesting we need to take him back and give him additional support, where is that money gonna come from? Serious question. We just slashed millions out of our budget. Because to do it, we would have to cut further out from coaching or another resource. Just curious to see the responses.

If no lock down in 2021, gate receipts that we missed out on this year would do it all things being equal

I agree as i reckon he wouldn’t have the respect of the playing group. I was talking with a friend today and we were commenting on the role models and leaders at the club who he can learn from. From Shedda, Rioli and Marloin to Cotch, Jack etc. It’s mind blowing. Yet, behaviourally nothing is changing.
Even take footy out of the equation, it’s a harsh world out there, i hope whatever happens, the kid ends up okay.
Honestly, I can’t pick which way this is gonna go. But, the courts may make the decision for the club. Just remarkable we are talking about this 4 days from x mas. Mind blowing.
He acts like someone who doesn’t care what real supporters think of him, more concerned about how many phantom friends he has on insta and tic toc.

If one of the immortals is up to it make Stack live with I do not know ummm say Francis Bourke

Where he will have to ask permission to leave the dinner table let alone breach a quarantine restriction.

1608554500168.png

Read this on another site.
" Reason that Syd was overlooked by all clubs in the first place in the draft was heavily tied to an incident whereby he had too much to drink one night - got into a fight and as a result another person received a broken jaw. "
Also lost his licence just after getting it for drink driving

Start a thread on WA injustice. It's a valid topic. But it's got nothing to do with a footballer breaking covid rules.

Breaking covid rules isn't WA bias. It's dumb, repeatedly so, dumb behaviour.

Just like all the other young players that make dumb mistakes.

does anyone seriously believe that he was targeted by the cops because he is indigenous, because that’s what some are alluding to, he broke the rules, if he hadn’t got on the sauce at 1-40 in the morning and got involved in a blue, the cops wouldn’t even know he switched houses, unless they did a random door knock which they didn’t .

if he hadn’t got involved in a blue outside the strippers, we wouldn’t have heard a thing about both the boys being out on the town.

his problem is the booze, which leads to brawls......consistently, it has nothing to do with wa laws and blacks in custody as Aristotle Onnasis seems to spruik.

Are the crowd that said “give him one more chance” after kebabgate the same calling for “one more chance” now?

RFC should be proud of their effort to offer this troubled kid a pathway to a great future. He’s pissed and shit on them and it’s time to keep culture intact and Cut him loose as soon as he is out of Gaol.
I thought this guy could be next Wanganeen.
I hope others remind him of the future he could have had (and many of us could only dream of) if he was prepared to put the effort in.
I actually don’t think he would give a shit.

Indigenous peoples make up 29% of the prison population in 2020. As reported. By the ABS.

Is 29% of the Aus population indigenous Australians?

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander imprisonment rate decreased by 1% from 2,304 to 2,285 prisoners per 100,000 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander adult population.

At 30 June 2020:

• Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander prisoners made up 29% of all prisoners.
  • Male prisoners made up 91% (10,963) of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander prisoners.
  • Female prisoners made up 9% (1,134).
  • The median age was 32.1 years.
  • 79% had experienced prior adult imprisonment.

This is from the ABS, and it's current.

Source:

At some point criminality has to be a consideration.

He acts like someone who doesn’t care what real supporters think of him, more concerned about how many phantom friends he has on insta and tic toc.
Not true he always gives a heartfelt apology to the tiger army, because what he does repeatedly is so out of character, and he will not do it again

Not sure about you guys but when i heard the news today that he will be spending the next 14 days in prison my reaction was good he bloody deserves it.

* No Xmas
* No Ney Years
* No party's
* No fights
* No Drinking

He will be a very very lucky boy if thats all he gets and a fine and wouldnt surprise me at all if there is more time to be served, He has proven time and time again he has no respect for the law or rules and is easily disracted.

This could be the best thing thats happened to him and may stop him from falling off a cliff completely and might be the wakeup he needs to get his priorities straight and life in order and will need to pull a rabbit out of a hat to save his career.

You do the crime then you do the time and own it.

he's spitting on the club, every member who paid his $100k fine, and every other player who is doing the hard yards and doing the right thing
This comment is not your finest moment.

Think football is the least of his worries tbh.
He’s a very talented player but that’s irrelevant to the situation and his past is also irrelevant right now.
I’d hate to think that what we’ve seen from Sydney is the best we will ever see but it’s looking very likely which is a terrible shame.

The club will support him make no mistake, but that doesn’t necessarily mean as a listed Richmond player. He needs to get his life back on track first and foremost and if he does that’s awesome. That might see him given a second chance elsewhere in footy that might be as a rookie at the tigers down the track, but thats where he’s at.

A year playing for our seconds and rehabilitating his life on the cards I think.

Very unfortunate.

In fact the whole - stop over in Adelaide meaning 14 days in quarantine rather than no quarantine - is extremely unfortunate. I wonder how that came about.

Who knows how his state of mind will be after a couple of weeks in the watch house. Probably not too good.
https://www.msn.com/en-au/money/tec...ricks-best-shopping-hacks-to-know/ar-BB1c6KVw
https://twitter.com/share?url=http:...er=http://a.msn.com/01/en-au/BB1c6bld?ocid=st
Richmond AFL rookie Sydney Stack is set to spend Christmas alone behind bars as a result of his alleged breach of Western Australia's strict quarantine laws.

a person holding a racket: Richmond's [PLAYERCARD]Sydney Stack[/PLAYERCARD] will spend Christmas behind bars after allegedly breaching WA quarantine.
© Scott Barbour/AAP PHOTOS Richmond's Sydney Stack will spend Christmas behind bars after allegedly breaching WA quarantine.
Stack, who was arrested on Saturday night and refused bail, is in isolation at Hakea Prison.

His case briefly returned to the Perth Magistrates Court on Monday and was heard in his absence, with his lawyer saying she had been unable to speak to the 20-year-old and therefore could not progress the matter any further.

His case was adjourned to January 6 for a further mention by videolink.

The court earlier heard that prisoners at Hakea who are alleged to have breached quarantine are required to serve a fresh 14 days isolation upon entering the remand facility.

Player manager Paul Peos said Stack, who is mourning the recent death of his grandfather, was "very distressed and very upset" during a brief phone conversation.

"I'm very worried about his short-term welfare," Peos told reporters outside court.

"It's been very difficult to have communications. I've been very disappointed. But we'll continue to try and engage with him as best we can."

Attachments

• 1608578024397.png
    1608578024397.png
    68 bytes · Views: 19
Don’t mean to make light of the situation but that top comment is amazing

People only see the drunk side of this and miss out on the COVID19 breach. Same thing in Queensland wasn't the little punch up that got them into trouble it was the covid breach. Cost the club big dollars and I suppose was given a chance and what does he do post drunk pics and now this. I have a feeling this is the end for him.

This comment is not your finest moment.
Why is that it's true. How many chances does one need? We gave him a chance when no one else would, we let him off for what happen you know where and he repays how? Cant hack training excuse go back for funeral and acts like a kid and now this. Now the drink is to blame just like a killer has mental issues needs PSYCIATRIST. What were the rfc rules brought in remember? No d policy

Very kind to ask and thank you.

Going ok. Battling Stage 4 Kidney Disease, but if I stay off VB_longneck diet tips I should be ok.

I have nothing to complain about.

Haere Ra

that’s what my doctor told me as well, stay safe