Sydney Stack Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Roksman

Reckon a bloke like Liam Jurrah could give Stack a clear perspective of what life could be like without AFL and what thats like to live with.
Jurrah played nine more games than where stack is at now, he came through the same draft as Rockliff who only just retired and got 204 games in a 9 year career.

One things clear, the way Stack is approaching his opportunity isnt working

This comment is not your finest moment.

You want me.tonhave pity on a guy who shows us zero respect? Sorry, no.

It's easy to say the words, but it's deeds that matter. And his deeds are he doesn't give a **** about us. He cost the club $100k. People lost their job because of that. And what does he do, the exact same thing just months later.

I never want to see him in yellow and black again

Are the crowd that said “give him one more chance” after kebabgate the same calling for “one more chance” now?

RFC should be proud of their effort to offer this troubled kid a pathway to a great future. He’s pissed and sh*t on them and it’s time to keep culture intact and Cut him loose as soon as he is out of Gaol.
I thought this guy could be next Wanganeen.
I hope others remind him of the future he could have had (and many of us could only dream of) if he was prepared to put the effort in.
I actually don’t think he would give a sh*t.

Personally I would give him many more chances depending on the nature of the indiscretions, but as a footballer he must like everybody else be judged on his impact, his results.

In Brisbane he made a shocking error but he would be every chance to make it again. I think it is better to just accept that and rule accordingly. The AFL and the club would be justified in saying to him in future if there are strict rules around Covid conduct for players then Sydney you are not going to be allowed to be involved and will need to stay away. Nobody could say that is unfair. Or you are only allowed to be involved under extremely strict conditions, with a minder at all times, funded by you, something along those lines.

The club should not be using this latest issue as a trigger to sack him for other reasons. If turning up insufficiently fit for pre season is deemed intolerable, then act on that. If not being focussed enough on his footy is deemed intolerable then deal with it at the point you make the assessment. If he is too disruptive to the group or other individuals then remove him for that reason.

It is not a matter of one more chance for mine. It is clear this player is not going to follow certain rules to the extent the average player will. We are not in a position to know whether that is due to a lack of will on Stack’s part, or a lack of ability. If it is both then the correct action is sack. If it is just ability, then put things in place to help him. If it is a lack of will then take actions to try to motivate him to adhere to the rules, the 10 week suspension is an example of that type of action.

Elements of his conduct are either tolerable within the environment or they are not. There is a type of management of people I have seen in workplaces that says you did this and this and this and this and you did that and so you now doing x is the straw that breaks the camel’s back, we cannot trust you to do the right thing so we are demoting/sacking or whatever. I hate that.

Just put the appropriate sanction on any act that is actually wrong for the workplace at the time it occurs, and ignore everything else.

If the club looks at this situation and says in the current environment we just cannot afford to have players who cannot follow Covid rules at the club(as opposed to players who make one error) then it is fair to exclude Stack from the club for that reason. And perhaps consider having him return if the danger passes. If they can accomodate him despite him establishing he is not able to follow COVID rules then this should be considered on its merits.

Leave me out of this one last chance thinking, it is nonsense.

For those suggesting we need to take him back and give him additional support, where is that money gonna come from? Serious question. We just slashed millions out of our budget. Because to do it, we would have to cut further out from coaching or another resource. Just curious to see the responses.
I've called for us to bring him back, additional support doesn't need to cost money. Get him living with a team mate or a family like the new recruits usually do where he has someone ensuring he is training and adhering to any other conditions imposed on him. Club would already have psychologists/psychiatrists on staff that he can get access to. Like I said put strict conditions on his return and if he can't/won't abide by them then send him on his way, but without completely abandoning him.

Where he's going is like a remand where they have specialist management units for vulnerable and new prisoners to help overcome those issues.
He will have better access to facilities than 99% of quarantined return travellers in Australia.
You sure he is going there and not to solitary as has been suggested. He will be in isolation for two weeks with no contact with anybody, so that would be equivalent to returned travellers. Access to what in these units?

He's not in jail for his supposed crime. He's been ordered to restart quarantine. As he cannot be trusted to self isolate ( multiple offender ) he finds himself locked up. Stop blaming the judicial system in WA. Like the rules or not he should have adhered to them as part of his entry agreement and his failure to do so is why he in this position. Stop trying to defend a person who has a disrespect for the law.
Well plenty in other states have not been jailed, hundreds here in Victoria were fined or warned. The law can sometimes be an ass.

The more I think about the gravity of the situation that Sydney has put himself in, being incarcerated for 14 days, the sadder I feel about it. What a monumental fu** up.
You’re right , my first reaction was u ****en idiot , now I shake my head , I feel for him, and he’s actually coming back from further than I imagined when you really consider his background , he certainly wasn’t born with a silver spoon in his mouth

Apparently should have quarantined because his flight stopped over in Adelaide for an hour. If that's true, to spend time in prison for what really is a technicality is ridiculous.

BACK!!!!!
He gave details of where he would
be isolating and agreed to isolate . Regardless of whether the rules are ridiculous or not , he knew them and intentionally broke them as he did on the Gold Coast .

I wonder if the all the other people who have done exactly what stack has done (and don't say they haven't because that's how this virus has spread) have been sacked from their jobs and ridiculed. Yes hes done the wrong thing but he isn't the only one and just because hes famous shouldn't make a difference. I guarantee there is people on this forum who didn't stick to the rules either with isolation and everything

You’re right , my first reaction was u fu**en idiot , now I shake my head , I feel for him, and he’s actually coming back from further than I imagined when you really consider his background , he certainly wasn’t born with a silver spoon in his mouth

A few years ago I worked in vocational training with 15-19 year olds who were deemed "at risk" (of long term unemployment, homelessness, drug addiction, you name it).

We gave them structure, encouragement, support -- everything we could to help them.

The outcomes were, on the whole, pretty good even though there was always the odd kid who just refused to be helped.

My only point is that I had no idea until I did this job just how tragic some kid's lives are, or just how much they really have to overcome.

It's a very, very big hill for some of them.

I have no idea where SS sits on the scale, but I think we'd have regarded him as one of the more challenging cases.

Just remarkable we are talking about this 4 days from x mas. Mind blowing.
12 months ago it was Rance retiring that hogged the news. Wonder what our 3 peat will be next Christmas

It turns out the information from Peos about quarantined people on remand cannot have magistrate video hearings is false. A statement was put out by Dept of Justice to clarify it.

I wonder why Stack didn't show for yesterdays hearing?

Emergency order is his own fault. Cannot be trusted given his record in constantly disregarding the law

Also, two hours exercise is better than the one hour hotel quarantine inmates around Australia are allowed.

A spokesperson for WA's Department of Justice said prisoners at Hakea did not have their quarantine periods reset unless they returned a positive COVID-19 test or were subject to an emergency order imposed by WA Police.
"Prisoners subject to quarantine are isolated in their cells, where they can receive meals, medical and other services, provided with the appropriate protections in place," he said.
"They cannot receive social visits but can make telephone calls and are allowed out of their cells to exercise on their own for up to two hours a day.
"Quarantined prisoners can make video-link court appearances, done in accordance with COVID-19 protocols."

I am very uncomfortable and concerned for Sydney's mind set given his lawyers and manager are finding it difficult to get to him and increasingly he's being isolated more.....I have a bad feeling about this.....

It turns out the information from Peos about quarantined people on remand cannot have magistrate video hearings is false. A statement was put out by Dept of Justice to clarify it.

I wonder why Stack didn't show for yesterdays hearing?

Also, two hours exercise is better than the one hour hotel quarantine inmates around Australia are allowed.

A spokesperson for WA's Department of Justice said prisoners at Hakea did not have their quarantine periods reset unless they returned a positive COVID-19 test or were subject to an emergency order imposed by WA Police.
"Prisoners subject to quarantine are isolated in their cells, where they can receive meals, medical and other services, provided with the appropriate protections in place," he said.
"They cannot receive social visits but can make telephone calls and are allowed out of their cells to exercise on their own for up to two hours a day.
"Quarantined prisoners can make video-link court appearances, done in accordance with COVID-19 protocols."

That's strange.

I can't imagine any reason why somebody in custody would fail to appear.

I mean, I know it happens, but usually only for pretty drastic reasons.

Football future aside, I get more worried for the kid's situation at every turn.

That's strange.

Football future aside, I get more worried for the kid's situation at every turn.
And by not appearing it was adjourned to 6th Jan.

Who knows what would have happened if he'd made an appearance. Might not be in jail now.

Why is that it's true. How many chances does one need? We gave him a chance when no one else would, we let him off for what happen you know where and he repays how? Cant hack training excuse go back for funeral and acts like a kid and now this. Now the drink is to blame just like a killer has mental issues needs PSYCIATRIST. What were the rfc rules brought in remember? No d policy
You want me.tonhave pity on a guy who shows us zero respect? Sorry, no.

It's easy to say the words, but it's deeds that matter. And his deeds are he doesn't give a fu** about us. He cost the club $100k. People lost their job because of that. And what does he do, the exact same thing just months later.

I never want to see him in yellow and black again
Not your finest moment, not because of what you said, but the way you said it.

Saying that Stack has spat on the club etc. is emotive, inflammatory, and unnecessary.

He’s a young bloke who doesn’t seem to be able to handle himself. He’s paying a pretty big price at the moment, and will no doubt end up paying a bigger price before this is all over.

You say you have no sympathy for him, and that is fair enough, but I gave a few reasons in one of my other posts as to why that might not be the only thing we should base our decision on. Even if you don’t care about Stack the risks for the club are loaded on the side of sacking him ...

The right decision for the club (and as it happens probably for Stack) is to hold him and, probably, let him go at when his contract is up.

That's strange.

thry ussually don’t appear because they’ve done a runner, maybe he has a couple of black eyes from the brawl , who knows

I am very uncomfortable and concerned for Sydney's mind set given his lawyers and manager are finding it difficult to get to him and increasingly he's being isolated more.....I have a bad feeling about this.....
Yeah. I’m really worried too.

That's strange.

I doubt he made the decision on his own, so who was advising him.

Look it is two weeks, no big deal in the scheme of life. Having an operation can put you in bed for 2 weeks, getting sick and staying in bed. People permanently injured... Stack has to accept that playing AFL football is a sacrifice. Plenty of good but not all. Some kids have the real desire, those that don't get found out. So far Stack is in the later, but he's just 20, hopefully the penny will drop for good, if he has a say in it.
You can get pretty fit in 2 weeks, 2 hours a day.

Not your finest moment, not because of what you said, but the way you said it.

Saying that Stack has spat on the club etc. is emotive, inflammatory, and unnecessary.

He’s a young bloke who doesn’t seem to be able to handle himself. He’s paying a pretty big price at the moment, and will no doubt end up paying a bigger price before this is all over.

You say you have no sympathy for him, and that is fair enough, but I gave a few reasons in one of my other posts as to why that might not be the only thing we should base our decision on. Even if you don’t care about Stack the risks for the club are loaded on the side of stacking him ...

The right decision for the club (and as it happens probably for Stack) is to hold him and, probably, let him go at when his contract is up.

whats good for stack is irrelevant, he's made his view of what important to us very clear, and its not the club

he's a selfish twat

I doubt he made the decision on his own, so who was advising him.

Look it is two weeks, no big deal in the scheme of life. Having an operation can put you in bed for 2 weeks, getting sick and staying in bed. People permanently injured... Stack has to accept that playing AFL football is a sacrifice. Plenty of good but not all. Some kids have the real desire, those that don't get found out. So far Stack is in the later, but he's just 20, hopefully the penny will drop for good, if he has a say in it.
You can get pretty fit in 2 weeks, 2 hours a day.
Hes got more than 2 hours a day to get fit theres plenty of exercises he can do in his cell as well so really there is no excuses for not getting fitter imo

Anyone who has spent christmas alone knows that it is very depressing.
I don't really care about the football aspect at this stage, I just hope Stack gets through this without any emotional trauma.
Considering that other people have broke quaranteen and spread the virus with no penalty make this even more ridiculous.
Reflects badly on WA.
Paul Peos is incompetent, Richmond need to fly someone over there or get an ex-tiger in WA on the case.