Sydney Stack Discussion

being an AFL player is a tough gig.

Yeah I'm not sure about this, it is often stated but maybe it is a tough gig for those who really are not 100% committed to it - like Stack who also has aspirations about being some street rapper muso and social media influencer.
The discipline's required to succeed are too much for some.

I look at players like Lambert and Baker who just want to play football and thrive on the opportunity - getting well paid to do what they love.

Not too tough for them.

Yeah I'm not sure about this, it is often stated but maybe it is a tough gig for those who really are not 100% committed to it - like Stack who also has aspirations about being some street rapper muso and social media influencer.

I look at players like Lambert and Baker who just want to play football and thrive on the opportunity - getting well paid to do what they love.

Not too tough for them.
And what he doesn't realise is that once his AFL career is finished, he will have no influence.

Not too tough for them.
I think it’s all relative
Some suit the lifestyle and others don’t

During the season they give up a lot of freedoms and are expected to keep in peak fitness and that’s fine if you like the training and that side of things but I’m sure some would hate it

Plus all the pros and cons that would come with being a celebrity

I would say it would be significantly easier for guys who are best 22 as well that actually feel like they are living their dream but if you are one of those guys who just toil away in the vfl they would often ask themselves what is the point

I think it’s all relative
Some suit the lifestyle and others don’t

During the season they give up a lot of freedoms and are expected to keep in peak fitness and that’s fine if you like the training and that side of things but I’m sure some would hate it

Plus all the pros and cons that would come with being a celebrity

I would say it would be significantly easier for guys who are best 22 as well that actually feel like they are living their dream but if you are one of those guys who just toil away in the vfl they would often ask themselves what is the point
Yeah true maybe for fringe toilers but then again, tens of thousands play the game and train every week with zero or very little 'reward' apart from getting to play the game they love, with their mates.
Even Richmond players outside the regular best 22 are made to feel part of a great club, a great team at the moment with heaps of great people around.

The pros and cons of being a recognised person would not sit well with some but reckon Stack likes his profile and even leverages it for his other 'interests'.

I think back to when I started my first job - had to do what the boss said, when he said it, regardless of how I felt about it.
& this was a shitty job that I did not enjoy but everyone needs to earn.

Would LOVE getting paid to do what I would basically do for nothing anyway...

Yeah true maybe for fringe toilers but then again, tens of thousands play the game and train every week with zero or very little 'reward' apart from getting to play the game they love, with their mates.
Even Richmond players outside the regular best 22 are made to feel part of a great club, a great team at the moment with heaps of great people around.

The pros and cons of being a recognised person would not sit well with some but reckon Stack likes his profile and even leverages it for his other 'interests'.

I think back to when I started my first job - had to do what the boss said, when he said it, regardless of how I felt about it.
& this was a shitty job that I did not enjoy but everyone needs to earn.

Would LOVE getting paid to do what I would basically do for nothing anyway...
But you need to remember for these guys playing afl isn’t a hobby anymore it’s a career
I’ve had jobs doing things I love as a hobby (building and construction) but when it turns into a professional environment it’s extremely different

These guys aren’t training once a week with the team and doing some running sessions on the side and than having a couple of beers with your mates after the game

It would be all engrossing and consuming of your life especially during the pre season and season proper and would leave next to zero time for outside interests

But you need to remember for these guys playing afl isn’t a hobby anymore it’s a career
I’ve had jobs doing things I love as a hobby (building and construction) but when it turns into a professional environment it’s extremely different

These guys aren’t training once a week with the team and doing some running sessions on the side and than having a couple of beers with your mates after the game

It would be all engrossing and consuming of your life especially during the pre season and season proper and would leave next to zero time for outside interests
Yup - I get all of that
Just goes to show regardless of talent, the 'want' needs to be there to work through the challenges otherwise the opportunity might be wasted -or not really craved in the first place.

And what he doesn't realise is that once his AFL career is finished, he will have no influence.
I don’t know Bec Judd is still an influencer and she never played footy

Not too tough for them.

Its pretty tough for all of them - it just has benefits that we mere mortals think WOW! at and dont see all the hardships from their point of view. Some have a better run at different times, some would struggle with nearly anything.

Not too tough for them.
he better make the most of footy...coz he'll have competition dancing wise

how big is his cell? Only big enough to do squats? Pulls ups on one of the little barred windows? Will be interesting to see which muscle groups are massive on Stacky when he gets out.

Or maybe they tossed him a footy on the way to solitary, Steve McQueen style, and he's been working on some mad handball skillz 24-7?

Just can't wait till he gets back to PRO and we find out.

how big is his cell? Only big enough to do squats? Pulls ups on one of the little barred windows? Will be interesting to see which muscle groups are massive on Stacky when he gets out.

Or maybe they tossed him a footy on the way to solitary, Steve McQueen style, and he's been working on some mad handball skillz 24-7?

Joel Sellwood sent him a footy on a bungie cord for Xmas

423E013A-3E60-4F6A-B6F5-350F31A05060.jpeg

I don’t know Bec Judd is still an influencer and she never played footy

And I'm sick of the sight of Bec Judd. Good luck to her but zero interest!

An oldie popped up up on my music player the other day. Sounded like a they were talking to our incarcerated friend.

Stop your messing around
Better think of your future
Time you straighten right out
Creating problems in town

[Chorus]
Syd-ney, a message to you

[Hook 2]
Stop your fooling around
Time you straighten right out
Better think of your future
Else you’ll wind up in jail