Sydney Stack Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Roksman

look in understand your stance on Stack but to say a 21 year old is a grown man and is unlikely to change is plain and simple incorrect.
most 21 year olds these days are still immature and finding their way into adulthood and what it takes. Heck I’d love to to know how many 21 year old are still living at home (I didn’t leave home until I was 23)
Let’s see how the kid goes when he returns. I willing to give anyone on our list a chance and not ready to cut them loose as the club and it’s resources are way more well equipped to make these decisions then I am.
He's NOT a kid, and he's shown right from juniors he doesn't have the mental aptitude.

20/21 year old are still immature. He is basically a kid with His maturity. Never mind Throwing in all the other personal factors on his life.
I get it you don’t like the guy but there is a reason why the club is keeping him on and maybe you should back their judgement
So you're basically saying gen-Zers are immature.... fair call.

Lucky i didnt say you can't teach an old.... you'd want me jailed then

Sorry, how's that different to any other time....? :eek:

Agree.

He needs to look at a kid like Rowell. If Stack applied himself half as much as Rowell seems to he would be fine.
Geesus you are kidding right ? Do you have even the remotest idea of the difference in their backgrounds ? Stack had NONE of the support structures around him that most other kids have had. Despite the fact they are completely different personas, you're comparing apples and llamas mate. The only thing they have in common is that they're both guns. But their roads to the AFL could not be more different. Do some background reading before making such ass statements.

Yeh just needs to apply himself. What's wrong with the kid.

FFS.

We've come a long way but you got left behind dude.

You make it sound like Stack can't go out without f***ing up. He has been home in Perth since Sept. Hasn't been arrested, hasn't made a mess of his life from what any of us know, minor Covid breach aside in that time before his latest indiscretion. He looks in fair shape for someone who is supposedly fat and out of shape. Kid is being judged in some crazy Covid year where self discipline , not his strong suite, has been severely tested. Give him at least a chance to get back to Richmond before you judge him so harshly. The fact that he has been looking after himself since he was a kid means he is not your average kid who works in Safeway and going to school. He has been couch surfing with relatives, friends and coaches since he was a kid. Perhaps he has done really well in life when you consider what he could have been.

Mate, he went home to WA, left his nominated place of residence, after a family fight without telling the authorities. Got caught in a drunken brawl and was arrested. What are you talking about that he has been perfect since he went home ?

Again, I dont believe I am judging him harshly at all. I WANT him to succeed, I truly do. Yet he has shown to date to be untrustworthy when left on his own devices. He has shown he loves to party and get on the piss.

As to the "hard life" excuse, that is a cop out. Many people including myself have grown up with hurdles and have understood that there is things you can and cant do in life.

Bottom line, I am stoked the club is standing by him yet again BUT you cant deny this player has some serious issues to work through

Geesus you are kidding right ? Do you have even the remotest idea of the difference in their backgrounds ? Stack had NONE of the support structures around him that most other kids have had. Despite the fact they are completely different personas, you're comparing apples and llamas mate. The only thing they have in common is that they're both guns. But their roads to the AFL could not be more different. Do some background reading before making such ass statements.

Yeh just needs to apply himself. What's wrong with the kid.

FFS.

We've come a long way but you got left behind dude.
Yeah as I said to the last person that took umbrage with what i said, my upbringing was far, far, FAR closer to stack than Rowell. You have no idea so don't make claims on my understanding of the situation campaigner.

I wasn't comparing the two at all. No comparison was made, I just said if he applies himself to that level (which I think he is more than capable of) he will go far.

Someone mentioned rowells upbringing breeding discipline (true) but failed to mention that stackys upbringing can breed a huge drive to overcome. It's in stacks hands. If he puts all of himself into the job, hell be a star.

I wont sit here and take lectures from someone who behaves like they have less understanding of stacks situation than I do. As for your left behind comment, sincerely go **** yourself.

Maybe your understanding of applying oneself is different to mine. I didn't mean apply himself but with all the silver spoon benefits of Rowell, I meant apply 'himself'. His upbringing breeds determination and a scrappy ability to overcome. I just want to see him do that.

Maybe I should have referenced Pickett over Rowell. I just meant young talent. Which stack has an abundance of.

More offensive than an assertion that he should apply himself is one that he is incapable of reaching rowell levels because of his upbringing.

He's NOT a kid, and he's shown right from juniors he doesn't have the mental aptitude.
You must have been some real special mature 21 year old buddy! Have had two children and they’ve had their moments! Thankfully both matured around 25, and they didn’t have the shite upbringing Stacky has had.
I’m not saying he’s guaranteed to come up trumps, but he deserves some slack along the way! And he’s still only 20 by the way, until April anyway

EDIT: Sorry Bazz, in hindsight, the above looks harsh but I just think some allowance and tolerance needs to be given to Stack as he’s had a far from normal upbringing

All kids that get recruited to Richmond have my 100% backing

Sydney Stack has dropped to 50%

I dont trust him not to stuff up again and be off the list in 2 years time.

I hope he makes it and improves his attitude and surprises me as there would be nothing better than seeing him win a premiership in the yellow & black

Mate, he went home to WA, left his nominated place of residence, after a family fight without telling the authorities. Got caught in a drunken brawl and was arrested. What are you talking about that he has been perfect since he went home ?

Again, I dont believe I am judging him harshly at all. I WANT him to succeed, I truly do. Yet he has shown to date to be untrustworthy when left on his own devices. He has shown he loves to party and get on the piss.

As to the "hard life" excuse, that is a cop out. Many people including myself have grown up with hurdles and have understood that there is things you can and cant do in life.

Bottom line, I am stoked the club is standing by him yet again BUT you cant deny this player has some serious issues to work through
I said he has been at home since Sept. with one minor Covid breach 'before his latest' muck up. He looks in good shape, has obviously been in the gym, struggled a bit on his first day back evidently but had being doing some work in that time, so it is not like he has spent the last 4 months pissing it up and getting into trouble. That is all.

People need to remember every stage of Sydney's career from juniors to elite has been a journey of undisciplined behaviour with scant regards to authority.

That's not rumour, it's fact for all to see.

There's no magic pill like get Dusty or Marlion or anyone to take and mentor him. At 21 he's a grown man who's unlikely to change.

If they cut him lose after the court hearing I'll loose no sleep, but like everyone I'd love to see him have a successful elite footy career, but going by his history just can't see it though.

Old saying, Leopards can't change their spots

1610664144709.png
1610664156171.png
1610664171877.png

As I said before the club is well aware that Sydney needs to be placed in a good environment. By good it means people that will help him mature and learn how to manage his own life in a productive way. Stack himself recognises this.

But they are also well aware that his home/WA situation is pretty f'd up. So is Sydney. The kebab thing was some drunk attacking CCJ - and although the 2 are idiots it wasn't actually them being anything other than young guys not playing AFL, with a few beers in their bellies. This latest thing is purely and simply stupid. Much much worse. But he's stuck there in limbo due to COVID. I reckon the club, and likely Sydney himself, will want to put him in a cocoon where he only plays footy. He needs a few more years for it al to come together. I just hope he doesn't self destruct in the meantime because he really sounds like underneath his head is screwed on right. Poor bugger

look in understand your stance on Stack but to say a 21 year old is a grown man and is unlikely to change is plain and simple incorrect.
most 21 year olds these days are still immature and finding their way into adulthood and what it takes. Heck I’d love to to know how many 21 year old are still living at home (I didn’t leave home until I was 23)
Let’s see how the kid goes when he returns. I willing to give anyone on our list a chance and not ready to cut them loose as the club and it’s resources are way more well equipped to make these decisions then I am.
Brain maturity is actually 25. So Stack is on the young side still. Going to be a matter of whether he avoids jail this time & gains experience from this whole debacle that focuses him on football. I imagine at best, he may get his contract extended by a year with a shedload of clauses.

I don't know Sydney Stack the person and like others here want the best for the club and want the best for people that come to the club

Just recently watch a tv show called Addicted ? , made in 2020 in Melb.
and followed people with alcohol , drug and gambling additictions

It wasn't all sweetness and light , the people being followed didn't all reform beautifully and become pillars of our community
but because they were getting help they did progress to varying degrees

It did reinforce that people can change , not all heroin addicts die in the gutter , some do reform , not all gambling addicts end up in jail on fraud charges again some reform .

How much time and resources does the Club put into Sydney ?
To cut him after the Gold Coast incident would have quite possibly caused upset with many of the players
and it would quickly swing the other way , get away with too many stuff ups and players will get upset

How he is handled internally after this WA stuff up will be a delicate exercise

It will take a lot of poise , diplomacy , wisdom and vision from Peggy , Benny , Dimma , the leadership group
Boys join football clubs and men leave and we want the calibre of men leaving to be of the highest order
like people here this week were singing the praises of Jack and his maturity

If we get over this hurdle in good shape it really does setup the dynasty

I said he has been at home since Sept. with one minor Covid breach 'before his latest' muck up. He looks in good shape, has obviously been in the gym, struggled a bit on his first day back evidently but had being doing some work in that time, so it is not like he has spent the last 4 months pissing it up and getting into trouble. That is all.

He went home in September. That minor breech as you call it was he getting in a fight with his relative, leaving the house, getting on the piss and then getting into a drunken brawl. That is not minor mate. Keep in mind im judging him as an AFL footballer, not as a normal 20 something. Also with the last 4 months, after his last drunken escapade, he was put in the clink for 30 days, that and I am hoping this is the case, will sober any bloke up.

I have a son close to his age, I dont know much about some of the socials but there is one platform that stacks highlighted his major drunken binges and that was this off season as well as last off season. Judging by what i have seen, for him to have the confidence to highlight that type of behavior, when he knows it would harm the club image tells me he still does not get it, does not understand what he signed up for when he committed to becoming an AFL player.

Lets hope, like I said the jail time was the final straw that wakes him up as if he is 100% committed he has all the tools to become and very good player and make a fantastic life for himself

Brain maturity is actually 25. So Stack is on the young side still. Going to be a matter of whether he avoids jail this time & gains experience from this whole debacle that focuses him on football. I imagine at best, he may get his contract extended by a year with a shedload of clauses.

**** i’m in strife then. I still think like a 16 year old.

As I said before the club is well aware that Sydney needs to be placed in a good environment. By good it means people that will help him mature and learn how to manage his own life in a productive way. Stack himself recognises this.

But they are also well aware that his home/WA situation is pretty f'd up. So is Sydney. The kebab thing was some drunk attacking CCJ - and although the 2 are idiots it wasn't actually them being anything other than young guys not playing AFL, with a few beers in their bellies. This latest thing is purely and simply stupid. Much much worse. But he's stuck there in limbo due to COVID. I reckon the club, and likely Sydney himself, will want to put him in a cocoon where he only plays footy. He needs a few more years for it al to come together. I just hope he doesn't self destruct in the meantime because he really sounds like underneath his head is screwed on right. Poor bugger
Just to be accurate, the kebab thing was they SNUCK out after a club function in the hub, which ultimately cost the RFC 100 grand, to get a few MORE beers in their bellies.

the latest thing again was leaving his accommodation on his way to get Covid tested at 1-20 in the morning via a night club district,

we ALL want him to succeed, but according to a number of posters NOT believing he will succeed because of attitudes and behaviours make US haters.

read the capitals

He went home in September. That minor breech as you call it was he getting in a fight with his relative, leaving the house, getting on the piss and then getting into a drunken brawl. That is not minor mate. Keep in mind im judging him as an AFL footballer, not as a normal 20 something. Also with the last 4 months, after his last drunken escapade, he was put in the clink for 30 days, that and I am hoping this is the case, will sober any bloke up.

I have a son close to his age, I dont know much about some of the socials but there is one platform that stacks highlighted his major drunken binges and that was this off season as well as last off season. Judging by what i have seen, for him to have the confidence to highlight that type of behavior, when he knows it would harm the club image tells me he still does not get it, does not understand what he signed up for when he committed to becoming an AFL player.

Lets hope, like I said the jail time was the final straw that wakes him up as if he is 100% committed he has all the tools to become and very good player and make a fantastic life for himself

you’re just a hater;)

Perspective Tiger71. You are pitching all that from one perspective only. Let me paint another - He went home in September, a place he has had number of issues before, he's been back and forth since September apparently, we don't know if he had stayed their previously, but this time he names an address well out of Perth we believe is his earlier home - maybe he had to come up with something quickly for the Covid quarantine form that was thrust upon him because of the plane stopping in Adelaide, maybe he went there hoping to bury the hatchet, or make past events better (do we even know) - and he had a disagreement there apparently, a falling out, or as you call it a fight. Whatever, we don't know the exact narrative there. Maybe he left to avoid another blow up, maybe he learned from past experiences and knew he needed to distance himself to avoid problems - again we don't know the finer detail, nor do we really need to know. So he has to stay somewhere else, doesn't or forgets or simply hasn't had the time to notify WA Health. It's silly, but it happens more than you realise, and even by so-called pillars of the community, full blown adults. He's encouraged, egged on maybe by some mates to have a couple of drinks maybe meet a few others he hasn't seen in ages. Wants to show some of his past peers he is still good ol' Stacky, that this Richmond fame thing hasn't changed his roots - he's still a brother ..... but one dickhead doesn't buy any of it, he lips off once or twice at Stacky, eventually Stacky bites back with a comment some returned lip - ever been there Tiger71? He leaves said venue (if they were even in a venue) and this dickhead wants to pursue Stacky, make a hero of himself maybe, or is just generally a turd of a bloke - he might even post with all that bravado on here for all we know - he tries to make Stacky fight him, Stacky knows this is not going to work so is backing off, the turd swings and tries to land one, Stacky ducks - he's friggen trained athlete so that's not hard. While he's ducked he lifts the leg of the turd of a bloke and gets him to ground and dashes across the road, he's a bit fired up - flight or flight - and as far as we know he still hasn't fought back, but got out of there as best he can. That's what we've seen in some footage! Police are around maybe, talk to the parties and onlookers, decide it's best to issue a move on notice to both idiots (after all he's indigenous and must be half of the problem:rolleyes:) and in doing so discovers he's not completing his isolation properly (due to a stupid flight arrangement maybe) and is arrested because his status needs to be properly determined. He's been evasive about details initially because it is now dawning on him how serious this has escalated to AND so quickly!

The rest we have some sort of idea about. His legal rep couldn't see him, Covid19 restrictions and all that - matter adjourned - no bail might need to re-isolate. Etc etc

Now I have no idea how right and how wrong all or any of the above is - but I will say, on what I know so far, all of the above is possible, even plausible

Don't know the site -am a dinosaur. But I will say that the truth is often not in what you see depicted, but rather in what all the circumstances are. Maybe it is as bad as you say, maybe it's all bullshit bravado too - the truth probably lies somewhere in the middle in my experience.

I'll bet a quick chat to Marlion Pickett when he gets back is going to be as useful as the days spent in jail. Because if it is as bad as the horrible narrative you have painted, Stacky will end up in jail eventually, and Marlion will quietly confirm that, of which I am sure. I said at the very outset, I believed the jail time, the time to reflect in solitude day after day, will either make the man or break the man. Let's see if it makes the man first eh!