- attended prestigious St. Edmunds
- works for big corporation...PWC white collar job
- has ambition to travel/work internationally

=> no conviction + throw in friendly advice about using the bathoom....hmmm.

what i learnt ? just because you attended a prestigious St. Something...you still can be thick AF.

I remember years ago my high school was targetted by VicPol because they believed our students were behind all the vandalism happening during school commute times on the Franga line.

Fact our school was nowhere near a station, and most biked or bused didn't occur to them.

Some investigation them found it was a bunch of flogs from Peninsula School doing it. Matter dropped as we didn't want to ruin the future prospects of these little angels

Never said anything about the club being fine about it. My point is more to the fact that he is still only 20 and has a lot to learn. ( A Point to which the club 100% agrees with)
Plenty on the moral high horse believe he is a grown man and maturity is no excuse.
It’s a brutal business mate.
There are so many players at a good level either where Stacky is or just missing out awaiting their chance and it doesn’t make many exemptions.
One **** up is usually the final warning, two is usually curtains.
It’s the Martin’s, Carey’s, Ablett’s these types that are the only ones who would get chance after chance.
It’s in his hands regardless of age, background or anything else.
The only factor is you’re either one of those aforementioned blokes, or you’re the rest which Stacky is albeit with plenty of talent.
He’s on the thinnest of ice possible.

Sugar Kane had a leak on the police station fence and Schultz driving indiscretion was the last straw for TAC.
Wasn't it Royce Vardy DUI that finished the TAC sponsorship? But there were others before him.

A mate of mine was at a festival and was taking a piss on a car when two cops hopped out of it.
The policewoman ordered him to put it away, to which he responded "I can't!" and then she patiently waited for him to finish what was the longest piss of his life.
Not as bad as Aaron James who pissed on a woman in a night club?

Wasn't it Royce Vardy DUI that finished the TAC sponsorship? But there were others before him.

A mate of mine was at a festival and was taking a piss on a car when two cops hopped out of it.
The policewoman ordered him to put it away, to which he responded "I can't!" and then she patiently waited for him to finish what was the longest piss of his life.
Not as bad as Aaron James who pissed on a woman in a night club?
He did.
There’s an example of a bloke drafted into a club way too young, way too impressionable.
Known him since he was a kid and his Dad was stressed when he went to Collingwood at I think maybe 16? Left school the lot.
Went right off the rails, spoke to him about the pissing incident he didn’t deny it, was embarrassed about it. Was a good bloke but couldn’t handle the piss and then whatever else.
Went on to **** up after **** up at local level despite kicking tons of goals.
Last time I saw him was the Port v Richmond final in Adelaide in 2014 and he was in a real bad place.

The discussion is getting to a good point IMO. Yes, off a football field, stack is quite juvenille. Essentially a street kid with only very basic literacy skills. Exceptional survival skills. Behaviour is akin to 12-13 year old. Without strong guidance and care, similar incidents will happen again.

It is fair comment to say that Stack will be hard work for the RFC. Maybe too hard as he will likely destabilize.
In my opinion, it is unfair to say that he should know better. This is his learning from this point.
Well that might be taking it a bit far, 12-13 year old! Basher mentioned how mature and respectful Stack was when he asked him about his religious beliefs, that he was genuinely interested, and said that nobody had ever done that before. So Stack is probably a bit more mature than you are making him out to be. But he likes a good time, which most 20 year olds do and probably at the time doesn't think much about the consequences. Bit of a pattern in his life pre draft from reports and probably why he has gotten himself into trouble last year, a whole new set of regulations due to Covid in place. I just hope he has the desire to play AFL football, as it will set him up and he can really play.

I grew up in Frankston and went to a school that sh*t you had to leave the area if you got expelled from it. I've had mates pregnant in year 9, and I've had mates serve 10+ for dealing (before 30)

He should have known better. Youth isn't an excuse for not reading what you sign. Youth isn't an excuse for thinking being an AFL footy player means cops give you a pass. Youth isn't an excuse for thinking the biggest pandemic in 100 years doesn't apply to you.
I think there is a bit each way here. Young people make mistakes, like your friends above and like Stack. But you have to own up to it and deal with it, as Stack is doing. The main objection here is not excusing Stack, a bit of perspective, it's just not so black and white, but that the punishment is over the top for what he did. Done his penance, now get him back to Richmond. But to the frustration of many, that is not happening.

The punishment is over the top because it's wa in a pandemic. People are getting custodial sentences and five figure fines.

Stack wasn't singled out or treated unfairly

Best post on the thread

The punishment is over the top because it's wa in a pandemic. People are getting custodial sentences and five figure fines.

Stack wasn't singled out or treated unfairly
I think the WA system should be held accountable for excessive force. Queensland just held an entire football season without any serious problems, and without over the top penalties. Victoria held the boxing day test without a problem. Life is going on all over the country in a different but reasonably normal state now. All besides WA. There legal system is very harsh with condemnation from many human rights groups, local and international at the best of time.

Not sure holding WA penalties up, which would never pass normally considered good legal practice other than in this Covid environment, as an example of fair or necessary governance. (Not that I am saying you agree, but by tacitly arguing you sort of are).

I think the WA system should be held accountable for excessive force. Queensland just held an entire football season without any serious problems, and without over the top penalties. Victoria held the boxing day test without a problem. Life is going on all over the country in a different but reasonably normal state now. All besides WA. There legal system is very harsh with condemnation from many human rights groups, local and international at the best of time.

Not sure holding WA penalties up, which would never pass normally considered good legal practice other than in this Covid environment, as an example of fair or necessary governance. (Not that I am saying you agree, but by tacitly arguing you sort of are).

youre a victorian - people in WA dont give two ****s what you or i think

right now every poll has people in wa overwhelmingly supporting the govts hardline response. from the heavy sanctions to shutting the border with zero notice (while people are in flight)

if they are happy, thats all that matters. we get zero say on how wa write their laws/regulations, and how they are implemented

youre a victorian - people in WA dont give two fu**s what you or i think

right now every poll has people in wa overwhelmingly supporting the govts hardline response. from the heavy sanctions to shutting the border with zero notice (while people are in flight)

if they are happy, thats all that matters. we get zero say on how wa write their laws/regulations, and how they are implemented

Here I was thinking the WA self riotous superiority complex was exclusive to Eagles supporters on the main board

Easy fix piss off the middle layer of govt, get rid of the state govts and all the snouts in the public trough

I actually like the idea that in the midst of a declared National Emergency the Federal Government takes full control. After all they are the ones the have to bail the states out with funding etc.

we are not of their state. we have no right to tell them how to run their lot

each state is different, which is their choice. WA (and to a lesser extent QLD, SA, and Tassie) have chosen the path of hard lockdown with the aim being eradication

if we dont like it, we dont have to go there

I actually like the idea that in the midst of a declared National Emergency the Federal Government takes full control. After all they are the ones the have to bail the states out with funding etc.

thats what should happen

100% agreed. I’m from QLD and the retirees through central QLD flipped from one nation to Labour because they weren’t affected by the pandemic. Meanwhile south east QLD, cairns Whitsundays are haemorrhaging. National funding (job keeper and the like) are the only things keeping them afloat. No help from the QLD government

youre a victorian - people in WA dont give two fu**s what you or i think

Election in 2 months, nothing works better than hard line insular politics. Of course we don't get a say, and of course they might not care. Doesn't make it right. And it doesn't mean Stack hasn't been harshly dealt with.

If we had listened to the Fed.Govt and not the states, we'd be a right mess. Remember Morrison etc telling us to send our kids to school, open borders etc. States and the people of Aust have done a mighty job. England, US, Europe are good examples of how the leaders of those countries have let their people down.

we are not of their state. we have no right to tell them how to run their lot

each state is different, which is their choice. WA (and to a lesser extent QLD, SA, and Tassie) have chosen the path of hard lockdown with the aim being eradication

if we dont like it, we dont have to go there
Of course we have a right. When something you think is wrong then you have a right to voice your opinion. Eg. 3 strikes policy in WA has been condemned by almost everyone. You might not effect the outcome, and in the case of Covid the hard lock down is not a massive violation and will end in time, but the principle of voicing your opinion is fair enough.

Election in 2 months, nothing works better than hard line insular politics. Of course we don't get a say, and of course they might not care. Doesn't make it right. And it doesn't mean Stack hasn't been harshly dealt with.

except qld hasnt watered down its policies post its election

Of course we have a right. When something you think is wrong then you have a right to voice your opinion. Eg. 3 strikes policy in WA has been condemned by almost everyone. You might not effect the outcome, and in the case of Covid the hard lock down is not a massive violation and will end in time, but the principle of voicing your opinion is fair enough.

100% wrong

if NSW started telling us how to live our lives (as they have with the demands for our borders to be opened), we would rightly tell them to get ****ed (as we did)

you can ask, advise, suggest. thats it. you are not a resident of WA

If we had listened to the Fed.Govt and not the states, we'd be a right mess. Remember Morrison etc telling us to send our kids to school, open borders etc. States and the people of Aust have done a mighty job. England, US, Europe are good examples of how the leaders of those countries have let their people down.

Don’t believe that for a second. The state that has managed it the best has been NSW and they have pretty much followed the suggestion of National Cabinet by keeping things moving. The major mistakes were made by the states themselves.
Watch when the National teet dries up in March how many of these states start reeling. QLD already had an unemployment rate of 7.5% which is a full percent above national average. That will grow when jobkeeper and the like stop.

except qld hasnt watered down its policies post its election

100% wrong

if NSW started telling us how to live our lives (as they have with the demands for our borders to be opened), we would rightly tell them to get f’ed (as we did)

you can ask, advise, suggest. thats it. you are not a resident of WA

NSW kept things moving. Easily managed it the best. They backed their tracing systems etc and were able to contain any outbreaks.

and thats their choice. the rest chose differently, and we have to respect that.

NSW and VIC dont get to tell the other states what to do, this is precisely why we are a federation

and thats their choice. the rest chose differently, and we have to respect that.

NSW and VIC dont get to tell the other states what to do, this is precisely why we are a federation

No they don’t. But it’s also the reason the Federal Government needs to take full control during national emergency

and they didnt

also just because the feds "take control" doesnt mean that they will do things the way NSW and VIC want

also the feds cannot take control of everything. issues like regs around mask wearing, occupancy rates, fines and penalties would still be state issues.

Stack would still be ****ed in your utopia, because even with open borders a punch on is still covered by WA law