Sydney - What's going on with them?

He's fine..he's ok as third man up. That's all.
Just an ordinary player and undersized.

He ain't no ****ing Harris Andrews.
I mean few are. He's agile, reads the play like it's a kids book and has cartoonishly long arms. But I see your point.

Being that it's Sydney, I also have no doubt they'll clear out some dead wood, draft and trade well and be back thereabouts in like 2-3 years and I'll be pissy again

I mean few are. He's agile, reads the play like it's a kids book and has cartoonishly long arms. But I see your point.

Being that it's Sydney, I also have no doubt they'll clear out some dead wood, draft and trade well and be back thereabouts in like 2-3 years and I'll be pissy again
McCartin is a good honest player.
But for some reason we set him up as a pillar when he was always under sized
Unfortunately our drafting and trading has been terrible for the last few years.
I've completely lost faith
I see grim times ahead .
Chickens are coming home to roost.

But for some reason we set up as a pillar when he was always under sized
Unfortunately our drafting and trading has been terrible for the last few years.
I see grim times ahead .
I'm interested to see where to from here

Mentally damaged from all those grand final squibs. That’s got to eat away at the esprit de corps. The club knows it’s good enough to repeatedly make grand finals. But now, with last year’s collapse weighing on their minds, and having experienced all it took to get there, the players would be starting to think they’ll never have what it takes to actually win an AFL grand final, so an element of “why bother?” would creep in, no matter how positive everyone tries to stay.

2014 was humiliating.

2016 we were right in it till the last five minutes but it just wasn’t to be.

In 2022, if we’d been at least 2016-level competitive, we probably would have another flag by now.

So, although I can only conjecture what’s in the minds of highly trained professional athletes, after 2 abject failures out of 3 consecutive grand final losses, I reckon mentally, 2024 was the last chance to exorcise the demons. And we fell to pieces.

So I am completely unsurprised by our season collapsing.

A bad run with injuries hasn’t helped, but the way things are now, we could get Papley, Gulden, Mills, Amartey and all the others back on the park and I doubt it would make much difference.

I reckon things will get worse now before they get better.

They’re being coached by an overweight proboscis monkey. I don’t think players take a fat coach seriously anymore ala the Stewie Dew effect.

monkey wildlife GIF

Has 2+ decades of essentially perpetual professionalism, consistency and competitiveness made Swans fans a little entitled and mentally unprepared for the down part of the footy cycle?

Geez they've had a good run that supporters of most other clubs would sell their soul for, but eventually gravity is going to drag you down for a few years.

Injuries and the grand final blues. They will bounce back next year. I dont think there is any long term concerns with them. Plenty of talent and they have some.good academy kids this year.
Swans VFL is 1-8 with a % of 59.

There is genuine concern about core underlying list issues and depth.

Don't be fooled by the first half of last season.

We never should have made that GF last season.
Really an indictment on the other sides.
You shut down one of Gulden, Warner or Heeney and you beat the Swans.
It seriously is that easy and I've no idea why nobody figured that out before Brisbane did

Hate to see what they’ve done to Tay Adams.

He still had good footy in him when he moved to Sydney, career now looks done.

200.gif

Yeah I wouldn’t be so sure of that this time.
Think swans fans are about to find how good a coach horse was
Conversely what an average coach cox is

Also the team has some serious holes in it .

Of course they are the AFLs golden child so who knows maybe your right ,they could well end up signing a few A graders despite an apparent tight cap

reckon JUH is Monty to be one of them next year

But for some reason we set him up as a pillar when he was always under sized
I see grim times ahead .
You'll be ok mate. AFL won't let you stay down

Has 2+ decades of essentially perpetual professionalism, consistency and competitiveness made Swans fans a little entitled and mentally unprepared for the down part of the footy cycle?

Geez they've had a good run that supporters of most other clubs would sell their soul for, but eventually gravity is going to drag you down for a few years.
Yep this

Eagles supporters already going through theirs

And what old m8 swans supporter said about the GF beltings .
It eventually has to take its toll , just needed something else to occur before the dam wall broke and that was the horse /cox coaching transition

Swans fans just like eagles fans are now ,are going to get a true taste of what basically every club bar Geelong (and theirs will come too) of what a down cycle of AFL football really looks like

Mentally damaged from all those grand final squibs. That’s got to eat away at the esprit de corps. The club knows it’s good enough to repeatedly make grand finals. But now, with last year’s collapse weighing on their minds, and having experienced all it took to get there, the players would be starting to think they’ll never have what it takes to actually win an AFL grand final, so an event of “why bother?” would creep in, no matter how positive everyone tries to stay.

2014 was humiliating.

2016 we were right in it till the last five minutes but it just wasn’t to be.

In 2022, if we’d been at least 2016-level competitive, we probably would have another flag by now.

So, although I can only conjecture what’s in the minds of highly trained professional athletes, after 2 abject failures out of 3 consecutive grand final losses, I reckon mentally, 2024 was the last chance to exorcise the demons. And we fell to pieces.

So I am completely unsurprised by our season collapsing.

A bad run with injuries hasn’t helped, but the way things are now, we could get Papley, Gulden, Mills, Amartey and all the others back on the park and I doubt it would make much difference.

I reckon things will get worse now before they get better.
Agree with a lot of this.

There’s a big difference between we gave it our best shot at GF and just weren’t good enough that can spur a side to be better and feeling uncompetitive leading to questioning if your good enough to even get there again yet alone be go that one step better.
The scars are very deep for Sydney atm.

Expected a drop 8-10th this is sorta on unprecedented levels

Not I, I’m literally from South Melbourne 😏

Sydney - What's going on with them?