Bulldogsnm1

Aug 23, 2006
Altona
GWS
Really looking forward to this weeks final round of the TAC cup. 5 of the 6 games will have a bearing on the final 8 positions with 9 sides still in contention.

What is certain is that Geelong Falcons will finish top, they are a game and 15% clear on top of the ladder and although unexpectantly losing to Calder on the weekand deserve their top spot, their first half of the season was outstanding and if they can re-capture that form for the finals they are still favourites for the Premiership. However this week the Falcons play a red-hot Dandenong Stingrays who have won their last 5 games at Dandenong with the Stingrays needing to win to cement a top 4 position.
My prediction is that the Falcons to have too much class and win comfortably.

Calder who beat the Falcons with the last kick of the day host 2nd side Eastern Rangers, the Rangers have cemented their position and the Cannons will need to win and have both the Jets and the Knights lose to get a top 4 spot. Although at Calder I think the Rangers will have too much class and win a closely fought game.

Murray Bushrangers host the Northern Knights with the Bushrangers needing to win to ensure a top 8 spot. They were put to the sword by a resurgent Sandringham on the weekend and I would suspect the Knights to win easily meaning the Bushrangers will have to rely on the Jets to beat Sandringham to keep their spot in the 8.

The Sandringham VS Jets game should be a beauty, the Dragons are a very classy side with all players available and are playing for the chance to make the 8, the young Jets team will have to play at their absolute best to challenge them. The Jets have been very competitive all year and if they win will finish top 4. Won't try to predict the winner of this, I will say it will be a game worth watching. Lots of talent on display for this year and the next.

Finally Gipsland Power play the Bendigo Pioneers, I would suspect the Power to be way too good for the Pioneers and for the Powere to wrap up their place in the bottom part of the 8.

All in all a terrific way for the home and away season to finish, looking forward to watching the finals.

Humble Minion

Dec 5, 2007
Went to Geelong vs Calder. Might be the last TAC I watch this year, with the Essendon stuff I'm getting no joy at all out of footy at the moment. Went along to see if it was any different at the u18s, but it wasn't really. Hardly fun watching a bunch of blokes you won't be able to draft running around.

Calder got the first couple through sheer endeavour and playing shovel-it-forward-at-all-costs wet weather type football on a spectacular sunny day, but it somehow worked. After that, Geelong got their running game going and were never seriously threatened, they just had too much height and aerial power down back, too much space in the forward line, too many numbers and pace through the middle, and too much skill and cleanness everywhere. I don't think I've ever seen a TAC side as strong as Geelong this year - today they were missing three of the top mids in Taylor, Boag, Lang, and still won it in a canter- when I saw the outs I thought Calder had a chance, but they just got bulldozed. Top quality on every line except arguably in the ruck, and a bunch of them are underagers so they could quite concievably be even better next year.

The Geelong talls of Fort, Goddard, Mccartin were absolutely dominant. Goddard and Mccartin both mobile and strong overhead in the forward line (both underage) and Fort impassable down back. Hickey was dynamic and broke the lines in the middle. Tsitas worked his way into it later. He's one that could potentially do a Parker-style slide, he gets a load of the ball and is a consummate footballer, but lacks flashiness and never gives you the feeling that he outclasses everyone else on the park like the very top picks sometimes do (or he might go at pick 20-odd like nature intended). Reid Adams (possible relative of Taylor?) a clean, quick inside-outside player, might have gone under the radar a bit this year cos the Falcons just have so much midfield quality. Worth watching. Maishman will be very good next year, quick, smart and creative. George Cameron did some good things and could be late options. Christiansen quiet but set up a few and always looks like he could go bang at any moment and kick 3 in 5 minutes, I rate him. Dixon bobbed up for a couple, found space cleverly as a third tall while the Cannons undersized defenders were busy failing to cover goddard & Mccartin.

For Calder, Jake Owen is an interesting prospect, 191cm slim utility-type kid who played as a mid today, very clean, agile, and has a bit of time in traffic - though he's not really a clearance specialist. Errol Mcconnell played a good game - very quick, angry, tackled hard, took the game on and wasn't afraid to back himself. Horrible dreads. Reminded me of a quicker Kommer.

I spent a fair bit of time watching Essendon NSW scholarshipper Clothier, but i'm still finding it hard to get a handle on him. He played an ok game without really at any time making you think 'he's dominating' - probably got 20ish touches, at a guess? Kicked one goal and one oof. It's a bit weird because he's a big, powerful kid that looks like a stoppage monster but he always seagulls outside packs because he's such a great dangerous long kick into the forward line and his side sets up so he can be the designated kicker once someone else clears it (though today Geelong just had complete control of the air in their defensive 50 so it was tough work - and a couple of times he hit his fwds perfectly on the lead it went straight through their hands...). His hands aren't always clean off the ground, but he can be very strong in the marking contest - took a monster contested mark 35 in front late in todays game, and sprayed it horribly. Has got quite good vision in close and picks good options, but tends to loop if too much by hand when when trying to get it round a tackler, and puts his teammates under the pump. Will test poorly in agility & sprints etc I suspect, he can look very slow sometimes and I think his tank isn't really there yet so he blows up early, which can make him look even slower as the game goes on. I also think he's still pretty new to serious game structure and positioning work - he sometimes got himself lost in no-mans land when defending, and needed to be instructed a bit at stoppages. You'd have him as a marginal prospect at the moment, though if my suspicions about his cardio fitness and/or lack of game knowlege are true, you might think you've got some useful tools to work with.

God Save Max King

Aug 25, 2012
Yes it is very late in the season, but I have finally decided to get my notes together. Can't wait for prelims.

I was mildly aware of the Calder vs Western match going on, Owen was the real standout from that game. Moved through the midfield very well and had a great 1st half when the game was being decided. He has definitely raised his draft stock over this finals series. Lever made a difference down back, very good at killing plays and sparking up on rebound. Other than that, Sicily was quite good as well. Merlo had a solid match as well. I wasn't too keen on this game, but Calder did a great job and I look forward to watching them in the prelims against the Stingrays.

The Eastern vs Northern game was definitely a disappointment. Northern's continual failure in front of goal cost them the match, there'll be some boys who should be unhappy with themselves and their teammates inability to capitalize. With all the hype surrounding him, Bontempelli was very disappointing. He looked almost lost, he fumbled the ball a few times and gave away a couple of free kicks. His kicking wasn't too great and his run and carry was sorely missed for the Ranges. The other Northern top 10 prospect, Ben Lennon, showed everyone why he is rated so highly when he did have the football. His classy kicking stood out in a rather disappointing team effort skills wise. Playing off half-back, Lennon was almost like Sam Gilbert of 09-10 without amassing disposals. Very damaging play-maker, really unfortunate that his team couldn't make use of it.

The ruck division was another comprehensive win for Eastern. O'Sullivan's tapwork was outstanding and his movement around the ground was smooth. When the ball got down low he proved to be clean below his knees and he even won a few clearances himself. Very Ivan Maric like in that he can play like a midfielder if his tap is ineffective or he loses the hitout. Apeness rose up the draft ranks as well, I thought his marking up forward was fantastic. He had clean hands and always looked like a threat when Eastern were attacking. If it wasn't for some bad kicking, he could have had a bag of 5 or 6. When he played as a ruckman his hitouts were generally effective.

Ben Cavarra... what can you say? He must be the most consistent player Eastern have on their roster. Cavarra was at it again, one of the best players on the ground with his ball-winning and he even went forward to good effect. Petracca also thrived in the absence of Tom Boyd, he kept the Northern defence on alert and his marking was strong. He was very dangerous and he looked likely to score almost every time Eastern went to him. His one on one play stood out, his core strength makes him tough to defend.

Keedle was pretty good up forward, Kalanj found the footy but could have used it better and McStay's strong marking wasn't utilized enough.

Sep 22, 2008
Yes it is very late in the season, but I have finally decided to get my notes together. Can't wait for prelims.

I was mildly aware of the Calder vs Western match going on, Owen was the real standout from that game. Moved through the midfield very well and had a great 1st half when the game was being decided. He has definitely raised his draft stock over this finals series. Lever made a difference down back, very good at killing plays and sparking up on rebound. Other than that, Sicily was quite good as well. Merlo had a solid match as well. I wasn't too keen on this game, but Calder did a great job and I look forward to watching them in the prelims against the Stingrays.
Hey mate I'd love to hear any thoughts you had on Foster today, he's another one of the dogs F/S' but he's obviously a lot less talked about than our other ones. There would be a few on the dogs board who would be keen to hear what sort of forward he is!

God Save Max King

Aug 25, 2012
Hey mate I'd love to hear any thoughts you had on Foster today, he's another one of the dogs F/S' but he's obviously a lot less talked about than our other ones. There would be a few on the dogs board who would be keen to hear what sort of forward he is!

As I said, I was a bit 'meh' about the Calder game. Foster presented pretty well and is big without playing too big. I think the Dogs would be better off with the list they have now, not really the key forward you need. I think you should be able to get Foster with a rookie pick.

God Save Max King

Aug 25, 2012
First and foremost congratulations to the Dandenong Stingrays and the Eastern Ranges on making the Grand Final. Calder and the Falcons have a lot to look forward to next season.

The Cannons strong start to their game was encouraging for Calder's underage players. Cauchi kicked a few goals playing as a small forward, his crumbing and snap shots were terrific. He knows how to get to the drop of the footy and played some fantastic front and square football. His accuracy in front of the big sticks also helped the opportunist, even when he didn't kick goals his defender was aware of his ability to make something out of nothing. Jake Lever was again a standout down back. Despite not getting much of it himself he managed to apply pressure and kill a few contests. Safe to say that Jake has grown from 190cm, he is closer to about 192cm now. Lever's tackle early in the game was a clear indicator of his intent.

Peter Wright was amazing as a ruckman/forward. A relatively late birth (September) but already 202cm. He often won the hitout and his tapwork was pretty good. As a forward he was dangerous. Another KPP to keep an eye on for the 2014 Draft Class. Clothier brought his own footy - he was winning it everywhere. Overager Jake Owen was also influential in the second half for the Cannons. Merlo won a fair bit of the football.

For the Stingrays, it was all about Zak Jones in the second half. He moved into the midfield and as an extractor he resembled his brother to a certain extent. His ferocity at the contest dragged the 'Rays over the line in the end. One of the best halves in the TAC Cup season. Hartung's run and carry was vital but he made some errors that cost Dandenong in the first half. Fortunately for him it didn't matter much. Matt Rennie started the game well.

Despite Tom Boyd pulling out before the Eastern vs Geelong game, the Ranges were too good. Petracca was the clear standout in the absence of Boyd and his marking and strength were on show once again. Took 9 contested marks and kicked 5, he was the difference maker. To go with this he looked dangerous when the ball hit the deck. Although Fort gave his all, it just wasn't enough. Christian has definitely boosted his draft stock in the finals, if it wasn't for some bad conversion he could have ended up with 8.

Cavarra was impressive yet again. Had a good amount of possessions as he almost always does. Keedle was evasive and showed some speed. Apeness marked strongly in packs and McStay took a very good grab in the 1st quarter.

At the other end of the field, Goddard and McCartin were impressive. McCartin took a few very strong grabs and looked likely to mark when the ball was headed in his direction. Goddard ended up with a few goals but didn't play as well as McCartin. Paddy may be moving ahead of Hugh Goddard in the draft ranking. Both had limited opportunity so that effected their output. Tsitas was great early and won his fair share of the footy.

66sainter

Jul 2, 2013
thanks for the review Rahul!

i think you'll find Petracca is only allegeable for next years draft. After Honey came very close to playing this week, he is a certainty for next week and Boydy looking 65-35 (more of a mental thing). Who do you reckon wins next week?

God Save Max King

Aug 25, 2012
thanks for the review Rahul!

i think you'll find Petracca is only allegeable for next years draft. After Honey came very close to playing this week, he is a certainty for next week and Boydy looking 65-35 (more of a mental thing). Who do you reckon wins next week?

Yeah Petracca is 2014, but he is probably going to be a top 10 pick, possibly top 5. Boyd is a better that 70% chance so I'll take the Ranges.

offshore

Aug 21, 2009
Gold Coast
Yeah Petracca is 2014, but he is probably going to be a top 10 pick, possibly top 5. Boyd is a better that 70% chance so I'll take the Ranges.

I was very surprised at the little amount of game time Petracca was given at the national champs. I am dumbfounded at to why he is not at the AIS. Here is the AIS Vic Metro AIS squad. Go figure.

Vic Metro: Liam Duggan (Western Jets/Bacchus March FNC), Angus Brayshaw (Sandringham Dragons/Hampton Rovers), Jake Lever (Calder Cannons/Romsey), Darcy Moore (Oakleigh Chargers/Kew Comets), Peter Wright (Calder Cannons/Moonee Valley), Sean McLaren (Sandringham Dragons/Haileybury College), Duom Dawam (Western Jets/ Point Cook)

Sezzac1

Apr 15, 2004
Melb
If Petracca backs up today's performance next week I wouldn't be surprised if he gets a late call up for the AIS. He was the Raging Bull today.

If the Rays can't get some Vigor, Aggression and Excitement out of Egan, Gardiner and Rennie in the GF they can't expect Jones and Lonie to drag them over the line again. Those 3 really need to lift for a 4 quarter effort or Yater will be the bridesmaid yet again.

If Boyd does play the size of he, Apeness, Jones and O'Sullivan will really worry the shortish Rays defense. Capiron may have to go to Petracca which should be a great matchup. Belo is also a dark horse. Man can he kick a football.

Sadly I think the Dragons would have had both these for breakfast had they made the finals.

Apeness marked strongly in packs and McStay took a very good grab in the 1st quarter.
Pardon the snip Rahul - thought I might add my photo of said mark. ;)
o9t4.png

a word on Clothier Rahul, i knew he had a lot of it (twomey said 23 touches to the half), how's his ball use and outside work? Those are my main concerns with what i've seen, built like a brick shithouse and clever around the goals, but if he can spread well and get it on the outside and use it well enough, we might just have something here...

God Save Max King

Aug 25, 2012
a word on Clothier Rahul, i knew he had a lot of it (twomey said 23 touches to the half), how's his ball use and outside work? Those are my main concerns with what i've seen, built like a brick shithouse and clever around the goals, but if he can spread well and get it on the outside and use it well enough, we might just have something here...

As you said he can finish well around the big sticks, but he didn't seem particularly damaging on the outside. He hits targets and is a neat kick, but he won't really penetrate defenses and he isn't a magician.

Cheers, I hope we take the punt, it's essentially a free hit at another list spot

For Eastern today, a great team effort- ALL contributed.

Petracca was amazing, sheer strength, marking, even his goalkicking was good.
O'Sullivan's second efforts in ruck work was outstanding.
Cavarra as always, in and under, very effective.
Harry Taylor look-alike McStay, again made good decisions under pressure and marked a beauty in first Q.

Wonder if there's room on the bench for Boyd & Honeychurch.

Albert Ross

Nov 24, 2012
Portland, Victoria
GWS
Anyone know if Cordy played for Geelong? And if so how did he go.

Didn't play.

Geelong were shizenhut. Chippy, backwards, overuse of the ball. Kicking short to contests, hospital handballs. Would have 100+ more touches than Eastern but refused to go forward or long. On talent they should have won it all, on gameplan and coaching they were the worst team in the finals.

Didn't play.

Geelong were shizenhut. Chippy, backwards, overuse of the ball. Kicking short to contests, hospital handballs. Would have 100+ more touches than Eastern but refused to go forward or long. On talent they should have won it all, on gameplan and coaching they were the worst team in the finals.

Disagree about the talent issue.
Eastern had previously beaten a very depleted Falcons, but have also played all the finals without their best 2 players, Boyd and Honeychurch. Eastern just wanted it more.