TAC Cup Grand Final - Calder v Murray

Calder had 15 top agers (inc 19 year olds) and 7 bottom agers in their side last week.
Murray had 16 top agers (inc 19 year olds) and 6 bottom agers in last week.

Barring the odd change, both sides are made up of a lot of older fellas. Calder are always competitive and Murray have a lot of fellas who've grown up playing senior footy. I'd expect it to be tough and physical as a result.

Murray do have many ruck options, but Calder's duo of Trengove and McKernan have proven a more than capable ruck duo in recent weeks.

I'd like to see the match ups someone else mentioned - White on Rockliff and Dulic on McEvoy, Calder probably need to get those two match ups right - the duo kicked 11 of the Bushies 16 goals last time they met.

Calder's avenues to goal are probably a little tougher to target, they tend to spread the load and different players bob up each week with 2, 3 or 4. Saker being out would hurt Murray's backline, but Calder's forward line still worries me. Daniher's the most likely one to kick a bag - for that reason I think they need him forward. Is Kite going to kick a bag of goals? Doubtful. Can Putt? Perhaps. Geez Maric would've been handy. Joyce might be able to kick a few. But they'll need their midfield to contribute. I've got a gut feeling that Laidler will be Calder's X-factor.

I have seen this guy play a few games and although lightly framed he has bucket loads of talent and pace to burn. I never hear any talk of him being drafted. Is he bottom age?

He is bottom aged but draft eligible, however he is 170cm. That's always going to make it a hard ask.

Looked terrible actually mate.
Happened right in front of where I was sitting.

Yeah, that's where I was sitting too. It was dreadful. He was really disoriented and his hand seemed to be facing the wrong way. He ended up running off the ground too!

I thought that was quite an effort, considering he had to run off from the Pratt Stand side.

Does anyone know what number Danniher wears?

And the numbers of any others who would be good draft chances?

lets talk match ups. i think rockliff will get picked up by white, that will be good to watch both bottom age trying to make there claim for next year. i think dulic will get mcvoy again now he has a few games under his belt i think he can maybe hold mcvoy down. i think german will go to martinello and shut down his work around the clearences then try and work off him to create. i have no idea who from murray will pick up the tall cannons forward line if saker is out its going to hurt murray big time. Anyone else got suggestions on matchups?

whos going in favourites...the injuries to bushrangers not working in their favour, but they have come out with the more wins this year it must be hard to pick. matchups seem as though it shall make for a good game to watch...wish i was guna be there

lets talk match ups. i think rockliff will get picked up by white, that will be good to watch both bottom age trying to make there claim for next year. i think dulic will get mcvoy again now he has a few games under his belt i think he can maybe hold mcvoy down. i think german will go to martinello and shut down his work around the clearences then try and work off him to create. i have no idea who from murray will pick up the tall cannons forward line if saker is out its going to hurt murray big time. Anyone else got suggestions on matchups?

hot tip: trengrove to play on mcevoy ;)

all the best for calder. good to see considine getting a run. deserves a shot. bit of bad luck for locky mcleod but, good bloke

D Barolli from the Bushies. No. 33. Bottom Age Mid, not eligible this year.
About 184 / 80 and tough. Good skills too.

Will be a big feature in next years TAC cup...

TAC CUP GRAND FINAL
Calder Cannons vs Murray Bushrangers
Melbourne Cricket Ground,Saturday September 29 10:05am

TV: Fox Sports 1 Live 10am

Calder Cannons

B Saville Trengove White
HB Robertson Dulic Jolley
C Arrowsmith Cattapan Tsardakis
HF Putt Laidler Joyce
F Kite Daniher Polkinghorne
R McKernan German Farmer
Int May Considine Mendico
Short McLeod Melksam
Buckley

Murray Bushrangers

B Boyle Hebbard Thompson
HB Klemke Walker Deledio
C Livingstone Hockey McIntyre
HF Normington Garland Bryce
F Rockliff Terlich Simpson
R McEvoy Warnett Martiniello
Int Wright Browne Saker
Giovannini Barolli Morgan
Milne Craven

They are the same as I saw on the TAC site Vesz ;).

Interchange from, would be a mammoth effort for Saker to get up after that shoulder last week.

He did the full training session last night.. bushies will give him every chance to play :thumbsu:

Saker for Bushies? :confused:
As far as I know he only subluxed his shoulder, so it may be possible for him to get up for the game this week. Its not a four week injury or anything like that, from what I can gather some blokes at AFL level at best have returned to the field in the game where they did it.

It certainly DID NOT look that way. It looked hideous! I hope what you're saying is true though because it'd be shattering for anyone to miss the big game.

These teams are straight from the TAC Cup website.
Yeah, I shouldn't have doubted you. Haven't compared them yet, but I also just noticed Browne named for the Bushies and he wasn't in the squad last week.

I still can't believe Saker would be a chance. That was not a sight for the faint hearted.

Well, I've been tipping Murray for the flag for months now, so I don't think it would be good form to back down from that prediction.

I've been on that bandwaggon too so I should stick with the Bushies. My only concern is goals. Other than McEvoy and Rockliff I don't know if they have too many avenues to goal. Having to play Walker at CHF robs the midfield and Garland and Terlich haven't had good finals' series.

I think the Calder forwards will work hard enough to stop the Murray switch of play and deny Murray the chance to run. 90% of what is good about Murray comes from the running backmen and their ability to create the extra man with off-the-ball running.

Ballarat shut them down pretty well and kept them to 10 goals, which won't be enough to beat Calder. If Dulic can hold McEvoy and Farmer is fit enough to swing back to defence and take Rockliff - Murray won't kick 10.

I think Murray have an edge in the ruck, and an edge around the stoppages. Hockey, Normington, Morgan, Deledio and Martinello might be able to out class Polkinghorne, German and Cattpan. Once it is out into space things might edge to Calder.

If McEvoy fires then Calder are in trouble. They'd have to remove Trengrove from the ruck, and that would expose McKernan to Simpson and Browne. Or they'd have to put Putt in the ruck and rob the forward line.

I've been on that bandwaggon too so I should stick with the Bushies. My only concern is goals. Other than McEvoy and Rockliff I don't know if they have too many avenues to goal. Having to play Walker at CHF robs the midfield and Garland and Terlich haven't had good finals' series.
Ballarat shut them down pretty well and kept them to 10 goals, which won't be enough to beat Calder. If Dulic can hold McEvoy and Farmer is fit enough to swing back to defence and take Rockliff - Murray won't kick 10.
I think Murray have an edge in the ruck, and an edge around the stoppages. Hockey, Normington, Morgan, Deledio and Martinello might be able to out class Polkinghorne, German and Cattpan. Once it is out into space things might edge to Calder.
Fair concerns, one and all, but I think that to leave it at the fact that Murray have an "edge" in the ruck is a bit of an understatement - I could see Murray absolutely dominating this game in the ruck, and I'd say that in that event, the Murray midfielders could end up kicking a lot of their goals.

Deledio, Hockey and Normington could all be goal kickers on the day, and then if you add McEvoy and Rockliff, and one of Garland or Terlich can fire, I don't think scoring will be a major problem for Murray. McIntyre is my smoky for the BOG - Could see him putting in a Dale Thomas-type performance with a 4 goal haul or so.

Regardless, it will definitely be an interesting game. I do see Murray winning, but Calder getting up would hardly surprise me either.

I disagree with the comments on the ruck/midfield dominance people think Murray will have. I think thats a real 'on paper' comment, but I reckon the Cannons should be backing themselves in to not only win their fair share of hit outs with McKernan/Trengove/Putt but also their on ballers to win it out of the middle too.

I won't have a crack at any match up predictions, but I think both coaches will pull some surprises.

Obviously a few people connected with the two clubs, either players, officials or parents drop on these boards and have a read, so to them I wish them all the best, hope they get the result they want and more importantly enjoy the moment.

being one of sakesy's best mates talked to him sunday and seemed alrite, but good luck trying to keep him out of the side, key player if bushies r going to win, id put my money on him to play and play well.. good luck to the bushys and especially the 'nella boys in rocky, jim and willie.. hope klay gets a game too..