Tallangatta League

Mitta winners by 1 point in the seniors, Kiewa easy winners in the 2's. Senior game was all Kiewa's when up by 20 odd points but Mitta climbed back with Jones kicking a goal in the last couple of minutes. Scrappy game, Nelson boys were prob 2 of their best.

just got back from the gf which was very scrappy for the best two sides going around!!!!! highlights of the day would be ash sutherlands leaping..wasting his time losing gf's should take up high jumping. the t***ies which sat in front of us and she didn't even face the footy. the mountain men doubling there score in the last quarter to take out the gf.well what's going to happen at kiewa next season.will they have more money to spend or will players leave??? the gf should be played in town but i was surpised at the crowd. also a special thanks to the blokes on the gate checking cars for grog.no grog in here mate....to easy ......also high to all the rednecks from the mountain....:D

Congrats to packs and the boys at Mitta didn't get there to see it, but can only imagine what the last quarter must have been like. I think we still should give some credit to Kiewa was easily the champion club of the year and seniors rose from 8th last year to miss the chocolates by a solitary point. (Great effort:thumbsu:) Kiewa back to back in the reserves Barny would be taking that hard, easily the best side all year but beaten on the day. That's the beauty of having only a best of 1 Grand Final only one shot at it. Bring on pre-season can't wait for next year lets all start doing a rain dance but.

what happened yesterday???? kiewa did you guys play in the last quarter or go off getting photos with the flag before winning the game..all can be aid is choke choke choke see you next year....

'We're the mighty men from Mitta...
Mountain Men are we. oi oi oi
We're the mighty men from Mitta
And we wear the big white V

We stick to together when we're losing
Never ever give in
AND THE PREMIERSHIP WE WON!!!!!!!!!!!

Take that Travis Knight - we're not too old, we're not too slow, we've done it four in a row

And Camo - didn't need ya after all mate, and we don't want you

Never ever give in

If your going to quote the Mitta song.
GET IT RIGHT.
It is win or losing not when we're losing.

Never ever give in

If your going to quote the Mitta song.
GET IT RIGHT.
It is win or losing not when we're losing.

Hey mate

It was amended to suit the game bud. Because we were losing... So, I'm guessing I should have written 'and the premiership we'll win' or is it OK that that was amended too??????

Anyway the point of the matter Mitta won the grannie......:thumbsu:

Few of us went down to watch this game and see quality of footy compared to the rfl.....bout the same level but we thought our umpires were bad, umpires who did the game where shocking (unless you were a mitta supporter) - from un unbiased view having not knowing who was playing, the umpires cost kiewa the game
that's just my idea anyway from looking in having a few beers and part of footy, cant be changed now

where do most of your teams play there pre-season games and who against? we always get stuck playing teams in comps way lower than us and are pointless.

Yack boys any truth to rumour Purcell heading to Jindera next year?

mmmmmmm. Big Al, where do i start?
Jindera, Howlong, Jerilderie... the list will go on over the next couple of months or so you can count on that. Jindera would sound logical though, he knows Geoff Boyle pretty well and he is a mad Bulldogs supporter, so would love to wear the red, blue and white jumper.
my connections at Yack say he has the shits 'cos his young bloke didn't get much game time in one of the fourths finals. dont expect to see him in the Royal Blue and White (or TDFL next season) Yack have signed Chris Artis as CHF for 2008, big and strong and has started training already for a big year. with the new KFC so close to the Stump, all bases are covered and The Bull is on board.

Jindera, Howlong, Jerilderie... the list will go on over the next couple of months or so you can count on that. Jindera would sound logical though, he knows Geoff Boyle pretty well and he is a mad Bulldogs supporter, so would love to wear the red, blue and white jumper.
my connections at Yack say he has the shits 'cos his young bloke didn't get much game time in one of the fourths finals. dont expect to see him in the Royal Blue and White (or TDFL next season) Yack have signed Chris Artis as CHF for 2008, big and strong and has started training already for a big year. with the new KFC so close to the Stump, all bases are covered and The Bull is on board.

Surely he wouldnt leave coz his young fella didnt get much of a go in the Under 14s!!! The kids has 20 years of footy in front of him.

Few of us went down to watch this game and see quality of footy compared to the rfl.....bout the same level but we thought our umpires were bad, umpires who did the game where shocking (unless you were a mitta supporter) - from un unbiased view having not knowing who was playing, the umpires cost kiewa the game
that's just my idea anyway from looking in having a few beers and part of footy, cant be changed now

where do most of your teams play there pre-season games and who against? we always get stuck playing teams in comps way lower than us and are pointless.
I've been to both the Upper Murray and Tallangatta league Grand Finals so far (looking forward to the Hume GF) but the Upper Murray was a far better game to watch than the TDFL. As we all know the Tallangatta league is far stronger in standard but after watching the scrappy low scoring affair on Saturday I doubt that it is the best district competition in the area. If the O and K and Hume comps have maintained the similar standard of the last few years I would say they would be up there with the best. Great crowd though and even the ground was in terrific nick so a great day was had by all (except Kiewa supporters);)

So here is how i see each clubs performance:
Mitta: Done it again but where to from here (9.5/10
Kiewa: Best side all year would be disappointed to miss will start raging favourites next year.PASS 9/10
Barny: Good season as expected what will happen to the Holbrook crew out there if a new coach arrives. PASS 8.5/10
Thurgoona: Great year from the battlers already lost Murray but have enough depth and with some smart recruiting could be up with KSC next year. PASS 8.5/10
Chiltern: fell back a bit but still has the talent to stay in the mix 7/10
Beechworth: Surprised everyone including yours truely should be in the mix next year. 6.5/10
Yack: Dissapointing after top 3 finish last year looking to re climb 5/10
Wodonga: good middle part but rely on to few stars to carry the club 4.5/10
Dederang: Player losses hurt but still got a lot of work to do. 4/10
Rutherglen: Most disappointing played a lot of kids future looks bright 3.5/10
Tallangatta: Recruited wrong type of players to the comp will learn was out of there depth for most of the year need some seriously good players to threaten again 1/10
Just my opinion don't take it personally.:thumbsu:

just thought i would say farewell to the boys from Mitta as tomorrow will be there last game. Mad Monday has come a week early for them for the first time in 4 years.
without Cohen they will struggle. i can't see Packer putting himself in the middle to give his boys a bit of grunt!. If Carty goes troppo like last week Barny may win by a mile.
i can't wait for a Kiewa Vs Barny Granny, they have had some great games recently and i look forward to next week.
Barny by 11 points tomorrow. Withers to kick 7 on Teunon in Fish's last game.
Kiewa by 6 in the GF. Sutherland BOG

:D:D:D:D:D

I've been to both the Upper Murray and Tallangatta league Grand Finals so far (looking forward to the Hume GF) but the Upper Murray was a far better game to watch than the TDFL. As we all know the Tallangatta league is far stronger in standard but after watching the scrappy low scoring affair on Saturday I doubt that it is the best district competition in the area. If the O and K and Hume comps have maintained the similar standard of the last few years I would say they would be up there with the best. Great crowd though and even the ground was in terrific nick so a great day was had by all (except Kiewa supporters);)

You make that assumption on the back of one scrappy low scoring grand final? Correct me if I'm wrong but didn't the Tallangatta league spank the O&K league last year in the interleague game?

as the dog on the Toyota ad says "bugger"
i must say, i was dreaming (or hoping) that Mitta would lose yesterday, but more than anything i was expecting a barrage of ridiculous replies telling me to pull my head in blah blah blah. Mountain Man is obviously keeping a lid on it.
Milesy, great picture mate.
Gents, what a great year it has been for all involved. i must say this thread has had its ups and downs but in all, the season was a ripper. a few notable things to come from TDFL 07-(1)Thurgoona finally having an impact after being the easy beats (lets see how they go with next years draw playing the top 5 twice). (2) a player being reported after the game and getting outed for 2 weeks, (the same day another bloke punched a bloke in the nose in front of an umpire and got told to settle down) (3) the farcical ending to the Barton Medal Count (4) Wahgunyah gaining entry for next year meaning no byes for the old blokes to recover.
until next year!
Go Kiewa! still reckon Sutherland for BOG.

see above Mountain Man. I at least got Sutherland right for BOG.
gee it would have been a fun night at Mitta on Saturday night!! i bet your former Gun Player was out there running a muck. the big, strong Stickman, Lee Mulholland. he was annoying at the footy, let alone midnight.

any movements on who is coaching for a 5th Flag next year?? big job.

see above Mountain Man. I at least got Sutherland right for BOG.
gee it would have been a fun night at Mitta on Saturday night!! i bet your former Gun Player was out there running a muck. the big, strong Stickman, Lee Mulholland. he was annoying at the footy, let alone midnight.

any movements on who is coaching for a 5th Flag next year?? big job.

2 horse race, Conway or Slater

The canteen committee will be rubbing their hands together, already.
Canteen sales will jump through the roof.
The boy's at Gregs takeway had better shelve plans for that fishing boat.

You make that assumption on the back of one scrappy low scoring grand final? Correct me if I'm wrong but didn't the Tallangatta league spank the O&K league last year in the interleague game?
It's not the only Tallangatta league game i have seen this year (6 in total) and 2 were finals. Representative football counts for little as highly paid players sometimes get mysterious injuries for those games. I'm only saying as a spectacle it was not the most enjoyable games to watch.:)