Talls a Focus for the Crows

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

Re: Talls a focus for Crows

Nip/Tuck said:
Gets! stop trying to sound knowledgable about a player who you've never seen play.

Stick to your own board gollywog.

Seen him on the Tassie game on ABC and in the U18 champs.

Ive got a mate down in Hobart who follows Jack Reiwoldt pretty closely and says he is a gun, very strong hands and has a big engine, think if he is still available at 14 we should nab him:thumbsu:

maccas_no1 said:
Ive got a mate down in Hobart who follows Jack Reiwoldt pretty closely and says he is a gun, very strong hands and has a big engine, think if he is still available at 14 we should nab him:thumbsu:
The problem is he won't be avaiable at 14.

you might disagree but I think that your focus should be on genuine midfield quality

your talls (to me) look to be pretty stable and of high quality and young

maybe a second big defender to help out truck but apart from that you look pretty good

Lynch drops a mark said:
you might disagree but I think that your focus should be on genuine midfield quality

maybe a second big defender to help out truck but apart from that you look pretty good
I don't particularly disagree with you about the midfield but I also think we really need some KPPs.

We lost Fergus Watts last year who we were grooming for CHF and we haven't replaced him yet. I think we are set to feel that loss next year no doubt.

Hentschel was by far our best KP forward but he won't be playing next year at all and its somewhat questionable if he will ever make a full recovery.

Chad Gibson has potential but he can't stay on the park for 3 games in a row and would still be some time away from being AFL ready.

Rutten and Bock are seen as key defenders and I think we are set there and have a pretty impressive combo.

The forward line is a bit more of a worry. Perrie and McGregor are solid workhorses but none of them are true match winners. Perrie is nearing that 30 age barrier and McGregor is still only 25.

Other than those players we really don't have anything else in terms of true KPP. Stevens is a good solid depth player but with his body shape he will never be consistent key position player. He is more suited as a 3rd tall.

While our midfield needs some attention, we have have drafted some midfielders in the last couple of years that will be dveloped and given more chance. Douglas looks a player and I think he will get a fair few games next year. Porplyzia and Johncock need to get their fitness up to get into the midfield. They both have everything esle you want in a midfielder.

Van Berlo, Knights, Vince and Pfeiffer are also players that have been drafted over the last 2 years and are being developed as a midfielder. There is no question we need some real class and pace in the midfield but in terms of what we have the least of, then the key position forwards we really don't have enough of.

Whilst I think we need both midfielders and kpp's, QUALITY KPP's is more of a priority. Breaking down our stocks of under 22's ( assuming none get delisted):

Genuine Midfielders:
Van Berlo.
Knights.
Douglas
Pfeiffer.
Porplyzia - Lack of pace may hold him back from becoming a genuine midfielder.

Rucks:
Maric.
Meesen
Griffen

KPP:
Gibson
Obst - Not quite sure why we recruited this kid.

Small Forward:
Jericho.
Vince.

Half Back:
Hinge

I think we need to recruit 2 KPP, 2 GENUINE midfilders in the main draft and then 2 and 2 in the rookie draft. Easier said, than done.

SpringChoke said:
Haven't you argued in the past that age isn't a problem. :confused:
Springy, when it comes to KPP age is definetly and issue because there are not many that play well beyond 30.

With the running players there are plenty of examples where players have played their best footy after after they turned 30. For those sort of players, I don't think age is be all and end all. Their future should be looked at based on their performance.

Other than Lynch, name me a key forward that has played some really good, consistent football after their 30th birthday.

There are more key forwards that are spent by the time they get to 30.

Stiffy_18 said:
Springy, when it comes to KPP age is definetly and issue because there are not many that play well beyond 30.

With the running players there are plenty of examples where players have played their best footy after after they turned 30. For those sort of players, I don't think age is be all and end all. Their future should be looked at based on their performance.

Other than Lynch, name me a key forward that has played some really good, consistent football after their 30th birthday.

There are more key forwards that are spent by the time they get to 30.

That's what i've been saying all aloong, you won't get an argument out of me.

You watching the TAC GF?

SpringChoke said:
That's what i've been saying all aloong, you won't get an argument out of me.

You watching the TAC GF?
Nah, writing up a report, watching a bit of GF lead up on CH10 and posting on BF :D

The art of multi tasking :D

Douglas just finished last in his heat for the GF sprint :(

Anyone interesting in TAC GF?

Stiffy_18 said:
Nah, writing up a report, watching a bit of GF lead up on CH10 and posting on BF :D

Delist him.

Stiffy_18 said:

Haven't really been watching it. Just doing abit of study before fishing. However, have heard Sheldon and Williams JNR's mentioned. More father sons for Victorians. I wonder, on average, how often Victorian clubs get the option of recruiting father/sons and paying less than tott odds.

Stating the obvious, but it's criminal how much us and The Ferals are disadvantaged by this rule. Not trhat the ferals would realise this.

It would be interesting to know what percentage of players, that play at least 10 senior games, go onto play 200 as opposed to those that go onto play 100. I would say at least 50% less.

SpringChoke said:
Stating the obvious, but it's criminal how much us and The Ferals are disadvantaged by this rule. Not trhat the ferals would realise this.
Er, Chokey...who was it that knew the father/son rules well enough to notice that Gibbs wasn't eligible?

Gets! said:
Riewoldt has shown more then Watts ever did pre-draft.

Riewoldt has taken a couple of VFL games by the scruff of the neck. Kicked 5 in a final and had 20 touches from memory.

He is Nick's cousin Elvis.

Riewoldt >>>> Polak ;)
Unsubstantiated dribble........:rolleyes:

Stiffy_18 said:
In what aspects of the game is Riewoldt better than both Polak and Watts at the same age?
Polak and watts were pack/contested marks .......my understanding is Reiwoldt is more in the McPhee (Essendon) mould

Wayne's-World said:
Polak and watts were pack/contested marks .......my understanding is Reiwoldt is more in the McPhee (Essendon) mould
:thumbsd:

Anyone who is a pack/contested marker in this years draft that will be available with pick 14? :(

The last thing we need is a McPhee type player.

Porthos said:
Er, Chokey...who was it that knew the father/son rules well enough to notice that Gibbs wasn't eligible?

I was speaking more of:

Feral: Sucked sh*t youse can't draft Gibbs caus he didn't play 200 games. Ha, ha youse never goin git a father son.

Crows Fan: Errr I don't know if you noticed but the 200 game rule also applies to Port.

Feral: ( said in best Cathy Freeman voice ) err, err, awwwr, awww, awww Rooly.... awwww that sux.

There's no doubt we'll pick up a reasonable KPP ....but hard to tell diamonds in the rough at this age.....midfielders far easier to get a read on..

Though Jarred Allen looked OK today in the TAC GF....good hands, apperas to read the ball well....but didn't appear to have much of a leap.....more the McGregor marking style.

Others that have been mentioned in this thread....Reid has some good reports, McKenzie is seen more as a defender (? on him) .....I'm confident the club will do OK

Wayne's-World said:
There's no doubt we'll pick up a reasonable KPP ....but hard to tell diamonds in the rough at this age.....midfielders far easier to get a read on..

Though Jarred Allen looked OK today in the TAC GF....good hands, apperas to read the ball well....but didn't appear to have much of a leap.....more the McGregor marking style.

Others that have been mentioned in this thread....Reid has some good reports, McKenzie is seen more as a defender (? on him) .....I'm confident the club will do OK
Cheers :thumbsu:

Where is bigman when you need him?! :eek:

Reid sounds interesting but he would need 3 pre-seasons in the gym before he even looks like getting at AFL game. I hope he has a frame that can fill out. The last thing we need is another Scott Stevens type KPP. We need someone with size and a bit of grunt.

Lynch drops a mark said:

Players 190cm or over at Adelaide.
BACKS: Bassett, Bock, Hart, Obst, Rutten, Stevens
RUCK: Biglands, Griffin, Hudson, Maric, Meesen
FORWARDS: Gibson, Hentschel, Jericho, McGregor, Perrie

The ones in bold I'd class as high quality, McGregor probably isn't too far off, Stevens could get there is his development continues and hopefully the young ruckmen develop well, but the depth outside of this years 22 isn't great, and considering we are missing our best Forward for next year, KPPs should be a priority.

Stiffy_18 said:
Cheers :thumbsu:

Where is bigman when you need him?! :eek:

Reid sounds interesting but he would need 3 pre-seasons in the gym before he even looks like getting at AFL game. I hope he has a frame that can fill out. The last thing we need is another Scott Stevens type KPP. We need someone with size and a bit of grunt.
Unfortunately that's probably the difference with the talls touted in the top 10 versus those from 10-20.....simply the weight factor :(

It will be still very interesting.....as the game gets quicker, teams will be looking to add pace (call it the Bulldog factor).....this may result in some talls "maybe" dropping down ala Cameron Wood.

Where Luenburger goes will say a great deal about clubs attitudes.....he should go top 5, but again he could fall outside the top 10 if clubs seek the elite midfielders.

Wayne's-World said:
Unfortunately that's probably the difference with the talls touted in the top 10 versus those from 10-20.....simply the weight factor :(

It will be still very interesting.....as the game gets quicker, teams will be looking to add pace (call it the Bulldog factor).....this may result in some talls "maybe" dropping down ala Cameron Wood.

Where Luenburger goes will say a great deal about clubs attitudes.....he should go top 5, but again he could fall outside the top 10 if clubs seek the elite midfielders.
Doesn't this Reid kid have some link with the Doggies?!

If he does, I reckon the Doggies might pick him up before he gets down to us.

Where would Riewoldt rate in this draft?

AdelUniCrowFan said:
Players 190cm or over at Adelaide.
BACKS: Bassett, Bock, Hart, Obst, Rutten, Stevens
RUCK: Biglands, Griffin, Hudson, Maric, Meesen
FORWARDS: Gibson, Hentschel, Jericho, McGregor, Perrie

The ones in bold I'd class as high quality, McGregor probably isn't too far off, Stevens could get there is his development continues and hopefully the young ruckmen develop well, but the depth outside of this years 22 isn't great, and considering we are missing our best Forward for next year, KPPs should be a priority.
You have raised another VERY important draft need.....our 190cm defenders that can play tall and small (include Torney as well) are getting to the end of their careers.

Best I can see we do not have replacements sitting on our list currently....bit of an issue IMO

Stiffy_18 said:
Doesn't this Reid kid have some link with the Doggies?!

If he does, I reckon the Doggies might pick him up before he gets down to us.

Where would Riewoldt rate in this draft?
you can always find some link to clubs.....if you dig enough.....this ones irrelevant

Reiwoldt in early boards was mid teens......then had a couple of ripper TAC games where he kicked a bagful of goals...that catipulted him into top 10 calculations.

The order as last year will have some reasonable changes in order once the draft camp concludes.

The two Collinwood draft picks from last year were outside the top 10 b4 the camp and both were finally taken in top 5