Tambling rapt to be 'home'

Hammerfire said:
Ok, just so no1 decides to tear me a new arseh*le due to me saying i reckon Tambling is soft here are the facts!

2. He has no experience playing against mature bodied players

He played for the NTFL against the Doggies last year, was one of the best players on the ground and kicked 2 goals.

Sloppy skills???? Do you know how much it rained up here yesterday.

He is not soft. He is Smart. Call it self preservation. Infact for his size he needs to be. I'm glad he came out of the game injury free.

His role is not to go in and get it anyhow, I'd hate to waste his pace at the bottom of a pack.

Fair dinkum some guys on here are so ..... in the head it's not funny. Let the boy play atleast 2 years before you label him anything. YOur probably the same guys who think DAffy was tough because he got cleened up in a final.

Hammerfire said:
Tambling is not an "inside" midfielder ie: he appears to be a bit soft.

Tambling appears to rush his possession under pressure.

That's all i got.

Frankly, i'll wait until the Wizard Cup (if he plays) to make a proper opinion on him.

BTFW, i only watched the 1st and last quarter of the game!
Considering he got onto the ground late in the 1st qtr and by the time the last qtr came round every player was knackered you come up with an opinion that he is soft.
Rushing his disposal is nothing new for his kind of people.thats the style they were brought up on.
You base your opinion on about 25 mins of football
FOOL!

Hammerfire said:
You really are a ********ing moron Infamy.

Did you miss the countless times he stood back away from the packs, waiting to be fed the ball?

Looking for physical contact the whole night my ********ing ass!

YOU DIDN'T WATCH THE 3 QUARTERS HE PLAYED IN!!!
Stop pretending that you know anything, you CANNOT comment on something you didn't see
I used to defend you on PRE in PMs to other board members who had it in for you, now I'm seeing exactly what they did.

******** me, i say he appears soft, i say he won't be an inside midfielder, and im getting burned at the stake.

I'm not simply going to glorify the kids and say "Oh he was ********ing great, he killed them" if i don't think he did.

And as far as i'm concerned, his got 2-3 years to prove me wrong.

People really need to calm down and take it down a notch!

And btw i was wrong btw, i didn't watch 2 quarters, i watched almost 3 quarters, missing the 2nd.

Some of you people should be ashamed of yourselves, seriously.

People have agreed with that i have said, they have just said it in a more indirect way.

I'm not going to listen to the blindly biased crap of the likes of TOO, Infamy and Nut.

If CJH or Richofan#1 don't like what i have to say they can ban me, until they do i'll say what i want to say!

In conclusion:

• Tambling is 18 years old.
  • Tambling will not be an inside midfielder IMO, and will need to be fed the ball to have impact.
  • His got 2-3 years to prove me wrong, and for this forums sake i hope he does.
  • Last night's game of footy was a disgrace by anyone standards anyway.

Hammerfire said:
I'm not simply going to glorify the kids and say "Oh he was ********ing great, he killed them" if i don't think he did.
No one is saying that at all, the only assessment is that for a kid in his first hit out of AFL level football, he showed glimpses of why he was rated so highly. He did get over 20 possessions.

Hammerfire said:
And btw i was wrong btw, i didn't watch 2 quarters, i watched almost 3 quarters, missing the 2nd.
Nice grab for a shred of credibility. Regardless, you missed the quarter where he was most prevalent. You may wish to get checked for alzheimer's if you keep forgetting about quarters of football that you watched only the night before.

Hammerfire said:
I'm not going to listen to the blindly biased crap of the likes of TOO, Infamy and Nut.
How is what we've said biased? We've commented on a game that we actually saw, which is a lot more than you can say.

Hammerfire said:
Nice backflip.Now you reckon you watched 3qtrs after publically stating you only watched the 1st and last.LAUGHS!{goes down with the im never going to visit a certain site again]
Hammerfire said:
Considering Infamy and Nut were in a better position to comment on Tambling than someone who based his opinion on 1 and a bit qtrs.

Infamy said:
No one is saying that at all, the only assessment is that for a kid in his first hit out of AFL level football, he showed glimpses of why he was rated so highly. He did get over 20 possessions.

Where are the stats for last nights game...

Thought Tambling played a solid if unspectactular game. His skills were generally ok on a night when lots of players struggled to hit targets. Have to remember it is their first hit out for the season.

His defensive pressure was generally good, as others have said was sometimes pushed off the ball a bit too easliy but at this stage that is to be expected. Also around some of the stoppages there seemed to be occasions when was copping a fair bit of attention from his opponents, but he didn't get sucked into doing anything stupid.

i did see him outside of packs on a number of occassions, but who is to say that the coach did not instruct him to do so? saying he will never be an inside midfielder on the basis of a pre-pre-season game is ludicrous especially when the kid has never played at afl level before. i thought he showed a bit and i only saw the second half of the game.

Who said he was supposed to be an inside midfielder?

And FWIW, I saw the game from qtr time on, and thought he did some good things...followed up his mistakes and kept running...

As the commentator said...polish up the finishing in front of the sticks, and we have ourselves a very good player.

Bentleigh said:

Posted by Roar on another forum
I kept a running tally on Tambling and krak just for interest
Tambling
My stats were 13 Kicks - 8 H/B - 2 marks, 21 possetions, 2 Tackles I credited him with 2 behinds even though they were touched in transit
Krak
he had a few touches with 2 goal assists, my stats 3 Kicks - 7 H/B

They may not be official, but its what we've got

Darth_Tiger said:
i did see him outside of packs on a number of occassions, but who is to say that the coach did not instruct him to do so? saying he will never be an inside midfielder on the basis of a pre-pre-season game is ludicrous especially when the kid has never played at afl level before.
Kevin Bartlett played over 400 AFL games where he was mostly seen outside the packs waiting for a spill, receive or sharking opportunity. He tore opposition teams apart on numerous occasions. Its how good rovers play the game. I didn't see last nights game, but from what I've heard and read about Tambling it would seem to be a waste of his skills if he was on the bottom of every pack. That role is better left to nuggety little extractors like coughlan.

I don't understand how someone who waits to rove the packs is instantly deemed 'soft', which is what has been said here.
You can still be a physical player without being at the bottom of every pack, the reason I have such a problem with the 'soft' tag being applied to Tambo here is that more than once I saw him try and bump players off the ball or out of the play. He didn't exactly succeed brilliantly due to his smaller frame, but he still bounced off the player, got up and chased the ball.
That is NOT a soft player.
It was noted before the draft in more than one review of him that he loves the physical stuff, pretty much exactly what I saw last night

Bentleigh said:

i got some here that i roughy got. i taped the game last night and had another look at the game, keeping a close eye on tambling. heres what i got:

Tamblings stats.
1st Q

kicks: 0
handballs: 2
Marks: 0
Tackles: 2

2nd Q

kicks: 6
handballs: 4
Marks: 1
Tackles: 0

3rd Q

kicks: 1
handballs: 2
Marks: 0

4th Q

kicks: 4
handballs: 1
Marks: 1

extras: Frees for: 1 Frees against: 2 score: 1 behind. 20 possessions

while watching the game you dont really notice him all the time, but since i was keeping an eye on him it was a fantastic effort and game by tambling. 20 possies againts an afl level club is a fantastic acheivement. sure he will show us plenty more! the only area he really needs to improve is goin for the ball whilts in a close pack situation. but he may have been told to stay out of it all together.?? good game for a young talent! ;) :D

OK first post guys
Watched Tambling last year play in Darwin and also saw him in the 18's Championships. A couple of times i cringed how he went for the ball and ended up worse off. He'll have a crack, dont worry about that. Let him get his stamina and weight right then watch out.

Cheers

Tambling was good IMO and his skills were pretty good for his FIRST GAME against and AFL side. I've only seen the 1st half so far, but taped it so will watch the rest later, i saw he got 20 possies, so i dont get whats so bad about that?

Well done Tambling :)

Hammerfire said:

[/list]

I have seen him play live against the dogs at the start of last year. In terrible conditions he kicked 2 goals and set up a few more. If he was a listed player last year than I have no doubt that he would have 10-15 games under his belt already.

He is the real deal.

His style of play is beeing debated here.

He is not soft

We need more players that can read packs, there is nothing wrong in being able to ssit outside a pack and crum.

He will go and get his own ball and break out of packs.

His speed is his biggest asset, and I dont really think we can utilise this if he is on the bottom of packs.

He is all class.

blindly biased crap you may call it, but I've seen him in the flesh, I've spoken to Maurice Rioli who has seen him play a fair bit and he regards him very highly, Dean rioli also rated him a top 3 pick 12 months ago.

But you know best,

Idiot.

Tambling rapt to be 'home'