TD

I know this has been talked about to death.......but I was interested in seeing which mark everyone thinks was better. Both marks were sensational and would probably both be awarded Mark of the Year any other year.

My Bias says Moorcroft's was better, but what do the more neutral members of Bigfooty think?

Originally posted by Darky
Moorcroft's. That was a huge jump for a bloke with legs the length of couple of fun size Mars bars.

ROFLMAO, poor litle Barrel.
I am biased too Moorcroft easy, I agree with Jabso, their should be a draw option.

as a neutral supporter..both marks were great. But Moorcrofts....that was one of the best marks ever let alone mark of the year. Tarrants was fantastic, but this was better.

Okay, the first non-Woods fan thats voting for Tarrent then!

Moorcrofts was spectacular to look at. Tarrants (in my view) was a harder mark to take. Big pack, heavy body work and not as clear a view. Moorcroft basically jumped to where he knew it was going, took a great jump (had the slightest of dubiousness about it) and held a more 'direct' catch at its peak.

In short, both outstanding marks, but for degree of difficulty Tarrants nudges (just) Moorcrofts out.

Non Collingwood supporter voting for Tarrant. If Moorcroft hadn't taken it, it would have been a free kick against him.What's the difference, either he infringed or he didn't. Never really 'got'that rule.

Purely subjective thing. It's like arguing over which is the better song out of 'Rak Off Normie' and 'Jump In My Car'. Both are grouse in their own way.

Mr Ripper (joining Beausgirl on the fence)

Originally posted by Same Old's
Moorcroft's because he took it above his head.

mate.... are u implying it was better than Smiths JUST cos he took it infront of his face?????? and not above the shoulders

Originally posted by PiesPremiers

mate.... are u implying it was better than Smiths JUST cos he took it infront of his face?????? and not above the shoulders

Smith? We're comparing Moorcroft's to Tarrant's. Yes, Moorcroft's looked more spectacular to me because he caught the ball when it was over his head plus the fact he was fully extended when he went for the mark.

Originally posted by Same Old's

Smith? We're comparing Moorcroft's to Tarrant's. Yes, Moorcroft's looked more spectacular to me because he caught the ball when it was over his head plus the fact he was fully extended when he went for the mark.

my point was, whether it was over his head, infront of his face, or between his legs, it wouldnt matter.. you cant judge a mark on where its taken...every mark is different, and its a matter of opinion to who you think is the better mark... if i could have taken either, i would have taken tarrants, because he beat 14 hands to the ball, from 30m away when the ball was kicked... and i was there, and saw it live... i wasnt there, didnt see moorecrofts, maybe thats why... but for mine, Tarrant will bring the bacon home... or the v dub..whatever it is?

I not sure what your problem with my argument is PP? I know they were marks taken in two differen't situations however I generally believe the better marks are the one's taken overhead. That's the reason I thought Moorcroft's was better. If you don't agree, that's fine.

Moorcrofts by a country mile, we are comparing the best mark ever taken to a mark of the year candidate!!!

I saw both live and got to tell you I almost chocked on mid air when I saw the moorcroft grab!!

And Pie fans this is coming from an essendon hater with passion, so it has some merit :)

One of the greatest ever marks of all times!

moorcrofts was better, he used the other guys back to jump even further and bent his back behind him to take the mark over his head!
AMAZING!
i could see that one again (and i'm sure i will)

I think Moorcroft's was better.

Like others have said, he's just a small guy and I reckon he did a good job especially considering that.