Tarrant

• Thread starter Thread starter theGav56

??? it doesn't matter how tarrant goes????????

what did u blokes give up to get him across??? ended up giving the pies pick8 in a super draft for taz, so taz has to perform as u missed out on a gun youngster.

Read my post. I am saying that it is not as simple as how Tarrant goes because it is about building a diverse forward line. It is no use having Pavlich (or Tarrant) going really well, if there is no-one else to kick it to. The opposition simply double and triple teams him. That is, Tarrant is not a saviour for us as some of the trolls are saying. It matters how our forward line goes. We won't have a forward line in which all the players kick above 50 goals, even though they all theoretically "could".

Cream on all you want about the kid you drafted. Most of us would be devestated if the club traded away Mundy for a first round draft pick even in a so-called super draft. Tall players who actualy can play are by defintition better than tall players who may be able to play. Plus, they can play now, which is when we need them.

Yeah Yellow Mit, I certainly didnt mean Meddy was as good as Tarrant, just that he could kick more than 30 goals, as Doppleganger was hoping.

Another good thing with Tarrant is it gives us another player besides Pav who can kick good set shot goals outside 50. Pav and Tarrant have roughly the same range.

When teams flood back and fill up our 50, we can just give it to Taz or Pav and boom.. goal! :)

Another good thing with Tarrant is it gives us another player besides Pav who can kick good set shot goals outside 50. Pav and Tarrant have roughly the same range.

When teams flood back and fill up our 50, we can just give it to Taz or Pav and boom.. goal! :)

I don't think I'd be putting Tarrant's shots for goals in the same league as Pav.

I just meant they have the same range, Pav is more accurate though, you are right. How many others (in our team) can take a set shot outside 50 and reliably get it over the line though?

Not heaps. Headland, Gilmore, Black. Others can, but maybe not reliably. With Tarrant taking marks upfield his long kicking will be very useful.

Headland and Black are right on their range at 50, they aren't too comfortable taking set shots from goal at that distance. Though on the run they can probably kick 55ish, with Black probably 60. I'm not sure about Gilmore because I haven't seen him kick for goal too often.

Pav and Tarrant when they mark it at 50-55m feel comfortable kicking it the required 60-65 to get it over the line from a set shot pace.

Headland and Black are right on their range at 50, they aren't too comfortable taking set shots from goal at that distance. Though on the run they can probably kick 55ish, with Black probably 60. I'm not sure about Gilmore because I haven't seen him kick for goal too often.

Pav and Tarrant when they mark it at 50-55m feel comfortable kicking it the required 60-65 to get it over the line from a set shot pace.

I'd feel much happier with either;
• Headland or Black having a shot from 50-55 than Tarrant or
• Tarrant passing to someone in the forward line from 50-55 out rather than trying to kick a goal.

I think we have better shots at goal than Tarrant, and if we can move the ball on quickly enough then those shots will be taken from within the 50 rather than outside it.

Read my post. I am saying that it is not as simple as how Tarrant goes because it is about building a diverse forward line. It is no use having Pavlich (or Tarrant) going really well, if there is no-one else to kick it to. The opposition simply double and triple teams him. That is, Tarrant is not a saviour for us as some of the trolls are saying. It matters how our forward line goes. We won't have a forward line in which all the players kick above 50 goals, even though they all theoretically "could".

Cream on all you want about the kid you drafted. Most of us would be devestated if the club traded away Mundy for a first round draft pick even in a so-called super draft. Tall players who actualy can play are by defintition better than tall players who may be able to play. Plus, they can play now, which is when we need them.

not really sure what ur on about with all of that

i think it was a good move for both clubs

freo aiming for the now, hence getting tarrant to aim for a flag

pies looking further down the track hence picked up some youngsters

but taz needs to perform, i think he will, but if he keeps getting injured and struggling to produce i dont think freo fans will be too happy with taz

Nobody is happy with players getting injured.

I think freo fans will be happy if our forward line produces. I don't think the pressure is on individuals as much as has been the case with our forward line in the past. That is the purpose of recruiting Tarrant in my opinion; to take pressure of individual performance. My response is to the Collingwood supporters view that Tarrant has been recruited as a "saviour". That is not the case.

yeah i agree with you thegav56, while i think tarrant is going to have a pretty good if not outstanding year, not for one moment i believe he is freo's saviour, he is just another component (along with pav and mundy etc etc) of the team that will help contribute to the overall team goal of getting to a flag and lets face it the teams that win flags are the teams who play as a team. And obviously that is freo's way of thinking with there being no one avenue of scoring, multiple options so that there is no pressure on a 1 individual, and in most cases it will work pretty effectively.

I think freo fans will be happy if our forward line produces. I don't think the pressure is on individuals as much as has been the case with our forward line in the past. That is the purpose of recruiting Tarrant in my opinion; to take pressure of individual performance. My response is to the Collingwood supporters view that Tarrant has been recruited as a "saviour". That is not the case.

Well said. Thats how Collingwood viewed him and had such high expectations on him all the time even when playing injured. Fremantle is a much more balanced team, its good to read threads about Chris that are more realistic, fair and just want him to be part of their team not be the team. I am surprised Collingwood are not thrashing the other teams in the practise matches because wasn't it Taz's fault they kept losing..

fair enough, agree that taz was never recruited as a saviour, was miffed by ur comment that he doesn't need to perform, but u explained what u meant by that....ie goal kicking, so all good

taz does his best work when he isn't the sole target, when he has a couple of other KP players down their with him, ie Rocca and a combo of Molloy/Fraser at the woods.........he will get that this year at freo with Pav and a combo of Longmuir/Murphy. That being the case i expect big things from Taz, and look forward to watching him play at his best in what i expect to be a premiership side

IMO freo traded for the now, they realise they have the nucleus of a premiership team and want to give themselves the best chance of winning one or even multiple premierships, and the pies realised that taz prob wont deliver us a flag so he was used to try to help sort out the pies next real dig at a flag in a few years down the track

good trading by both teams IMO

IMO freo traded for the now, they realise they have the nucleus of a premiership team and want to give themselves the best chance of winning one or even multiple premierships, and the pies realised that taz prob wont deliver us a flag so he was used to try to help sort out the pies next real dig at a flag in a few years down the track

First Pie supporter I have seen to hold this view, congratulations for giving credit where credit is due.
I totally agree with you, both sides walked away with great deals.

From a freo perspective we traded our first pick and two players that werent going anywhere while at the club.

Pies recieved another two high draft picks as they rebuild

Tarrant is contracted for four years i think, so I guess that puts a timeframe on his impact on our "window of opportunity". Perhaps a little beyond that if he is motivated and physially able to contribute.

I also think our recruiters knew that this draft was very deep, and were confident that they could get good players who matched our needs with later picks. At least that is what they said they believed they could do, and I could not be happier with who they snared even if they still had a first round pick.

Tarrant is contracted for four years i think, so I guess that puts a timeframe on his impact on our "window of opportunity". Perhaps a little beyond that if he is motivated and physially able to contribute.

I also think our recruiters knew that this draft was very deep, and were confident that they could get good players who matched our needs with later picks. At least that is what they said they believed they could do, and I could not be happier with who they snared even if they still had a first round pick, although this will be an ongoing debate. If we still had pick 12 and the recruiters had called out "Collard", there would have been a soft "yes" on the lips of a lot of Docker supporters.

The only major negative in our trading last year was due to the fact that Polak/Richmond had us over a barrel with the PSD, and we may have been able to get a better deal for him.

I think Collingwood lost out on Tarrant, and we lost out on Polak. So maybe we broke even on our trades or slightly lost. Tarrant wanted to leave Melbourne and kind of had Collingwood over the barrel, a bit like Polak wanting to leave Perth.

There is no way we needed more draft picks at this stage in the game for us, and if we had have used our picks instead what would we have now... some rookies sitting in the gym trying to bulk up or playing WAFL. Of which we already have a big list of...

We need to offload more of our dwarf players or let them retire and make sure we don't keep getting them. Bell, Browne, Black, Farmer, Medhurst, Schammer, Hayden, J Carr are all under 180cm. That doesn't mean they are bad players or that I don't like them.. I just think we have too much of our starting 22 as these dwarve type players.. when most teams seem to be going for 6"2 midfielders. We just need to ensure going forward we concentrate on players like Peake who are tall, can run fast and also clear the ball.

I think Collingwood lost out on Tarrant, and we lost out on Polak. So maybe we broke even on our trades or slightly lost. Tarrant wanted to leave Melbourne and kind of had Collingwood over the barrel, a bit like Polak wanting to leave Perth.

Getting pick 8 and Medhurst for Tarrant was a fair trade i reckon, especially when taz was coming off 3 years of injury interupted campaigns where he hadn't performed at his AA level that he showed in 03

fairly happy with the trade from a pies perspective

Getting pick 8 and Medhurst for Tarrant was a fair trade i reckon, especially when taz was coming off 3 years of injury interupted campaigns where he hadn't performed at his AA level that he showed in 03

Why didn't you lot fix up his calves during the off season ? Apparently he has been playing injured fo 3 years.

I am not sure how fit Chris is, at this moment of his preparation, although he was moving freely on Friday night.

Agreed on the trade, both teams happy and lets hope Ben Reid performs to expectation.

As for Taz, well we all know what he is capable of, and now that he is fit....... :D

Why didn't you lot fix up his calves during the off season ? Apparently he has been playing injured fo 3 years.

I am not sure how fit Chris is, at this moment of his preparation, although he was moving freely on Friday night.

Agreed on the trade, both teams happy and lets hope Ben Reid performs to expectation.

As for Taz, well we all know what he is capable of, and now that he is fit....... :D

taz hasn't has had differing injuries the last few years, not just his calves

Not just your opinion. Freo management came out and said exactly that at the end of trade week.

"Fremantle General Manager of Player Personnel and List Management Steven Icke says the pair will be important ingredients as the club strives to be a success in September. “Securing these two players means we’re adding experience with a view to helping us to take a step up the ladder to the last Saturday in September,” said Icke. “These decisions that we’ve made this week are all about taking the next step to play in a Grand Final and ultimately to win a premiership. “It’s a great result. We went into the week targeting two players – Chris Tarrant and Dean Solomon – and we’re rapt to come away with both of them."

Well depends how Medhurst goes for you - if he performs as he did in 2005 (which was average but better than 2006) - it's probably a break even deal. I just have a feeling he will let you guys down.

Glad to hear tarrant got a bit of a run on the weekend, a few more games under his belt will do him alot of good. I think he is going to have a great year for a change as this time he is not the focus and doesnt have the pressure on him to carry the forward line...still i miss him but he will serve you guys well....good luck to freo this year, look forward to watching ur games as last year you showed what you can do - and its exciting.
Carry the forward line!!! What a load of kippers mate!! Taz suffered from dropping his head and at the end of the day poor conversion. Any player needs to be able to play under pressure. He certainly copped his fair share of oppostion attention but at the end of the day, poor kicking hurt him the most.

... as for Rocca, never owned the space he walks in and never will, a bloke that big with such a big kick should be revered but his only ever a half chance.

He certainly copped his fair share of oppostion attention but at the end of the day, poor kicking hurt him the most.

To me he always looked good lining up for a shot at goal, but looks are deceiving. He does seem to be one of those players who can miss from anywhere, and then kick one from an impossible angle outside 50. I always wondered why Collingwood had him as their primary goal kicker when he was not relaible. Useful yes, but you want better conversion.

Hopefully for us 2 things can happen.

Firstly, his main role will not be to be the main goal scorer. of course he will contribute like all the forwards are expected to. But we are looking for a depth of goal scorers, multiple weapons. His role is to increase the depth, and by doing so assist the other tall forwards, especially Pav, but also Murphy and the resting ruckmen. By making the opposition backman more one on one accountable they will be less likely to zone off, double teaming Pav.

Secondly, because those expectations are not so high, hopefully he can address some of his confidence issues, and with that his conversion rate may improve.

To me he always looked good lining up for a shot at goal, but looks are deceiving. He does seem to be one of those players who can miss from anywhere, and then kick one from an impossible angle outside 50. I always wondered why Collingwood had him as their primary goal kicker when he was not relaible. Useful yes, but you want better conversion.
massive confidence kicker, if he kicked his first he was in for a good day, if he missed his first look out!!

Firstly, his main role will not be to be the main goal scorer. of course he will contribute like all the forwards are expected to. But we are looking for a depth of goal scorers, multiple weapons. His role is to increase the depth, and by doing so assist the other tall forwards, especially Pav, but also Murphy and the resting ruckmen. By making the opposition backman more one on one accountable they will be less likely to zone off, double teaming Pav.

taz is a goal assist machine, look for plenty of marks 70-80 from goal, a quick turn onto his left and hit murphy, pav, farmer with a nice pass! should be a lethal combination

Secondly, because those expectations are not so high, hopefully he can address some of his confidence issues, and with that his conversion rate may improve.

dont agree that freo have low expectations for taz, they paid a big price - first rnd draft pick #8 for him to hopefully help bring the club a flag......pretty big expectations id reckon

but yes if his confidence is up he plays better, first few minutes of the game vital that taz takes a strong mark or kicks a goal etc.