Tasmania Congratulations on Tassie License. Mens team to enter 2028. Womens team TBA. Other details TBA 3/5

big_e

Existential crisis management consultant
Apr 28, 2008
Back Pocket
Wycombe Wanderers
Its a tedious task, & given your refusal to refer to the Financials, here is a quote from 2019 (?).
So you think all of those clubs have their solvency threatened right now?

Despite all of their financials being signed off on the basis of the clubs status as a going concern and without so much as a qualified opinion by any of the auditors?

And none of those clubs even close to the limits of those guarantees (North Melbourne have a guarantee for $3m but the actual debt at 31 October was only $400k)?

And after we've gone through the biggest shock to footy finances in the history of the game and the league, clubs, players, banks, creditors, etc all bent over backwards to get through it?

Rightio.

Aug 14, 2011
Trafalgar
Mclaren Mercedes F1
So you think all of those clubs have their solvency threatened right now?

Despite all of their financials being signed off on the basis of the clubs status as a going concern and without so much as a qualified opinion by any of the auditors?

And none of those clubs even close to the limits of those guarantees (North Melbourne have a guarantee for $3m but the actual debt at 31 October was only $400k)?

And after we've gone through the biggest shock to footy finances in the history of the game and the league, clubs, players, banks, creditors, etc all bent over backwards to get through it?

Rightio.

Did I say that?
You are trying for whatever reason to make this a gotcha moment, when its the status quo at that date.

Not interested in your understanding of the issue, you arent dinkum.

big_e

Existential crisis management consultant
Apr 28, 2008
Back Pocket
Wycombe Wanderers
Did I say that?
Yes. Yes you did.

Without an AFL bank guarantee many clubs (not all, pre Covid) are insolvent & continuing to trade exposes club senior management & the directors to litigation/fines & banned from holding similar positions in or out of footy.
You actually don't understand how this works, and your view of AFL club finances is woefully inadequate.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Mar 24, 2017
Blackburn
Box Hill Hawks
A club that can't prove its solvency is probably going to find its licence terminated. Which opens the door to a Tasmanian team coming in.
No club’s licence will ever be terminated. That is simply not happening. No one else is interested in arguing over the correct definition of solvency. It is irrelevant.
Can we please stick to updates and opinions on the merits of a Tas team entering the AFL in the near future.

BringBackTorps

Jan 5, 2017
GWS
The context of the thread is about a licence to compete in the AFL for a club that could be formed in Tasmania.
Some BF posters (nearly all from outside of Vic.) hijack various threads to implement their monotonous & repetitive agenda to remove Victorian Clubs from the AFL- despite the massive harm to the AFL, GR AF, & AF culture (& Australian culture generally) this loss would cause. This would also include a large reduction in crowds, ratings, general AFL & Club revenues (which are dominated by revenues etc. derived from Vic.), & net loss of MSM coverage; & "civil war" that would occur in Vic. (including the anonymous death threats, requirement of security guards etc. for AFL Executives that previously occurred).

Also, reducing the no. of games pw to less than 9 pw would cause a major loss of Rights' $; & other sports would attempt to take advantage of vacated AFL game viewing slots.

Those promulgating their fewer Vic. teams' agenda (monotonously across various Threads, not related to this topic) simply ignore, or downplay, all these fundamental issues.

Not interested in your understanding of the issue, you arent dinkum.
Your statement applies to you & your calls for much fewer Vic. Clubs!
You constantly claim, ad nauseum, there is not sufficient talent in Australia for the AFL to be an 18 team comp., & you want much less than 18 Clubs.

Your boring, foolish, & destructive claim is obviously incorrect, as there are vastly increased (cf 1990 & 2010 Aust. population & 1990 &2010 GR male Club comp. nos.) & record nos. of males playing AF in Aust. We also have currently c. 105 players on Lists from the enlarged & booming recruiting grounds NSW, ACT, & Qld. (only Tas. Draft nos. have declined in quality & quantity in recent times).
Also, cf 1990, all players now are full time professionals, obviously far more skilled than the part-timers!

Furthermore, we now have in Victorian private schools a far more intense AF pursuit of excellence war- far more professional, competitive, & well-funded than previous decades. Some of their silky players are now starting to "embarass" some of the U18 NAB League players (when the private schools deign to allow them to play a few games in the NAB League, or national U18's).

I have challenged you directly on several occasions, by providing & quoting the HPNFooty link (with its multiple relevant facts) below, which clearly proves your views are incorrect.

You refuse to directly respond to, let alone confront or rebut, the facts & evidence in the link there is no diminution of skills in the current AFL...just silence from you (& others of your ilk).
Again, do you dispute the link's facts presented as evidence the quality is not declining- if so, on what basis?

2. SEN SA Program K. Cornes 22.1.21

K. Cornes is again supporting adding a Tas. 19th team, & the Tas. govt. not agreeing to a further HFC & NMFC deal, without first having clarity asap it will obtain the 19th Licence by c. 2025.
He said "We're starting to get some real heavy hitters behind this push".

3. Until September 2018, J, Kennett spoke publicly against a Tas. 19th team, claiming it was not financially viable for Tas.

He was, from then, silent on this issue until 26.11.20, when, in a major reversal, he said he believed that Tas. should have its own 19th team, if it can be demonstrated it would be financially viable. (See my Edit below, for details of Kennet's pro Tas. new position).

On 29.1.21, however, in the Herald Sun, Kennett said, due to the covid-induced economic downturn & covid losses

"Given the uncertainty of the economy in the future...very much doubt whether a 19th team within the AFL is viable" in the 2025 time frame.

4. SEN Melb. G. Whateley program (Fill -in host S. Edmund) 1.2.21

S. Edmund says the AFL must state its position clearly on Tas. asap; & "the game is dying a slow death in Tas.".

He also states that Tas. deserves to be in the the AFL as the 19th Club asap, & that the average football supporter also wants this; & that no one has been able to debunk the Bid's financial claims that it Tas. would be very sustainable, & would not require any special subsidisation like GCFC & GWS- ie only funding similar to the smaller Melb. Clubs.

Bid Chairman B. Godfrey highlights the depressing decline in interest in the AFL, GR AF male club nos., etc.- paraphrasing

"...declining interest equals less AFL eyeballs on the AFL in Tasmania..failing local competitions, kids want more locals to be a hero....engagement in AFL is demonstrably in decline in Tasmania".
I suggest listening to the whole 14 minute interview with Godfrey- it is almost frightening & shocking what has happened to an heartland AF State, once a powerhouse for AF.

Interestingly, he also states that "Tasmania" has a great "Brand" in Aust., & Tas.is likely to become everyone's second team on the mainland (Also, to this can be added the Tas. diaspora of c. 100,000, mainly in Vic.- who are very likely to switch to Tas. being their first team).

(Scroll to Whateley program 1.2. "Brett Godfrey On SEN"- SEN's S. Edmund is host interviewer of B. Godfrey)

EDIT:

These are the pro-Tas. 19th Club comments of J. Kennett , in The Mercury, of 26.11.20, when he said

" We have joined with the Tasmanian govt in their aspirations...We are open to the concept".
(Scroll to my post#2766, point 1, for Kennett's full comments to The Mercury).

It has recently been revealed:-

. by the AFL that its (& the Clubs') financial losses due to covid are not as great as earlier feared in 2020

. we now have covid vaccines soon to be distributed.

. & that the Vic. govt appears to have learnt from its disastrous hotel quarantine private security guard failures (so very unlikely for another major covid outbreak- & a very costly AFL $60m hub being required again).

It is surprising, therefore, that J. Kennett has recanted, & is now claiming covid economic uncertainty is the reason that Tas. cannot become the 19th Club c. 2025.

Mar 17, 2009
Hobart

3. Until September 2018, J, Kennett spoke publicly against a Tas. 19th team, claiming it was not financially viable for Tas.

He was silent on this issue until October 2020, when, in a major reversal, he said he believed that Tas. should have its own 19th team, if it can be demonstrated it would be financially viable.

On 29.1.21, however, in the Herald Sun, he is again saying that due to the covid-induced economic losses & uncertainty, he "...very much doubts whether a 19th team within the AFL is viable" in the 2025 time frame.

4.SEN Melb. G. Whateley program 1.2.21

Bid Chairman B. Godfrey highlights the depressing decline in interest in the AFL, GR AF male club nos., etc.- paraphrasing

"...declining interest equals less AFL eyeballs on the AFL in Tasmania..failing local competitions, kids want more locals to be a hero....engagement in AFL is demonstrably in decline in Tasmania".
I suggest listening to the whole 14 minute interview with Godfrey- it is almost frightening & shocking what has happened to an heartland AF State, once a powerhouse for AF.

Interestingly, he also states that "Tasmania" has has a great "Brand" in Aust., & Tas.is likely to become everyone's second team on the mainland (not including the Tas. diaspora of c.100,000, mainly in Vic.- who are very likely to switch to Tas. being their first team).

(Scroll to Whateley program 1.2- host interviewer of B. Godfrey is S. Edmund)

Kennett changes his tune depending on which way the wind blows. He's a politician. Not to be trusted.

Hawks & North will lose a lot if contracts not renewed. Apart from the headline $4mill, they get the ground & facilities for nix, the gate, local sponsorships, the corporate stuff, the memberships etc etc.

No wonder Kennett is trying to be smooth & be all things to all men. He'd be playing the politics behind the scenes. ie sucking up to Launceston CC & northern MPs, against Tasteam within the AFL, all for Tasteam in the public arena.

Lying Old prick.

Jun 6, 2016
Pines Football Club
Some BF posters (nearly all from outside of Vic.) hijack various threads to implement their monotonous & repetitive agenda to remove Victorian Clubs from the AFL- despite the massive harm to the AFL, GR AF, & AF culture this loss would cause. This would also include a large reduction in crowds, ratings, net loss of MSM coverage, & general AFL revenues (which are dominated by revenues etc. derived from Vic.); & "civil war" that would occur in Vic. (including the anonymous death threats, requirement of security guards etc. for AFL Executives that previously occurred).

Also, reducing the no. of games pw to less than 9 pw would cause a major loss of Rights' $; & other sports would attempt to take advantage of vacated AFL game viewing slots.

Those promulgating their fewer Vic. teams' agenda (monotonously across various Threads, not related to this topic) simply ignore, or downplay, all these fundamental issues.

Pretty much agree, except the death threats bit, that's probably over reaching a bit. And while most of those posters are aware of the detriment of their wish, I can understand the why, they just want a fair and level competition. But that is nigh on impossible, for starters geography and market forces are the first things that get in the way.

Sep 22, 2011
Your girlfriend's dreams
Tasmanian premier Peter Gutwein has sent a formal letter to the AFL threatening to end multimillion-dollar contract negotiations with Hawthorn and North Melbourne beyond 2021.

The letter, which was sent to league headquarters in recent days, demands the AFL to lock into a timetable for the introduction of a stand-alone Tasmanian team.

Until then, the state has declared it will not engage in conversations with the two Melbourne-based clubs who are entering the final year of lucrative deals to play four home games each in Tasmania.

Apr 12, 2012
GWS
Tasmanian premier Peter Gutwein has sent a formal letter to the AFL threatening to end multimillion-dollar contract negotiations with Hawthorn and North Melbourne beyond 2021.

The letter, which was sent to league headquarters in recent days, demands the AFL to lock into a timetable for the introduction of a stand-alone Tasmanian team.

Until then, the state has declared it will not engage in conversations with the two Melbourne-based clubs who are entering the final year of lucrative deals to play four home games each in Tasmania.

Good on them.

Oct 4, 2006
The hood
Tassie wanted a team in 2025. That’s four years away.

I’m sure the AFL could negotiate that to 2027. They’ve got the covid excuse which is probably fair enough. Not withstanding that tassie deserves a team anyway.

That’s six year to get your affairs in order for where the 20th team will be.

A tassie team adds money to the comp by adding to the fabric of the AFL.

Mar 17, 2009
Hobart
Gutwein is just voicing what so many here feel & understand.

Enough carpetbagging is enough.

Club football here is disintegrating. Australian football is seriously eroding. Kids are flocking to soccer & basketball. When a growing family area like Kingston with near 40k people cant field an u18 team, yet the local soccer club has full time junior development staff, one wonders why the local AFL office is just walking away for the very game they are supposed to support & represent.

Anyway, at least its fun to see scumbag Kennett start to shyte his pants. Its 4$mill plus gate receipts, corporate support & many of the Hawks local 9000 members they stand to lose. Good!!!

Nov 8, 2000
South of the river
Peel Thunder

Well played to him.

Sep 22, 2011
Your girlfriend's dreams
Tassie wanted a team in 2025. That’s four years away.

I’m sure the AFL could negotiate that to 2027. They’ve got the covid excuse which is probably fair enough. Not withstanding that tassie deserves a team anyway.

That’s six year to get your affairs in order for where the 20th team will be.

A tassie team adds money to the comp by adding to the fabric of the AFL.

From what I can tell I don’t think it’s “give us a team by x or FO”

It’s more, give us the definite timeline so we know you’re serious.

Anyone hear Kennett on local Tasmanian radio this morning? Haven't heard a bloke yell so much. He was having a go at the author of the last report in to Tas having a team as having a conflict of interest as he has interests in tourism business here ohhh the irony.

Does Kennett have any conflict of interest when giving his opinion - he does not want a team here as this would stop Tas from funding Hawthorn.

Feb 23, 2009
New York Jets
I fully support a team in Tasmania, but I think that 19 teams in the league is a stretch and further dilution of playing and coaching resources.

For mine, the best thing for the competition is either a folding of 1 Victorian team or a relocation of 1 Victorian team to Tasmania. It also contributes to spreading the locations of teams across the comp so it's a dual benefit.

Note that it doesn't mean it's the likely scenario, I don't see either happening, but I reckon that scenario with 18 teams including the 1 in Tassie is better for the competition than the additional 19th Tassie licence added.

Oct 8, 2011
Hobart
Tasmania
I fully support a team in Tasmania, but I think that 19 teams in the league is a stretch and further dilution of playing and coaching resources.

For mine, the best thing for the competition is either a folding of 1 Victorian team or a relocation of 1 Victorian team to Tasmania. It also contributes to spreading the locations of teams across the comp so it's a dual benefit.

Note that it doesn't mean it's the likely scenario, I don't see either happening, but I reckon that scenario with 18 teams including the 1 in Tassie is better for the competition than the additional 19th Tassie licence added.
We just had every AFL list cut by at least two players, with further cuts likely to come. Likewise lots of talented coaches got cut because of the reduction in the soft cap.

Adding an extra team gives these people their jobs back, and adds an extra 11 games to the fixture, meaning more broadcast $$$.

Feb 23, 2009
New York Jets
We just had every AFL list cut by at least two players, with further cuts likely to come. Likewise lots of talented coaches got cut because of the reduction in the soft cap.

Adding an extra team gives these people their jobs back, and adds an extra 11 games to the fixture, meaning more broadcast $$$.

The Tassie team is 5 years away at least. None of those people are getting their jobs back soon.

In time all those things likely recover anyway as the world eventually heals from COVID, and then we are still in the position of diluted talent with another 40 odd players and a bunch of coaches.