Tasmanian Bushfires

Yeah as much as you hope it isnt true, it tends to be the case with natural disasters that fatalities are not actually found for a little while due to the area being so devastated.

313 is Dunalley's population according to Wikipedia right on the coast/canal.

It has taken out a firetruck the crew could not move & the fire went over them

Bushfire Emergency Warning Message​

Inala Road, FORCETT
201651​

Current from: 04/01/2013 09:52 PM until: 06/01/2013 10:30 PM or further notice
There is a large bushfire between White Hills Road, Forcett, Copping and Dunalley .
The fire danger rating in this area is extreme . Fire under these conditions will be uncontrollable, unpredicitable and move quickly.
If you live in Delmore Road area and you can not defend your property move to a safer place NOW if the path is clear.
The fire is currently in the vicinity of Dodges Hill and may directly impacting on Dodges Ferry. This area will be affected by fire, smoke and ash, as far north as Carlton. If you plan to leave, leave NOW.
The fire is now impacting the community of Primose Sands and Connellys Marsh and it is too late to leave. Carlton River Road is now inpassable and not safe. Your Nearby Safer Place has been identified as the beach at Connellys Marsh or Primrose Sands Beach.
The communities from Dunalley, Murdunna, Sommers Bay, Eagle Hawk Neck, Doo Town and surrounds have been impacted by fire.
This bushfire is currently not controlled.
This bushfire is currently creating fires ahead of the main fire front. These spot fires may threaten your home earlier than the predicted main fire front.
Reported Road Closures:
  • Arthur Highway from Old Forcett Road to Eaglehawk Neck, Fulham Road, Sugarloaf Roadare closed.
What to do:
Activate your bushfire plan now.
The beach at Primrose Sands has been identified as a Nearby Safer Place. There may not be any emergency service personnal there for assistance.

LEAVING IS YOUR SAFEST OPTION. It is too late to leave the Tasman Peninsula below Dunalley. People should move south down the peninsula away from the fire towards Nubeena.

If you don’t have a plan or your plan is to leave – leave now only if the path is clear.

There is a community fire refuge at Sorell Memorial Hall 47 Cole Street, SORELL, and the Tasman Civic Centre Clarke Street, NUBEENA
If you are away from home: Do not try to return to your home as the roads in this area could be highly dangerous.
Non residents should stay away from the affected areas.
Monitor ABC Local Radio & TFS Website – www.fire.tas.gov.au for further instructions

Community Information:
A Police Hotline has been activated. People can contact the Police Hotline regarding concerns for relatives and friends on 1800 567 567.
It is now too late to leave the Tasman Peninsula.
Even well prepared properties may not be defendable under the forecast weather conditions. Given the conditions firefighters may not be able to control fires.
People who relocate need to be self-sufficient. Community fire refuges are open at the following locations: Sorell Memorial Hall 47 Cole Street, SORELL, Tasman Civic Centre Main Road, NUBEENA.
If you choose not to leave and the fire impacts on you, you may be able to travel to a nearby safer place otherwise you should prepare to shelter in your home. Leaving at the last minute can be extremely dangerous.
Aurora has confimed that power is currently isolated to the entire Peninsula area.
The current map show is an estimate only of the fire boundary, as smoke and fire activity is making it difficult to identify an accurate fire boundary.
Bushfire Watch & Act Message
Inala Road, FORCETT
201651​
Current from:04/01/2013 08:17 PM until: 06/01/2013 10:30 PM or further notice​

There is a large bushfire at between White Hills Road, Forcett, Copping and Dunalley .
The fire danger rating overnight in this area is forcast to be high. Fire under these conditions can be difficult to control.
This fire, smoke and ash, may affect the communities east of the Arthur Highway including Lagoon Bay, Marion Bay and Copping within the next 5 - 7 hours.
These spot fires may threaten your home earlier than the predicted main fire front.
There may be embers, smoke and ash falling on Lagoon Bay and Copping.​
Reported Road Closures: Arthur Highway from Old Forcett Road to Eaglehawk Neck, Fulham Road, Sugarloaf Road​

What to do:
You need to start taking action now to protect you and your family.
Check your bushfire plan now; well constructed and prepared homes are defendable in these conditions.
If you don’t have a bushfire plan or your plan is to leave, prepare to leave for a safer place, such as a relative or friends place away from the area.
Consider leaving the affected area if conditions worsen if the path is clear.
Stay informed in case conditions change
Monitor ABC Local Radio & TFS Website – www.fire.tas.gov.au for further instructions​

9 x MEDIUM TANKER
1 x CAR
3 x PERSONNEL CARRIER
1 x ROTARY WING: MEDIUM
Resources Mobilised:
4 x HEAVY TANKER
2 x LIGHT TANKER
2 x PERSONNEL CARRIER
Non-TFS Attending Resources:

Dawson Road, LAKE REPULSE​

201635​

Current from: 04/01/2013 09:49 PM until: 05/01/2013 08:00 AM or further notice
There is a large bushfire at Dawson Road, LAKE REPULSE .
The fire danger rating in this area is severe . Fire under these conditions can be uncontrollable and unpredictable .
The fire is impacting on the communities of Ellendale and Karanja NOW. It is likely too late to leave at this point. Residents are instructed move to a Nearby Safer Place as the last resort ONLY if the path is clear. If you are at home, this may provide some shelter.
The communities of Ellendale, Gretna, Hamilton, Ouse and Meadowbank are at under a Watch and Act Notice from this fire.
There may be embers, smoke and ash falling on Fentonbury, National Park, Westerway and New Norfolk. .
Reported Road Closures: Ellendale Road from Rockmount Road to the Lyell Highway, Dawson Road from the intersection with Ellendale Road, Lake Repulse Road near Ouse is closed from the intersection with the Lyell Highway and Pillies Road is closed from the intersection with Ellendale Road.
What to do:
Activate your bushfire plan now
It is likely to be too late to leave the area. If your home is well constructed, prepared and actively defended, it may provide shelter.
If you don’t have a plan or your plan is to leave – leave now, only if the path is clear.This may include a neighbouring property or other cleared area close by that is not at risk from fire.
There is a community fire refuge at Ouse Hall 6955 Lyell Highway, OUSE and
If you are away from home: Do not try to return to your home as the roads in this area could be highly dangerous.
Monitor ABC Local Radio & TFS Website – www.fire.tas.gov.au for further instructions

Community Information:
People living in the Lake Repulse area including:
  • Broad River
  • Jones River
  • Ellendale Road down as far as Ellendale
should have left now. The safest option is to leave and go to a relative or friends house away from the affected areas.
People living in the following areas should leave NOW only if the path is clear:
  • Gretna
  • Hamilton
  • Meadowbank
  • Ouse
Even well prepared properties may not be defendable under the forcast weather conditions. Given the conditions firefighters may not be able to control fires.
People who relocate need to be self-sufficient. Community fire refuges are open at Ouse Hall 6955 Lyell Highway, OUSE, and "CRINA" located behind the New Norfolk High School at 103 Blair Street, NEW NORFOLK.
If you choose not to leave and the fire impacts on you, you may be able to travel to a nearby safer place otherwise you should prepare to shelter in your home. Leaving at the last minutes can be extremely dangerous.
Please note that Mount Field National Park is closed.
Bushfire Watch & Act Message
Dawson Road, LAKE REPULSE
201635​
Current from: 04/01/2013 at 21:42 until: further notice.​

There is a large bushfire at Dawson Road, at Lake Repulse.
The fire danger rating in this area is severe. Fire under these conditions can be uncontrollable and unpredictable.
This fire may affect the communities of Gretna, Hamilton, Ouse and Meadowbank.
What to do:
Activate your bushfire plan now​
If your home is well constructed, prepared and actively defended, it may provide shelter.
If you don’t have a plan or your plan is to leave, leave now only if the path is clear.
People who relocate need to be self-sufficient.
Community fire refuges are open at Ouse Hall 6955 Lyell Highway, OUSE, and "CRINA" located behind the New Norfolk High School at 103 Blair Street, NEW NORFOLK.
Monitor ABC Local Radio & TFS Website – www.fire.tas.gov.au for further instructions.

TFS Attending Resources:
Resources Arrived:
2 x LIGHT TANKER
1 x MEDIUM TANKER
1 x HEAVY TANKER
1 x CAR
1 x TFS
4 x PERSONNEL CARRIER
Resources Mobilised:
1 x HEAVY TANKER
1 x LIGHT TANKER​

Bushfire Advice Message​

Friendly Beaches Road, COLES BAY
201717​

Current from:04/01/2013 07:52 PM until: 04/01/2013 11:59 PM or further notice
There is a small bushfire at Friendly Beaches Road, COLES BAY .
The fire danger rating in this area is forecast to be severe . Fire under these conditions can be difficult to control .
This fire may affect the communities of Surrounding Friendly Beaches within the next 6 hours .
There is no immediate threat to communities.
This bushfire is currently creating spot-fires up to 0 Kms ahead.These spot fires may threaten your home earlier than the predicted main fire front.
There may be embers, smoke and ash falling on sSurrounding areas .
Reported Road Closures : Cape Torville Road
Closures of White Water Wall and South Friendly's Campgrounds.
What to do:
Check your bushfire plan now; well constructed and prepared homes are defendable in these conditions.
If you don’t have a bushfire plan or your plan is to leave, consider leaving the affected area for a relative or friends place if conditions worsen, only if the path is clear.

Unless you are a resident or have urgent business, consider avoiding travel in this area.
Stay informed in case conditions change.
Monitor ABC Local Radio & TFS Website – www.fire.tas.gov.au for further information.
Community Information:
Fire is currently not contained. Dozer is tracking fire edge. Helicopters are water bombing. There are 4 PWS and one TFS crews on site currently blacking out the fire edge.

Bushfire Advice Message​

Stormlea Road, NUBEENA
201702​

Current from:04/01/2013 03:37 PM until: 06/01/2013 06:30 PM or further notice
There is a small bushfire at Stormlea Road, NUBEENA .
The fire danger rating in this area is very high . Fire under these conditions can be difficult to control .
This fire may affect the communities of Stormlea Rd
There may be embers, smoke and ash falling on Stormlea and Highland Rds later in the day.
Reported Road Closures : None
What to do:
If you don’t have a bushfire plan or your plan is to leave, consider leaving the affected area for a relative or friends place if conditions worsen, only if the path is clear.

Unless you are a resident or have urgent business, consider avoiding travel in this area.
Monitor ABC Local Radio & TFS Website – www.fire.tas.gov.au for further information.
Community Information:
PWS and TFS crews are attending

Bushfire Advice Message​

Aplsey River, Tasman Highway, BICHENO
201693​

Current from:04/01/2013 09:24 PM until: 05/01/2013 10:00 PM or further notice
There is a large bushfire at Tasman Highway, BICHENO .
The fire danger rating in this area is forecast to be very high . Fire under these conditions can be uncontrollable and unpredictable .
This fire may affect the communities of Butlers Point, Courland Bay properties, Friendly Beaches and Harvey's Farm Road within the next 8 hours .
There may be embers, smoke and ash falling on South of Bichino toward Friendly Beaches .
Reported Road Closures : Friendly Beaches Road, Courland Bay Road, Tar Hill Fire Trail and Harvey's Farm Road
Freycinet National Park and Douglas Apsley National Park have been closed until further notice
What to do:

Community Information:
Crews willl be conducting back burning in the Harveys Farm Road area to consolidate the fire edge in preperation for the expected wind change in the morning (5/1/2013) the aim is to protect the residents in the Harvey's Farm Road area and Bicheno.
Increased fire and smoke activity will be noticed in this area overnight.
A fire Refuge area is set up at the Bicheno Memorial Hall in Burgess Street (opposite the School)

I am so sorry to hear that our thoughts are with them.
Thanks mate, I've got heaps of friends and family on the peninsula, so it's gonna be a long night I reckon.
Nubeena is looking pretty bad, judging by some of the photos my mate has sent me, he's in Eaglehawk Neck (Just north of Port Arthur)

Bushfire Advice Message​

Giblin River, SOUTHWEST
201666​

Current from:04/01/2013 02:35 PM until: 09/01/2013 05:00 PM or further notice
There is a large bushfire at Giblin River, SOUTHWEST .
The fire danger rating in this area is forecast to be high . Fire under these conditions can be difficult to control .
This fire may affect the surrounding areas of Giplin River within the next 2 days .
This bushfire is currently creating spot-fires up to 1 Km ahead.
There may be embers, smoke and ash falling on surrounding areas of Giplin River.
What to do:
If you have planned to visit the area, please re-consider travel in this area.
Monitor ABC Local Radio, Parks and Wildlife Website & TFS Website – www.fire.tas.gov.au for further information.
Community Information:
The bushfire has the potential to impact on the Port Davey walking track the surrounding areas of the Giplin River. Bushwalkers should ensure that they are adequalty aware of the conditions before commencing any walks in the area.

Bushfire Advice Message​

Middle Tea Tree Road, RICHMOND
201650​

Current from: 04/01/2013 10:05 PM until: 05/01/2013 09:00 AM or further notice
There is a small bushfire at Middle Tea Tree Road, RICHMOND .
The fire danger rating in this area is forecast to be very high . Fire under these conditions can be controlled .
This fire is in the vicinity of the communities of Richmond Township and surrounds.
Crews are currently blackening out to consolidate the fire boundary. This bushfire is currently controlled and held within containment lines.
Reported Road Closures: No road closures at this stage.
What to do:

Bushfire Advice Message​

Davis Gully Road, FOUR MILE CREEK
201588​

Current from:04/01/2013 07:55 PM until: 04/01/2013 11:59 PM or further notice
There is a large bushfire at Davis Gully Road, FOUR MILE CREEK .
The fire danger rating in this area is forecast to be very high . Fire under these conditions can be difficult to control .
This fire may affect the communities of Davis Gully Road and Elephant Pass within the next 6 hours .
There may be increased fire and smoke acitivity on the Northern Boundary
Reported Road Closures : Nil
What to do:

Community Information:
Forestry and Tasmania Fire Service crews are currenlty on site assessing the fire with Helicopter support. The fire is in a large inaccessible area impeding firefighting efforts.

Bushfire Advice Message​

Woorak Road, EPPING FOREST
201486​

Current from:04/01/2013 05:09 PM until: 06/01/2013 08:00 AM or further notice
There is a large bushfire at Woorak Road, EPPING FOREST .
The fire danger rating in this area is forecast to be severe . The fire is currently controlled .
This fire may affect the communities of East of Canara Junction on the Esk Main Road within the next 7 hours .
There may be smoke affecting Esk Main Road and Midland Highway .
Reported Road Closures : Glen Esk Road, Brambletye Roadto be patrolled by SES and Tas Police until 8 pm
What to do:

Community Information:
Aurora crew will be repairing power lines in the area this evening.
Irrigated crops on the southern and eastern edges helped fire fighters stop the fire's spread. It will be patrolled over nexst few days

Updated please take note

Dodges Ferry Area, Dodges Ferry
201803​

Current from: 04/01/2013 10:50 PM until: 06/01/2013 11:59 PM or further notice
There is a large bushfire at Josephs Road, CARLTON RIVER .
The fire danger rating in this area is extreme . Fire under these conditions will be uncontrollable, unpredictable and fast moving.
The fire is expected to put the area of Dodges Hill Road, Carlton River Road, Oakines Road and surrounding streets at direct extreme risk from the fire front within NOW hours .
These spot fires may threaten your home earlier than the predicted main fire front.
This bushfire is currently creating spot-fires ahead of the fire
There may be embers, smoke and ash falling on .
Reported Road Closures:
ACTION:
Unless firefighters have assessed your home as defendable and are there to help you defend your home, Leaving is the SAFEST option for your survival.

Go to a safer location now only if the path is clear. This may include a neighbouring property or other cleared area close by that is not at risk from fire.

If it is too late for you to leave, safely shelter inside your home until the fire passes.

Non residents should stay away from the affected area.

TFS Attending Resources:
Resources Mobilised:
2 x MEDIUM PUMPER
2 x HEAVY TANKER
1 x LIGHT TANKER
1 x MEDIUM TANKER​