Barge

Mar 28, 2005
Bargeville
Claremont
Further to footy55's request for a thread about the above - here we go!

Take it away boys!

Tigers, TCA, NTCA, Suburban Comps, Bush Comps, anything!

Which club do you play for?

How do you think your club will go this year?

Who are the teams to beat in your competitions?

Thanks Barge. Great work.
A busted knee is stopping me from playing any form of cricket this summer so I'll be reduced to an interested onlooker.
SHSB will be the TCA's big improver and is my tip to win both first and second grade.
GO TIGERS

I am out of cricket this season with a torn rotator cuff in my shoulder. I have played the last 6 seasons for the Kingston Crows, who have won the past 3 A Grade premierships in the Channel and now Huon Channel Associations, along with 2 B grade and 3 C grade (They have made the A, B and C grade grand finals the past 4 years). This season should see Margate become a force and should surprise many with a few big inclusions. The top 4 should consist of Margate, Kingston, Slab Road and maybe Kettering or Glen Huon.

I look forward to hearing about other cricket news from around the state.

Thought this might be of interest to the North West Personnel:

Reported in Today's Advocate
Walkout stumps Orions

NWTCA club Devonport has been decimated, with more than half its A grade side pulling up stumps.

An exodus of about 16 players including nine regular A grade starters has left the club heavily reliant on young personnel for the 2006-07 season, which starts October14.

Despite the success the Orions have had in the last three seasons, including semi-final appearances in the last two years and a premiership in 2004-05, the core senior group has left.

The second grade side has also made the grand final the last four years, leaving club president Garth Jackson scratching his head as to why everyone has walked.

Shane Philpott, Gary Miles, Darren Lakeland, Sean Gower, Leigh Dawkins, Chris Dell, Sam Fogg and Brent Sheean have all headed to Sheffield, country league teams or retirement and injury.

Philpott, Miles and Lakeland were all selected in the 2005-06 NWTCA all-star side last season.

"Probably the most disappointing thing is that some of the better young players have left, despite the efforts and resources we have put into them," Jackson said yesterday.

He agreed the money on offer in country leagues could have been a factor in the exodus.

"The NWTCA has tried to accommodate players as best they can, with one-day games and no Sundays, so they have been proactive in trying to make the competition attractive," Jackson said.

"... some of the older senior players can reap the benefits (of playing in country leagues), it's a pretty attractive carrot.

"It leaves us pretty much having to be very reliant of our juniors coming up through second grade."

On a positive note, Christian Cook will return to the club after a year off, but the side will still contain five or six first-time A grade players.

The likes of Chris Lindsay, last season's NWTCA bowling average winner with 27 scalps at 13.74, captain Tony Underwood and Scott Mitchell, who was picked in the NWTCA all-star team will be asked to shoulder much of the responsibility.

Looks like Devonport may struggle this year.

Tips for the NTCA: Launceston, Westbury, Mowbray, South Launceston, George Town and Riverside

Tips for the NWTCA: Wynyard, Latrobe, Sheffield, Burnie-Yeoman, Devonport and Ulverstone

Rosters start on October 14 with a series of one day matches between the Northern and North West Teams.

Rosters to follow once I grab one. ;)

OK, heres the roster for the Greater Northern Series which starts on October 14.

Round 1
14th October 2006

Launceston vs. Sheffield
Wynyard vs. South Launceston
Riverside vs. Latrobe
Burnie/Yeoman vs. George Town
Westbury vs. Devonport
Ulverstone vs. Mowbray

Round 2
21st October 2006

Devonport vs. Launceston
South Launceston vs. Ulverstone
Sheffield vs. Riverside
George Town vs. Wynyard
Latrobe vs. Westbury
Mowbray vs. Burnie/Yeoman

Round 3
28th October 2006

Launceston vs. Latrobe
South Launceston vs. Burnie/Yeoman
Riverside vs. Devonport
Ulverstone vs. George Town
Sheffield vs. Westbury
Mowbray vs. Wynyard

Round 4
11th November 2006

Wynyard vs. Launceston
Devonport vs. South Launceston
Burnie/Yeoman vs. Riverside
George Town vs. Sheffield
Westbury vs. Ulverstone
Latrobe vs. Mowbray

Round 5
18th November 2006

Launceston vs. Burnie/Yeoman
Sheffield vs. South Launceston
Riverside vs. Ulverstone
Latrobe vs. George Town
Westbury vs. Wynyard
Devonport vs. Mowbray

Round 6
19th November 2006 (Sunday)

Ulverstone vs. Launceston
South Launceston vs. Latrobe
Wynyard vs. Riverside
George Town vs. Devonport
Burnie/Yeoman vs. Westbury
Mowbray vs. Sheffield

Semi Finals to be played on 10th December, the Grand Final on the 22nd January.
The two grand finalists to represent the North in the State Kookaburra Cup series in February

Home Grounds are: Launceston - NTCA Number 1; South Launceston - NTCA Number 2; Mowbray - Invermay Park; George Town - Peter Lees Oval; Riverside - Hyundai Park; Westbury - Gunns Oval

Sheffield - Sheffield FC; Wynyard - Wynyard Showgrounds; Devonport - Devonport Oval; Burnie/Yeoman - Les Clark Oval; Latrobe - Latrobe Rec Ground; Ulverstone - River Park
s.gif

Jamie Cox Plate Roster (Intrastate Series) - To be played in the November Long Weekend
November 4 (Sat) NTCA v Tasmanian U19 NTCA Ground
November 4 (Sat) TCA v NWTCA NTCA Ground No. 2
November 5 (Sun) NWTCA v Tasmanian U19 NTCA Ground
November 5 (Sun) TCA v NTCA NTCA Ground No. 2
November 6 (Mon) NTCA v NWTCA NTCA Ground
November 12 (Sun) TCA v Tasmanian U19 Bellerive Oval
November 26 (Sun) 1 v 2 Bellerive Oval
3 v 4 TBC

NTCA Regular Season Roster - First and Second Grade
First Grade Roster
Round 7. 25th Nov. - 2nd Dec.
Westbury Shamrocks v Launceston - GO
George Town v Riverside - GT
Mowbray v South Launceston - IP

Round 8. 9th - 16th Dec.
Launceston v South Launceston - A1.
Riverside v Westbury Shamrocks - R
Mowbray v George Town - IP

Round 9. 6th Jan.
George Town v Launceston - GT
Mowbray v Riverside - IP
South Launceston v Westbury Shamrocks - A2

Round 10. 13th Jan.
Westbury Shamrocks v George Town - GO
Launceston v Mowbray - A1
Riverside v South Launceston - R

Round 11. 20th & 27th Jan.
Mowbray v Westbury Shamrocks - IP
South Launceston v George Town - A2.
Riverside v Launceston - R

Round 12. 3rd Feb.
Launceston v Westbury Shamrocks - A1.
Riverside v George Town - R
South Launceston v Mowbray - A2.

Round 13. 10th Feb.
Launceston v South Launceston - A1
Westbury Shamrocks v Riverside - GO
George Town v Mowbray - GT

Round 14. 17th & 24th Feb.
Launceston v George Town - A1.
Riverside v Mowbray - R
Westbury Shamrocks v South Launceston - GO

Round 15. 3rd & 10th March
George Town v Westbury Shamrocks - GT
Mowbray v Launceston - IP
South Launceston v Riverside - A2

Round 16. 12th March (Monday)
Westbury v Mowbray - GO
George Town v South Launceston - GT
Launceston v Riverside - A1

Semi-Finals. 17th & 18th March. A1 & A2

Grand Final 24th, 25th & 31st March, 1st April. A1

Second Grade Roster

Round 1. 21/22 Oct.
South Launceston v Mowbray – A2 (Sun)
Riverside v George Town - R

Round 2. 28/29 Oct.
South Launceston v Launceston - A2 (Sun)

Round 3. 4 Nov.
Riverside v Mowbray - R

Round 4. 6 Nov.
Launceston v Mowbray – A2

Round 5. 11 Nov.
Launceston v Riverside - A2

Round 6. 18 Nov - 2 Dec.
Mowbray v South Launceston – IP (18 – 26 Nov)
George Town v Riverside – GT (18 – 26 Nov)
Launceston v Westbury Shamrocks – R (25 – 2 Dec)

Round 7. 9 - 16 Dec.
South Launceston v Launceston - A2

Round 8. 6 Jan.
Launceston v George Town - A1
Riverside v Mowbray - R

Round 9. 13 Jan.
Mowbray v Launceston - IP
South Launceston v Riverside A2

Round 10. 20 - 27 Jan.
Launceston v Riverside - A1
Westbury Shamrocks v Mowbray - GO

Round 11. 3 Feb.
George Town v Riverside - GT
Mowbray v South Launceston - IP

Round 12. 10 Feb.
South Launceston v Launceston - A2
Mowbray v George Town - IP
Riverside v Westbury Shamrocks - R

Round 13. 17 - 24 Feb.
Mowbray v Riverside - IP
South Launceston v Westbury Shamrocks - A2

Round 14. 3 -10 Mar.
Westbury Shamrocks v George Town - GO
Launceston v Mowbray - A1

Round 15. 12 Mar.
South Launceston v George Town - A2
Riverside v Launceston - R

Semi Finals 17 - 18 Mar. - TBA
Grand Final 24 - 25 - 31 Mar. 1 April - A2

There's a start, the other rosters to follow ASAP! :D

Hey insider. Where is Leigh Dawkins playing? The pork sword as he is affectionately known is an old pal of mine. Surely no one is willing to pay him big money.

onlyhandball said:
Hey insider. Where is Leigh Dawkins playing? The pork sword as he is affectionately known is an old pal of mine. Surely no one is willing to pay him big money.

The name rings a bell with Devonport I think!! That's the last I've heard of him.
:eek:

Besides, Devonport need some help getting some competitive players to the club!! Couldn't believe that article from Adam Smith in the Advocate!! :eek:

the_insider said:
The name rings a bell with Devonport I think!! That's the last I've heard of him.
:eek:

Besides, Devonport need some help getting some competitive players to the club!! Couldn't believe that article from Adam Smith in the Advocate!! :eek:

Yeah Dawkins was mentioned in the article, just curious where he will be playing. Yeah plenty of players on the way out, any reason why?

onlyhandball said:
Yeah Dawkins was mentioned in the article, just curious where he will be playing. Yeah plenty of players on the way out, any reason why?

Not too sure why that is, took me by surprise, I thought that Sheffield would have the exodus, it has happened before in Mountain Country.

I'd expect Philpott to be playing in the MVCA with Spreyton, Miles to be in the Country too (probably in the Burnie CL), Lakeland would be injured, Gower would go to Sheffield, Dell to be retiring (that's the East Devonport FC Coach), while Fogg and Sheean are probably in the country somewhere.

That would be the story with them. Probably an internal rumbling maybe at the Orions??? Who knows, but more will be heard in the coming days, no doubt!

Yeah that's the good thing about the Advocate, they manage to string a story out for few days and make sure everyone gets their say.
Will Latrobe be strong this season? A few of my old grade 6 cricket opponents play there.

onlyhandball said:
Yeah that's the good thing about the Advocate, they manage to string a story out for few days and make sure everyone gets their say.
Will Latrobe be strong this season? A few of my old grade 6 cricket opponents play there.

On paper, they don't look strong, but yes, they did win the premiership last year :)rolleyes:)

Latrobe should be thereabouts again, but I don't think they will threaten majorly. Sheffield looks a smokey if they do pick Gower up. Burnie/Yeoman will struggle this year, while Wynyard might be under everyone's radar this year and pick up the prize. Look out for Nick Granger too!

The NTCA looks like another year for Launceston to lift the prize. They look like being steady again, losing no one (grumbles)
Westbury's time is running out to start delivering, the group they have is capable of a lot better than what they are delivering, and this is the year to deliver it!
Mowbray and South have the lists, but they just plod along, and just meander out the year without a whimper.
George Town and Riverside are likely to occupy the bottom two spots again, both teams lacking a lot of depth!

ACT Comets v TAS 2nd XI - Canberra (3 day game)

Stumps Day 1: Tas 9(dec) for 315 (Dawson 131, Lockyear 37, Granger 33,Doolan 26). ACT 0/3.

Players who should be pressing for selection this year who are playing: Dawson, Lockyear, polkinghorne, Downton.

Ex NSW/SA (AUS?) Higgs Captaining ACT...

Any updates from senior squad in QLD???

judburyjets said:
I am out of cricket this season with a torn rotator cuff in my shoulder. I have played the last 6 seasons for the Kingston Crows, who have won the past 3 A Grade premierships in the Channel and now Huon Channel Associations, along with 2 B grade and 3 C grade (They have made the A, B and C grade grand finals the past 4 years). This season should see Margate become a force and should surprise many with a few big inclusions. The top 4 should consist of Margate, Kingston, Slab Road and maybe Kettering or Glen Huon.

I look forward to hearing about other cricket news from around the state.

You do not give Blackmans Bay anychance of making the four mate???
Played off in last years A Grade grand final and have not lost any players....

I agree that Margate will be the big improvers.
My top 4 - Margate, Blackmans Bay, Slab and Kingston

Rumour is that big Mick Parbs will not play a full season this year. Building a house and injuries to keep him out.

intheknow said:
You do not give Blackmans Bay anychance of making the four mate???
Played off in last years A Grade grand final and have not lost any players....

I agree that Margate will be the big improvers.
My top 4 - Margate, Blackmans Bay, Slab and Kingston

Rumour is that big Mick Parbs will not play a full season this year. Building a house and injuries to keep him out.

The Bay are definitely a chance to make the four, they have a capable side and did play well last year. I have heard whispers that Gordy Kerr is not playing for them this season, which would hurt them a lot, he is their best bowler and also best batsman. I think that there will probably be 6 teams pusing for the top 4, although the news that Parbs isn't playing a full season makes me think that Glen Huon may struggle without him. If he doesn't play, along with Gordy and Lyndon Stevenson from the crows, the association has probably lost its best 3 all-rounders, apart from Cherry from Margate. Kettering will push for the finals, with Punchy playing, along with a couple of other decent recruits in Adam Hinkley, Greg Dolliver and Adam Clydesdale. My ladder prediction:

Margate
Slab Road
Kingston
Kettering or
Blackmans Bay
Glen Huon
Ranelagh-Grove
Snug (Depends on whether the Webb boys play for them or not. If they do, they may push for the top 4)
Huonville
Southern Tigers

Good to see there has been a bit of a shake-up of the grades, with a couple of the C grade sides (Kingston and Bruny Isalnd) coming up and playing against the bottom half of the B grade teams. Should make for a more even playing field.

quick word of advice - never get drunk at a cricket club on Grand Final day...

I've been roped into pulling on the pads for the first time since 2002 :eek:

judburyjets said:
The Bay are definitely a chance to make the four, they have a capable side and did play well last year. I have heard whispers that Gordy Kerr is not playing for them this season, which would hurt them a lot, he is their best bowler and also best batsman. I think that there will probably be 6 teams pusing for the top 4, although the news that Parbs isn't playing a full season makes me think that Glen Huon may struggle without him. If he doesn't play, along with Gordy and Lyndon Stevenson from the crows, the association has probably lost its best 3 all-rounders, apart from Cherry from Margate. Kettering will push for the finals, with Punchy playing, along with a couple of other decent recruits in Adam Hinkley, Greg Dolliver and Adam Clydesdale. My ladder prediction:

Margate
Slab Road
Kingston
Kettering or
Blackmans Bay
Glen Huon
Ranelagh-Grove
Snug (Depends on whether the Webb boys play for them or not. If they do, they may push for the top 4)
Huonville
Southern Tigers

Good to see there has been a bit of a shake-up of the grades, with a couple of the C grade sides (Kingston and Bruny Isalnd) coming up and playing against the bottom half of the B grade teams. Should make for a more even playing field.

Punchy will be a handy addition to the Kettering line-up after losing a couple of their main A grade bowlers in the off season. I am also pretty sure Greg Dolliver has pulled the pin on this season..... not confirmed though.

My ladder tip:
Margate
Blackmans Bay
Slab Road
Kettering
Kingston
Glen Huon
Snug
Huonville
Ranelagh-Grove
Southern Tigers

Watch out for Aaron Fisher to go bananas with the bat this year for Margate after a couple of up and down seasons at Kettering.
Any news on Gordy Kerr, is he back to TCA this season or staying @ Bbay?

AC for PM said:
Punchy will be a handy addition to the Kettering line-up after losing a couple of their main A grade bowlers in the off season. I am also pretty sure Greg Dolliver has pulled the pin on this season..... not confirmed though.

My ladder tip:
Margate
Blackmans Bay
Slab Road
Kettering
Kingston
Glen Huon
Snug
Huonville
Ranelagh-Grove
Southern Tigers

Watch out for Aaron Fisher to go bananas with the bat this year for Margate after a couple of up and down seasons at Kettering.

Dolliver pulling the pin makes a huge difference to Kettering's chance.... Fish is a very good batsman when he puts his mind ot it, has one of the best eyes in the comp. Whats the reason for his move back to Margate? Look out for Marcus Stephens to step up and deliver with the willow this year, very good batsman....
I haven't heard much about Gordy, just heard a few whispers that he might not be playing for B Bay, but nothing for certain.

AC for PM said:

Lets be honest aaron "bundy" fisher rarely fires and most probably wont set the 'mecca' oval alight this season.

Two pretty handy additions as coach and assistant this year at van morey rd this season could be interesting to see if it makes all your predictions of us finishing top true.

onlyhandball said:
Thanks Barge. Great work.
A busted knee is stopping me from playing any form of cricket this summer so I'll be reduced to an interested onlooker.
SHSB will be the TCA's big improver and is my tip to win both first and second grade.
GO TIGERS

sorry cant c shsb pressurin this season.....it will be the usuals clarence north hobart glenorchy lindisfarne uni then nh and clar will get there tigers back 4 semis and bang another grand final 4 the two clubs.if shsb can make a semi tho birt bailey n co. would make it interestin against a north hobart full of tigers

AC for PM said:

My ladder tip:
Margate
Blackmans Bay
Slab Road
Kettering
Kingston
Glen Huon
Snug
Huonville
Ranelagh-Grove
Southern Tigers

Can confirm that Gordy Kerr will definetely be at the bay. Started training with the bay the day he got back from England. Was also at the clubs Grand Final Day and is very happy to be back.

My Ladder Prediction-

Blackmans Bay
Kingston
Slab
Margate
Kettering
Ranelagh- Grove
Glen Huon
Snug
Huonville
Southern Tigers

Supprised nobody has commented on ex TCA legend Brad Thomas. The All Rounder who is the playing coach at Slab Road this year, will bring a wealth of experience. Class player who has made many TCA teams of the year and won many TCA best and fairest medals. Has also played for Tassie, both at tiger level and second X1 level.

Punchy will be a good addition to the Crickets and Margate have certainly done some very good recruiting (Jamie Knott and Eric Monahan most notable).

HCCA thoughts from Barge:

a) Brad Thomas down at Slab Rd for HUUUUGGGEEE money if you believe what you hear - between $10,000-12,000 from my sources in the know!

His inclusion will ensure the Roadies remain very hard to beat!

Although, they will definitely miss Dale Punshon. Doesn't give much away Ol' Punch. Would imagine he's on a fair dollar to cross the Kettering!

b) Gordon Kerr to definitely stay at BB. Wouldn't think he'll be returning to Uni in a hurry, apparently there are plenty at Uni dirty on him for walking out on them last year after they'd set up a club for him to play for in England!

c) Margate to obviously be the big improver with Knott and Monaghan joining them.

Their fortunes will still rest largely on the shoulders of Aaron "Plucka" Cherry!

Remember, tip for young players "don't bowl there to the king!"

Last I heard, the Mecca are reeling from the loss of Chris "Hairy Back" Golding through work commitments.

http://canberra.yourguide.com.au/de...&story_id=514186&category=Cricket&m=10&y=2006

Dawson's century leaves Comets facing tough task
Sam Worthington
Wednesday, 4 October 2006

The ACT Comets have been given a quick reminder of how hard they will need to work for success in the Cricket Australia Cup after Tasmania's second XI compiled 9-315 before declaring on day one of a three-day match at Chisholm Oval yesterday. After a comprehensive one-day victory on Monday, the Comets, who were 0-3 in their first innings after bad light stopped play, could have been staring at a much larger total as the Tasmanians were 1-173 at one stage.
Former ACT batsman David Dawson did the bulk of the damage for the Tasmanians, scoring a composed 131 before being trapped LBW with the second new ball, although the Comets had felt hard done by when a caught behind decision was turned down.
Comets coach Simon Helmot was pleased with the discipline shown by his young charges, and said it was a continuation of the strides made in last year's campaign.
beacon.asp

"Their attitude has been awesome, the bowlers bowled some good spells, the spinners - Wade Irvine, who got a couple of wickets on debut and Mark Higgs were terrific and the seamers hit the deck hard all day and got some reward," he said.
"If we can occupy the crease and set ourselves up with the bat we should be right."
Comets captain Mark Higgs felt the game was in the balance after the ACT recovery.
"I'm really happy after they were looking on top of us, Dawson played a lot of nice shots although I thought we had him caught behind, Wade Irvine bowled really well and I'm glad we forced their hand into declaring," he said.
Higgs felt a result was likely on a pitch he thought would offer considerable assistance for the spinners on days two and three.
"I think we'll force a result, definitely, the wicket will probably deteriorate and with the seven-hour days that we are playing over the three days, it's closer to a four-dayer in terms of overs anyway."
TODAY
ACT Comets v Tasmania second XI, Chisholm Oval, from 10am.

Links for the TCA fixtures for 2006/07 can now be found on the TCA website.

1st Grade: http://www.tascricket.com.au/assoc.asp?i=fixtures&a=1
Kookaburra Cup: http://www.tascricket.com.au/assoc.asp?i=fixtures&a=1&season=2006&sag=67
2nd Grade: http://www.tascricket.com.au/assoc.asp?i=fixtures&a=1&season=2006&sag=63
3rd Grade: http://www.tascricket.com.au/assoc.asp?i=fixtures&a=1&season=2006&sag=64
Under 17's: No link available
Under 15's: http://www.tascricket.com.au/assoc.asp?i=fixtures&a=1&season=2006&sag=66

That's the main piece of the action for 2006/07, now all I need is the NWTCA Fixture and we'll be right :D

Spreyton leads Twenty20 roster bid

IT'S A craze in England, came to Australia for the first time last summer and now Twenty20 cricket looks set to become a feature of North-West cricket.

The Spreyton Cricket Club is looking to organise a coastal Twenty20 competition made up of teams from the Mersey Valley, Leven and Burnie competitions.

The proposed knock-out competition would feature 16 teams and would be played on Sunday afternoons.

Assistant coach of Spreyton Cricket Club Stephen Smith said a number of clubs had already expressed interest in participating.

"We've got about half a dozen sides interested at the moment and we're trying to get interest from the Leven and the Burnie competitions,"Smith said.

He said it was time there was a proper Twenty20 competition played in the North-West.

"There hasn't been a lot of Twenty20 played on the Coast.

"The Leven had a competition last year as a pre-season tournament, but it was washed out," Smith said.

There could be problems attracting Leven clubs to the competition though, with the club that organised last year's Leven competition, Gawler, wanting to hold another one this year.

The president of the Leven Cricket Association, Colin Wearne, said he liked Spreyton's idea but said his organisation would support Gawler's competition.

"Being's though they are a Leven club our priority is with them.

"However any club who wants to play in the Spreyton competition is more than welcome," Wearne said.

He said his competition has had problems in the past in getting players to commit to Sunday matches.

Both The Mersey Valley and Burnie competitions said they supported the idea and had left it up to the clubs to organise.

Entry into the competition is $50 per team, with the entry fees making up the prize money.

(From Today's Advocate Newspaper.)