Tasmanian Football Thread.

Barge said:
Who do you reckon in your opinion will be Captain of the Hawks, Ozguy?

Is Mark Kamaric playing with them this year?

My personal opinion would be Gavin Branch from Bothwell. A strong, well respected leader.

Kamaric hasn't been sighted, nor has a clearance application been received from my knowledge.

I was talking to a bloke from St Virgils the other day and he said that they could be the big improvers in the Old Scholars this year.

With the addition of Jeremy and his brother Matthew Parker from New Norfolk and vetrans Shaun Sartori and Steven "Bobby" Willis both very good former Hobart players I don't reckon he will be far wrong.

Bobby and Matthew Parker especially would be very well suited to Newtown oval and very damaging in the middle.

Also former player Cameron Budd (last seen at Hobart in 1997) has been seen up at training at Hobart. Whilst he must be getting on a bit (I think about 31-33ish) I heard that he looked quite impressive on the track. While you wouldn't classify him as a brilliant player he would be a welcome addition to an improving lineup even if its from off the pine to provide an extra big body.

billybrownless16 said:
Cotton hasn't played yet for Penguin because they still haven't got a clearance from Millicent FC in the Western Border League in SA for him.
They have left it in the hands of the NTFL now but are running out of time because round 1 is on Saturday.
Latrobe are also having trouble getting a clearance from Millicent for Adam Enright
The more he slags of Millicent fc the longer it will take for Cotto to get cleared,The club has done alot for Justin Cotton over the 3-4 yrs he was there so for him to be lipping is plain sour grapes on his part.If cotto want's to get nasty bout it i hear he getting 14 gee's @ penguin and isnt the highest amount the league allows is 6 g....mmm funny that i wonder if the league and his new team mates know that ! :D Not sure on the enright one.

Well Justin Cotton is getting what he deserves cos he screwed Ulverstone and other clubs over.

I've heard he's gettin 14 grand too so I duno whats goin on there.I also heard he has been paid up front by Penguin so the 14 g investment might not be worth it. If Millicent don't clear him he won't be able to play and he will have already been paid. I understand that he has been contracted to coach Millicents underage team so I spose Penguin could pay that contract out as well but that makes 14g plus prob 3g more over a few years. He's proving to be a very costly investment and hasn't got the best rep around Northern Tassie at the moment. I bet Penguin are wishing they never bid on him to start with. If ends up playing he better be pretty bloody good or his rep is only get worse.

Originally Posted by fish1
Cld anyone help me out with some infomation on Dallas Galleghar played up north somewhere last year and i think he was assistant coach or coach. has now moved back over to victoria. big bloke prob ruck rover or key pos. about 29 yrs old.

Posted By billybrownless16
I'm pretty sure he played for Devonport in the NTFL last year but that's about all I know about him

He played for Devonport but I'm almost certain he is still playing there. Local papers have said he is as far as I know. I'm Pretty sure he was a key position because Dev had Matty Langmaid and Matthew Muir as Ruckmen. If you need any more info that let me know cos one of my mates is heavily involved with the Dev footy club so he could tell me.

Lutters said:
Cld anyone help me out with some infomation on Dallas Galleghar played up north somewhere last year and i think he was assistant coach or coach. has now moved back over to victoria. big bloke prob ruck rover or key pos. about 29 yrs old.

I'm pretty sure he played for Devonport in the NTFL last year but that's about all I know about him

He played for Devonport but I'm almost certain he is still playing there. Local papers have said he is as far as I know. I'm Pretty sure he was a key position because Dev had Matty Langmaid and Matthew Muir as Ruckmen. If you need any more info that let me know cos one of my mates is heavily involved with the Dev footy club so he could tell me.

I played with the Devonport Football club not last year the year before and I've been told that Dallas is not playing with Devonport this year. I will find out where he has gone and let you guys know.

Lutters said:
Well Justin Cotton is getting what he deserves cos he screwed Ulverstone and other clubs over.

I've heard he's gettin 14 grand too so I duno whats goin on there.I also heard he has been paid up front by Penguin so the 14 g investment might not be worth it. If Millicent don't clear him he won't be able to play and he will have already been paid. I understand that he has been contracted to coach Millicents underage team so I spose Penguin could pay that contract out as well but that makes 14g plus prob 3g more over a few years. He's proving to be a very costly investment and hasn't got the best rep around Northern Tassie at the moment. I bet Penguin are wishing they never bid on him to start with. If ends up playing he better be pretty bloody good or his rep is only get worse.
It's a pity really coz apart from his ********ting around he certainly can play the game...and he's got no 1 but to blame but himself,i bet you guys are glad that you stayed away from him.Anyway do you know how latrobe's going to shape up this season,especially with woody Woodcock back - it'll be a big bonus for them ! what about Browny & east devenport !? major worry for them would be not having browny back until 8-9 games in bcoz of his knee(s)

Lutters said:

Awww it looks like our little Ulverstone mates a but jealous is he!
& the only reason he didnt sign with Ulverstone is because Max Brown was ringing him up every bloody hour annoying him over the xmas break, & in swooped the two blues who've had players pillaged of them for years by the big clubs. strange how they cry when the boots on the other foot.:p

BIGANT said:
The more he slags of Millicent fc the longer it will take for Cotto to get cleared,The club has done alot for Justin Cotton over the 3-4 yrs he was there so for him to be lipping is plain sour grapes on his part.If cotto want's to get nasty bout it i hear he getting 14 gee's @ penguin and isnt the highest amount the league allows is 6 g....mmm funny that i wonder if the league and his new team mates know that ! :D Not sure on the enright one.

not sure where you get that $6 max from either antman, nor where you get that Cotton slagging off............I certainly havent read it anywhere

just cos the lad left your club doesnt auto mean hes slagging them off

Not that the Superules comp in Hobart is of much interest to many readers of this forum but some of you may be aware of the dominance of Lauderdale the last few years.

Well this looks set to continue in 2006 with the apparent recruitement of a couple of handy players ....

Darren Winter and Gavin Cooney!

Perhaps Lauderdale might be better fielding their Superules side as their Seniors!

They'll have fun picking the side down there - rumours of 50-60 fellas training - in March - FOR BLOODY SUPERULES MIND YA!

Interesting to note that the "Old Fellas" still wear the Geelong guernseys and not the Essendon guernseys!

Barge said:
Not that the Superules comp in Hobart is of much interest to many readers of this forum but some of you may be aware of the dominance of Lauderdale the last few years.

Well this looks set to continue in 2006 with the apparent recruitement of a couple of handy players ....

Darren Winter and Gavin Cooney!

Perhaps Lauderdale might be better fielding their Superules side as their Seniors!

They'll have fun picking the side down there - rumours of 50-60 fellas training - in March - FOR BLOODY SUPERULES MIND YA!

Interesting to note that the "Old Fellas" still wear the Geelong guernseys and not the Essendon guernseys!
Winter and Cooney pulling on the SuperRules boots hey? The standard of SuperRules will be better than the SFL.
Both could still be dominant at SFL Premier League level even at their age.
I actually quite enjoyed watching the SuperRules a few years ago when the TCA Ground used to host them.
Back in those days ('99) you had Brighton, Claremont, Kingston, Lauderdale, Channel, New Norfolk, Huon, Dodges Ferry, Northern Super Rules and I'm not sure who else, later on Hobart fielded a side for a couple of years.
They used to get pretty good crowds to their finals, I remember working at the TCA one day with New Norfolk and Kingston playing in the final and there were pretty close to 1000 people there that Sunday.

I remember Cygnet's Greggy Gordon playing for Kingston SuperRules, Clag Hoyer was playing for them as well - I had a beer with Clag afterwards.
There were a fair few other good players getting around too.

Just on the jumpers, New Norfolk still wore the Red, White & Black when their senior club was wearing Brown & Gold, Hobart still weren't allowed to wear their proper jumper because Kingston squealed :rolleyes:
Channel had the old style St Kilda one rather than their "hot-cross bun" style one the senior club wears.
I'm not surprised Lauderdale SuperRules has stuck with the Cats jumper - the Bombers hasn't exactly symbolised anything good associated with Lauderdale.

Speaking of Lauderdale - and Brighton - why don't they play night matches at their grounds any longer?

They've got the facilities there to do it, why not use the bloody things?
I went to a night game down at Lauderdale in 1999 - aside from the fact that it was f*cking freeeezing, and there were drunks all over the place making nuisances of themselves - it was a great atmosphere, absolutely brilliant, and about 1800+ people at the match.
"Plover" Gillbee kicked two goals against the wind in time-on to get Hobart up by 10-points that night - low scoring and tense game - a couple of dark pockets, but that could easily have been fixed.
They had lots of big crowds of a night there, double and treble what they got during day matches - and it was good community occasion.

Brighton from memory only held the one - against New Norfolk - and an enormous crowd turned up.
Trouble was they had a LOT of trouble in the crowd that night, drunkenness, fights everywhere, bit like the good old days!!
Only other problem was some of the Gagebrook boys turned up to punch a New Norfolk player up after the match, and they did - got him as he was leaving the field - Brad Carver it was.
No night matches since, surely the league or whoever could bung on some extra security or a few more cops on for night footy, and get some crowds back too footy?
Night footy at North Hobart, Bellerive, KGV, TCA etc, it's 2006 and we still haven't got our act together and set up something that they've been doing in England for the last 55 years!! :eek:

Lutters said:

Thanks Lutters. where did he play and how was he around the club. Also do you know where he is now. i heard he was heading back to the nsw riverena area.

masthead1.jpg

March 25th 2006: "Get Stuffed"
By Nigel Tapp
resizedS_198317_jh24030614.jpg

Clinton Brown is not bothered by those within the Burnie Football Club who have chosen to speak ill of him following the talented on-baller's defection to arch rival Devonport at the end of last year.

Speaking exclusively to The Advocate on his decision to leave West Park, after winning five flags in as many years, the 27-year-old said as far as he was concerned "they can get stuffed."
Which just adds more spice to tonight's Country Club Casino NTFL grand final replay between the pair at West Park.

Brown was one of several Dockers' premiership players who left in the wake of premiership coach Errol Bourn's departure, after the new board failed to immediately endorse him for 2006.
But he stressed he had no problem with the Dockers players, many of whom he still regards as friends, nor the club's current direction.
It is just that the attitude of some members of the hierarchy leaves him decidedly cold.
Brown said comments made about him since he left were in poor taste given his service record.

"I have no problem with the club or the players ... "
"But, the way Errol was treated was very poor and I also feel that some of the leadership have shown a lack of maturity in the way they have dealt with my decision.
"People have turned their back on me, there have been comments made that I left for heaps of money and that there were several players leaving Devonport for Burnie because they did not like me."
"None of that was true and I did not think it was fair given what I have done for the club. It must be remembered that I remained at the club after it left the Statewide League (at a time when the club was in a difficult financial position) when many other players went (for more money)."
Brown knows he will get a less than welcome reception at West Park today and acknowledges his comments will not help.
He admitted he was not sure how he would be received at Devonport when he first arrived but was pleasantly surprised by the positive response from his new team-mates.
"I did not think that I would be very popular sort of like how Darren Banham is seen at Burnie but the guys have been fantastic so I could not be happier with my decision."

masthead1.jpg

March 25th 2006: "Wilmot Football Club Forced Back On Bench"
By Sam Dallas
resizedS_198312_jh24030609.jpg
Wilmot Football Club President Jack Bratton.

The Wilmot Football Club will officially be on the bench again this season through a lack of community support.

Wilmot Football Club president Jack Bratton said the decision came after a poor turnout at last Monday's club meeting.
"We had to make a decision Monday night, and it was do or die ... but no new people turned up," he said.

Mr Bratton said only 11 players had registered for the Leven Football Association season, set to commence next weekend.
"Last year, we appointed a coach and what happened?
"He promised he would bring players in and he dropped the bundle and left us after Christmas without a coach.
"We were behind the eight-ball, and we couldn't find a coach."

Mr Bratton said the team made the grand final in 2001, 2002 and 2003 but then the players lost interest.
"We saw them in the street and they made a promise that they'll be there, and said they were going to play, but we had too many promises but no delivery ... pretty weak.
"Gone are the days where you'd have a bloke bleed for you and run out on the ground."
Mr Bratton said the club would still try to get another team together next year.

Leven Football Association president Ray Masters said the competition was still strong without Wilmot.
"Last year at the grand final, our gate and takings were up tremendously with over 2500 people there," Mr Masters said.
"Ever since Mole Creek has come into the competition, the (football) following has gone up.
"Attendance-wise, (the association) has just sky rocketed."

demonsheadera.jpg

Season Kicks Off This Friday Night
Remember the SFL premier league season kicks off on Friday 31 March 2006 with North Hobart playing Glenorchy in a twilight game at North Hobart Oval at 5.45pm.
Junior games and Auskick will be conducted from 4pm Subway North Hobart and Glenorchy sponsor the match.
We urge all members and supporters to attend to make it a memorable opening to the season for the Club in its 125th year.
We will be back in our traditional strip.

Guernsey Presentation on Saturday 25 March
The Annual Guernsey Presentation will be held in Social Clubrooms Saturday 25 March 2006 commencing at 6.00pm. The subscription for the function is $5 and includes finger food. Ring 6234 3473 to book

Edge Radio 99.3 FM Kick On To Footy
Listen to new footy show “Half Back Flankers” on Edge Radio 99.3FM every Friday from 5.00pm.
Program host Adam Webster is an avid North Hobart Demon. Special guests Friday 24 March Brent Williams and Andrew Cox.
Link To Edge Radio 99.3 FM

fish1 said:
Was an assitant Coach at Devonport Magpies usually found in defence as a key defender but often would move up to the wing and even into the middle very good player.

as for cotton making 14 grand thats not right because the salary caps aint that big, they've got a new caoch and they have a heap of players who would be gettin paid a bit to play for the two blues. Cotton kicked 7 goals yesterday looked good, Jason Anthony was ********tin all over him till he done a hamstring in the first 10 minutes

Lutters said:

Hmmm.....pretty sure they are happy with their "investment" thus far Lutters.
7 sausage rolls in a 72 pt opening rd win wont do his "rep" any harm.....:rolleyes:

Captain Charisma said:
Was an assitant Coach at Devonport Magpies usually found in defence as a key defender but often would move up to the wing and even into the middle very good player.

as for cotton making 14 grand thats not right because the salary caps aint that big, they've got a new caoch and they have a heap of players who would be gettin paid a bit to play for the two blues. Cotton kicked 7 goals yesterday looked good, Jason Anthony was ********tin all over him till he done a hamstring in the first 10 minutes

not sure where you get the heap of players getting paid "a bit" to play for the two blues CC, I could count maybe 4 that would be on anything even half worthwhile......maybe you can but I sure cant

Kingpin said:
Edge Radio 99.3 FM Kick On To Footy
Listen to new footy show “Half Back Flankers” on Edge Radio 99.3FM every Friday from 5.00pm.
Program host Adam Webster is an avid North Hobart Demon. Special guests Friday 24 March Brent Williams and Andrew Cox.
Link To Edge Radio 99.3 FM[/FONT]

Damn right. We had a great show with those guys, and they'll eventually be back in the studio for another show later in the season. In the meantime, we're hoping to get a hold of some players from other clubs. Now that I know this thread exists, I'll keep you all posted.

Kingpin said:

Approved Clearances
Jonathon Bowring: Glenorchy to Kingborough.
Michael Darcy: Cygnet to Kingborough.

Assuming big Chris Joyce is staying with the Millionaires add these two and they should have a more than handy attack one would think!

Disco_Roach said:
not sure where you get the heap of players getting paid "a bit" to play for the two blues CC, I could count maybe 4 that would be on anything even half worthwhile......maybe you can but I sure cant
ok he getting 12 then.

billybrownless16 said:
What other teams are in the superrules comp Barge?

To the best of my knowledge Billy, there's Lauderdale, Kingston, Sorell, Lindisfarne, Dodges Ferry, A composite Old Scholars side, Huon, Brighton, and the Glenorchy side will now compete out of Abbotsfield Park as the Northern Suburbs Magpies after apparently being booted off KGV by former Glenorchy legend Roland Curley who in his role with the Glenorchy City Council I'm told also thwarted DOSA FC's bid to move there too.

If I've missed any sides I apologise.