Tasmanian Football Thread

If your hanging your hat on that sought of s**t dolamiteblue, i scored 385 not out on Xmas day 1994, took all my cousins and auncles and aunts to the cleaners. I also completed halo 2 on boxing day last year and that was the day i got it. But who really gives a hoot. Cale O'keefe is the reason oil prices are so high. He baths in it before he trains and plays.

Diamonds Sharman would be the best looking man in the SFL, he takes great pride in his appearance and is seen regularly doing weights, (bit of chest followed by a few curls, followed by some more chest). PS he shaves his arms.

That poor bastard has a skin complaint where he must shave from the neck down....

Yeah Duff, Winter and a few of the Clarence boys used to do the perfume trick quite often just to WTF? the opposition.
Not like ol' Keith Robinson - used to puff away on a darrie in the race before running out onto the ground and have one out the back of the rooms at halftime complete with 70's pornstar moe and biggest mullet ever.
A man of great style was Robbo. None of this NTTAWWTter perfume wearing shenanigans for our Robbo! :p

PS: I read that Roger Viney has chucked it in as head of the SFL, he was a good administrator and got a fair bit done in his short time in office.
I had an inkling about this a week or so back, but it seems he's pulled up stumps.
No firm replacement at this stage, but a fella by the name of Paul Harris (is he another politician? - if so, God save us :rolleyes:) has been mentioned.
Harris is a former umpire and former Huonville president according to the Mercury.
If he gets the job, I hope he's not going to be another pro-Huon clubs and f*ck the rest administrator like Superglue Fingers Morrison.

If your hanging your hat on that sought of s**t dolamiteblue, i scored 385 not out on Xmas day 1994, took all my cousins and auncles and aunts to the cleaners. I also completed halo 2 on boxing day last year and that was the day i got it. But who really gives a hoot. Cale O'keefe is the reason oil prices are so high. He baths in it before he trains and plays.

you must know him then.
tell me how many games has he played , premierships has he won and lets compair them to your stats at the highest level you have played at.
i suggest to you that you will come up fairly short and as for playing HALO , i would also suggest to you that your over weight , have pasty skin and severe case of acne , or am i being to stereo typical for you.

Cale had been choosen by a powerhouse club that invested in him and thought he could become a good player @ carlton , he is a good player just not on the mainland.

I'm detecting you may have come up short in the original Halo Dolamiteblue and are just a little jealous at my recent achievements. Look out for the conquering of the triology this year on boxing day. Drafted to a powerhouse. Carlton have drafted plenty of blokes over the years and if being drafted makes you a footballer, then i am the current world champion Yahtzee champion. Get drafted is one thing, actually staying there and playing is another. As for my football achievements. Strathers went through undefeated at u13 level which has never been matched since! I was captain of the Bray Park Christian side for a number of years guiding them to there first victory in my third year so don't talk to me about achievements.

you must know him then.
tell me how many games has he played , premierships has he won and lets compair them to your stats at the highest level you have played at.
i suggest to you that you will come up fairly short and as for playing HALO , i would also suggest to you that your over weight , have pasty skin and severe case of acne , or am i being to stereo typical for you.

Cale had been choosen by a powerhouse club that invested in him and thought he could become a good player @ carlton , he is a good player just not on the mainland.

it is with great regret that i back down with my statement regarding ball n chain and cale okeefe, it seems through my investigations that ball n chain may actually have more premierships and would of played as many if not more than cale at a high level.

the only thing i got right was that you would come up short as your not tall are you ball n chain.

moving along ................ how do we think Burnie will shape up this year under the guidance of red pill plapp ? not to mention the swarm of recruits to the club that will help boulster there already handy good player stocks.

it is with great regret that i back down with my statement regarding ball n chain and cale okeefe, it seems through my investigations that ball n chain may actually have more premierships and would of played as many if not more than cale at a high level.

the only thing i got right was that you would come up short as your not tall are you ball n chain.

moving along ................ how do we think Burnie will shape up this year under the guidance of red pill plapp ? not to mention the swarm of recruits to the club that will help boulster there already handy good player stocks.

i heard plapp had 58 at training last week, not a bad effort considering they had 11 this time last year. macmichael, murphy and gardam will be handy pick ups. i have heard a wisper that rory hilton who is good mates with plapp my play 5-6 games depending on availabiloty to help out his best mate. would be good to see him play. my early tip though is still launceston.

you must know him then.

Good call.

i heard plapp had 58 at training last week, not a bad effort considering they had 11 this time last year. macmichael, murphy and gardam will be handy pick ups. i have heard a wisper that rory hilton who is good mates with plapp my play 5-6 games depending on availabiloty to help out his best mate. would be good to see him play. my early tip though is still launceston.

Surely murf is not there./ signed with the cats

Armstrong invited back to Devils
By Alister Nicholson
November 30, 2007 12:23:00
Tasmania's first VFL coach, Mathew Armstrong, could be heading back to the Devils in a new role.
Armstrong's almost six year association with the Devils ended midway through 2006 when he lost the support of senior players and resigned as coach.
After a disastrous 2007, which yielded just 2 wins, AFL Tasmania is calling him back to the fold.
Armstrong says he was unsure when offered a new position as chairman of selectors.
"And it's still that way a little bit, but the more I'm hanging around the place, the more I'm getting excited about it," he said.
Armstrong says, if he accepts the position, he will offer advice to Daryn Cresswell but has no desire to replace him.
He will inform AFL Tasmania of his decision after Christmas.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2007/11/30/2106104.htm?site=idx-tas

In news that will excite Cadoras, I heard today that Triabunna enforcer Dean Mills has been appointed Reserves Coach for 2008.

Now there is a guy who will show the young kids the right way!

NOT!

Still aren't any closer to appointing a Senior Coach however.

I got told they offered Justin Rainbird $25,000 to coach and heard about a month ago they offered Ken Hall thirty grand!

Tassy footy needs Armstrong back involved. Hope he takes the role.
Tassie footy doesn't need Armstrong back...they need a long term plan built off the back of some solid structure and understanding of how footy teams rebuild. AFL Tas seem generally concerned only with short term fixes. This is shown with the shove down your throat approach to their Scott wade league, I mean state wide league. There is genuine merit in having a state wide league, why do they not take the time to work through all the issues that caused the down fall of the last attempt. There are a lot of good heads in this state (or beyond), make sure they are used I reckon. As for Armstrong…not sure, he knows a great deal about the devils, he seemingly is a good football head (I can’t comment for sure either way on this really, don't know enough about him, but he has been about enough to have the knowledge)...is it a good move to bring him back in the mix...maybe it might be a good idea to have a good sweep out at AFL Tas with the lot, this sometimes is a great catalyst at AFL club level for a revival and some common sense business structure from the administration side of things. It seems that AFL Tas is always fighting a battle based on its history, maybe no history at admin level would give it a fighting chance to collaborate with the rest of the footballing state.:thumbsu:

Re: Armstrong

Ball and Chain, Armstrong's made a great contribution to Tassie footy. A bloke from humble beginnings > 170 AFL games > successful state coach.

Crazy comment mate.

Not sure Armstrong is the answer to fixing the Devils myriad of problems. Let's not forget that he had run his race with the Devils and at the point he resigned there wasn't too many kind words being put forward about him. After all it was his OWN playing group that pulled the rug out from underneath him (the same group he had experienced success with).

I believe that it is only the incompetence of AFLTAS and the current Devils coaching group that has lead to us recalling the glory days and wishing Armstrong back into the fray.

Onto something a little more current -

****** DAVE NEWETT has resigned as coach of Glenorchy and accepted a position with North Melbourne Kangaroos ******

He has been appointed to a list management role where he will develop and mentor the Kangaroos young players.

Congratulations to Newy who is one of footy's genuine nice blokes and who deserves a crack in the big league.

Onto something a little more current -

Congratulations to Newy who is one of footy's genuine nice blokes and who deserves a crack in the big league.
Just unfortunate that we are losing blokes of this calibre away from the state. These are the sort that we need to hold onto. But congrats on an upward career move with the best club.

Armstrong

Armstrong was burnt out and needed a break. That happens to us all.

Sounds like he's back and can have positive input. How can anyone say that he should not be on the scene!

Like any business the structure of Tassie footy has been and will always be tweaked. Everyone agreed at the time that the Devils/Nth Melbourne thing was needed as we were blown away in that 1st semi v the Bullants against bigger/stronger players and something had to change.

It amazes me how people on this forum can forget why decisions were made. The statewide had to be tried back in the mid 80's as everyone had grown bored of the TFL. It was a success for 8 years and then died but it was a good thing it was tried but of course went on for far too long.

I wonder if we will ever get a "Sorry" about that one.

On the statewide for 2009, it would be an interesting question that it struggles again just how long will they prop it up? Will there be a 2 year trial period and then would they scrap it if it doesn't happen.

Certainly some form of statewide would be good. Even a pre season statewide like in 1980 when the 1st 5 games replaced the regular season.

Anything that unites footy in the state must be a good thing.

Bring back the statewide final at a minimum, get a sponsor to pay the players and play it on the Friday night @ 6Pm @ Aurora before the AFL Grand Final.

One big party afterwards.

If they had have had it this year, super coach Newett would have got his Glenorchy boys over the line v Launceston by a few points.