Taylor Update

Nah, a mate did though.

As much as we hate to admit it because he's an arrogant little shit, the kid sure can play.

Haven't seen the SANFL much lately, but would see no problem with him slipping straight in and playing some big games.

Nah, a mate did though.

As much as we hate to admit it because he's an arrogant little shit, the kid sure can play.

Haven't seen the SANFL much lately, but would see no problem with him slipping straight in and playing some big games.

Thanks for that. Dont mind if their a bit arrogant, when their on your team and they can play a bit. I'm sure the Crows will get that out of him when he comes down here. As long as he's not Buddy Franklin arrogant!

If he's got "Buddy Franklin" arrogance thats exactly what we need.

Someone thats not a robot/crowbot, plenty of confidence and willing to back himself in.

This bloke sounds like a gun.

Does he still have his filthy mullet?

July 23, 2007
:thumbsu:
r162225_596239.jpg

He's in AA team in this years crop, and whenever he's played he's played well. No he would be snapped at 30-40.
Huge upside, huge

He wouldn't go top 10. Maybe late 2nd to early 3rd is the best he would be worth probably. He's 188cm... Not many are interested in a 3rd tall.

That's the thing, people are saying he's 188 etc, but he is still going to be one of the youngest players in the draft and still has a couple of years to grow.

Don't forget he's playing as a CHF, he could be 189 now who knows!

Here's his stats from his only TAC Cup games.

NSW-ACT 3.4 5.7 9.9 11.12 (78)
CALDER 2.3 7.8 8.9 10.11 (71)
Goals: NSW-ACT: Walker 6 Bird 3 Drum Reed. Calder: Farmer 3 German McKernan Cattapan Polkinghorne Duyndam Arrowsmith Robertson.
Best: NSW-ACT: Walker Bird Wilsen Drum Ediriwickrama Colvin. Calder: Sutherland Polkinghorne Farmer Cattapan Daniher Smith.
Reports: Nil.
At Coburg City Oval.

MURRAY BUSHRANGERS 3.3 6.6 8.10 11.12 (78)
NSW ACT RAMS 3.2 5.4 7.6 10.9 (69)
Goals: Murray: Deledio 3 Garland 3 Beckmans Hebbard Normington McIntyre Terlich. NSW ACT: Walker 4 Davis 2 Bird Breust Martin Drum.
Best: Murray: Koehler Garland Martiniello Deledio Hockey Hebbard. NSW ACT: Bird Ediriwickrama Bruce Overs Byrne Drum.

NSW ACT RAMS 7.4 10.9 15.15 17.18 (120)
BENDIGO 1.6 5.9 6.10 9.12 (66)
Goals: NSW ACT: Walker 7 Woods 2 A'vard Bird Breust Sleeth Drum Van Meurs Bruce Linsen. Bendigo: Martin 2 Wanganeen 2 Ford 2 Thoolen Tarrant Taylor.
Best: NSW ACT: Walker Van Meurs Davies Wilson Breust Woods. Bendigo: Ford Martin Petrie Gillingham Richardson Hall.
Reports: Nil.
At QE Oval.

I have seen Taylor Walker play three times. All three games at the Championships - for those really alert I managed to get video of the NSW vs. NT game that was played in Sydney. ;)

I've written a pretty comprehensive review on him on this board before, but the search function is down at the moment so I can't be bothered finding it. It would've been in early July though.

As far as answering a few questions that have popped up in this thread he is very good at ground level. Pretty clean below the knees - not magnificent but certainly good. As already mentioned he was equal leader in goal assists at the Championships. He seems to be an unselfish player and he has very good vision and awareness.

I was very impressed that he can kick very well on both feet. He's just as comfortable using his left as his right. His kicking action on his left still looks a bit funny but it is effective and fairly accurate. He kicked a couple of goals on his non-preferred at the Champs.

Hard running player who puts a lot of forward line pressure on. It looks like he really loves to tackle. I saw him lay a couple of absolutely ferocious tackles, particularly in congested situations when the ball was just squirting free to the opposition.

He looks quick off the mark and often burns his opponents by getting in front and staying there. He's a good mark, but importantly he's a courageous mark. Against Queensland in horrendous conditions he ran with the flight of the ball to take a boner worthy mark.

Obviously he needs to bulk up a fair bit and a couple of cm wouldn't go astray, but the way I see his role in the AFL the extra height would be essential. He is A LOT like Scott Welsh in so many ways. Quick on the lead, keep front position and doesn't give his opponent a sniff. Good forward line pressure (I don't care what you all say, Welshy's pressure is good) and work rate. Similar height, but not as solid. At 17 years old then I suspect his own physical maturity and being in the AFL system will make a big difference.

However, I think we are getting a little over excited. Absolutely, it's great that we have the rights to this player and that we pretty much get him for free. He is worth Pick 30-40 and we get him for 50-60. He has tremendous upside, but let's keep a few things in mind:

- He is playing in a country league and I can only suspect the standard isn't that great.

- He played Division 2 in the National Championships. It's a good standard, but once again it needs a bit of perspective. Probably equivelant to mid to good level TAC Cup teams.

- The other formline is the three TAC Cup games he played this year (the four Div 2 U/18 sides play three games against TAC Cup sides each year). Bendigo are pretty bad and as I recall they finished 10th. The other two sides he played against were Top 4 sides, so that's somewhat encouraging, particularly since both have good defences.

I have seen Taylor Walker play three times. All three games at the Championships - for those really alert I managed to get video of the NSW vs. NT game that was played in Sydney. ;)

I've written a pretty comprehensive review on him on this board before, but the search function is down at the moment so I can't be bothered finding it. It would've been in early July though.

As far as answering a few questions that have popped up in this thread he is very good at ground level. Pretty clean below the knees - not magnificent but certainly good. As already mentioned he was equal leader in goal assists at the Championships. He seems to be an unselfish player and he has very good vision and awareness.

I was very impressed that he can kick very well on both feet. He's just as comfortable using his left as his right. His kicking action on his left still looks a bit funny but it is effective and fairly accurate. He kicked a couple of goals on his non-preferred at the Champs.

Hard running player who puts a lot of forward line pressure on. It looks like he really loves to tackle. I saw him lay a couple of absolutely ferocious tackles, particularly in congested situations when the ball was just squirting free to the opposition.

He looks quick off the mark and often burns his opponents by getting in front and staying there. He's a good mark, but importantly he's a courageous mark. Against Queensland in horrendous conditions he ran with the flight of the ball to take a boner worthy mark.

Obviously he needs to bulk up a fair bit and a couple of cm wouldn't go astray, but the way I see his role in the AFL the extra height would be essential. He is A LOT like Scott Welsh in so many ways. Quick on the lead, keep front position and doesn't give his opponent a sniff. Good forward line pressure (I don't care what you all say, Welshy's pressure is good) and work rate. Similar height, but not as solid. At 17 years old then I suspect his own physical maturity and being in the AFL system will make a big difference.

However, I think we are getting a little over excited. Absolutely, it's great that we have the rights to this player and that we pretty much get him for free. He is worth Pick 30-40 and we get him for 50-60. He has tremendous upside, but let's keep a few things in mind:

- He is playing in a country league and I can only suspect the standard isn't that great.

- He played Division 2 in the National Championships. It's a good standard, but once again it needs a bit of perspective. Probably equivelant to mid to good level TAC Cup teams.

- The other formline is the three TAC Cup games he played this year (the four Div 2 U/18 sides play three games against TAC Cup sides each year). Bendigo are pretty bad and as I recall they finished 10th. The other two sides he played against were Top 4 sides, so that's somewhat encouraging, particularly since both have good defences.

Im curious, how would the Broken Hill league compare to the SANFL reserves? Our 1st draft pick is playing average footy in that league and he is supposed to be our great white hope.

The fact Walker has kicked goals regularly at every level he has played means he must have something. Not many players kick goals as regularly as he does.

Im curious, how would the Broken Hill league compare to the SANFL reserves? Our 1st draft pick is playing average footy in that league and he is supposed to be our great white hope.

The fact Walker has kicked goals regularly at every level he has played means he must have something. Not many players kick goals as regularly as he does.
To be honest, we won't know until next year. I don't reckon there'd be too many able to compare the Broken Hill league with the SANFL Reserves. :p

I've seen him play at Div 2 Champs and have seen his numbers in TAC Cup games and I've seen a fair bit of footy at both of those levels so I can roughly gauge him from that. But I can't say I've seen the Broken Hill league, which is where he has obviously played most of his footy. Next year in the SANFL will be a good indication of where he's at because that's a more familiar level to gauge players on.

Nice to see the club website finally get with the times :p

http://www.afc.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=4417&newsId=50882

Walker stars in Broken Hill decider

Adelaide’s NSW scholarship player Taylor Walker was voted best afield in his competition’s senior grand final on Saturday.

Walker, 17, kicked seven goals from centre half forward for North Broken Hill in its 29-point win over West. He had also kicked seven goals the previous week in the preliminary final.

Walker last year was Adelaide’s first signing through the AFL’s NSW Scholarship program. This year he was chosen in the All Australian under 18 side after representing New South Wales at the national under 18 championships.

The scholarship program allows AFL clubs to add selected players to their list once they have reached drafting age. Adelaide will consider its options with Walker before this year’s national draft in November.

Would have thought there's not a whole lot to consider.