Taylor Walker Dropped...

Burton has been the most dangerous-looking forward for the last 2 weeks. Couldn't really be dropped. Goal-kicking has obviously been poor, but he has been getting it; has been taking marks.

Mate Chopper Read looks dangerous too.

Getting soft kicks deep in the pocket where the defenders want you to get your kicks, does little damage.

If we get belted, some people are going to blow up, as long as they don't get person and too crazy.
Yep. Personal abuse and swear filter avoidance are the two biggest single problems right now (along with the occasional troll).

If you want to write ****, pleas just write **** and let the filter do its job. Do not write some other variation just to get around it. Please!

Burton has been the most dangerous-looking forward for the last 2 weeks. Couldn't really be dropped. Goal-kicking has obviously been poor, but he has been getting it; has been taking marks.

The issue too that is that Craig has been using Burton as our main go to person as well, this is why the argument that Burton has been more dangerous than Walker over the last two weeks is redundant because Walker is clearly being played out of position.

If we dont perform tomorrow night then Craig's goose is cooked.

You didn't answer my question, but simply made a point of your own. The question was 'what has TW done as a forward so far at AFL level'. SANFL, great form, kicks goals. The step up has been a problem for him.
I'm not saying that he should be traded and I doubt that would be in Craig's mind either, but as a footballer at AFL level he has a way to go.

Well he kicked something like 23 goals in half a season of AFL footy inlcuding 1 4 goal haul and 1 5 goal haul (all in the first half of a game) last year. He ran out of steam after that but to produce that in his first season of AFL footy at 19/20 years of age is pretty impressive. He kicked 4 goals in the game against Freo and looked like the only forward capable of kicking a goal. He has also shown glimpses of his clever body positioning, working opposition under the ball and pretty impressive goal sense when he's had the chance. There really are very few other KPF's who have done as much as early on in their careers.

Now he certainly needs to work on his intensity/second efforts etc and certainly has a long way to go before really having all the tools to make it as an AFL player, but gee, can't think of too many other young forwards who have done as much at the same stage of their careers.

I'm disgusted and baffled by this decision. Walker has by no means been our worst player and does not deserve to be dropped. What the hell are we doing to this guy - the most natural forward at the club since Modra - most clubs would kill to have a forward of his talent on their list. WTF are we doing to him - play him out of position and then drop him because a slow full forward who creates his goal scoring chances by using his footy smarts and natural talent can't play as a hard running wingman. He still got 15 posessions and a goal last week. Not happy at all.

Over the 5 years, i cannot remember any senior player getting dropped. Been saying it for 2 years now – just doesn’t happen.
It's hard to argue with. The Adelaide Crows are like the Australian Cricket Team - it's harder to get dropped than it is to get into the team in the first place. Once you're a regular member, you're set for life and won't get dropped no matter how badly you perform. While you're still on the fringe of the 22, prepare to be in and out of the team like the proverbial yo-yo.

There's no doubt that Craig has his favourites. For the most part these are players who have given their heart and soul for the club and who have earned his respect. It has yet to be shown that he is able to make the call on these players now that their careers are obviously in terminal decline.

Getting soft kicks deep in the pocket where the defenders want you to get your kicks, does little damage.

Every other thread has bagged him for missing shots 30m out, straight in front.

Vader over the years learnt never to correct anyones spelling or phrasing as sure enough you will slip up ,but better shut up otherwise I will spoiler my time on this site.
On a more serious note Symesy 15 we are all totally frustrated with what has gone on this year and time ahead and have to learn some express that in different ways and yes some are totally abusive that really is disrespectful to this site and individual when at worst which has happened. But as avid supporters what can we do but.
Lets see if any hard decisions or direction has or will be made by NC.
I personally not totally convinced that Walker is going to be a super star but as a young natural leading fwd is something we should be working with rather than trying to make him into a wingman type and have mr spekky fitness coming out of FF stuffing up everyone. But apart from all that he hasnt been anywhere near our worse as well.
But for me even as frustrating is there is signs that Jaensch not going to get a go and he is ready .

It's hard to argue with. The Adelaide Crows are like the Australian Cricket Team - it's harder to get dropped than it is to get into the team in the first place. Once you're a regular member, you're set for life and won't get dropped no matter how badly you perform. While you're still on the fringe of the 22, prepare to be in and out of the team like the proverbial yo-yo.

There's no doubt that Craig has his favourites. For the most part these are players who have given their heart and soul for the club and who have earned his respect. It has yet to be shown that he is able to make the call on these players now that their careers are obviously in terminal decline.

Ben Hart?
Jason Torney?

Or do you just mean 'favourites', not 'older players obviously running down in general'?

That’s why I keep suggesting he will walk with them. I don’t believe he can develop young players and he has decided to live by the sword of the older players – as soon as they are gone, so is he.

Ben Hart?
Jason Torney?

Or do you just mean 'favourites', not 'older players obviously running down in general'?

Where there is life, there is hope. He still had a plethora of senior players to call up after they went. The list is nearly all out.

I think Vince, Dangerfield, MacKay have all developed well under him so far.

He didn't have much youth on the list when he came in to work with.

Very true. And VB, Otten, Tippett, Knights.

Bock, Rutten and Reilly weren't getting a game under the previous regime either. He has done brilliantly with those guys.

Ben Hart?
Jason Torney?

Those decisions were made at the end of the year. I'm talking about making harsh decisions about dropping them from the team in the middle of the season when they're no longer performing. The only example I can think of would be Nigel Smart - and I'm not suggesting that they should be retired mid-season as he was, only sent back to the SANFL until their performances return to a level justifying AFL selection. That said, at Edwards' age it's unlikely that he'd be able to force his way back into the team once he gets dropped.

Over the 5 years, i cannot remember any senior player getting dropped. Been saying it for 2 years now – just doesn’t happen.

The closest thing I can remember was round 1 last year when Cook, Petrenko and Walker were named to make their debuts and Shirley was omitted and played SANFL. I thought at that stage that maybe things were going to change.

Our club needs to make a statement. Craig always says that when young player step in that we don't make allowances for the fact that it's their first game - we expect players that get picked for the side to play their role in the team whether they are an experienced veteran or a first gamer. If he's fair dinkum about that - then he needs to hold the senior players to the same standard. If they are picked they are expected to perform.

Ross Lyon went to St Kilda and dropped guys like Dal Santo and Milne - they weren't playing badly, but they weren't doing the team things. Actions like that have turned the culture of that club around - show the Senior players that they can't just rock up week in week out, not play to an acceptable standard, collect their pay check and keep getting picked. Dal Santo ihas become twice the player he was after getting dropped.

I think Vince, Dangerfield, MacKay have all developed well under him so far.

not inteneded to argue or agree but just for everyone, people 21 and younger for the 2005 season

Chad Gibson, Luke Jericho, Chris Knights, Ivan Maric, John Meesen, Nathan van Berlo, Fergus Watts

Rowan Andrews, Jonathon Griffin, John Hinge, Ryan Nye

Those decisions were made at the end of the year. I'm talking about making harsh decisions about dropping them from the team in the middle of the season when they're no longer performing. The only example I can think of would be Nigel Smart - and I'm not suggesting that they should be retired mid-season as he was, only sent back to the SANFL until their performances return to a level justifying AFL selection. That said, at Edwards' age it's unlikely that he'd be able to force his way back into the team once he gets dropped.

Yes, very sad that Edwards has dropped off so quickly. Has been a champion and great club man. Hopefully he can turn it around for one last season.

My favourite Gary Ayres statistic. Number of teenagers on Adelaide's senior list when he handed over to Neil Craig: 1 (Fungus Watts)
not inteneded to argue or agree but just for everyone, people 21 and younger for the 2005 season

Chad Gibson, Luke Jericho, Chris Knights, Ivan Maric, John Meesen, Nathan van Berlo, Fergus Watts

Rowan Andrews, Jonathon Griffin, John Hinge, Ryan Nye
Of those, only Jericho, Watts and Andrews were on the list in 2004. The rest were all first year draftees.

Keep this in mind.

Over the past few weeks, Walker has been one of the most vilafied players in the post match threads for not trying, being accountable, chasing etc.

Some people want cake and a full tummy I believe.

All of this is true. However as he has been played out of position for most of this time, I'm not sure how much those supporters comments are relevant.

As I have been up here on this high ground, I feel i am safe in having a little slice of cake :p.

A truly stupid and shit decision, we already have a non performing foward line, why not play a natural foward there?. This is a ****ed up decision.

My favourite Gary Ayres statistic. Number of teenagers on Adelaide's senior list when he handed over to Neil Craig: 1 (Fungus Watts)

Who cares if they are teenager, NC won’t play them until they are 20 plus anyway. Dangerfield was the exception to the rule; however, Walker, Davis and Otten would not have played if it wasn’t desperate. Otten played and gave him not reason to drop him; Walker was doing the same so he manufactured some crap about his fitness and now playing him out of position. As soon as players come back, Davis will be dropped.

so who care if we only had one teenager.

Brilliant analogy!!

Taylor Walker Dropped...