Teams Team Development (Final Two Weeks)

First team change post JLT

GViPbfe.png

This is a tough year...

First team change post JLT

GViPbfe.png

This is a tough year...

It's hard to criticise any team that traditionally would appear risky. This year is crazy in terms of the mid price options and the lack of rookies.

Having said that, your team look OK.

Obvious risks are:
Ryder
O'Meara
Beams (injury)
Caddy (top 6?)
Steele (top 6?)

Not so obvious risks are:
Gawn v.2017 not performing to the standard of Gawn v.2016
Bont not gaining much on last year and potentially dropping a digit or two.

Once the richmond carlton game kicks off can we still reverse trades for players from the other 16 teams like we can now yeah?

Might as well start preparing for next season bud.
If that's set up worked you would win the $50k no dramas, but boy oh boy I would recommend not picking that many mid-pricers.

Why?

Because there is a pool of dons rookies available....nope
Because there is a pool of gws rookies available....nope

Oh yeah its 2017 and like every year before it, it's a completely different set of circumstances

New rules
New byes
New players
New coaches

Strange most interviews I've stumbled across from SC and RDT winners all mention get points early, they all state its bloody hard to make up points as everyone starts getting "completed" sides.

I don't have any of anyone's answers, hell i don't even have my own.
But there is plenty of ways to start the season

FWIW i spent Monday arvo messing around with a 1/0/7 fwd line...it had lots of positives but I'm not sure I'm that brave. I do know some who are set on this strategy this season and have finished top 1000 for the past 3 years.

Plenty of options on strategy

It's hard to criticise any team that traditionally would appear risky. This year is crazy in terms of the mid price options and the lack of rookies.

Having said that, your team look OK.

Obvious risks are:
Ryder
O'Meara
Beams (injury)
Caddy (top 6?)
Steele (top 6?)

Not so obvious risks are:
Gawn v.2017 not performing to the standard of Gawn v.2016
Bont not gaining much on last year and potentially dropping a digit or two.

What makes you think Bont would drop a couple digits? He's 21 and only getting better.

Averaged 8 points a game I believe from third man up, yes he'll get better but saying his disposal rate will improve that much to counter those points is drastic to say the least. If he breaks even on his average from last year he'll have improved a great deal. In saying that, him and Cripps have exceeded all expectations already and there is really no reason not to select them. That is the reason why people have gone off him.

I didn't think that CD counted Third Man up hit outs as points, I'm pretty sure I read that somewhere.

so instead of being 3rd man up he'll be at the fall of the ball. i'd back him to make those 8 points and more from clearances and bursting away from the pack with the footy.

Thoughts?
Not a bad team at all, very nice. I would personally go JOM down to Taranto and see if you can go Kelly up to a recognised mid premo. Also not a fan of Grundy, would prefer at least one of the super premo rucks in there (Gawn, Goldy) but that is a personal preference.

I reckon Kelly will dominate this year and he's in my starting side. Statistically he is at the perfect age to reach his scoring potential and he has smashed it in the preseason. Why do you think he won't, given you recommend trading him for a "recognised" premo?

If he were playing for any other side I would agree with you, if he were still available as a fwd he would be an auto lock, I just think that they are really stacked and in any given week the points spread will vary across their different players (specifically their midfielders), Hawthorn of recent years past have presented this kind of problem, super team, no real individual stand outs both in reality and in supercoach terms. Do you think he can break 110+ ppg for the season? If you do then select him, I think he'll fall short of that but that's merely my opinion based on the reasoning I've provided.

To an extent I agree. I've been looking at how to fit GWS players in to my team given how much I think they are going to dominate this year. However, as you correctly point out, they are evenly spread right across the park. I reckon I'll end up with at least 3 (Shaw, Kelly and Greene) but at his price and with the form he has shown so far in the preseason it is too much to ignore. The fact that Coniglio is out for the first six weeks or so just makes him more of a lock for me. The one thing I hope he improves on is his DE. There were many games last year where he scored more DT points than SC points, indicating a low DE (without having looked at his overall DE, just guessing). I do believe he will go close to 110+ which is why I am starting with him. 155 in JLT 1, 101 in JLT 3 (Which to be fair is probably the best guide given the strength of the team they fielded) and 87 in JLT 2 from only a half. Reckon he has a huge ceiling. No right or wrong here. So many mid pricers on offer this year so these kind of selections you want to get right. I'm confident that, barring injury, he will justify a place in my side for the entire season.

sc1.png sc2.PNG really want jake lloyd in the backs but can't see where to save coin. very happy with the rest of the squad. sorry for the formatting ultra noob here. 24,800 in the kitty.