Team for round 2

I agree with the balance point of view, but IMO we need to pursevere with JR as he has a lot of up side if we can just get him to be confident.
i didn't - i'm just going on what i read from the game. Also i'm not convinced about JR. He must be 22 now?? and hasn't really showed alot IMO. I would be less unhappy if Saddington was included. Just to many kids in the team atm. I'm all for blooding kids but we need balance.

Good to see Fish and Hampson back.

It doesn't matter. I think the Saints have as good a team they have on the park for a number of years. I think we will be soundly beaten but I hope we just keep trying.
i may be highly optimistic but i reckon with Gardner dropped and Blake being his replacement............

........we can really expose the Saints ruck division this week and even cause Kosi to take some of the centre bounces.

Hampson goes in as first choice, mainly against king. May get outbodied around the ground but a 3rd player in style would even the contest out and Hampson should win most centre bounces with his leap. Will cause king to adopt a bang and crash style centre bounce scenario which could create many free kicks

Cloke takes Blake. Should be able to out tap Blake and is more versitile than him as well. We need to be on top of this position when Blake is doing the ruck!!!

I'm not surprised RJ was dropped. Was hardly sighted against The Tigers. A pity, because his job on Harvey last year was instrumental in getting us within two kicks. JR better do the job. Don't fluff your chance Jordan.

if JR is in to play a HF tag on gram i'm ok with that. Maybe has a better attacking nouse than jackson...yes he may have done it twice or something but thats twice more than jacko from memory. Hope harvey doesnt carve us and betts do little again

I'm not surprised RJ was dropped. Was hardly sighted against The Tigers. A pity, because his job on Harvey last year was instrumental in getting us within two kicks. JR better do the job. Don't fluff your chance Jordan.

That was RJs 1st quiet game ever...........did as much as BG.......disappointed Grigg and RJ got dropped

RJ judt didnt seem to get game time anyway, and for mine he starred in the last half of the praccy match against the dogs

JRs form throughout the entire preseason was terrible.....good luck to him and I hope he plays well but he dosnt deserve to get a game IMO

Jackson must be injured because he's not even named as an Emergency - which is bizzaree in itself, because Saddington is named as one.

Jackson is listed in the Bullants team so dont think he's injured. I just think he didnt do his role right last week, whatever that was.

Russell as a lead-up forward over short distances to help break the flood is my view. I think he did really well on that role last year - one skill he does have is to lead quickly and deliver over 20 metres - and with the St Kilda defence we'll be looking for him to make position at the 40 metre line.

bloody hell, they said M Gardiner on the radio!!!

either way, Hampson should be able to win most centre tap outs

but will get beaten around the ground. therefore we should adapt a 3rd player up and hit the ball as far forward so we can run on to it and kick quickly!!! could be a nice 70 - 100m advantage ploy!!

3rd player in hits ball forward....gains 30m
running Blues player picks ball up....runs 20m
Kicks to a leading player....50m kick

could be something we may need to take on this week!!

Oh wow, this footy caper is so easy. Why haven't we gotten onto this flawless tactic already? We'd never get beaten as the other team would never get the ball! :rolleyes: hehehe

hahah thanks for the support Sublime

i just reckon its something we should use with teams with a more dominant ruck division and somehow even the score

even if we dont get it cleanly and the knock on, another ball up is created we can try the tactic again and gain metres

which could be a benefit when we are in defense!!

what would you suggest we do?

With all due to respect to Pamam who does post some insightful observations, Sublime has a point.

What is the opposition doing while we gain all this ground...pretend to be a witch's hat for our players to dodge around:D

Third man up is always an option at the stoppages and is on occasion used, but if it could be exploited on a regular basis then everyone would be always doing it.

Generally there is a defensive player standing off the contest in the area Pamam is suggesting. It is one of the annoying things that highlights our lack of concentration, because this bloke or blokes so often end up running past the stoppage to pump it forward due to us not picking them up;)

With all due to respect to Pamam who does post some insightful observations, Sublime has a point.

What is the opposition doing while we gain all this ground...pretend to be a witch's hat for our players to dodge around:D

Third man up is always an option at the stoppages and is on occasion used, but if it could be exploited on a regular basis then everyone would be always doing it.

Generally there is a defensive player standing off the contest in the area Pamam is suggesting. It is one of the annoying things that highlights our lack of concentration, because this bloke or blokes so often end up running past the stoppage to pump it forward due to us not picking them up;)

look i agree. not saying we do this tactic all the time, but we need to get on top of the ruck division against the saints, or expect clearances to be one sided

i know a saints player will be zoning off in that position. Maybe we should have someone marking that player, so if we can somehow pick it up ourselves we can pass it onto a running player. if we can't pick it up we have the opportunity to create another ball up with some gainage or even get a turn over!!

not saying i know everything, but we need to negate the saints midfield somehow and this could be one way of doing it, there midfield wouldnt have the opportunity to get a clearance as much as usual!!

i reckon we need to do a brisbane lions in there hey day and any chance of moving and pushing the ball forward rather than back is required!!

You guys are amazing. One minute you're bagging everyone for losing and having the wrong side in the next your saying keep the same side so the young guns can get games under their belt.
You want to play the kids to get experience but you also want win.
Don't you understand we are still going to lose heaps of games as we try to get as many games into the young guns possible

This is exactly right! We lost last week to the woodern spooners and people are complaining about changing the side! It is about time that some of the Carlton players became accountable for their own performances. At least on reputation, we appear to have added to our depth this year, one of the benefits of additional depth is increased pressure on the bottom 6 players to perform every game.

Jackson is a real goer and Grigg, whilst not setting the world on fire yet, is coming along nicely, but neither of these players deserved to keep their places on last weeks effort.

look i agree. not saying we do this tactic all the time, but we need to get on top of the ruck division against the saints, or expect clearances to be one sided

i know a saints player will be zoning off in that position. Maybe we should have someone marking that player, so if we can somehow pick it up ourselves we can pass it onto a running player. if we can't pick it up we have the opportunity to create another ball up with some gainage or even get a turn over!!

not saying i know everything, but we need to negate the saints midfield somehow and this could be one way of doing it, there midfield wouldnt have the opportunity to get a clearance as much as usual!!

i reckon we need to do a brisbane lions in there hey day and any chance of moving and pushing the ball forward rather than back is required!!

Is this tactic too defensive?
should we back our midfield up a little more and go for broke?
I'm scared we're gonna over possess, turn it over and leak like hell.

Jackson is listed in the Bullants team so dont think he's injured. I just think he didnt do his role right last week, whatever that was.

Russell as a lead-up forward over short distances to help break the flood is my view. I think he did really well on that role last year - one skill he does have is to lead quickly and deliver over 20 metres - and with the St Kilda defence we'll be looking for him to make position at the 40 metre line.
He was only on the ground for 53% of the game. Not sure why but my guess is he's been sent back to the VFL for a full game.

Is this tactic too defensive?
should we back our midfield up a little more and go for broke?
I'm scared we're gonna over possess, turn it over and leak like hell.

any tactic can be seen as defensive!!

but with this tactic we can still be attacking, we are giving our midfielders a big chance to run off there man and win a 50/50 ball without 20 players around the ball!!

from there a clean pass should be more easily created and therefore allows for quick ball movement!! This also allows for little over possessing as the run on player should be kicking the ball to a leading player rather than a player 10 metres from him!

Anybody who thinks I have some personal agenda against JR is off the mark.

I just think that JR has been given ample opportunity to perform or at least show more than a few glimpses of what he can do at AFL level - and to put it quite simply, he just hasn't, and therefore we should look at other players to fill his role or the role(s) that he has been earmarked to play.

That's it. It's like buying an expensive thoroughbred horse (pick #9 is expensive) and having him constantly lose over and underperform. Sooner or later you're going to have to cut your losses and accept that you need to move him on because he adds nothing.

Anybody who thinks I have some personal agenda against JR is off the mark.

I just think that JR has been given ample opportunity to perform or at least show more than a few glimpses of what he can do at AFL level - and to put it quite simply, he just hasn't, and therefore we should look at other players to fill his role or the role(s) that he has been earmarked to play.

That's it. It's like buying an expensive thoroughbred horse (pick #9 is expensive) and having him constantly lose over and underperform. Sooner or later you're going to have to cut your losses and accept that you need to move him on because he adds nothing.

So you offload the 3y.o you bought (in a bad year for stock sales) and then it comes good as a 6yo. :p

Like there is some sort of guarantee it's going to become a good 6 year old?

It's normally a pretty fair guage of how a player is rated within the AFL community; when a rival club isn't willing to give up more than Pick #39 for Russell. ;)

Fair enough..that is a bit more realistic than we can pick up a 100m on a regular basis with a third man up spiking ploy:)

Although I'm not convinced by the logic that we fear their clearance ability so lets create more stoppages ploy:D

How about we just keep it simple, play more accountable football:eek:?

We pick up our men, we chase when we don't have the ball, we tackle, we concentrate and think about the game instead of being reactive...but most of all we play as a team. Lets master the basics before we start thinking about dinky little tricks:thumbsu::)

Fair enough..that is a bit more realistic than we can pick up a 100m on a regular basis with a third man up spiking ploy:)

Although I'm not convinced by the logic that we fear their clearance ability so lets create more stoppages ploy:D

How about we just keep it simple, play more accountable football:eek:?

We pick up our men, we chase when we don't have the ball, we tackle, we concentrate and think about the game instead of being reactive...but most of all we play as a team. Lets master the basics before we start thinking about dinky little tricks:thumbsu::)

Amen to that.

Team for round 2