Team NAB cup opener

Braun has articulated it pretty well:

"West Coast will kick off its NAB Cup campaign with a mouthwatering clash against cross-town rivals Fremantle on Sunday, but Braun said the emphasis on the match would revolve around preparation for round one of the season proper, rather than the result.

"The side that we field on the weekend will be a side that will want to win, but in the big scheme of things, it's about getting game-time under certain players and getting the right balance. We don't want to overdo it too early, it's obviously a big year ahead," he said.

"The outcome is fairly important but it's more about getting the runs on the board for certain players. Round one is our goal, and this is just fine tuning."
West Coast will take a cautious approach into the match, with captain Chris Judd and vice-captain Andrew Embley ruled out as they continue to work their way back to full fitness following post-season shoulder surgery last year.

Gun Midfielder Daniel Kerr is another likely to miss after complaining of hamstring tightness at training on Monday.

Fremantle enters the contest boosted by the knowledge it has beaten West Coast on the past four occasions, including a 62-point thumping in the corresponding NAB Cup fixture last season.

"To be honest, I don't think about it, I'm not sure if any of the other players think about it," Braun replied when asked if it was important to break the losing run against the Dockers.

"It doesn't matter if you've lost to Fremantle four, six times. If you are going to play football just to beat the Dockers - that's not why we're here. We're here to win finals in September and win premierships."

I am glad they got Brauny to say that!!

Can you imagine Sumich or Lynch, for example, being that articulate!!;)

Because down here at Fremantle, beating the weagles is all we care about. :rolleyes:

Would have credited you with more intelligence than this Bay13 style post, Ex.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=299949

Besides, "Random weagle player" and "articulate" do not belong in the same sentence.

LOL - just watched the 10news and poor old Brauny was anything but articulate... ;)

Luke "PSA" McPharlin on the other hand articulated and enunciated, "Oh so naicely"... :D

Cup Opener Draws Closer...

21 February 2007
Daniel Davini
fremantlefc.com.au

Fremantle defender Luke McPharlin says the team is looking forward to finally getting some match play when the NAB Cup kicks off this weekend.

After a tough three months of pre-season training, this Sunday night’s clash against West Coast signals the first official hit-out for the 2007 season.

McPharlin says the players are ready for action.

“We’ve had a pretty good pre-season, and the majority of our playing list is up and running, and we’re playing to win,” he said.

While winning the NAB Cup hasn’t been a topic of discussion around the club, McPharlin says they will approach Sunday’s game as they do every other match they play in, with the aim to win.

“You can’t play any game half-hearted. It’s a game of football and we’re all naturally competitive athletes and we want to do our best out there, so every game we’ll approach with our best possible team,” he said.

“We’re going to give it our best shot. Everyone loves a Derby, and we enjoy playing in them. Obviously it’s only a NAB Cup game, but it’s still a game of football, and even if it was just a scratch match at Fremantle Oval we’d still want to play our best.”

That's what I like to see....:thumbsu:

LOL - just watched the 10news and poor old Brauny was anything but articulate... ;)

Luke "PSA" McPharlin on the other hand articulated and enunciated, "Oh so naicely"... :D

That's what I like to see....:thumbsu:

I watched it as well IP, and Braun sounded like a moose on opium! Articulate indeed!:rolleyes:

Damn the worst for prettying up a news conference to make a klutz sound like Bill Clinton!!

Elvis on the other hand was.....well he is Elvis!! He was very cool!!

Don't let anyone tell you they are not taking it seriously.

2 x intra-club games & all the ducks and drakes gives it away.

WC want the $1mil.

No we don't. :)

Course you do. There is $500K to be split amongst the players outside the salary cap.

That works out about $20k each. :)

Their ego's will demand that they at least eliminate our blokes from getting it.;)

Even so, I don't think we'll be trying to win it. We will ease a couple of players through it and give our youngsters a run.

Fremantle will win the first NAB cup game.

http://thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=12&ContentID=22023

Lol , the West is actually on to them :eek:

West Coast appear to be taking up the challenge to claim the $1 million bonus for winning the pre-season competition and AFL premiership in the same year. Already favourites to make it back-to-back premierships with the bookies, the Eagles have named a strong side to take on Fremantle in Sunday's NAB Cup opener.

The pressure is on now QL. ;)

Just a simple , "Yes you were right , Ripper " will do, :)

Despite only having four players from the GF out and Freo having 5 and Tarrant from the full strength Prelim side?

4 so far, we still have 4 more to chop. So it could be up to 8 premiership players.

Oh wait, I see ... "Damn, I really wish we win this important pre-season derby against Fremantle, I will be so upset if we don't".

How was that? Is that better? I know how important these derbies are to you blokes. :)

Despite only having four players from the GF out and Freo having 5 and Tarrant from the full strength Prelim side?

To be honest I would love to see the new young guys and the fringe players doing the bulk of the work in NAB games, with the core group, and especially some of the key players, getting a fair bit of bench time.

The other disappointing but unavoidable thing is that Tarrant can have a significant impact on our structures and game play. With him injured we don't get to practice that in the pre-season as much as I would like. Better for him to have the operation and get himself fit for the season though.

4 so far, we still have 4 more to chop. So it could be up to 8 premiership players.

Oh wait, I see ... "Damn, I really wish we win this important pre-season derby against Fremantle, I will be so upset if we don't".

How was that? Is that better? I know how important these derbies are to you blokes. :)

Why is it always just us? Why isn't it the whole pre-season cup to go for the $1,000,000. Isn't that what this is about and not just winning a derby? I mean that's what you were responding to in Ripper's post right? Whoops sorry that would get in the way of you attempting a condescending troll with the characteristic ":)" to attempt to further irritate.

If you don't care, why are you in this thread? Why are you own this board? Preparing an 'i told you so' speech or a further brigade of face rubbing?
And yeah, 6 of our best 22 at the moment, still more to chop like your side. It could be up to 10. But hey, lets just ignore that little fact and focus solely on West Coast's supposed '8'.

Deny, play dumb do whatever you bloody well want, fact of the matter is myself and pretty much all Freo supporters see through this smokescreen of 'Couldn't really care, it's just a pre-season match'. The fact that you're in here trying to back that up just adds to the transparency of it. You may not even care if you win or not, you just want to troll and abuse the Freo supporters one way or another, win lose or draw. But hey, whatever helps you sleep at night mate :)

Oh and Freo by 98+ points, wait, 113+ points. Eh Rip? ;)

To be honest I would love to see the new young guys and the fringe players doing the bulk of the work in NAB games, with the core group, and especially some of the key players, getting a fair bit of bench time.

The other disappointing but unavoidable thing is that Tarrant can have a significant impact on our structures and game play. With him injured we don't get to practice that in the pre-season as much as I would like. Better for him to have the operation and get himself fit for the season though.

I'd love to see Browne and Webster especially. Two of my favourites.

That is the concerning aspect about Tarrant: He'll play quite a role in changing our forward line structure. Will he be right for any pre-season game at all? What's the latest on him?

113+ ?

Could well be seeing as I won't be there to see it and probably won't be watching it live.

Last time that happened We played Collingwood at Subi.;)

QL knows as well as We do that they want the money.

All the signs are there for it too. QL knows it he's just playing dumb to back up the media and his clubs little bravado of not caring. I think I may have mentioned that somewhere in my rant :D

Webster and Browne to have 30+ touches each

Alright, I'll reply honestly. I just don't like the NAB Cup. You wait a whole year for football to come back, then you're faced with a month of meaningless football (apart from giving the kids a run) until the real season starts.

Last year suited me fine. We didn't bust our balls to win every game, but we tried out a few new techniques and gave the recruits a run. We were then fresh for the real season, which we started off very well thankfully.

I do love beating the Dockers, but I don't want out players to kill themselves on the field just to do that. I'd rather we lose and see some very positive signs from our kids, rather than going all out to win the game.

Alright, I'll reply honestly. I just don't like the NAB Cup. You wait a whole year for football to come back, then you're faced with a month of meaningless football (apart from giving the kids a run) until the real season starts.

Last year suited me fine. We didn't bust our balls to win every game, but we tried out a few new techniques and gave the recruits a run. We were then fresh for the real season, which we started off very well thankfully.

I do love beating the Dockers, but I don't want out players to kill themselves on the field just to do that. I'd rather we lose and see some very positive signs from our kids, rather than going all out to win the game.

:thumbsu:

For what it's worth to an extent I agree. I'd rather a 26-30 round season and start earlier and just scrap the NAB Cup all together because it really is pointless other than building a false sense of grandeur for the sides that win it (Geelong, Carlton) and injure the guns that do play it.

Having said that (answering honestly as well) I have no time for this: "I don't care" mentality when it comes to pre-season derbies because as history has shown it just builds up to an unbearable media hype and BigFooty blitz the week after which is borderline unbearable. So it's more of a lose-lose situation.

To be honest I'd rather the AFL never schedule a pre-season derby again because:

1) Demeans and cheapens the spectacle of 'the derby'
2) Creates unwanted and unwarranted tension
3) Creates injuries and other concerns for star players.

But the AFL just want the money so they'll keep playing it and playing it until finally the whole concept is so cheap and meaningless it may as well be a rousing game of 'Who can play the least amount of star players' with sides lining up a reserves 22 for it.

I have a confession to make. And a point.

I don't care who wins this weekend.

I think some of you are being a tad Weagle-like-arrogant in your assessment of the Eagles. This is no gimme game. The Eagles didn't get to two Grand finals by being a bunch of duds. They are the benchmark. They were playing team oriented, skillful football a good year or two before us. Last year the were underdone in the NAB, we got over them by a solitary goal in the first derby, and them flogged them in the 2nd derby after they had done the road trip from hell -- which proved they were human. They could pants us completely on Sunday.

Dockers members aren't gloaters, and are assiduous, passionate but knowledgable football fanatics who can still appreciate the quality of the opposition. This is what distinguishes us from the majority of Eagles supporters who think the Dockers are still a bunch of purple basket cases fronting a debt ridden club and having nodestiny other than to perenially miss the finals. Ask most Eagles members who were the prelim finalists last year. They would have no idea.

We know they're good and we accept it. Whereas they have no sense that we were top 4, and likely to be the third biggest club in the AFL. So lets not be like them.

And I still don't care because its the NAB cup, and because I can't wait to see live footy again.

Kapow, you may have no time for the "I don't care" point of view and that is your entitlement.

But don't make the mistake of thinking that every Eagles fan who professes it is lying or dissembling.

I'm ecstatic that footy's back, and I'll be well pleased to see my team in action again.

But the genuine fact is that, while I'd prefer a win (the same as any normal footy fan) I really don't care about the result (really). And at this stage of the season it makes no difference to me whether we play the Dockers, the Swans or Carlton.

I do care about our boys getting through the match (and the preseason) with out serious injury, and I do care about seeing how players front up after the off season. I also want to see how the new blood performs and if there are any prospective new plays or strategies in our approach to the game.

And that's about as far as it goes.

Murphy was very tentative in the intraclub game, hopefully he plays well in the derby and is full of confidence when Tarrant comes into the side in a couple of weeks.

To be honest I'd rather the AFL never schedule a pre-season derby again because:

But the AFL just want the money so they'll keep playing it and playing it until finally the whole concept is so cheap and meaningless it may as well be a rousing game of 'Who can play the least amount of star players' with sides lining up a reserves 22 for it.

This is a win/win for the AFL. Scheduling two derbies(Adel v Port) ensures two interstate teams are knocked out and a bumper crowd to each one, so it will continue to happen for years to come.

All true, but I am happy not to be travelling straight up, and to get the opportunity to see the team early. And I fully expect them to go at it at about 80% and get a good simulated bit of game practice up their sleaves, as happens every year. Lots of bench time for experienced campaigners, some stepping up by the younger players, a redhot go from the fringe players and a heap of cliches from the coaches.

Kapow, you may have no time for the "I don't care" point of view and that is your entitlement.

But don't make the mistake of thinking that every Eagles fan who professes it is lying or dissembling.

I'm ecstatic that footy's back, and I'll be well pleased to see my team in action again.

But the genuine fact is that, while I'd prefer a win (the same as any normal footy fan) I really don't care about the result (really). And at this stage of the season it makes no difference to me whether we play the Dockers, the Swans or Carlton.

I do care about our boys getting through the match (and the preseason) with out serious injury, and I do care about seeing how players front up after the off season. I also want to see how the new blood performs and if there are any prospective new plays or strategies in our approach to the game.

Lord knows most of what I say regarding a group of supporters goes to a majority of seen posters. There's always exceptions.

Anyways it should be a cracking game. I always get nervous before a game and I'd love to win this one. However I do agree and match yours, and in turn QL's, sentiment of if my team lose it won't be as hard to grasp as a normal season game. I just hope everyone pulls up well, the newbies look good and the forward line look cohesive.

I have a confession to make. And a point.

I don't care who wins this weekend.

I think some of you are being a tad Weagle-like-arrogant in your assessment of the Eagles. This is no gimme game. The Eagles didn't get to two Grand finals by being a bunch of duds. They are the benchmark. They were playing team oriented, skillful football a good year or two before us. Last year the were underdone in the NAB, we got over them by a solitary goal in the first derby, and them flogged them in the 2nd derby after they had done the road trip from hell -- which proved they were human. They could pants us completely on Sunday.

Dockers members aren't gloaters, and are assiduous, passionate but knowledgable football fanatics who can still appreciate the quality of the opposition. This is what distinguishes us from the majority of Eagles supporters who think the Dockers are still a bunch of purple basket cases fronting a debt ridden club and having nodestiny other than to perenially miss the finals. Ask most Eagles members who were the prelim finalists last year. They would have no idea.

We know they're good and we accept it. Whereas they have no sense that we were top 4, and likely to be the third biggest club in the AFL. So lets not be like them.

And I still don't care because its the NAB cup, and because I can't wait to see live footy again.

Dr Ralphie makes a very good point. Freo fans (collectively and yes, I do generalise), have fallen for the media's line of "below strength weagles" but "full strength Freo" on a sunconscious level, even if the majority understand that that is, in fact, not the case. I think that most Freo fans are going to Subi expecting to "whack-the-weags", and walk out with a smile on their faces. Why on earth would this necessarily be the case? It is no more than a 50/50 game - like every derby post Drum/Judge... We could be the whackers or the whackees... and in the whole scheme of things, while I of course would prefer a win (like I do every time they play) I won't be crying myself to sleep if it doesn't eventuate.

(Go Freo... ;) :thumbsu: )

But I do disagree with your underlined statement Ralphie... we won the first derby after the road-trip from hell, and the ensuing drama and distraction. Don't let that little bit sliip your mind!

Yay an honest reply!! :thumbsu: Agree wholeheartedly. :)

Again - agree wholeheartedly... :thumbsu:

And again. :)

(But I'd still be really, really happy with a win.... ;) :thumbsu: )

Freo fans (collectively and yes, I do generalise), have fallen for the media's line of "below strength weagles" but "full strength Freo" on a sunconscious level, even if the majority understand that that is, in fact, not the case.

Punters obviously have too. The odds this morning were $1.20 Fremantle, $4 West Coast.