Frodo

It hurts to lose and lose badly but we really need to focus on the fact that we do have a good list, but not one that will perform this year or next.
Judgey supposed to be a great recruiter but his only success is Kerr. The other guys at 23 and under are looking really good and have developed well under Tonty Micale.
I have to give Judgey a pat on the back for Carrol too. I thought early in the season he was crap but now he is developing every week and I think could be very good in a year or two.
So lets focus on Cousins, Wirrapunda, Gardiner, Kerr, Chambers, Cox, Haynes, Humm, Buszan, Embley, Jones, Williams, Gaspar, Glass, Green, Wooden, Mc Dougall, McCarrey, Antonowitz, Munro, Hunter, Read. Thats a full team. Not one over 23 and an average age of 20. Not that I'm writing off old 25 year olds like Joey but our list strength is in the kids already recruited. We have to develop their huge ability over the next few years. It may well be we need to recruit a top 23/24 year old midfielder and trade our draft picks this year because Brauny looks too injury prone to pencil in for two years time.
We have the players...........we need a better coach and probably a stronger development team.

This is how i would run the eagles over the next 1.5yrs:

2001:
*Play the Kids, give Busan, Green, Haynes, Hunter, Gaspar, Glass, etc regular runs in key positions. At the same time only use the 25+yr olds in support roles, because realistically by the time the youngsters develop they will only be good for that anyway.

*Get injury prone players like Braun to see a specialist and get any operations or whatever done NOW not in the pre-season. Braun is a good player but the injuries are destroying him.

*Get a tactician into the team, the youngsters seem to be positioning themselves really badly, often outnumbering the opposition but not even touching the footy once. Last night 1 pies player outmarked 3 eagles. That surely cannot be skill.

*Trade unwanted players to secure a 3rd first round draft pick. Donnelly/Merenda/Jones/Banfield and 2 lower draft picks might get us another first round pick from someone like collingwood who don't need youngster anymore, but rather top-up players.

2002:
*Play the youngsters all the way. If a player is over 25 he should only play off the bench. This way the players grow together and will understand each other better.

* Finish mid-table or higher.

* End of season if sack Judge :D

They can learn a lot from those players, thats why i suggested they be used in a support role this year, next year they are unlikely to be around and that leaves Merenda, Cummings, Banfield, Jako, Prior and Harding as our only over 25's. Of those only Jako and Banfield could teach the youngsters anything.

I originally suggested giving the youngsters the major roles in the team because this year is over for us, we might as well get the players used to being the core of the team, rather then suddenly have them thrown into those positions when Roo, Kemp and McIntosh retire. Experience is vital for a young player.

First of all our list isn't the greatest, thats why we need to recruit some more good youngsters in the end of season draft. The following is what I believe will happen to the players on our current list:

Antonowicz - will be delisted at the end of this year. Has barely done anything since first arriving here from over east and despite a good season in the WAFL last year, injuries and bad form this year will see the end of him at WC.

Banfield - the club will either keep Banners so that the youngsters can learn off him or he will be traded, most likely for a 3rd round draft pick or in a multiple player deal. Either way, will not play much more footy at an AFL level, will most likely retire at the end of the 2003 season.

Beeck - wouldn't have a clue about this guy, never seen him play and he is only on the rookie list. Has the height to play any key position but whether he has enought potential is still unknown...

Braun - I'm sad to say this but this will be Brauny's last season at our club. We all saw what he was capable of a couple of seasons back but injuries have taken a toll and frankly, the Eagles dont want injury prone players. Will be quite a tempting trade for other clubs and WC should do quite a good deal, perhaps involving another player to lure a bigger bird home (think about what that means).

Buszan - have seen him play in the WAFL and looks very to be a very good FF in the making. Only downside to his game is his kicking accuracy and maybe Scotty can give him a few tips on shooting on goal. Will be a WC player of the future hopefully.

Carroll - despite doubts on whether he could play, Carroll has been allright so far this season in a frequently bombarded backline. Still makes a few stupid decisions but has proved the critics wrong and will continue playing AFL football. Could be WC's next fullback but a slightly taller and agile player might be needed, still a good 3rd defender however.

Chambers - has been in and out of the side this season and his spot will certainly come under scrutiny. Has also looked a bit like a Stewy Dew player to me but must step up a level to fulfill his potential. Will no doubt be considered as trade bait but if no trade eventuates the club will keep him. COULD be a player of the future.

Collica - has performed adequately this year but has felt slightly more pressure than anticipated in being the sides third tallest defender which he most definately should not be. Good jump and spoil but disposal must radically improve, especially his kicking. Will retain his spot on the list.

Cousins - the ever hard working captain has played a lone hand for much of the season. Tries so hard yet receives little or no support. As captain could be a little more verbal with players around him to fire them up. Will be a surprise packet in the brownlow this year...

Cox - the team's second ruckman this year has played some good games and some bad games. Is a good young developing player but has a tendancy to drop marks, rucking not bad either. Will be a player of the future.

Cummings - since a great first season at the club has really shown little. His future at the club is tad uncertain but the club is likely to take the risk of keeping him for another season. Will most likely not be traded as no other side will be willing to take the risk unless they only want him for a season. Will retire or be delisted at the end of 2002 if still at WC.

Donnelly - one feels that time is up for Donners at WC. This season has not played a game and with WC looking to blood the youngsters looks likely not to be played. Other clubs will not be willing to give anything for him so will most likely be delisted and picked up by another club in the preseason draft.

Embley - has had a very inconsistent season and really should be one of the youngsters stepping up. Has the height to be a damaging half forward flank must his marking really lets him down on occassions. Needs to put more effort in and start kicking more goals for the club. The club may consider trading him but will most likely keep him on the list.

Fletcher - started the season off well but since then has shown very little. Talented left footer but recently has lacked passion and skill. Should be one of the midfielders backing up Cousins but isn't. Likely to come under consideration for being traded and club must gain something out of the deal.

Gardiner - has tried hard all year alongside Cousins but with only one good rover his taps are being wasted. Good long (though partially inaccurate) kick and with confidence is a very damaging player. WC ruckman/bigman of the future.

Gaspar - has finally been called upon to play AFL and is showing like his brother, that he indeed can do so and do so well. Has the height to be future CHF or CHB and how other tall key players develop will influence where he is played. Will not be considered as fullback and does not have quite enough pace. Key position player of the future.

Glass - has not had a great season but we know he is a good tall defender. Will most likely be future fullback or if a trade eventuates, could find himself as CHB or backpocket where he could still play well. Will be a key defender of a new era.

Green - since playing a few good games last season has since then, shown very little. His peformance in the WAFL over the next couple of months will decide his future but will most likely be retained as club is short on midfielders.

Harding - has played several games this year but lack of skill and lack of athletic abilities will most likely lead to him being delisted.

Haynes - has played a couple of games so far this season and has been listed as an emergency on several occasions. Could be delisted depending on his rest of the season but will most likely retain his spot despite playing very little AFL so far.

Humm - played one AFL game this year where he showed plenty of passion. May not be the most skilled player but is a good hard worker which the club really needs. Will continue to improve in the WAFL and be a part of the future.

Hunter - another of the young brigade who needs slightly more time to adapt to the AFL. Has played quite well in a couple of games but needs to bulk up a bit if he is to play at AFL level. Will hopefully be a good utility player in the future yet there remains a lingering doubt about whether he will make the grade, we shall see...

Jakovich - despite doubt over his mobility and speed has gradually improved as the season has wore on. Likely to be played the remainder of the year at CHF and may finish his career there with occassional drops into defence. Will retire at the end of 2002/3.

Jones - since arriving at WC has played okay but with a changing of the guard the club has looked towards him to step up and so far he hasn't responded. Kicking accuracy is not the greatest but he is a good constant tagger. Will be likely to be considered as trade material at the end of the season.

Kemp - sadly I cannot see Kemp playing on another year as he is now exhausted. A great champ of the club and hopefully WC will rise to the occassion in Kempy's last game. Will retire at the end of the year and it will be sad to see the champ go...

Kerr - has been a shining light this year with his desperation and attack on the ball. Looks to be a good rover of the future and with Cousins and Kerr, the Eagles roving capacity will be awesome. The club must take care however not to burn him out too soon. Player of the future.

Peter Matera - one of the greats of the game will probably retire at the end of the season at 32. Earlier in the season looked revitalised at a half back flank but injuries have once again resulted in the demise of a great player. Another one bites the dust as they say...

Phil Matera - has had a fairly ordinary season by his standards and perhaps that he can no longer crumb off Cummings has hurt his game a little. Still has plenty to offer the club and as a pacey player, will be one of the senior players in a couple of years. Retiring date: end of 2004/5.

McCarrey - still on the rookie list but has impressed in his first season of WAFL footy. Has good agility and will be considered as a possible forward pocket or half forward flank of the future. Should be promoted at the end of 2001.

McDougall - has had a slow start to his AFL career being the number 5 draft pick last year and WC's first pick. Is still quite thin and WC may be holding him back so that he bulks up first. Will be a good player when he finally does break into the side and will most likely line up at CHF where he earned his reputation.

McIntosh - injuries yet again have hampered his season and he may call it quits at the end of the year. Has been a very good player of the club and his defending capabilities will be greatly missed when he does retire. May continue in a coaching role for young defenders.

Merenda - started off the season well but since then has drastically faded. Good goal sneek but with Phil Matera, do we really need him? Wont be traded as no one will want to take the risk and will most likely be delisted at the end of this season and could get picked up somewhere else.

Miller - still on the rookie list and despite showing some potential in his game with WC hasn't done much since. Most likely will be delisted and he is simply not good enough for the AFL.

Morrison - started off well but most of his possessions do not come from hard ball gets. Last night was an improvement in that he was going in under the packs but a move back home might bring a change in him. Will be traded at the end of the year, PLEASE to Hawthorn for Hay!

Munro - played a couple of games this year but has done little so far. Still very skinny and may be in the same boat as McDougall, the club wants to nurture him first and bulk him up. Is known to be a good goal scorer. Should be a player of our future.

Prior - was really unlucky to be struck down yet again with injury as prior (doh!) to him getting injured he was playing rather good footy down back. It will be interesting to see how he fares after his reconstruction but regardless he would only last about 3 more seasons. Could still be a handy player for a couple of years.

Read - haven't seen him play footy all year but his passion has sorely been missed. Could be traded at the end of the year but will most likely be retained for his passion and attack at the ball. Possible player of the future.

Sierakowski - was unlucky to be ruled out so early in the season but has the capability of playing well at WC as we desperately need someone who can play CHF well. Will be retained at the end of the year but will not last many more seasons.

Taylor - has been one of our better players this year with his good work ethic and desperation at the ball. Is getting on in age however and one more injury could spell the end of his career. Provided that doesn't happen however, he will be around for about 2/3 more years.

Turnball - sad to see another player going but I think this may be Turnball's last year. Was always a handy second ruckman but the rise of Cox will eventuate in either Turnball retiring from the AFL or being delisted. Was a good service to the club.

Williams - has had a mixed season. Is capable of playing good footy but doesn't do it consistently. Nice kick and mark but not that passionate. Might be considered as a trade come October. Still a young player however and the club may wish to keep him for the future, I know I would.

Wilson - despite being WC's leading goal kicker has shown very little except for one good game against St Kilda. Might be his only taste of AFL action and could be shown the door next year. Definately not a player of the future.

Wirrpunda - some people have been suggesting that WC should trade Wirra. Well if that is the case we need to get someone just as good in return, Hay or Woewoedin, no strings attached. He isn't having the greatest of seasons but is under an injury cloud. Very good player that I think we should keep unless a super deal comes up.

Wooden - well at the start of the season, I admit I was calling for this guy to be delisted but since then he has proven me wrong with a couple of good performances. Not the best disposal but a good hard player which the club needs. Might be delisted but Im starting to think he will stay on.

Well there you are, that's what I reckon of all our players. Some I'm really excited with, others I dread the day of seeing them go and a couple who I think will be at a another club next season. I think these players will still be around in a couple of years:

Buszan
Carroll
Collica
Cousins
Cox
Embley
Gardiner
Gaspar
Glass
Green
Haynes
Humm
Hunter
Kerr
Phil Matera
McCarrey
McDougall
Munro
Read
Williams
Wirrpunda
Wooden

Thats 22 players, enough for a full team. There is definately class in that team and with some good draft picks and/or a couple of good recruits we are capable of a good team. It will be interesting to see how it all goes.

Vis

PS Someone can try make a team out of the players I suggested...

I'm with you on just about every shout there Vis.
I'll look carefully at antonowitz this arvo though then tell you what I think of him. EAst Perth v Subi. Should be good.

ps. Wooden is not a back pocker player IMO. He plays very well on the ball for EP

Seems you think everyone is either trade bait or a likely delisting, Yet, you are probably right. Apart from Cousins, Kerr and Gardiner no player has shown us they are worth keeping.

Lots of players will retain their spots purely on the basis of "potential" or reputation.

I think there will be another major over haul at the end of the year. When i say possibly trade, I dont mean that every possible trade will eventuate but I do believe the club will "attempt" to trade them.

After looking at a very good WAFL match on TV today in which all the WC players did allright, the future cant be that bad. Antonowicz was "ok" and if we dont get Jon Hay or Nicholson, I think we should keep him. Humm, Haynes, Buszan and Munro looked good whilst Fletcher was a bit flat and so was Wilson. Have I missed any other WC players that played? Oh Turnball rucked well but I still dont think he will keep his spot at the end of the year with Cox.

Vis

Yes, that's about right for the WAFL game. I think Antonowitz is being groomed to replace Ash. He did some good things but I need to see him a bit more to make my mind up about him. Haynes was played in defence against Todd Ridley. Good learning experience but I don't see him as a defender. I was impressed with Haynes though and Buszan who played CHF very well with Wilson at FF. 3.6 was a poor effort by Wilson especially missing ones directly in front. Not so Busxan who goaled from the edge of the 50 metre arc in style. Wilson was effective as usual on the lead but Metro outmuscled him on 1 on 1. I thought Metro had a good game but Fletcher was flat as you say. Turnbull was BOG along woth Troy Butcher (how old is he anyone?).
I think Buszan needs to be elevated to the main list and given a go asap. I'd like to see Turnbull and Haynes in the Eagles side against Melbourne and probably Humm too. Gardy beat Fraser in the Ruck but Cox was mauled. Turnbull provides some good experience in a few positions and is a reliable if unspectacular ruckman who is in good form.

So what IS the team of 2004 going to look like?

Work with me here...kicking up

[__McCarrey__] - [__Buszan___] - [_Ph. Matera_]
[__Chambers_] - [__McDougall_] - [__Embley___]
[__Taylor____] - [_____?_____] - [_____?_____]
[__Collica____] - [__Glass_____] - [_____?_____]
[__Read_____] - [_Antonowicz_] - [_____?_____]

[__Gardiner___] - [__Kerr_____] - [_____?_____]

Inter:
[__Gaspar___] - [__Humm____]
[__Cox______] - [_____?_____]

Where did cousins and wirrpunda go? Also, don't you think Carroll and Collica will be around? I also doubt Morrison, wooden and Braun will be traded or delisted by then.

And considering thats gonna be our team in 3 yrs time, there's not really much experience there.

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
Where did cousins and wirrpunda go?

This is why I said "work with me" - cos things slip my mind easily :)

[__McCarrey__] - [__Buszan___] - [_Ph. Matera_]
[__Chambers_] - [__McDougall_] - [__Embley___]
[__Taylor____] - [___Braun____] - [_____?_____]
[__Collica____] - [__Glass_____] - [_Wirrpunda_]
[__Read_____] - [_Antonowicz_] - [__Carroll___]

[__Gardiner___] - [__Cousins__] - [__Kerr_____]

Inter:
[__Gaspar___] - [__Humm____]
[__Cox______] - [_____?_____]

Very impressed with David Haynes game with East Perth today. I can't work out what position he used to play in and what position the Eagles are grooming him for. He played in defense today and did some good things. He reminds me in the build and way he plays of a Leigh Colbert.

After seeing yesterday's Royals/Subi match and watching Antonowicz playing fullback, he looks ok and if he picks up form could retain his spot. What Im worried about though is his pace, doesn't seem to be that fast or is that just cause he is recovering from his injury?

Vis

Originally posted by Frodo
You don't think youngsters playing alongside Jako, Milli, Roo and Kempy have anything to gain by the experience then?

Who the hell is Milli???

Visro said:
Gaspar - has finally been called upon to play AFL and is showing like his brother, that he indeed can do so and do so well. Has the height to be future CHF or CHB and how other tall key players develop will influence where he is played. Will not be considered as fullback and does not have quite enough pace. Key position player of the future.

McDougall - has had a slow start to his AFL career being the number 5 draft pick last year and WC's first pick. Is still quite thin and WC may be holding him back so that he bulks up first. Will be a good player when he finally does break into the side and will most likely line up at CHF where he earned his reputation.

Wirrpunda - some people have been suggesting that WC should trade Wirra. Well if that is the case we need to get someone just as good in return, Hay or Woewoedin, no strings attached. He isn't having the greatest of seasons but is under an injury cloud. Very good player that I think we should keep unless a super deal comes up.

Wooden - well at the start of the season, I admit I was calling for this guy to be delisted but since then he has proven me wrong with a couple of good performances. Not the best disposal but a good hard player which the club needs. Might be delisted but Im starting to think he will stay on.

Bit depressing how somethings ain't changed....

Joshy's could be cut and paste for 2004!!

Black JuJu said:
Bit depressing how somethings ain't changed....

Joshy's could be cut and paste for 2004!!

I don't see anything about a Gaspar injury ;) I would say McDougalls profile has changed alot. Anyone who was calling for Wirra to be traded back in 2001 was crazy while Wooden has always been a player that has trodden the line carefully, one of the great survivors.