News Team - Round 16

Weve only been waiting since nab cup last year for another dose of the Neagle-Gumby combo!

Looking forward to it, that game against the Bulldogs in that nab cup still gets me excited watching the highlights on youtube.

A highly depressing period can also be seen as pretty exciting, for the reasons stated in that hopefully we can find out who's part of our future, and who isn't.

I'd like to see people like Welsh and Dyson played less, and people like Myers, Houli and Hardingham more.

only forced changes made, about time, is knights conveying he has found his 'best 22'? after 2 disgraceful floggings?

whatever, find a spot for Myers & all would be right with the world for a while

Jetta is a pretty big loss, but the return of Fletch offsets it and then some.

I cannot see us losing this. Apart from their rucks they look deplorable, and it's about time someone on our team smashed Naitanui.

From what I saw he did. Welsh was consistently behind whoever he played on, and that was Green for parts of the match.

And don't forget the few times he switched onto Sylvia who was made to look like Usain Bolt.

Welsh is finished as a footballer and his mate McVeigh is not far behind I'm afraid

Who played on Bate then? :confused:

Young team (except fletch obv!). I like. Might not win every time but at least a fair chunk of that team is what we'd be hoping to go forward with so games together will be a positive no matter what.

Atko stiff and stants out of form in his hbf position this week... bit of pressure i reckon on stants.

No chance to tip our form but looking forward to the game as always and hope we have a big 40+ point win the size of which we haven't had in a while :thumbsu:

Welsh for the most part but with zones and rotations he spent time on a few people.

I didn't notice the Green one but he got absolutely pantsed by Sylvia. I'm not sure keeping Bate to roughly his season average and only getting it 8 times is anything to get excited about tbh.

It's about time he's out of the side again.

Just announced.

IN: Fletcher:thumbsu:, Gumbleton:thumbsu:, Melksham:thumbsu:

OUT: Welsh (groin), Dyson (knee), Jetta (suspension):(

B: Fletcher, Hurley, Hocking
HB: Dempsey, Hooker, Stanton
C: McVeigh, Watson, Reimers
HF: Davey, Gumbleton, Monfries
FF: Ryder, Neagle, Colyer
R: Bellchambers, Melksham, Winderlich

INT: Zaharakis, Lonergan:mad:, Lovett-Murray, Howlett

EMER: Houli, Prismall, Myers

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/matches/preview.asp?round_no=16&sub_section=teams

Nice. Best team in ages. Happy. Hopefully it sets a 'better 22' in place if we chalk up a win.

They rotated round. Watching the first quarter again, and I've seen Welsh on Bate and Green, Hurley on Green and Silvia. He may not have been on Green the entire match, and with the way match ups rotate it's unlikely, but from what I remember he well behind his opponent on most occasions - it looks like he's lost a yard of pace since his knee injury.

I'll say up front I've got a lot of time for him and love the way he plays, but I think his time might be up. Sad at 27 and 1/2.

A highly depressing period can also be seen as pretty exciting, for the reasons stated in that hopefully we can find out who's part of our future, and who isn't.

I'd like to see people like Welsh and Dyson played less, and people like Myers, Houli and Hardingham more.

This too.

Houli a late in perhaps? Pressure off both parties.

Very young forward line. I would really like to see McVeigh down there giving direction and stretching the Eagles backline. Great overhead and a good kick to boot. Put him on Hurn or Waters and watch him bag 5!!

They rotated round. Watching the first quarter again, and I've seen Welsh on Bate and Green, Hurley on Green and Silvia. He may not have been on Green the entire match, and with the way match ups rotate it's unlikely, but from what I remember he well behind his opponent on most occasions - it looks like he's lost a yard of pace since his knee injury.

I'll say up front I've got a lot of time for him and love the way he plays, but I think his time might be up. Sad at 27 and 1/2.
Welsh was on Green for exactly one marking contest. And Welsh's been playing superbly the last few weeks.

Weve only been waiting since nab cup last year for another dose of the Neagle-Gumby combo!

Looking forward to it, that game against the Bulldogs in that nab cup still gets me excited watching the highlights on youtube.

round 1 vs geelong this year ?

either way good to have them both in at the same time. put hurley forward aswell and see how they all go together!

Definately the best team we've had in all year. I reckon theres only 3 players that id put in there if fit - Hille, Pears & Willaims and we've got our best 22. Pears wont be back this year but it would be great if we can get Hille & Willo into the side over the next month.
Great chance to get a good win under our belt here - just got to stop Nic Nat who seems to do well the few times hes come up against us. Love the fact that we have Neages, Gumby & Hurley all in the side, and with guys like Watson, Fletch, Ryder, Monfries, Hooker - we have a good team on the park here. Just hope we can put it togethor and take a bit of pressure off Knights & the players. Go Dons :)

welsh played on bate the whloe game, he would go of him to attack important contests or man up on dangerous loose players, welsh was good, hooker was absolutly atrocious, he needs to harden the f**k up.

i think we have a good chance this week with an experienced backman playing

that is all we needed for the last couple of weeks

then in a year or two we will have a very good foward line

Yeah, but Prissa is a harder runner, better ball winner and link-up player.

Oh well, not complaining, I still like the young side.

Well Brent wasnt named for Bendigo....

Might be a late inclusion for Gumbleton, who I have heard may still be sore.

Stanton might be out, will be interesting come Saturday arvo to see if there are changes.

News Team - Round 16