Team Round 5 - Extended Squad

Your entire argument is flawed. The whole idea of disposal efficiency is to see who is a good decision maker. It is the only stat in the book that directly relates to decision making. It is as simple as that. Give me a statistic that proves that you're right and I'm wrong. Slatts is a good decision maker.

You completely ignored what I said because you have nothing new to offer. Statistics aren't an exact science (esp with football) and there is a little thing called bias which can be used quite effectively when putting an argument forward using stats.

If you think Slattery is good under pressure, then watch him closely tomorrow and when he has a brain fart, or sells a team mate into trouble, just remember his DE is still good because he hit the target or didn't dispose of the ball, hence keeps his top notch DE.

He is a stopper. He does a good job without being great at it. His kicking when chipping sideways and going short is fine.

In general play i.e. when it counts is where he cops most criticism with his decision making and for mine it is justified.

Anyway -as others have said, not the right thread.

Although for me, my reason for commenting on him is due to his selection being the wrong selection for mine, just like Prismall last week. Rewarding poor/average form with selection ahead of those who are performing better does not work and does not send the right message.

Three rucks in the 21. Here we go then. Yeah Ryder might play permanently in the forwardline but we are still experimenting against the toughest midfield in the comp. I guess there's less risk than not playing a ruckman at all (2009 EF vs Adelaide :rolleyes:)

Hirdy said they learned a bit about Collingwood in our loss to them in the NAB Cup final.
Three rucks named =
Confidence that as long as someone goes with Jolly, Wood and Brown won't match either of the other two rucks.

The tall options we have now are ridiculous.
Hardingham and Watson forward = seriously trying to mess with Malthouse's head.

Watson won't stay forward, I think that's a given, but perhaps it indicates Hirdy's intention rotation wise. If Hocking goes to Swan or Pendlebury, who extracts with Watson forward? Howlett would be expected to take a massive step up.

Hardingham named forward implies one of Hurley or Ryder could go back. Hardingham adds pace and agility, can jump and mark. Again, wouldn't be surprised if it's a ruse, but again wouldn't be surprised if Hirdy's fair dinkum.

I reckon a late change is on the cards. If Hibbo is the emergency, they're protecting for a backline player. Hibberd has had one game back, and didn't play today for Bendigo. One game back and no continuity? doesn't make sense. You'd pick someone like a Dyson as the emergency. Hibberd to play.

I have a feeling Loner's wont play... didnt he hurt ribs or s/thing last wk? Right now I'm thinkin 3 Bigguns... either Hille or Ryder stay fwd.. & Hurls goes back to Take Cloke or Dawes.. Hibbs or Riemers gets a guernsey... the other Subs...

So Hille, Reimers, Slattery in for Pris, Dempsey and Winderlich. Not bad I reckon.

IMO Lovett-Murray can do a decent job covering Dempsey's role so Slattery is a decent inclusion to cover someone like Blair, Didak, Davis or Krakouer.

I'd like Lonergan to be the sub. We are a runner down and he is the midfielder with the smallest tank. Think he could wreak a bit of havoc if we're still in the game if he comes on late. I reckon we'll sub a tall off...either Crameri or Bellchambers if our hand isn't forced.

Give it all Bombers!

I'm a long-time Slattery basher, and I'm happy to admit he's convinced me. I can see the valid arguments from both sides (eg) He's slow, can't kick etc... but we vitally need him in the side. In what was a dismal end to the season last year, Slattery showed me what he brings to the table, and that is heart and 100% effort to every contest.

I feel we did lose pace in our side with our changes this week, however I'm still happy with what we went with. Slattery to shut down Didak (I believe in you Henry) and even if Slatts doesn't get a touch, his job on Dids could prove vital. Reimers for Winderlich i'm happy enough with that swap. And I have turned from a Slattery basher to a Prismall basher, just don't think he provides the team with anything. I also don't think that there is any better time to trial our 3-ruckmen approach. Overall, happy with the changes, bring on the Pies! :thumbsu:

I have a feeling Loner's wont play... didnt he hurt ribs or s/thing last wk? Right now I'm thinkin 3 Bigguns... either Hille or Ryder stay fwd.. & Hurls goes back to Take Cloke or Dawes.. Hibbs or Riemers gets a guernsey... the other Subs...

Lonergan was moving freely at training this morning.

I suspect that we will line up as selected - Hibberd is emergency.

Expect that Hibberd will make his debut next week against the GC - Seeing that the Bendigo Bombers have the bye.

Team Round 5 - Extended Squad