Team vs Carlton

Oh and Maxwell should have got a game from Round 1 if Mick had any clue.

His game last week was not fantastic, but he was solid I thought, improved as the game went on once the Willy midfielders actually started doing something and he hit targets and competed. Travis Cloke is unlucky not to be promoted.

Williams, O'Bree...we're not really going anywhere with these guys. I can't see the point of playing them ahead of kids who we could be testing out or developing for a long career ahead. If we continue to fail with Micks 'favourites' then he will find himself at Centrelink with them by years end.

Lonie has all the tools to be a good player and it doesn't help us when hes dropped, but the fact is he simply cannot get the ball. Play him in the midfield at Willy, let him run as free as he likes and get fit and learn how to!

Stakerz said:
Is it just me or is there anyone else that feels sorry for Lonie? :confused:

Why would you feel sorry for Lonie?! The lucky bastard won't have to witness the Blues flog his mob by 10 goals! ;)

Don't worry mods, I'll see myself out.....

Stakerz said:
Is it just me or is there anyone else that feels sorry for Lonie? :confused:
I certainly do,Williams stay's and he goes I just don't get it.
I'd love to see Lonie used for what he's good at,kicking long goals.
Play him on the wing or hff perhaps he just isn't a defender.

Willy teams.
B: Theodore - West - McArdle
HB: Cranage - J. Cloke - Lokan
C: Hollow - Lloyd - Lonie
HF: Davies - T. Cloke - H. Shaw
F: Lawry - Egan - King
R: Fanning - Tallis - Shelton
Int: Jarrad - Pearce - Smoker - McKenzie
Barling - Boyd - Macri - B. Shaw

Reserves

B: Rusling - Barling - McKenzie
HB: Picken - Boyd - O'Brien
C: Pearce - B. Shaw - Smoker
HF: Jarrad - B. Morrison - O'Dwyer
F: Macri - Galea - Dukes
R: Hall - Iacobucci - Proctor
Int: Coates - Cook - Rose - Crawford
Gowers - Clifton - Dow - Langlands
Stretton - Chiu

Rusling, Iacca unlucky not to be promoted to willy seniors and Morrison very unlucky to be demoted seeing as T.Cloke is the only key forward in the side.

I would have thought that any players not injured or in your senior side would be playing SENIOR footy for Williamstown. All that shows is that we have players on an AFL list that can't get a game in the VFL, hence a lack of depth.
*sigh*

Even if we pull it out and win against Carlton, where will we go? The only saving grace (and that's just typical of a struggling team) is to say that we have four walk up starts missing, and when they return, we will be better.
The point is to have a list whereby you are strong to at least player 30 (and I'm not talking about David King!) so that you can have four-five players out injured, and they can be replaced without having to whinge that you have players missing. How about we look at trying to get players 23-30 at a senior level so if a Didak, or a Fraser, or a Richards is out, they don't leave this (apparent) gaping hole in the side.
afl.com.au and the Herald-Sun did their "best teams" for the league, and with Collingwood, they were one player different. Which goes to show that there isn't a lot of variety in our percieved best side.
These players should become part of our best 22 in the next few years:
Cloke. T.
Davidson
Egan
Maxwell
Rowe
Rusling(?)
Shaws (Any?)
Swan(?)
Walker
These players should no longer be on our list if there aren't in our best 22:
Cloke J.
Lokan
Williams
O'Bree * - who is in our best 22, but shouldn't!

soory if any of this has been said previously but i couldnt be bothered trolling through the thread

dropping lonie was the right move, he needs a rocket, few weeks at Willy will do him good.....some of his efforts against Adelaide werent very good at all

Maxwell deserves a crack, liked the look of him last year, but will our backline perhaps be a little too tall with him joining clement, presti and wakes?

williams deserves another crack, he had limited game time last week but came on and did a few good things, chased down Ricciuto, bit of spark in the forward line....but if it comes to us relying on him to play one quarter of footy (ie the 4th) and we are behind the blues then we are stuffed

also i was bit surprised david king didnt get picked, he is a little goer, had a great preseason and played good for Willy last week

Murray said:
So there are 6 players on our list that are not good enough to play Willi 1's - Help

but they are all young players in 1st or 2nd season....if they were fringe players or third/fourth year players it could be a real problem

Team vs Carlton