Team vs Melbourne

Good opportunity to rest Presti imo.

30+ coming off 10 straight games after a year out of the side, with no obvious matchup against Melbourne with likely matchups vs Hall, Pav and Lloyd the following 3 matches.

Good opportunity to rest Presti imo.

30+ coming off 10 straight games after a year out of the side, with no obvious matchup against Melbourne with likely matchups vs Hall, Pav and Lloyd the following 3 matches.

That would mean 20 days off without a match.

It is a closed session for MEDIA AND OPPOSITION only. Pies fans are still more than welcome to attend, after all it is a bit hard to lock the gates and stop people from going in to a public area like that of Gosch's Paddock.

There is a gentleman's agreement between the clubs not to send forward scouts to closed sessions, that's why they label it a closed session, to tell opposition clubs not to come. Funnily enough they ended up having media at training last week, but I assume that they would have had to put in a request with the club first.

Thanks for clearing that up, planning to go tomorrow but got confussed as to whether it was closed or not.

as much as i don't want it to happen, my guess is Sidey will be rested..
After last weeks performance in the VFL Im surprised beams didn't get named on the extended bench..

How did Beamsy play mate? i havn't seen or heard any of the match reports...

WTF? The Teams come out tonight,and why the hell would they put cox back in he did nothin on sunday

hahahahaha ......... Jeez this place just gets weirder and weirder.... :rolleyes:

I dont take our Thursday teams seriously anymore.

I have a bad feeling sidebottom will make way for Medhurst :(

Reid is next to no chance

Shaw in FP? Doubt it
L.Brown at CHF? Doubt it, who would he play on...

Don't know why Reid was named, other than to give him confidence for his good VFL form. We're probably too tall for what is a very short Melbourne side as it is, let alone with Cloke and Reid coming in!

I'd say the ones left out would be: Reid, Toovey, N. Brown [unlucky].

Would've loved to see Beams in amongst it, but I guess it's tough to fit him in.

Reid's been around the mark for a while now.

I think it's a case of having a tall amongst the emergencies.

I dont take our Thursday teams seriously anymore.

I have a bad feeling sidebottom will make way for Medhurst :(

Reid is next to no chance

Shaw in FP? Doubt it
L.Brown at CHF? Doubt it, who would he play on...

I think you mean CHB??
I know Leigh Brown was good last week but after a shaky start, n brown has been good for weeks and its obvious who the better CHB is.
Neither of them will play there, Wood will be dropped (joke) and Brown will be played as an everywhere man again.and do nothing.

This is one week we have a chance to really smash a team in the ruck and we will almost definitely pull back..

Don't know why Reid was named, other than to give him confidence for his good VFL form. We're probably too tall for what is a very short Melbourne side as it is, let alone with Cloke and Reid coming in!

I'd say the ones left out would be: Reid, Toovey, N. Brown [unlucky].

Would've loved to see Beams in amongst it, but I guess it's tough to fit him in.

Melbourne's defense is reasonably tall. Warnock, Rivers and Frawley all play as key defenders. We did drop Martin though, who was another key defender.

^^ I'm surprised Martin got dropped actually. He did a fantastic job on Cloke last time we played. I would have thought Warnock or Frawley would make way if anyone but I guess its a horses for courses approach at Melbourne atm - and I have no clue who out of those are actually in form.

I think the definate out will be Reid.

I think one of Sidebottom or Medhurst will play. Medhurst if he passes the fitness test. Although i'd like to see them both play.

The other out i'd hope will be L Brown for Cloke. I don't see the need for both in the team and honestly Cloke is the better player. It won't happen though. Otherwise it'll probably be out of Cox and Toovey. Toovey is in the gun on an extended bench although on form Cox probably deserves to be dropped ahead of Toovey. Toovey would be a handy match up on some of Melbournes tricky small forwards.

I really hope Wood doesn't get dropped. It really sends the wrong message to a player who has worked hard to get back in the side and played excellent since he got back in. We'll need him against Jamar and Johnson in any case.

It'll be interesting what the selection commitee goes with because its hard to tell this week.

Melbourne's defense is reasonably tall. Warnock, Rivers and Frawley all play as key defenders. We did drop Martin though, who was another key defender.

Yeah that'll account for Anthony, Cloke and L.Brown / resting ruckman. One of Presti and N.Brown won't have a match-up for your forwards, so how can Reid possibly be necessary? It's good to have a tall as an emergency though I guess, and he has been very good in the VFL.

I just hate being top-heavy!

Leigh Brown lining up at CHB, I'd like to see that. His versatility will really be on display:D

Beams and Dawes not to be named, is a disgrace. Reid maybe brought in for Nathan Brown. It wouldn't hurt N.Brown to have a couple of weeks against VFL forwards. It would make him fresh for the second half of the year. Reid at CHB would be my choice. NOW, back to Leigh Brown, if Travis Cloke is in, he should go out. Just for a rest, to get him fresh for the second half of the year:p

If Medhurst plays, Alan Toovey should give way for him. Tooves has shown that he may have more than what we expected, but another two games in the VFL, would make him eager to make that next step, (Ben Johnson after he made that saving tackle against Port in 02 comes to mind) If Toovey matched Johnsons step up, (after Johnson was one of the Pies biggest whipping boys), before that was the turning point. For Toovey to be involved next week at VFL level, would be beneficial for him to make this step, so to give him a two game block in the VFL makes sense.

Imagine the lineup in the twos in the next two weeks, L.Brown, N.Brown, Toovey, Beams, McCarthey and possibly Rocca and Rusling, we will set up our VFL side to play finals. The AFL side shouldn't be effected, given that we have Melbourne, and then a week off.

So in summary IN: Cloke, Medhurst, Reid OUT: L.Brown, Toovey, N.Brown

Because Malty has a crush on L.Brown and Toovey, I wouldn't be suprised to see Sidebottom or Thomas and Cox takes the fall. Which would be unfair, but that's MM's specialty. Reid probably won't play either, since Malty seems to have something seriously against, Dawes, Bryan and Reid. Beams may of opened his smart mouth in front of Malty recently too, who knows. We'll have to make a story up there, in the fantasy board. Put this there too, Imagine if one day, when we had a good coach, we picked our strongest lineup, and played them in their right positions:eek: Imagine!!!

I understand the fear of being too top heavy against a better side, that really make you pay if the ball comes to ground, but I reckon we should play a long down the corridor style this week. Take them on, and practice getting it right, at the right places. We have to trust that our taller players will out mark their smaller opponent going forward, and we can open up a decent score, with strong, long kickers, and strong bodies to stand up. Play confident Footy, Reid is a very penetraing kick, so him penetrating the fifty, when getting it in the half back line, should be the way to go. Cloke, Anthony and Medhurst need to own the forward line, and get to every contest. We need Leon, Daisey and Dick to play front and centre of the pack, and Clarke, Heaf and O'Brien in defence, to swoop on the ball at ground level.

Im thinking having Nathan Brown on the extended interchange means he wont play.
If Medhurst is right to go he is in.
Marty Clarke shouldnt be dropped.
IMO it would be silly to drop Wood after he has played ok the last 2 games and we should be playing with 2 rucks.
I think MM will keep Toovey in to play a defensive role on one of their dangerous forwards/mids.

All in all

The final 4 on the interchange will be:

Medhurst, Clarke, Wood, Toovey

I dont really want to see Sidebottom out of the side i would prefer we left out Toovey and kept Sidey in but its what i think will go down.

Overall i think we have a pretty good line up.

We should start something like this

B: O'Brien Presti Clarke
HB: Cox Maxwell Shaw
C: Thomas Swan Wellingham
HF: Didak Cloke Lockyer
F: Dick Anthony Medhurst
R: Fraser Davis Pendlebury
INT: Wood Lockyer L.Brown O'Bree

Hopefully he's replaced by Cheney for my DT's sake.

We are beginning to have selection dilemmas with players returning from injury.

With Cloke coming back it really puts the squeeze on Leigh Brown.

Would be silly to drop Nathan Brown in favour of Leigh Brown imo. Nathan is equally capable of playing down back or up forward. He is our future and we need to keep on getting games into him.

Dropping Wood makes no sense at all, particularly since he has been promising so far. Our 2 ruck combo is obviously working, so why change? If it ain't broke don't fix it.

On the other hand, Leroy Brown had a very good game last week. However, he is not in our best 22 when everyone is fit and available, which is why he needs to make way for Cloke. He was recruited as a depth player, not a best 22 player and that's the way the status quo must remain. Just imagine when Rus returns too. :eek:

Team vs Melbourne