Teams Interested in Ben Hart

• Thread starter Thread starter Drummond

Re: 8 Teams Interested in Ben Hart

I should clarify that this is assuming he would work with Adelaide on a trade.

He could of course give the club the two fingers and say 'I won't accept a trade' and take his chances via PSD...

...but I was making the assumption that Harty ain't that bitter.

RooDog said:
i know:D just wondered if many others did... pretty sad story that... the old man played a bit of footy with John before his north days... still says hello if he runs into him i think...

Is your dad from down Kilburn way?

It's Ben's call from here on, of course, but I'd love to see him running around with North Adelaide next year and for as long as he can, or until he knows in himself that his body has had enough football.

At the same time, I think it would be fantastic if he was also able to combine his role at North Adelaide with an assistant to the backline coach of the Crows.

That would mean that his income was kept topped up, that he was still playing football, that he was still associated with the Crows and that he didn't have to move his family to another state for a year or two.

And for those Crows fans who miss seeing the last First Crow running around, Prospect Oval is not that far away.

If this doesn't work out, a sad day, Benny. We will miss you.

If you come back to AAMI in another jumper in 2007, you won't get a bronx cheer from our bay.

My bet is that Ben will play in the SlowDown for a decade.

If another club wants Ben and he wants to go there we should get him there as easily as possible.

If would be hard to see Ben playing for another club but not a tragedy

He will still have played 311 brilliant games for us and those memories will burn bright in my heart forever.

RooDog said:
i know:D just wondered if many others did... pretty sad story that... the old man played a bit of footy with John before his north days... still says hello if he runs into him i think...

Didn't know that ... what's the full story (or even a Reader's Digest abridged version)?

Wayne's-World said:
I will almost guarantee that Ben will after the emotion subsides and he confides with mates that he'll decide the benefits of being a one club player will outweigh all other considerations.

I would hope so as i would hate it if Ben left the club in the same circumstances/feelings as Modra & Rehn left the club.

Hopefully common sense & a clear head will prevail.

Here's a bit of a radical idea: what if Adelaide after delisting Benny was to redraft him?

I seem to remember a few years ago the Kangaroos delisting Mick Martin and immediately redrafting him so they could move Carey to the veterans list (in his place) to take advantage of the 50% reduction of the bigger salary. Didn't work out too well after the mess causing his departure.

Could this be a similar ploy to take Ben off the veterans list and move Macca into his place?

roostersgal4eva said:
Brisbane seems to be the front runner

And I dont think it will be a one year as they wouldnt move someone from interstate for 1 yr

Incorrect, Brisbane have ruled out chasing Ben they did last year, offered him a 2 year deal and he declined.

I garauntee you he wil not be at Brisbane next year.

n4sir said:
Here's a bit of a radical idea: what if Adelaide after delisting Benny was to redraft him?

I seem to remember a few years ago the Kangaroos delisting Mick Martin and immediately redrafting him so they could move Carey to the veterans list (in his place) to take advantage of the 50% reduction of the bigger salary. Didn't work out too well after the mess causing his departure.

Could this be a similar ploy to take Ben off the veterans list and move Macca into his place?

Nup, won't happen.

The club gave their reasons and that's that.

Re: 8 Teams Interested in Ben Hart

maccas_no1 said:
Wont be in this case as Hart has been sacked by the AFC, he can nominate for the PSD, AFC has nothing further to do with it.

You cant sack a player then try and get a trade for that player:rolleyes:

Jason Torney was delisted by Richmond in 2002 and the traded to the Crows apart of the Kane Johnson deal.

RooDog said:

I am pretty good mates with John's other son (Ben's half brother). John now lives in the Hunter Valley (NSW) but comes down to Adelaide regularly. Nice bloke met him a few times.

It is a pretty sad story, something I rarely discuss with my mate. He has made contact with Ben on a few occasions but Ben pretty much doesn't want to know him or John.