Teams vs Hawks

• Thread starter Thread starter The Zebra

Shit!

No really, Hawthorn has no idea that Thompson's unlikely to run out?

MODS!!! Can we shut down BF, someone might let the cat out of the bag.

How disloyal.

Ouch, that one must have touched a raw nerve. Conscience?

Dean finally shows us he has some knackers. Awesome changes considering he has been hamstrung by some injuries of late.

What he has done is thought about the game and selected the INs based on what they can do and their positions on the ground. It is no suprise that some of the Outs are the guys that you just can't put a finger on their natural position.

So, my thoughts:

OUTS:
- Brown - Just not good enough, hasn't got a position;
- Thompson - I don't share everybody's enthusiasm about him, but the simple fact is that we cannot have Gibson and him in the same side as they play the same role, undersized KP defenders, period;
- Power - Just not effective enough;
- Davies - Just not effective enough;
- Smith - Out only due to Thommo coming in. Would like to give another go but even so won't be a real bonus until next year after a pre season;
- Monster - Get well soon buddy;

INS:
- Grant - only slightly dodgy one for mine, won't play in the VFL;
- Thommo - need a FF target, automatic;
- Jones - need marking power across HF, automatic;
- Watt - Will be given a role playing on Boyle;
- Obst - Has come in to play FB on Roughead, allowing Spud to be moved either into the middle or further up the ground across HB;
- Hansen - Can be used anywhere, but with Petrie/Hale in the ruck, would look to use him across HF as a roaming HF who can also have a run in the middle or pinch hit on Boyle if Watt needs to play on the big two;

All these selections have purpose, all the outs have genuine reasons for being dropped, pigs are well and truly fighting for air space tonight, because the Match Committee have finally worked out that you need 22 players who have a genuine need to be in the team and a role that is uniquely suited to them and will form a valuable part of the whole. Finally we have had the extra toes and fingers removed and we are back with 5 and 5's baby!

I really like the look of this team! Unfortunately, with so many guys coming back from injuries, it could all go very pear shaped. However, I couldn't ask for better on the selection front - given the bods that are available. I'd love to see Watt put in a good one - even though he drives me to distraction nearly 50% of the time!

Poor old Scott Thompson.

And lucky Shannon Watt.

Glad to see the back of Power and Davies.

Brown not even a emergency. Interesting.

Grant and Jones are good ins.

Naming Nathan Thompson is idiotic.

Obst in. Is he right?

I hope Hansen can be played in the backline. Give him a job I say.

McMahon for mine to come in for Thommo.
Got to feel, that he is not liked alot by Dean.

Very stiff.

____ me Watt gets another game. What the hell did Thompson do wrong? He has doen more in two games than Watt has done his whole career. Completely ____ed decision.

With Grant, Jones and Thompson all back in, the team looks very slow.

FYI Hawks lineup:

B: Brent Guerra, Stephen Gilham, Campbell Brown
HB: Grant Birchall, Thomas Murphy, Rick Ladson
C: Jordan Lewis, Sam Mitchell, Clinton Young
HF: Cyril Rioli, Lance Franklin, Michael Osborne
F: Mark Williams, Jarryd Roughead, Tim Boyle
Foll: Robert Campbell, Luke Hodge, Xavier Ellis
I/C: Tim Clarke, Stuart Dew, Jarryd Morton, Brent Renouf
EMG: Josh Kennedy, Travis Tuck, Brendan Whitecross

In: Guerra
Out: Chance Bateman (hamstring)

Very, very happy with the selections this week, Moti has largely summed up my feelings too.

Hansen, Obst and to a lesser extent Watt and Jones give us height which allows us to move players into more appopriate positions, solidy the structure and hopefully avoid blokes having to fight out of their weight class.

Would love Hansen and Obst to shore up spots, would help a lot having 2 athletic footysmart talls in our setup.

Unlike 99.99% of the population I rate Watt above Scott Thompson at this point in time and would play him. Watt gives an honest contest, tries to help other players out and can give the odd hard running rebound burst.

Scott Thompson imo shows no more than John Baird at this stage. Ok smarts, weak body, mobile tall but not great at the overhead stuff.

Can't see Davies being a solution for us, unfortunate in that his application sounds excellent.

Also agree with Moti that the one regrettable omission is Josh Smith. But he's had some exposure and can go back and continue to develop.

Lachie for Buddy you think? Be an intriguing match up i think.

Maybe for about 20 minutes late in the second. I'm still prone to the theory that he is a very natural/raw player, and think that if he is thrown a ridiculous challenge chances are he will probably rise to it.

I think he should be played on Boyle and told specifically its up to him to control our forward thrusts from CHB.

Be intriguing to see how that pans out.

Yes particularly after Franklin kicks his 17th.

pharro you are allowed to crap on and serve the company line but when people actually know that Thommo isn't playing you simply say they are wrong.

Jealous others may have the inside word when you don't?

After getting the SMS this afternoon, I simply had to take a break from my self-imposed BF exile to see what people thought of the team selection this week. Personally, I like it.

How many games have Lower, Urquhart, Obst, Hansen, Riggio played between them? 20? I like it. Would like to see the younger Thompson and Ross in there too, but I'm sure this line-up will get the desired result.

All aboard! :thumbsu:

cool, you gotta be happy with that team:thumbsu:

the young blokes are retained to be given a good run (riggio/urquart)
mcmahon in for thommo i think would be great but with brown not even mentioned in the emergencies i'm sure he will get another game.
I like watt selected in our backline dispite what many people here say..
shagga must be on his last chance irrespective of laidleys mind games
hopefully jones will be given a huge rev up prior to this game, very important for our club..

would like to see a few things
firitto released in the middle just for a short burst of 5 minutes every quarter
hansen to be played forward for at least a quarter just to change it up and the kid told to do what he wants..lets see
thomas also released on the ball, love his zip and energy around the contest
david hale to angry and nasty for a change, he has showed before this helps his game
lower to be given more time in the middle
harding to be not allowed outside defensive 50 please:D

stick it up em rooboys......

according to the afl website sam power is out with a groin problem, and then the rest have been dropped (besides macintosh who we all know is injured) good to see obst gettig another go and hansen in after coming back from injury, i reckon the side looks pretty good this week. just 5 full strength players missing now. we all said hansen would be a good match up for buddy and now hes gotten his chance hopfully it works out.

Got to feel, that he is not liked alot by Dean.

Very stiff.

It is probably horses for courses and there is probably some things that Hunter S does that are a little undisciplined at times such as hitting a bloke in the gut instead of trying to punch the ball.

3 backs in (Watt, Obst, Hansen) 3 forwards in (Grant, Jones, Thompson)

Very interesting that we have been belted in the middle for the last 2 weeks and we make no personal changes there.

Hansen to either play back or to play browns role of floating all over the ground but the difference being that he touchs the ball.

Obst to take on boyle and we will put the great watt on roughy

If its wet thommo should not play as he is lacking in those conditions and grima should be brought in for one of his last chances at making the big time.
I like the look of this team,there are options everywhere.

I think Obst will play as a forward and Hansen will play back.

Yeah.

I reckon Laidley rates Obst. Someone else has said it, but this guy is clearly amongst the plans.

Will be interested to see how they use him.

It is that vision of his forward line pressure that is exciting.
With Petrie, Obst, Campbell and Thomas in there, that is some good chasing.

Looking at the team, it will be much better balanced with another mid. I don't want Smith to come in for Thommo.

Agree wholeheartedly with Moti's summary. Good INs, with solid rationale IMO. We've needed more experience and mature bodies I reckon. Hoping the break has done the likes of Grant and Jones some good.

Those, like me, who are prepared to acknowledge Watt's value to the team seem to feel the need to say "I know I'm in the minority but..." But, this thread has him slightly ahead I reckon.

And, I find myself siding strongly with RB on the whole absurb "disloyal" crap pharro. Company line is getting very tiresome mate. You're not Michelle are you?

The comments about the midfield are also worth noting. Let's see how they go.

Hoping 42 gets a game.

It is that vision of his forward line pressure that is exciting.
With Petrie, Obst, Campbell and Thomas in there, that is some good chasing.

Looking at the team, it will be much better balanced with another mid. I don't want Smith to come in for Thommo.

Perhaps I have missed the irony but isn't obst a backman?

I like the idea of Obst as a defender. Physically, I reckon that is his best bet to play a good chunk of AFL footy. And I would ____ing love to see him release Spud. That would be a sensation.

I wouldn't imagine Thompson would play. I hope Grima comes in for him if he doesn't.

Perhaps I have missed the irony but isn't obst a backman?

He has played as both this year in the VFL.

I think he was originally drafted to the Crows as a forward and played mainly forward last year in the SANFL