Ted Whitten

Watched Whitten at the end of his career from about 67-70, and i have never seen anyone with the presence on a ground as him, every set of eyes were glued to him, whether it was to see him whack some bloke or to take a grab over the top of the pack, he could kick the ball a mile and always seemed to be a play in front of everyone else.
Seemed like every second kid in the Western Suburbs had a Footscray jumper with the number 3 permanently tattooed into their back,and every kid at every local club was wearing white elastic wrist and ankle bands.
Everyone wanted to know him or speak to him and would dine out for months when EJ would respond without a clue of their name with "G'day knackers!"

A footy God , and the single reason I am a Bulldog supporter and not a Bomber. ( thank God )
A pat on the head as a 7 year old just before they ran down the race did it for me.
The smell of liniment ,the size and presence of this man will stay with me forever.

A footy God , and the single reason I am a Bulldog supporter and not a Bomber. ( thank God )
A pat on the head as a 7 year old just before they ran down the race did it for me.
The smell of liniment ,the size and presence of this man will stay with me forever.
I would have loved to have seen him play.

I was fortunate enough to meet him in 1993 walking down the main street of Noosa on my Xmas holidays. My dad noticed him and he replied with "I've been sprung!"... They proceeded to chat for a while about footy, what a great guy, he couldn't have been happier to talk to a couple of bulldog supporters. Firmest handshake ever, nearly crushed my hand.

20 years ago today the great man passed away, he'd be loving the way we're going about it currenty if he were still with us.

I reckon as a tribute we should get a hashtag trending for him

#stickitupem or #westuckitupem or #yougottainspireme perhaps?

#RIPEJ

Am I on ignore around here or something?

Can't believe no one else posted here, poor form
I liked your post already, except that it was in another forum - you put in in multiple threads today.

:$

I liked your post already, except that it was in another forum - you put in in multiple threads today.

:$
Not all Dogs fans post on the Bay though

But yes, thanks for your recognition over there, would've thought this thread would be more active but no one else gives two hoots it seems