Tegan Higginbotham

She would be a good host on a different type of show. If there was a show where people discuss nerd/dork culture stuff (i.e. superhero films, comic books, the Simpsons, Harry Potter, social media, Triple J), she would probably do pretty well.

TH obviously appeals to the ABC cafe latte crowd. If you believe she is comedy genius, then good for you. All i can judge is what I have seen. She made a pigs breakfast of the Liverpool game, and the complaints the ABC received were not talking about her comedic genius or her writing ability. They were wondering what she was doing on the show since she has no idea about soccer. They were also suggesting that she should stick to the comedy clubs where her lefty fan base can cheer her on. As for her Fox Footy appearances, she is a waste of space. Clearly someone from the ABC is calling in a favor. The Persian Princess would run rings around her, irrespective of her political views. I look forward to hearing and seeing some male comedians getting involved in the Netball.Sick and tired of hearing from old white women waffling on about the game. We need more lefty comedy skits!:)

What has politics got to do with it? Horses for courses tiger......If you have any idea of her stand up comedy, (which you clearly haven't) it has nothing to do politics....certainly a lot tougher performing at a comedy gig than sitting in a studio giving opinions.

As for Panawhine the Persian Princess??? Oh the irony. That is really funny. hahahahaha. Does Panawhine have anything constructive/positive to offer about..... anything? She's the biggest sook ever.

Anyway they're two different personalities...well sort of.......Higgonbotham has one and Panawhine is still searching for hers.

What has politics got to do with it? Horses for courses tiger......If you have any idea of her stand up comedy, (which you clearly haven't) it has nothing to do politics....certainly a lot tougher performing at a comedy gig than sitting in a studio giving opinions.

As for Panawhine the Persian Princess??? Oh the irony. That is really funny. hahahahaha. Does Panawhine have anything constructive/positive to offer about..... anything? She's the biggest sook ever.

Anyway they're two different personalities...well sort of.......Higgonbotham has one and Panawhine is still searching for hers.

I do not profess to be an expert on Australian stand up comedy and I do appreciate how hard it is to stand on stage and be funny. You are the one that is making her out to be some sort of genius. To date she has demonstrated very little, but you are unwilling to accept this. Let's agree to disagree that she is being forced on the footy public because of her unique talents, which to date have failed to surface.

She would be a good host on a different type of show. If there was a show where people discuss nerd/dork culture stuff (i.e. superhero films, comic books, the Simpsons, Harry Potter, social media, Triple J), she would probably do pretty well.
Well let the ABC create a show for her they cafe latte lot can swoon in their collective admiration of her comedic skills. There are a lot of fortunate talentless people who should give thanks for the ABC. If it were ever privatized 70% of them would never work again in T.V or radio.

I do not profess to be an expert on Australian stand up comedy and I do appreciate how hard it is to stand on stage and be funny. You are the one that is making her out to be some sort of genius. To date she has demonstrated very little, but you are unwilling to accept this. Let's agree to disagree that she is being forced on the footy public because of her unique talents, which to date have failed to surface.

I just went through my posts to see where I was making Tegan out to be a genius. ;) I never said that and it was not my intention. I don't think she is a genius. I think she's pretty good at what she does and has a reasonable level of talent, no better nor worse than a number of male counterparts in similar roles.

Btw, I always find that "Agree to Disagree" comment a bit of a contradiction. You and I disagree, period.

I aint agreeing to anything.....:D

Well let the ABC create a show for her they cafe latte lot can swoon in their collective admiration of her comedic skills. There are a lot of fortunate talentless people who should give thanks for the ABC. If it were ever privatized 70% of them would never work again in T.V or radio.

Only 70%? Feeling a little generous?

I agree that Tegan Higginbotham (from the fortunately small amount of her I have seen) is painfully bad but don't agree with all this criticism of the ABC. The ABS and the SBS are the only channels worth watching on free-to-air. I'm sure you are right in that there are plenty of fairly untalented people on the ABC but the same goes (and in my opinion, more noticeably so) on 10, 7 and 9. Taking your oversimplified analysis as a barometer, I will stoop down to your level:

- Two Comedians (chosen undemocratically by myself because I feel like it)
- One from the ABC (I am aware that he has also been on private free-to-air) and one from a private network/s
- Shaun Micallef versus Dave Hughes

Who is more witty, insightful and funny? I'll let you be the judge.

You say that like it's a good thing, imagine how brain dead Australia TV would be without the ABC and all that it influences.

Given that you obviously aren't one of those pinko, cafe latte loving - Fitroy fruits, what comedy does the Blend 43 crowd like? Plucka Duck?

I agree that Tegan Higginbotham (from the fortunately small amount of her I have seen) is painfully bad but don't agree with all this criticism of the ABC. The ABS and the SBS are the only channels worth watching on free-to-air. I'm sure you are right in that there are plenty of fairly untalented people on the ABC but the same goes (and in my opinion, more noticeably so) on 10, 7 and 9. Taking your oversimplified analysis as a barometer, I will stoop down to your level:

- One from the ABC (I am aware that he has also been on private free-to-air) and one from a private network/s

I see what you're trying to do, but probably bad examples. Dave Hughes is a brilliant stand-up comedian and highly regarded amongst his peers. You can't judge him on his footy show schtick.

What does someone's stand up routine have to do with their job on After the Bounce? It's not like she's delivering the routine on there.

I just went through my posts to see where I was making Tegan out to be a genius. ;) I never said that and it was not my intention. I don't think she is a genius. I think she's pretty good at what she does and has a reasonable level of talent, no better nor worse than a number of male counterparts in similar roles.

Btw, I always find that "Agree to Disagree" comment a bit of a contradiction. You and I disagree, period.

I aint agreeing to anything.....:D

Mate she's an untalented goblin.

Fair enough. Entitled to your opinion. Don't rate Dave Hughes at all.

I'm a massive comedy fan and watch a lot of stand up comedy. Apart from what's on TV, Foxtel, Netflix, YouTube, I also attend about 50 live shows per year involving 200 plus comedians. (Some shows have up to six comics while I also attend a lot of open mic nights that can have up to 15 performing in one night).

I saw Dave Hughes at the Adelaide Fringe this year. I like Hughesy but I find his comedy pretty basic, vanilla, keeps it safe and talks mainly about family stuff. I don't watch the Footy Show so I can't comment on his role there, but I thought he was pretty good and fitted in well on the old Before The Game on Ch10.

In my view the funniest 'Hughes' in Australian comedy is Steve Hughes.

Whilst I think Tegan Higgonbotham is a competent stand-up performer, based on her TV work I can see why she isn't everyone's cup of tea.

Australia is blessed to have dozens of extremely talented comedian on the stand-up circuit. Tegan's among those but she's a long way from being among the best.

My current top 5 Aussie comedians from all forms of the genre are:
1 Jim Jeffries (although he works mainly in the USA)
2 Shaun Micallef
3 Wil Anderson
4 Kitty Flanagan
5 Justin Hamilton

Thank you for the feedback Tegan.

Geez tiger, you don't do Saints fan any favours. Could you possibly be any lazier or stupid? Just spend a couple of minutes, maybe only 1 minute if you are of average intelligence to research, look through a few of my posts and you will realise I'm a 50ish ;) male living in Adelaide. And I hate Carlton!

The cretins, like Kipz and Chiles, on BF never fail to amaze.

You say that like it's a good thing, imagine how brain dead Australia TV would be without the ABC and all that it influences.

Given that you obviously aren't one of those pinko, cafe latte loving - Fitroy fruits, what comedy does the Blend 43 crowd like? Plucka Duck?

Well this isn't the ABC where everyone is expected to agree with everyone, and everything has to be politically correct. In my opinion she is overrated, and being forced upon the football public when she clearly has no idea what she is talking about. Go to your clubs and listen to her and swoon on her every word.
Just don't try and tell me what I am expected to like. If I had my way the ABC would be sold off and if you wanted to watch the ABC you could pay for it yourself. I bet you then you would want commercials to pay some of the bills.

Pretty simple. If you want to watch the ABC or SBS then you can pay for it. I don't understand why the tax payer should be slugged 1 billion dollars per year so the ABC can have 4 digital channels? Why do they need 4? Why are they paying our Tax dollars to fund Al Jazeera? Why doesn't the ABC have one moderate or right leaning show? Clearly ratings have no influence in the shows that the ABC make or show, as their ratings are poor and SBS is non existent.
All tax payers fund the ABC, but a stranger would believe that all Australians are rampaging Socialists based on the content. Where is the balance?

I take it you don't watch many ABC programs, Moody. Because the ABC you describe is not the one I watch. There's plenty of political incorrectness and diversity on the ABC. You just need to have the intellect to appreciate it.

I apologize for not having your intellect.You are clearly far more intelligent that I am or in fact probably most of the posters. You probably work at the ABC, because they all have same the delusion. You can talk about it at your favorite Cafe.

Pretty simple. If you want to watch the ABC or SBS then you can pay for it. I don't understand why the tax payer should be slugged 1 billion dollars per year so the ABC can have 4 digital channels? Why do they need 4? Why are they paying our Tax dollars to fund Al Jazeera? Why doesn't the ABC have one moderate or right leaning show? Clearly ratings have no influence in the shows that the ABC make or show, as their ratings are poor and SBS is non existent.
All tax payers fund the ABC, but a stranger would believe that all Australians are rampaging Socialists based on the content. Where is the balance?

I apologize for not having your intellect.You are clearly far more intelligent that I am or in fact probably most of the posters. You probably work at the ABC, because they all have same the delusion. You can talk about it at your favorite Cafe.

Apology accepted.
Reminds me of a comment I recently read......
"Twitter (& Big Footy) has taught me a couple of things.
First, there are some incredibly brilliant people in the
world. Second, they are vastly outnumbered."