Discussion Tennis outfits

Silent Alarm

sack Lyon
10k Posts
Jul 9, 2010
One of the cool things about the Australian Open is sussing out the new looks for the season.

I always used to think he was pretty dull, fake, and a little too humble and rounded to be true, but Roger Federer's gear has always been really cool: simple, easy, sticks to good fits and nice colours and minimalism. Loved this one he got around in this time last year in Melbs:
160118110217-roger-federer-australian-open-2016-super-169.jpg

This year he seems to no longer have his own custom gear, and he's succumbed to Nike's new catalogue.

I don't mind it, it's slowly growing, and I like the way the orange is riffed on to break up the two-tone. The women's is a bit off-putting; very unflattering and the patterned skirts are pretty 1980s. This is the basic theme being played with across the different attire:
nikecourt-rf-advantage-tennis-polo.jpg

It does look a heap better than the ugly fluro of last year, which was a hangover from the World Cups of the past few years where every single company reckons the best way to stand out is to be as bright as possible... might be smart if one company went all black... you could stand out then.

As per usual, Asics are in no man's land and continue their legacy of naffness and averageness. No idea why so many Australians go to them.

I did however see some bloke in a very 1970s recalling Fila shirt. It's a pity the rest of the Europeans wearing their stuff opt for the basic, default looking kits of theirs. I can't find a photo of it but it wasn't full of mid-century swirls. Stuff like this is why Champion and Fila are churning out some great sportswear and leading the way these days.
4a145edc5b9748f2f8eef9e43a29f801.jpg

Isner was bumping some pretty retro kit today. Fila is in that weird bracket of being sold at places like Kmart but also being historically cool and trendy (think Diadora, Champion, etc.)

john-isner-of-the-usa-celebrates-a-point-during-his-second-round-picture-id631940502
This was the one I was referring to, yeah. *in' great. Pity he's such a naff twat.

There are two tiers of Fila and it's pretty obvious which belong to which.

In Australia, Target can produce it under licence – they obviously just pay them $200,000 a year and make ugly s**t. Then you go on Urban Outfitters and some of the tees and jumpers they're churning out are great. They had a campaign right around Wimbledon last year where they were really riffing off the blue, red, and white tricolour and I was hoping they'd sign a Bouchard or something.
fila-urban-outfitters-tennis.0.jpg

u1.jpg

Champion is cool, starting to pick up heaps lately, plenty of celebrities have gotten on board in the past few months.

Then again it is much like Nike and Adidas – a huge percentage of the stuff they make is ******* lame, but the old school ringer tees and stuff like that are pretty all-time and timeless.

Accentuating the hips of a woman that naturally solid probably ain't that flattering, then again when you're flogging chumps like she does, I doubt she or Nike give too many craps.

Pretty sure they're a Japanese company that specialise in runners

Heaps of PTs and sports 'experts' wear their shoes. The same people that wore Brooks shoes ten years ago
I remember school teachers getting their jollies when they'd get their tax-free yearly pair of Brooks sent to the school. * me. Couldn't pay me to wear those.

Pretty sure they're a Japanese company that specialise in runners

Heaps of PTs and sports 'experts' wear their shoes. The same people that wore Brooks shoes ten years ago
They also produced stuff like this for Ivan Lendl in the early 90's.
Once the look of a seasoned champion, but now the uniform of armies of private school flogs at over hyped festivals such as Falls and Splendour.

Lendl-Mizuno.jpg

lendl+hat.jpg

FWIW, the resurgence in popularity for classic tennis brands such as Fila, Diadora and Sergio Tacchini can somewhat be attributed to the vintage and limited appeal of many Borg and McEnroe garments by the newer breed of unoriginal football 'casuals'.

Diadora isn't that resurgent but your private school festival call is a ripper.

I think those brands have come in because some of the gear is cool but Urban Outfitters and Asos have been advertising their collaborations and tie-ins a heap.

You're right in regards to Diadora apparel, but many of their sneaker designs have been re-released to apparent fervour.

Original Diadora 'Borgs' have also been seen to go for obscene prices.

The popularity of Fila in this day and age can also be attributed to it's previous popularity over multiple subcultures. Yuppies to casuals, hip hop heads to tech heads.

You're right in regards to Diadora apparel, but many of their sneaker designs have been re-released to apparent fervour.

Original Diadora 'Borgs' have also been seen to go for obscene prices.

The popularity of Fila in this day and age can also be attributed to it's previous popularity over multiple subcultures. Yuppies to casuals, hip hop heads to tech heads.
uTqpFrb.png

I'm a big Le Coq Sportif fan (maybe because I loved the work they did for City back in the day, although I've always thought their logo was cool since I was a little kid) and I think whenever the tricolore is incorporated into apparel it looks pretty great.

I don't mind the kit that Gasquet has on right now.

richard-gasquet-of-france-celebrates-after-his-second-round-match-picture-id632018928

They do subtle stuff with the red/white/blue also:

ps_566466_tennis_020-copy.jpg

That first one, I don't mind that but unbalanced designs like this annoy me.

Really nice shade of green though, and the red and blue and white works really well with it.

I remember that.

A truly terrible looking shirt in retrospect; the light green looks like it's been through 35 wash cycles, but it's supposed to look like a gradient or something. At the time I used to love the Australia A version.

Suitable though, he was one of the softest, lamest tennis players Australia has produced. Incredibly overrated.

Isner was bumping some pretty retro kit today. Fila is in that weird bracket of being sold at places like Kmart but also being historically cool and trendy (think Diadora, Champion, etc.)
I hope somebody goes retro and pays homage to the 1983 US Open.
1983-us-connors-lendl.jpg