Terrible Football Calls

I made a terrible call, terribly hilarious.

When that cry baby Nathan Thompson took a mark in the last quarter? By illegally throwing Basset out of the way. After another dubious umpire call with regards to marks, which resulted in Thompson being paid it, I said:

"Well, they had to give him that mark otherwise he might have offed himself"

Thankyou, thankyou. Making fun of depression is the height of comedy.

North Melb fan near me (I'm new to the area but he's usually a crows man I think.. maybe crows are his '2nd' team as he lives in Adelaide.. plenty of good bantered humour between him and the surrounding folk which was good.. but i digress) who when Thompson missed a kick on goal and hung his head yelled out:

"You're depressed?? I'm the one paying YOU!"

Harsh but oh so funny.

And just to contribute to the theme of the thread.. some of you should pull your head in. Everyone has an equal right to go the footy and enjoy themselves. Not everyone understands footy as well as you do, doesn't mean they can't be supporters and come along. Sure, some people are negative and over the top or the opposite, not passionate enough.. but at the end of the day they support the club by paying their money and coming along to the games.

I've heard statements in the past that the old fuddy-duddies should stay home if they don't like how you yell and scream.. well the same can apply to you guys.. if you don't like how they act you can stay home too.

North Melb fan near me (I'm new to the area but he's usually a crows man I think.. maybe crows are his '2nd' team as he lives in Adelaide.. plenty of good bantered humour between him and the surrounding folk which was good.. but i digress) who when Thompson missed a kick on goal and hung his head yelled out:

"You're depressed?? I'm the one paying YOU!"

Harsh but oh so funny.

And just to contribute to the theme of the thread.. some of you should pull your head in. Everyone has an equal right to go the footy and enjoy themselves. Not everyone understands footy as well as you do, doesn't mean they can't be supporters and come along. Sure, some people are negative and over the top or the opposite, not passionate enough.. but at the end of the day they support the club by paying their money and coming along to the games.

I've heard statements in the past that the old fuddy-duddies should stay home if they don't like how you yell and scream.. well the same can apply to you guys.. if you don't like how they act you can stay home too.

That's all well and good but I don't tell people who stay quiet to fire up so why should they have the right to tell me to sit down?

just as a matter of interest - do any of u posters sit or stand (on the walkway) in the outer deadset centre wing? ( i think its bay 131 row z)

I don't find the depression calls directed at Nathan Thompson at all funny. I'm a tasteless guy at the best of times, but at least make them clever or something.

You guys complain? I have to put up with my wife who tells me off every time I call an umpire a 'wanger'.
She keeps on telling me to stop calling umpires wangers even after I tell her that they must be wangers, otherwise they would see the frees they don't give us.
By the way, I'm over 35 and I do get exited.

There's one thread getting in to the crowd at Adelaide for being too quiet, and then this one giving it to people who are making noice. I admit there are always the people with absolutely ridiculous calls. It is bloody annoying, but I must say, there much worse in Melbourne when the bias goes so far, but it's an opposition supporter, that's when it's really annoying.

But people complaining about people sayin 'kick it' and 'man em up'? I must say I say it a bloody lot, but we do often over handball it. It's apinful to watch when they stuff around with handballs and then turn it over. Poepl can say it will rebound straight back in, but most of the time if they kick it out of pressure there are many one on ones they could go to. And the manning up, there is nothing more frustrating that in stages in games when the opposition winds down the clock or plays possession footy and we don't man the players up. Zone all you like, but in those situations everyone should have one.

I would like a new rule for season ticket holders, if you are over 35 you need a passion test to get your ticket renewed :)

LOL the club should make that passion test for everyone. I have this kid (he’s about 9 or 10 year old) sit next to me and every week he goes for the opposition (he goes for Port) and just bags the hell out of the crows’ players.

His mum and younger brother go for the crows but he is just an obnoxious little toe rag who needs a good beating. I am going to throttle him one week. Plus the mother is one of the nut jobs who yell out “kick it long’ and “Man up” when we are clearly zoning off in defence.

Couple of points:

-The traditional AAMI scream when a player is chasing a crows player -even if lad has still got 5-10m. I reckon it does more to put our players off than anything else and its also embarrasing. Happens about 5-10 times a game.

-The 10 minutes to go walk off: Couldn't believe it the day we down by 17 points at the 16th minute mark and people in there droves were leaving. Its like as soon as one person walks off- every old codger has to get up- its almost a race.

The best thing was ..... we won.(Can't remember who it was against- 2005)

You get em at every club, I get it every single week.

Most frustrating is hearing someone mostly women, yell out kick the bloody thing, kick it, just kick it, and then grunt, and criticise the player for running 30m bouncing twice and dodging 2 players to make a play.

Hearing people criticise players that dodge and weave around goals to improve chances of scoring, stating that they are cocky showponies, they say this about Motlop. These players are what make footy.

People who turn on players when they are down, calling them d'heads like the idiot in bay 116 the other night, then you see them again praising the player and how they have always loved them.

people who bag the crap out of the players and the team, and say "this is not working, its not working" and you are 10 goals up. I saw this at a game against the Eagles, and we were 80 points in the lead playing awesome.

You get em at every club, I get it every single week.

Most frustrating is hearing someone mostly women, yell out kick the bloody thing, kick it, just kick it, and then grunt, and criticise the player for running 30m bouncing twice and dodging 2 players to make a play.

Hearing people criticise players that dodge and weave around goals to improve chances of scoring, stating that they are cocky showponies, they say this about Motlop. These players are what make footy.

But he is – no he doesn’t make football what it is, football is what it is in spite of him. Tredrea and the Cornes brothers are what football is about.

He is the one player who definitely is a ____ing one trick show pony.

That's all well and good but I don't tell people who stay quiet to fire up so why should they have the right to tell me to sit down?

I never said they had that right mate, and also don't believe they do.

PS Viccrow, the Thompson depression call by the NM supporter was quite clever IMO. Maybe was 'wittier' in the moment due to the timing. Didn't personally attack him about it, just made a lamentable comment involving his illness due to NM's dismal performance. Kinda akin (I would think) to someone making a knee joke about Hentschell once he's back and playing and over the worst of it.

I've heard all the calls in the world, but the one that shits me is the "Oh don't start this again!" whenever one of our players kicks short and/or backwards, quite often transferring play to the open side.

People simply have no idea.

When that cry baby Nathan Thompson took a mark in the last quarter? By illegally throwing Basset out of the way. After another dubious umpire call with regards to marks, which resulted in Thompson being paid it, I said:

You're a Class A knob.

hilarious? you have to be kidding?

thats as bad as when a port supporter behind me was cheering that hentschell snapped his knee.

LOL the club should make that passion test for everyone. I have this kid (he’s about 9 or 10 year old) sit next to me and every week he goes for the opposition (he goes for Port) and just bags the hell out of the crows’ players.

His mum and younger brother go for the crows but he is just an obnoxious little toe rag who needs a good beating. I am going to throttle him one week. Plus the mother is one of the nut jobs who yell out “kick it long’ and “Man up” when we are clearly zoning off in defence.

Oh man I couldn't handle that for too long!

PS Viccrow, the Thompson depression call by the NM supporter was quite clever IMO. Maybe was 'wittier' in the moment due to the timing. Didn't personally attack him about it, just made a lamentable comment involving his illness due to NM's dismal performance. Kinda akin (I would think) to someone making a knee joke about Hentschell once he's back and playing and over the worst of it.
I don't think it's at all like making a joke about Hentschel. Hentschel suffered an injury playing football. Thompson had a bout of depression - a chemical imbalance in his brain. I don't think they're comparative at all. Hentschel's was career threatening, Thompson's was life threatening. I'd say it's more akin to making a joke (or even a sledge depending on what neck of the woods you're from) about Rama having cancer.

I admit it was slightly wittier than the other call, but it's still lowest common denominator bullshit as far as I'm concerned.

I've got a clueless old bat who screams out utter shit every game one side of me and behind me I usually have idiots every week who know nothing .. like on saturday night . .

Idiot bitch behind me: Stop messing around and kick the damn thing!! Kick it!!!

Me: He's got no one in front of him! If he kicks it, it's gonna come straight back!

crows player kicks it forward, kangaroos player grabs it and kicks it back

Me: See.

It seems the last couple of weeks there's been hundreds of people behind me yelling "Hurry up! Kick it! kick it!!!" when he's got no one to kick to (so either takes long to dispose or kicks it backwards) so either me or another guy next to me has to yell out SHUT THE ____ UP he's got no one to bloody kick to you morons.. they all go quiet then.

As someone has already said, they simply have no idea.

It's interesting to hear what other people are saying about the crowds at AAMI (especially the members).

I lived in Melbourne for 3 years and went to almost every Crows game there (even ventured to Vic Park and Geelong). Having the banter with the opposition was one of the best things about going to the footy - and you could shake the guys hand at the end of the game and that was that.

But coming back to Adelaide to live was a whole different story. We bought Cat 1 members tickets for the first season that we were back for and really didn't enjoy going at all. Probably being in the members made it worse than if we had been in the outer though. The stupidity of the "supporters" around us, the complaining about the side when we were in front, the bagging of individual Crows players and people going stupid when the opposition got a free kick (no matter how blatant it was) made it hard to enjoy the game. I'd get into arguments all the time with Crows supporters about plays, players, and umpiring decisions - some of them got pretty heated.

We didn't renew our tickets for the second season, and didn't go too much after that.

We find it hard to get to games these days with 2 young kids, but hearing that things haven't changed much makes me feel less guilty about not going so much anymore.

Terrible Football Calls