Testing Jordy?

Manchester City
I was chatting with a mate today (a West Coast Eagles supporter who comes with me to CFC games, for Judd obviously) and from his unbiased opinion he thought that quite possibly Ratten and co. wanted to give Jordy Russel an opportunity to prove himself in the first half of the season as a final test to see if he will make the grade and if he fails he will be delisted end of season and if he passes obviously he will retain a spot in the second half of the season.

What do you guys think of this theory?

seems quite logical considering Walker is out of the team and could take his spot when he comes back from his Shoulder injury!!!

once walker comes back Rusty will need to have cemented his spot otherwise he will be nothing more than a depth player if that!!

Everyone who gets a game is getting tested, you fail you get dropped, unless you are a really good player with credits in the bank. Sick of all the bagging of russel on this site.

I was chatting with a mate today (a West Coast Eagles supporter who comes with me to CFC games, for Judd obviously) and from his unbiased opinion he thought that quite possibly Ratten and co. wanted to give Jordy Russel an opportunity to prove himself in the first half of the season as a final test to see if he will make the grade and if he fails he will be delisted end of season and if he passes obviously he will retain a spot in the second half of the season.

Testing him???? We've been testing him for 3 years and he still hasnt shown anything. He might get dropped this week for Houla, but if not wont be far away. Would need to improve remarkbly to be any chance of staying in the team long term.

He was drafted in the same year as Franklin, Deledio, Griffen, Roughead e.t.c and IMO has shown he is not up to the standard of AFL.

Russel looks out of place, uncomfortable when he has the ball, makes the easy things look difficult and needs a massive improvement to keep his spot on the list.

If he had been drafted at pick 30 or later in the draft he would be delisted by now. He has been given more of a go because he was Pick 9.

Used as a run with player he was no good, his skills are terrible (missed a basic 20metre pass early in the game on the weekend).

Some will argue yeah but he wasn't the only to miss passes, well I say yeah but they bring other facets besides kicking

Eg. Waite- Couple of shocking kicks, but had 10+ marks kept Rocca very quiet and was a matchwinner

Gibbs- gifted the pies the opening goal, but laid 8 tackles for the match and showed real toughness and ferocity

Murphy- A few shockers( I think he tries to do the impossible when
kicking the ball ala Travis Johnstone), but won plenty of clearnces and won alot of hard ball all day.

Russel dosen't bring anything else to the table and needs big improvement to keep his spot.

missed a basic 20metre pass early in the game on the weekend
What do you reckon might have been going through his head? Pagans voice kick it long, kick it long, we don't have skillful players, kick it long

A few more weeks and the voice will be gone.

Russel dosen't bring anything else to the table and needs big improvement to keep his spot.

Tall, speedy midfielder. I reckon he is worth the effort.

He keeps making steady improvement. He's worth persevering with until he stops improving. Not everyone improves at the same rate. Cut the kid some slack FFS.

And if you wanna get upset about Russell, head on over to the Demons board and check out what they have to say about blokes like Colin Sylvia, who was a number 3 pick.....

He was drafted in the same year as Franklin, Deledio, Griffen, Roughead e.t.c and IMO has shown he is not up to the standard of AFL.

Russel looks out of place, uncomfortable when he has the ball, makes the easy things look difficult and needs a massive improvement to keep his spot on the list.

If he had been drafted at pick 30 or later in the draft he would be delisted by now. He has been given more of a go because he was Pick 9.

Used as a run with player he was no good, his skills are terrible (missed a basic 20metre pass early in the game on the weekend).

Some will argue yeah but he wasn't the only to miss passes, well I say yeah but they bring other facets besides kicking

Eg. Waite- Couple of shocking kicks, but had 10+ marks kept Rocca very quiet and was a matchwinner

Gibbs- gifted the pies the opening goal, but laid 8 tackles for the match and showed real toughness and ferocity

Murphy- A few shockers( I think he tries to do the impossible when
kicking the ball ala Travis Johnstone), but won plenty of clearnces and won alot of hard ball all day.

LOL, embarrassing effort at constructing an argument. :thumbsd:

once walker comes back Rusty will need to have cemented his spot otherwise he will be nothing more than an out-of-his-depth player if that!!

You're sounding like a Richmond supporter the way you're turning on your own...shame on you! :eek:

He keeps making steady improvement. He's worth persevering with until he stops improving. Not everyone improves at the same rate. Cut the kid some slack FFS.

And if you wanna get upset about Russell, head on over to the Demons board and check out what they have to say about blokes like Colin Sylvia, who was a number 3 pick.....

Well said :thumbsu:

I reckon this is pretty much spot on. Ratts and co. are giving him every chance to prove himself at AFL level. He does look ok at times, yet he is prone to the massive brain explosion - like the turnover that cost us a goal in the 2nd qtr IIRC.

I think it's a good call, and quite frankly I don't think he has been our worst player every week. Although, he has admittedly been on the fringe. I believe he deserves to retain his spot in the team. So hopefully he lifts a notch and makes all this speculation redundant.

Everyone who gets a game is getting tested, you fail you get dropped, unless you are a really good player with credits in the bank. Sick of all the bagging of russel on this site.

:thumbsd: If you read my post through well enough I never once bagged Russel. If you ask my opinion, he simply has no confidence in his ability atm but maybe he may improve with a set run in the seniors and he did improve slightly in the game against C'Wood.

If Russell doesn't step up, I hope we bring Anderson in for Russell to be used a run with player after he's played a month of footy. Ando did lose track of his man when he started watching the ball, but he's a hard nut and put a good bump Sherman even though he was already in the clear.

I loved that.

His second and third efforts were first class when he kept chasing and pressuring the Brisbane players to win a free kick by tackling Brennan. :thumbsu:

quote]

We cannot keep comparing him to these players. The fact is that he shouldnt have been drafted that high but it is done. The carlton collingwood game he played ok and took some nice marks. Some stupid errors but are exaggerated becuz everyone is on his back all the time.

He has absoulutely no confidence what so ever, i have kept a close eye on him all season and you can just see at times that he doesnt know whats the right descision. If he was just to free himself of everything and just play football then im sure we will see more improvement.

He could be a good HFF for us with the size of him and his strong hands, but only if his confidence comes back. Who knows with a few wins on the board he might feel less pressure and play some good footy.

I really hope he does.:thumbsu:

He's in the side at the moment, playing that lead up half forward role, in my opinion, that should be Houlihan's role in the side.

If Houlihan gets back in the side, it will be at the expense of Russell

Jordan has a more mature body now and is showing signs that he is improving. People on this forum think that everybody has to possess the skills of Judd. Fair go boys and girls.

Every one has a certain role that they do and everyone brings differnet things to the table

I would love to know what Jordan Russel brings to the table, what does he do SPECIFICALY to be regarded good enough to be in the side besides being a tull running midfielder????

Oh and I am still waiting to see this so called SPEED he has, that we were all told about when he was drafted.

I pray he comes good as he would give good depth to an improving midfield but IMO he won't make it. He looks out of place wherever he plays

And by the way had we lost on the weekend more people would agree with me, just cause we won don't mean everyone is untouchable!

I have been watching him closely all season cuz he has been so frustrating. I think the only thing he brings to the table was that he was a no.9 draft pick and they dont want to waste it. I think this is his last year if he does not improve immensley.

Any thoughts?

I have been watching him closely all season cuz he has been so frustrating. I think the only thing he brings to the table was that he was a no.9 draft pick and they dont want to waste it. I think this is his last year if he does not improve immensley.

Any thoughts?

Exactly glad I am not the only one who cringes everytime he gets the ball

FWIW I'd rather see Jackson in the side then Russel because at least he can kick the god damn ball

Yeah he doesn't look any good, but maby he is a confidence player, has a good build, and since he has put on a fair bit of weight over the summer has slowed down.

When players put on weight quickly they lose speed. They will regain their speed but it'll take time. Takes a lot of training, luck with injuries and the body will get used to the extra weight. A slight gain of pace and fitness makes a big difference to a player.

He needs to take on players more, run hard and try to break a few tackles (like Judd does all the time). Perhaps he is worried about getting caught which is fare enough. Just wait and see.

Be good to see him do a few more physical things, crash into tacklers and back himself more, force some confidence. Maby that'll come in time. Still his worry is his lack of defencive skills (defencive smarts). Don't know if you can teach that, maby...