Toast Tex 700 goals around the corner

I do absolutely love him but I wish like hell he’d stop looking for where his player is before a marking contest and then searching for contact even if it puts him out of position.
That's traditionally been a sign that he's off. Used to happen a lot in the Pyke years.

I do absolutely love him but I wish like hell he’d stop looking for where his player is before a marking contest and then searching for contact even if it puts him out of position.
There's not much else he can do - 95% of the time he can't outjump his direct opponent or get his arms higher in a marking contest... unless he can work the body contact to get last minute separation. It's just a physical reality for him. He's better off having the ball come to ground level anyway as he's not bad off the deck and if his hands are free he will get a handball off to a teammate in space.

Nah I don’t believe that at all.

I'm starting to pivot and think he might play on next year? Whats the consensus here?
I am not anti that idea. I like his presence on the field and certainly his leadership qualities warrant him continuing. He is a great general for us. If he does continue it cant simply be so he can get 700 goals. He has to be able to play out the full season even if he has to be managed.

I still think he has something to give to the team.

I'm starting to pivot and think he might play on next year? Whats the consensus here?
I think its way more on the cards then it was 6-7 weeks ago. His last month and a bit has been much better and more consistent, and its very hard to argue his presence isn't contributing to the ultra high functionality of our forward line.

If he wants to go on 1 more year I think the club will give him the option now. If it happens, then i'm not upset. Having said that right now it would hard to find much to upset me with this list.

Equal 6th in the AFL for goal assists, 24th for goals, 17th for contested marks. Without the injury issues of last year I think he's actually having a better season. Not world beating but certainly totally fine, and still elite at creating scoring opportunities for other players when he gets the ball. A very acceptable third forward option.

Thought it was definitely his last season at the bye, but more of an even money type call at this point. Especially given we have some other likely delists already, and no forwards of note waiting in the SANFL that he's keeping out of the side.

I think its way more on the cards then it was 6-7 weeks ago. His last month and a bit has been much better and more consistent, and its very hard to argue his presence isn't contributing to the ultra high functionality of our forward line.

If he wants to go on 1 more year
I think the club will give him the option now. If it happens, then i'm not upset. Having said that right now it would hard to find much to upset me with this list.

If he can sniff a flag, then I think he would go on.

However, if we pulled it off this year and somehow jagged one, he might call it a day this year.

If he can sniff a flag, then I think he would go on.

However, if we pulled it off this year and somehow jagged one, he might call it a day this year.
that's what im thinking
2025 premiers - Tex does a Crawford
not? - 1 more year.

Yup, that's age catching up to Tex. He knows he doesn't have the athletiscm to consistently beat defenders anymore.

I can't see it happening. The comment from Nicks about managing Tex and his desire to get to 300 games, makes me think that both parties know this is the final hurrah.

Tex probably knows his body is done and unless we hear of 'other club offers' after he kicks 4 this week, I reckon he's going to go out with grace.

Mate - you gonna acknowledge how bloody wrong you are on this one?

Been bagging Tex all bloody year. Remember this Gem?

No doubt, Tex is as selfless as Sloane. It’s all about him. And that’s ok, it’s perfectly normal, I’d be no different. But he doesn’t bleed red, blue and yellow, he bleeds Tex Walker. Tex would choose 300 for him over a flag for the club, it’s that simple.l

The bloke has absolutely given his all for the club. He is now the 3rd most important Crow behind Roo/McLeod and still has plenty to offer.

How you wanted the guy who is currently #24 in the AFL for goals and #6 in the AFL for goal assists to just hang up the boots is borderline criminal.

Should 100% sign up for another season in 2026 if we dont win the flag.

Yup, that's age catching up to Tex. He knows he doesn't have the athletiscm to consistently beat defenders anymore.

The thing is he is still our 2nd best forward behind TT.

He has one of the highest footy IQ's going around which has allowed him to keep playing at such a high level. That tap to Berry on the weekend is an example.

I can't see it happening. The comment from Nicks about managing Tex and his desire to get to 300 games, makes me think that both parties know this is the final hurrah.

Why not? Rely on him even less in 2026, but we dont have 23 players better than him and wont in 2026 even if he declines further. If he wants to play in 2026 we should sign him to a cheap deal and aim to have him play 12-15 games + finals.

The thing is he is still our 2nd best forward behind TT.

He has one of the highest footy IQ's going around which has allowed him to keep playing at such a high level. That tap to Berry on the weekend is an example.

Why not? Rely on him even less in 2026, but we dont have 23 players better than him and wont in 2026 even if he declines further. If he wants to play in 2026 we should sign him to a cheap deal and aim to have him play 12-15 games + finals.

Underrating Fogarty a tad there who's put up a solid season and is proving a barometer of this side. They are a solid 2-3 though.

That said, it's just the vibe at the moment. There's no talk of Tex wanting another contract (and our players love to use the media to try to force it), and Nicks was weird about Tex getting to 300 games a while ago. It all just seems that this is it. While I agree he'll probably be a best 22 player next year, we also have to accept the end will come quickly when it does, and there are aspects to Tex's game now where it does look like he's just hanging on (always looking for the body with aerial work as an example).

Mind you, there is no point continuing with Tex if the idea is to purposely play him for 12-15 games. Momentum and structures are some of the most important aspects ultimately, if you can't rely on someone for 20+ games, you're being too cute for your own good. After all, usually the football gods would punish that with a long term injury.

Underrating Fogarty a tad there who's put up a solid season and is proving a barometer of this side. They are a solid 2-3 though.

Disagree here. Walkers 2025 has been better than Fogs.

That said, it's just the vibe at the moment. There's no talk of Tex wanting another contract (and our players love to use the media to try to force it), and Nicks was weird about Tex getting to 300 games a while ago. It all just seems that this is it. While I agree he'll probably be a best 22 player next year, we also have to accept the end will come quickly when it does, and there are aspects to Tex's game now where it does look like he's just hanging on (always looking for the body with aerial work as an example).

And what your write makes sense. But I think it's better to always give the club legends the benefit of the doubt rather than the opposite. Thats where coaching comes in.

We gave Thompson an extra year as depth in 2017. He played 1 game in 2017 whilst we made a GF and then retired. That was the right move. If one of the Crouch Bros/Sloane or Greenwood missed in the finals he would have been a perfect substitute for a game or 2.

Mind you, there is no point continuing with Tex if the idea is to purposely play him for 12-15 games. Momentum and structures are some of the most important aspects ultimately, if you can't rely on someone for 20+ games, you're being too cute for your own good. After all, usually the football gods would punish that with a long term injury.

Disagree. Thats what the Hawks did with less talented Dew (15 games in 08 and he won them the flag). Walker is too damn good not consider that option.

Disagree here. Walkers 2025 has been better than Fogs.

And what your write makes sense. But I think it's better to always give the club legends the benefit of the doubt rather than the opposite. Thats where coaching comes in.

We gave Thompson an extra year as depth in 2017. He played 1 game in 2017 whilst we made a GF and then retired. That was the right move. If one of the Crouch Bros/Sloane or Greenwood missed in the finals he would have been a perfect substitute for a game or 2.

Disagree. Thats what the Hawks did with less talented Dew (15 games in 08 and he won them the flag). Walker is too damn good not consider that option.
I'm in the "another year for Tex" camp.

hes got 31 in 18 games so would need 28 from what, 8 games max?
I’m not 100% advocating for him to play every game this remaining season (1 week rest if any hint of niggles, particularly in the away game last round).

But assuming he does get to play a possible 8 games:
2 of which against bottom 2 teams = possible 10 goals total
6 of which requires an average of 3 goals per game = possible 18 goals total.

And seriously, if he can do the 28 goals, it will look very extremely good for our Finals chances, regardless of the personal milestone.

I think this is one perfect question where our opinions here won’t matter, in so much it depends on whether Tex can maintain his 2-3 goals average from here for the rest of this season and contribute significantly in the Finals series.

If he can do that and he wants another season, there is absolutely no way we should decline that proposition.

Toast Tex 700 goals around the corner