Tex back this week

• Thread starter Thread starter beartoo

If it comes down to Lynch vs Pods dropping out of the team, it has to be Pods. IMO, you cannot put a high enough value on what Lynch offers the team with his relentless running, and constantly presenting a target in that 40-70m area of our forward line.
don't worry, Lynch isn't even on the same page as the equation, he's a lock IMO

Petrenko makes way for Tex. We lose nothing with that change. Tex is even better at ground level than Pets FFS, let alone every other football skill. Pets is quite possibly the worst exponent of knowing when to use his pace I've ever seen so the one attribute he actually posseses is rendered useless most of the time.

Lynch plays high half forward and even leads up to the wing and half back at times. Doesn't get in the way.

Tex and Jenkins are both capable of leading up to the wing also. Pods can either stay at home more often, or be swung into defense, depending on the situation. I see no problem with playing all of them, especially considering all of them except Pods are very mobile.

In 6 weeks time, I reckon our lineup will look something like this:

B: Brown Rutten Otten
HB: Jaensch Talia Smith
C: Mackay Thompson Sloane
HF: Lynch TEX Douglas
F: Betts Podsiadly Jenkins

R: Jacobs Dangerfield B Crouch

Int: M Crouch, Kerridge, Wright, Laird

EMG: Grigg, Hartigan, Reilly

So from today's team against the Dogs, the changes are:

In: Rutten, Otten, Tex, Douglas, B Crouch
Out: Petrenko, Grigg, Shaw, Hartigan, Reilly

Now obviously this is no certainty, but I'd add the following:

1) Hartigan will play any time Rutten doesn't, and there may be scenarios where they look at playing all 3 of Rutten, Talia and Hartigan, especially if Shaw and Otten are injured / out of form. I really like Hartigan and am always happy to see him in the side. Tries his guts out and looks a great replacement for Truck moving forward.

2) Reilly is far from a certainty to be dropped, I understand this. I really think one of Reilly or Jaensch will eventually make way though with the upcoming selection squeeze, and Jaensch has the better form so far this season (excluding today - Jaensch was absolutely diabolically awful today). Guys like Mackay, Laird and Brown should be locked in.

3) I'd like to have Grigg in the side, but I just can't. He needs blokes to get injured, or a 30 possession game against the Dees (if selected) to keep himself in the frame. Sad but true.

4) Pets is gone by Round 11. 100% GAWN.

Anyway, yeah, Tex should totes play against Melbourne. I'm firmly in the 'there's no point in him playing on the potentially dangerous cow paddock in Clare in a side that is going to lose by 100 points and struggle to even get the ball forward' camp.

They should play Tex as sub vs Melb.

Also longer term, Pods would be a great sub because he can play any position.

They should play Tex as sub vs Melb.
a) that would be incredibly anti-climatic
b) he doesn't have any fitness issues, he just needs to regain form and confidence in a competitive hit out.

if he plays he plays a whole game or at the very least starts on ground.

Have him play and bring him off after 3 qtrs. Game SHOULD be sewn up by then plus JJ, Pods and Chief can handle the Demons defenders.

Pets IMO

Betts, Wright and Laird can cover for any small forward requirements do all 3 can play other roles if required

Lynch plays high, JJ as the Forward / back up ruck, JPod and Tex play in the CHF / FF key positions

Right on it there bloke... No defence can cover that combo...
With jjs pace you could even play him up the ground to save tex needing to run too hard too early...

We need to see whether this 3 tall setup can work, why not try it this week

After watching Tex's press conference I'm confident he will be playing for us on Saturday arvo against Melbourne.
He's got the week after to rest the knee, he's pulled up after the first game without any soreness it seems, I think Sanderson will want Tex to get some AFL exposure before the important game against the Pies, I think it will benefit us by having Tex playing with his team mates in the AFL before that prior match, you gotta remember Tex has been fully training since December, they've held him back for four months to ensure the 12 month recovery process was complete.

He'll be ready this week against Melbourne.

Just watched the Video, he is one man that looks better with a mullet - those ears are enormous!!

I am of te opinion that he will play against Melbourne, they have been very cautious to get the 12 months. He wants to play in the senior side - it is up to Sando.

Liked how he paid Rucci out about not going to the bay on Friday night.

Club just posted this for those of you that didn't get along to the game. Booted that first set shot from 55m out without batting an eye lid, and that stop and prop was trademark Tex. He's ready Sando ;)

Otten looked very ordinary vs glenelg...he'll have to play some pretty good footy to get in ahead of Hartigan...

I think Hartigan would keep his spot if Otten and Truck were available this week....

the only reason for not playing the Melb game would be form, and really a rusty tex has got to be better value than Petrenko or Pods at the moment...and given the collingwood game is at Adelaide oval anyway...it would be good to get experience on it...

I was against it before but you lot have changed my mind i think he should play the Melb game, then when we have the bye play sanfl, then collingwood

he clearly won't get any delivery into the forward line playin in the sanfl....will get plenty vs Melb

the best way to get into form...

it's a no brainer

I just hope we don't bring him back this week as I'm going to the game. I wont be able to relax and enjoy the game.

Wow tex has really matured as a person and a leader and I loved the way he handled Rucci on more than one occasions

If there is a silver lining to Tex's 12 months injury I think it has really matured him and given him great perspective and IMO with a bit if luck can still be a better footballer

Wow tex has really matured as a person and a leader and I loved the way he handled Rucci on more than one occasions

If there is a silver lining to Tex's 12 months injury I think it has really matured him and given him great perspective and IMO with a bit if luck can still be a better footballer

I loved his line - talking about his pace.

Rucci was niggling away at his loss of pace and tex said, he didn't think he lost any. He then asked Rucci if he was at the game Friday night and saw that he lose some pace, Rucci replayed with "no" - as quick as a flash, Tex said "why, what did you do, were you not allowed in"

I loved his line - talking about his pace.

Rucci was niggling away at his loss of pace and tex said, he didn't think he lost any. He then asked Rucci if he was at the game Friday night and saw that he lose some pace, Rucci replayed with "no" - as quick as a flash, Tex said "why, what did you do, were you not allowed in"
now I have to give Rucci a tiny bit of credit there, he was asking Tex about that because Tex himself said (something very similar to) "I may have lost one or two steps of pace but I was never the quickest guy out there in the first place" in an earlier interview they had on channel 7.

it was a bit of a throwaway comment from Tex, but I'm not surprised it was brought up.

One game of SANFL isn't enough of a warm-up IMO. Let him debut in front of 53k at AO against Collingwood.
Totally agree ........3 SANFL games will have him confident & hungry as hell