News Tex

Seems Bigfooty ate my post.
I've often wondered, who is that clapping?

Awesome Wells. He was 25 years old when he wrote, directed and starred in what many believe to be the finest film ever made. Effort.

no blue. it's the problem with idiots

Yes I'm aware he spent a lot of time down back, but still stats don't lie, if small-brained tools like you think Walker is going to be the answer to our goal-kicking problems, clearly you are suffering from serious delusions ...

Someone like Mark LeCras, who is around the same age, is a goal-kicking machine, not Walker ...

And yes, his disposal/kicking is still shit, despite what the apologists think.

And General, stop falling for that gutless excuse for blaming Pagan for Walker's lack of development and success thus far in his career, that excuse cannot be used as an alibi, Pagan's been gone for nearly 2 years now FFS.

Walker's disposal by foot is terrible. Everyone has accepted that. What is not acceptable is using pick #2 on a player who cannot even master the most fundamental element of the game.

As a prized #2 draft pick he has failed to live up to expectation.
But as a tall, quick and attacking player on the wing he is a welcome addition to the team.

Just looking at some of the ins for this week with Bentley, Cloke, Anderson, Garlett, Yarran, etc. the Blues have no depth.

Yes I'm aware he spent a lot of time down back, but still stats don't lie, if small-brained tools like you think Walker is going to be the answer to our goal-kicking problems, clearly you are suffering from serious delusions ...

Someone like Mark LeCras, who is around the same age, is a goal-kicking machine, not Walker ...

And General, stop falling for that gutless excuse for blaming Pagan for Walker's lack of development and success thus far in his career, that excuse cannot be used as an alibi, Pagan's been gone for nearly 2 years now FFS.

And how much of that time has 1AW been out injured for?

Walker's disposal by foot is terrible. Everyone has accepted that. What is not acceptable is using pick #2 on a player who cannot even master the most fundamental element of the game.

As a prized #2 draft pick he has failed to live up to expectation.
But as a tall, quick and attacking player on the wing he is a welcome addition to the team.

Just looking at some of the ins for this week with Bentley, Cloke, Anderson, Garlett, Yarran, etc. the Blues have no depth.

And yet another quality post by that advocate of pessimism... to be honest mate, if you knew anything about football you would know that he does have talent, but it has been distorted by being played out of position by the previous coach (that cp is trying to say isnt to blame for the faults and failings of a lot of our players).

At the end of the day, he is a quality player and will improve now that his shoulder has been sorted.

If we listened to people like yourself and CP and all the other doom-mongers amongst our supporter group, we might as well sack the entire playing squad because they are crap and fold the club and take out bats and balls and go home.

Seen many games in the last 8 years?
Yeah you're right this football club hasn't been crap for a very long time...
And turning about as slowly as the Titanic.

Seen many games in the last 8 years?
Yeah you're right this football club hasn't been crap for a very long time...
And turning about as slowly as the Titanic.

No... not really... mostly watched games on the tele because for 5.5 of the last 8 years, I have been residing in the UK. And for the 2.5 years that I was back in Australia, I was working 7 days a week in West Australia :(

But, if you look at my record of posting on here, the only times that I slam a player is when they have done something to earn the bollocking.

You and CP seem to come out of the woodwork and slate players left right and centre for being crap even when they dont deserve it.

You are like DBlues who only seems to pick on the negative things about the club and never the positives.

Everyone on this list, bar 3 or 4 players are 'tradeable' if the right deal is struck ...

Why is it everyone assumes Walker is going 'to blossom' like Cinderalla and go from an ugly duckling into a swan (from a footy metaphor)

Good player, not great, inconsistent, and with sometimes 'questionable' disposal and lacks football smarts.

On the plus side, has good flexibility and great athletic ability, and lots of untapped potential.

I'd trade him for either a top 5/10 draft pick or a decent young player, but I doubt that would happen, so we're stuck with him.

But don't make the mistake in thinking the club thinks he's 'untouchable', I heard a couple of rumours that the club tried to trade him a couple of years ago...

Walker was a first round pick 2 basically over nearly 7 years ago.I do think he is a good player,but i really doubt being honest any of the 15 clubs would give a first round pick to a player basically 2 years without playing many games.

I would say he would get taken 20 onwards and probably even higher then that to be honest.

I know some will hate this comment but basically Thornton is more important on the list as a defender and probably would get taken before him by any club.

I don't think he would get traded because the pick we love to get,we would unlikely receive.

Any reason why you have the name Magpie03 and are unlisted?
I believe that Walker will slip into our forward line/midfield. I think he is unbelievably damaging, running around kicking goals.

Yes, for a number of reasons.

Firstly Im sick of the trolls like JD etc seeing Carlton listed as you team and turning everything into a slanning match.

Secondly I have been involved on a local level with a club with the magpie monika for 20 years and have worn the number three for most of that time.

Thirdly I like the irony of it.

Lastly do some research and you will find all my posts other than those at local level are all pro Carlton.

I know Andys father Rob posts here from time to time so why not ask him what he thinks. Ill be happy to stand corrected but from memory he told me that Andy was a defender not a midfielder or forward originally.

Anyone old enough to remember Peter Motley in action may also understand just how valuable a weapon Andrew could be in defense.

Also given how suspect Andrews shoulders have been in the past do you really want him in the forward line with Fev given how blinkered Fev can be - anyone remember Fev crashing in Fish and ending his season a few years ago in a similar manner to that which he crashed into Santy on Friday.

Let him loose across half back or the wing I say.

DOA Id love to hear your thoughts if you happen to be lurking.

Off topic and I generally don't do the bandwagon thing, but Citizen Kane just blew me away before I ever knew it to be a classic.

If only we all subscribed to the ultimate moral of the story.
If only.

Yep - absolutely fantastic movie :thumbsu:

Walker was a first round pick 2 basically over nearly 7 years ago.I do think he is a good player,but i really doubt being honest any of the 15 clubs would give a first round pick to a player basically 2 years without playing many games.

I would say he would get taken 20 onwards and probably even higher then that to be honest.

I know some will hate this comment but basically Thornton is more important on the list as a defender and probably would get taken before him by any club.

I don't think he would get traded because the pick we love to get,we would unlikely receive.

+1

Walker isn't worth what most people here think he's worth

Has lost a lot of currency with his recent shoulder issues

+1

Walker isn't worth what most people here think he's worth

Has lost a lot of currency with his recent shoulder issues

Whilst I agree he 'isnt worth what some think he's worth' in draft picks, I think he's worth a hell of a lot to the CFC.

His trade value would necessarily be lower because of injuries nad having learned his footy from Denis Pagan.

His value to carlton is varied but high:

- can play all manner of positions
- can break lines (we keep on having to play Armfield because he does this)
- failing a career forward and on wing, he's a ripper CHB / HBF whose aerial spoiling ability is top notch at our club

I dont want him to be a messiah but i want him to be fit and i think he'd add heaps to our club. If he's fit he'd play 22 games minimum and add value in each. Draft picks are irrelevant - he's quality and he's fast and he's keen.

God I wish we had him for this week.

AW is a gun, I see him as becoming a ryan griffen equivalent player when he returns.

If he plays to the full extent of his potential he will be better than that.......
AW has the full set, on paper...he just needs to put it all together.....

X2. I for one am vey excited for his return. I think he has more positives than the "negatives" that a few people are banging on about in this thread. No doubt when he is fit (which he is likely to be in a few week) that he can be an important player for us, and will be in our best 22. Fact.

While much of that could be true i still fully expect Tex to dominate in 2010. Surgeon said you couldn't pull the shoulder back out with a tractor after this most recent corrective procedure.

He'll be like a 1st rounder all over again in 2010 except much bigger and much hungrier. ;)