That 70's thread

Jun 19, 2007
alternative reality
The last great decade before Western civilisation went in to cultural freefall.

Anyone wishing to post music, film, ideas, fashion comedy or anything 70's is invited to do so here.

In the beginning there was the Aztecs:

Mama. (Now this is jamming, run and hide Wolfmother)[youtube]7sSDrDQ0VEU[/youtube]

I'd be interested for any of the resident muso types to have a stab at the amp set up Thorpy is using with that Les Paul. It makes a brilliant noise.

Yes. The '70s. A tad before my time but still the greatest decade in the history of the world.

Except for disco.

Though, I have a theory that if there wasn't disco, there wouldn't be rap.

So, boo, you disco you.

• Banned
Yes. The '70s. A tad before my time but still the greatest decade in the history of the world.

Except for disco.

Though, I have a theory that if there wasn't disco, there wouldn't be rap.

So, boo, you disco you.

Disco and Punk mate.

So many ideas flying about. What happened to all that creativity?

The Who - Won't get fooled again

[youtube]oUbGLVvfB7Y[/youtube]

The band that laid waste to the 60s and set the foundation for so much greatness in the 70s - The Stooges live in 1970
[YOUTUBE]BD_XCECbAEU[/YOUTUBE]

A selection of posters from Oscar winning movies of the 70s.

patt2.jpg
fren.jpg
godf2.gif

onef.gif
rock.jpg
deer.jpg

The Drive-in was a great place to be in the 70's...

Mad Max-Late 70's...

The Great Texas Dynamite Chase...

Russ Meyer's films Vixen, Beyond The Valley Of Dolls etc...

Vanishing Point...

[YOUTUBE]Q71M88B12WA[/YOUTUBE]

Dirty Mary & Crazy Larry...

[YOUTUBE]p0xE-68P4ao[/YOUTUBE]

All my friends know the low rider
The low rider is a little higher
Low rider drives a little slower
Low rider is a real goer
Low rider knows every street yeah!
Low rider is the one to meet yeah!
Low rider don't use no gas now
Low rider don't drive to fast
Take a little trip
Take a little trip and see
Take a little trip
Take a little trip with me

[YOUTUBE]NhGHv3uckQI[/YOUTUBE]

And you lot call yourselves North Melbourne supporters - shame shame shame on the lot of you.

The '70's WERE BRILLIANT!!!! for those of us old enough to have been there

For starters 1975 & 1977 WERE VERY GOOD YEARS.:thumbsu::thumbsu: I was there in '75 but in London in '77 but still great.

Platform shoes for the shorties
Flares
Satin flares
Satin jackets
Countdown on a Sunday night with Skyhooks, Sherbert and JPY
The Restless Years
Prisoner
"Bat Out of Hell"
Flashing lights under the dance floor at the Disco - this little Disco Babe thought she was "shite HOT"
"The Godfather"
No HIV
VFA match of the day on Ch 10
World of Sport on Sunday morning

Heaps more and for moi - GOOD TIMES :thumbsu:

except for The Sullivans - yurck gag :thumbsdown:

Ahh the good old days when I was but a wee lad.

Skateboarding
Yoyo's
Trading in coke and fanta bottles for 20cents at the milk bar
Scanlons footy cards with the crap chewy in 'em
Hubba Bubba
Sunday roasts
Pie nights at training
Getting the strap at school (not really a highlight though)

Too many to mention:)

Highlights of Primary School...

Popstick racers when it rained, our school was on a slant and the drains were open.

All thinkin we could top Jezza, Peter Knights and Phil Baker takin screamers kick to kick before class and lunchtimes.

Dooges/Marbles. Won and lost plenty.

Tryin to eat apples floating in big buckets of water with your hands tied behind your back on raffle day.

Athletics carnival.

Free milk and Tetra packs of choc milk at recess.

Tryin to talk your way out of gettin the cane but failing cos the headmaster was seriously sadistic. The girls talkin their way out of gettin the slipper from the headmistress by crying and laughing about it later.

Electric.

Interesting statistic: Jimmy Page played session guitar on 65% of all British number one recordings between 1965 and 1970.

Amazing.

Bring back the mutton chop side burns I say.

:thumbsu:

When I think of mutton chops, I think of Mungo Jerry:

In the summertime

[youtube]KbdyrRlYR2E[/youtube]

Ahh the good old days when I was but a wee lad.

Skateboarding

My first board was made out of wood. Very limited handling capacities that one. No doubt some Sk8ter Boi would probably give me a squillion for it now.
Yoyo's
Trading in coke and fanta bottles for 20cents at the milk bar
Scanlons footy cards with the crap chewy in 'em
Hubba Bubba
Sunny Boys, Razz's & Glugs, all of which have made a recent "retro" comeback.:thumbsu:

If you were lucky you'd win a free one inside the wapper.:thumbsu:
Sunday roasts
Pie nights at training
Getting the strap at school (not really a highlight though)

Too many to mention:)

I got the cuts 42 times in grade 5.