That Empty Feeling

• Thread starter Thread starter MF

That's what I like to hear from my fellow Bloods supporters.

Now.....................hands up who wants to be our opponent in the first finals game??? Hello..................anyone.........................yep, just as I thought. They fear us!

Hehehehe........................:thumbsu:

One of the best things about being a Swans supporter is that we never have to give up. If any team in football can win from anywhere in the Final 8 - it's our team.

Having said that, we're going to have to find a lot of improvement and if we don't there's always next season. This year injuries have crueled us SO FAR.

It'd be nice to go in with a win over the Kennetts.:D

I watched the 05 GF today and it has made me feel alot more positive. Regardless of the form we've been in this year, i can't give up on them.. we're still in this, we're still a shot.

The swans tend to play a different kind of footy in finals so it isnt over yet. I have my hopes high they will make a GF. Already set up my parents to look after the kids for a few days while hubby and i head down. Have guaranteed tickets if they make it so lets hope so. They should win this weekend with the home crowd.

Yup me too, this year we upgraded to premiership club so i'm hoping it comes in handy. I love GF week, i wanna be apart of it again so badly!

i'm struggling to comprehend all this today.....we're playing a team that has a genuine chance at a flag, a team that has been in pretty good recent form, and certainly in better form that us overall through the season, a team not stuffed about by injuries and a team absolutely desperate to have another crack at us after we caught them out last time
and this team boasts a superstar forward who'll prove another massive headache for the ever-courageous but undersized craig bolton OR the returning leapin leo, and buddy will kill leo if that's who roos plays on him
the only thing that would make me think we can win this weekend is blind hope...and THEN we're playing finals, possibly the same team, OR the team that caned us last week....
i know finals are very different, but you still need to have some form

Yup me too, this year we upgraded to premiership club so i'm hoping it comes in handy. I love GF week, i wanna be apart of it again so badly!
We dont have premiership club but my parents arent going so we are using theres for tickets I mean we would probably get them anyway, but it is noce to be guarenteed.

I have to say that since I originally started this thread I am feeling a lot better about things.

This is what our club is all about.....getting up after a beating and giving a bit back when it counts.

GO BLOODS!!!!

Here's what I think will happen. This week we aren't travelling. They've been on the road for two weeks now & they are tired. !;)

HOW THE HELL DOES SITTING ON A PLANE TO BRISBANE OR MELBOURNE, GETTING ON A BUS TO YOUR HOTEL ROOM, EATING THE BEST FOOD, CHILLING OUT, HAVING A BIT OF A TRAINING RUN, GETTING ON A BUS TO THE GAME, MAKE A PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL TEAM TIRED. God, Im tired just thinking about that .:confused:

talk about empty.
im absolutely sick and tired of this empty comment - “So we've got to come out against Hawthorn and make sure we play Swans football this week.”
This time it was Crouch. shut uuuuuuuuuuuuup.

Tempted to repond ealier but now say

Many Swans supporters are SPOILT.

Bloods have for a decade eclipsed their "on paper" potential, and for last 4 years the core 24 have played hard demanding lengthy season football.

There has to be ups and downs.

Yet again they should play finals. The Hawk game is a virtual "dead rubber" and better to prepare and potentially concede (even to inflate Hawks to potential top 4) than flog themselves to gain nothing in bottom half of the 8.

Be proud, with what they have and will achieve with what they have had they have made gold out of excreta for years.

GO SWANS!

Bloods have for a decade eclipsed their "on paper" potential, and for last 4 years the core 24 have played hard demanding lengthy season football.

Yet again they should play finals. The Hawk game is a virtual "dead rubber" and better to prepare and potentially concede (even to inflate Hawks to potential top 4) than flog themselves to gain nothing in bottom half of the 8.

Be proud, with what they have and will achieve with what they have had they have made gold out of excreta for years.

GO SWANS!

fair call corpy. but im not debating that at all. Im proud of the boys who have given us loads to cheer about for quite some time now. It will never be the same without them

I can never feel "empty" about this team.

I can't see what's so different about 2007 to most years we've made the finals before. Injuries have dictated almost all of our finals campaigns. And many of those were pretty mediocre years.

96 - Great season. Light on key injuries until the very last month of footy - (which probably cost us the flag). Plugger's groin injury crucial.

97 - we were runners up the year before, but depite bursts of form, we collapsed into the finals struggling with injuries and were annihilated in the finals. Depth became highlighted as a major worry.

98 - Another good season. But some major deficiencies in the skill base and some key injuries (notably Kelly) left us as phantom contenders despite making the Semis.

99 - Pathetic season masked by making the finals. We lost by 7 goals or more 7 times that year. I call this one the year of the "Steggler" because we really were like a bunch of headless chooks. One of our worst lists in almost half a decade. 10 goals shy of competitive with League leaders. Made the finals but weren't a chance in hell that year. Our final was Plugger's goal record chase.

2000 - The year we had to have. Missed the finals after several years of seeing it coming. Some blamed Plugger's retirement. But it was far more comprehensive than just that.

2001 - Minimal improvement. Despite a couple of exceptions, our middle aged players who should have been the backbone of the team weren't that good, and the solid players that would be the bedrock of the Roos era were still learning the trade. List still lacked basic depth. ROK was a notable rising star. But injuries to a number of players (including 3? sustained in the final against the Hawks) buried us.

2002 - Eade finally loses his job. No finals footy. But the Roos resurgence begins.

2003 - Breaks the shackles for a massive bounce back. Some young players finally demanding spots force across the board improvement. This time our 25ish players are beginning to show some promise. But again too many key injuries at the wrong time of the year, and too many young players tiring from a long season to sustain the intensity.

2004 - Very similar to this year. Not a huge amount of injuries. But just a general war weariness and some interrupted pre-seasons to stars like Tiger and Goodes that led to a drop off. The loss to the Saints was almost a formality.

2005 - Everything comes together. Young players hardened after accelerated growth under Roos, lack of major injuries, some miraculous finals shennanigans and then "that" mark.

2006 - Couple of key retirements. But our excellent experience gets us over the line time and time again. Injuries in the last few weeks crucial (some still haunting us to this day).

2007? - the return of the dreaded injury plague that started late in 2006 gets worse. To be continued...

Same old same old really.

GO SWANS!

You're right, Sydney never really had a side that matched the Adelaide team that went back to back, the Kangaroos and Eagles who dominated the 90's, or the Essendon team of 2000, but ever since i've followed the Swans they've almost always achieved more than i expected them to. Since 1996, i think we've only missed out on the 8 once, or twice at the most. That's better than almost every other club!! Plus, we never bottom out, which makes our feats even more impressive.

Glad to see you doubters are back with it!

I AGrEE!!

yes, yes....i've already acknowledged it eslewhere, but i might've been too gloomy... if today was the kinda footy we'll take into the finals, we're gonna scare the shite out of some teams, starting with the pies
but please PLEASE let's play the same way....