That hurt....Well Done Brisbane!

Smokin

Jun 9, 2001
That 2nd half they killed us - full credit to the Brisbane Lions.

I am shattered, not because we lost, but that game was very winnable, and if things went our way at the start of that 3rd it may have been over halfway thru that quarter.

However, Brisbane had their chance in the first, but missed too many shots.

I suppose Brisbane winning is good for footy, doesnt make me feel that much better tho.

Yea, I know exactly what we will cop now.

Yea, we probably have underachieved the past 3 years - 1 flag isnt a fantastic return.

Yea, we arnt the invincible team the rest of the competition labelled us. However, I dont recall too many Essendon people buying into that hype.

We didnt have enough winners on the day - and Brisbane came out to play. Our form the past 10-12 weeks hasnt been fantastic, but I still thought we had it in us to put up a good effort on the day. I was wrong.

I thought Brisbane would struggle in Melbourne. I was wrong.

I probably didnt rate Brisbane as high as they should be rated - they are a top side, and it will take a good team to stop them repeating next year.

I have no doubt we will be back next year. I honestly think we are a better team that showed today, and this year as a whole.

One good thing, at least next year the Lion will be a hunted species by the rest of the AFL, not us for a change!

Enjoy this flag Brissie fans - you deserved it, and as any Essendon fan will tell you - winning a flag is much harder than you think!!

Originally posted by Smokin

Yea, we arnt the invincible team the rest of the competition labelled us. However, I dont recall too many Essendon people buying into that hype.

Where the hell did you get this from??? Ask around for the last year or so and see what sort of response your own have been calling the Dons. I seem to recall hearing things along the lines of 'greatest in history' and 'back to back to back' was a certainty. Now you come out with this!

The rest of the competition...

Ahh, self delusion must be a wonderful thing.

I think you may be right Grendel. I remember Mantis starting a thread after the Kangaroos v Essendon match in round 16 which was titled something like: "All hail the greatest team ever".

Turns out that match was probably the worst thing that could have happened to Essendon.

What??

Maybe one or two people here said it, but overall, it wasnt us at all labelling us this!

Labelling your team as unbeatable or whatever is the LAST thing you want for you team.

Everyone would tell us how good we are.

Not me, nor any Essendon fans I know has been saying all this crap. None.

This is what frustrated me the most - how overrated we were in the eyes of most of the competition.

I knew we were beatable - every team is and has been in the history of this game.

Bookies having us odds on favourites to win the flag before this year even started had nothing to do with what Essendon fans were saying.

we have been viewed by all as some super team - to deny this is a joke.

So your now telling me Smokin, that me, Darky, Asgardian, Jod etc etc etc (just using general names as an example only) have been the ones all this time saying how we have been pushing the lines of Essendons invincibility? :rolleyes:

I think most here aknowledge that the Dons have been a fantastic side, but i for one was always looking forward to the challenge on playing (and still am next year btw) to measure up against the form team of the competition. Ive never thought they were 'invincible' and i kind of doubt the majority of posters on BigFooty wouldnt feel the same way as I do.

Get of it mate. It was a silly comment to make in the first place.

grendel - yes, the football community in general considered us invincible at times during the past 18 or so months.

You cant deny that.

If it was you not, I dont know.

However, I was generalising, and I think its laughable to suggest that there was a feeling around the AFL at the end of last year that Essendon were a super team, or invincible, or one of the best ever etc.

I for one have cringed every time somebody would say.

Its puts undue pressure on a team and it is simply not correct.

This team isnt as good as 84-85, Im not saying this team cant go on and win next years flag, but at this stage, the 84-85 team is the best Essendon team I have seen in my lifetime.

If you think Essendon hasnt carried some sort of "super team' or "invincible" label at least after last year you are lying.

And I would like to see any proof at all anybody from Essendon has ever called the team invincible or words to that effect.

After we lost to foots last year, everyone was saying "gee, the can lose" or something like that. We were considered unbeatable. It was laughable.

Smokin, please dont call me a liar.

One, go into the Dons forum. Have a look around for a thread debating what was the greater team, the Dons 2000 or the 84/85 side.

Look at the very lengthy debate i had with Dan over it.

The 84/85 side was and is now indisputably a better side. I said it then, i say it now. Also in that thread was where i first heard all the talk about this new 'invincible' Essendon side.

It was coming from Dons fans at least in equal to that which was coming from the media. I still say that ive yet to hear to many non-Essendon fans calling them invincible either. Heard called MANY things, but not that! ;)

Your the one that stated in the opening of this thread that others were the first to call the Dons 'invincible' (nothing about a 'super team there, id agree with that label btw). What im saying is that i dont personally believe that to be the case and unless i see otherwise that is the line i will continue to take.

Already Blues2001 has said about Manitis statements after the North game (fair enough at the time too). Im telling you now how Dan pushed the case for the 2000 side to be called better than 84/85. Show me some evidence to your case about the 'general' community calling them 'invincible'. Super team, yes but thats not what you originally said.

Cheers.

ps, the 88/89 side is still a better side than all of your lot! :p ;)

Cmon, untill just before the footscray game last year the general footy public, and media questioned if we were beatable.

If that wasnt the case, the media definitely gave this impression.

The fact that Leigh Mathews had to use the "if it bleeds we can kill it" quote proves that somebody, somewhere had suggested Essendon couldnt bleed! Sure, maybe nobody really believed it, but it was definitely said!

The 84-85 v 2000 dons debate will probably continue for ages. I go with the 84-85 team because for a start we won two flags from 3 GFs, and we were up against a side which would go on to be one of the best all time sides.

The 2000 Essendon side had statistically the best season ever, and as a season was better than either the 84 or 85 ones, however I believe great teams need to be defined over a period of time, not just one year.

Dont get me wrong, our current team isnt all that far off the 84-85 team, and if we win next years flag I would probably lean to this team.

Yea 88-89 you had a great team, f@ck, in the 80's you had a great team full stop! If this current crop can get anywhere near your 80's mob, Id be absolutely rapt!!!!

Actually a good mate Hawthorn supporter called me after the game - he reckons this Essendon team reminds him a bit of the hawthorn feeling in 85. 3 great seasons, only one flag, 84 slipped thru your fingers similar to our one flag, with two very close goes in 99 and this year. However, hawthorn went on with the job and proved to be a champion team. I hope we can do the same!!

*Heavy sigh*

Okay, you originally said that Yea, we arnt the invincible team the rest of the competition labelled us.

What i disagreed with (and still do) is that the rest of the competition said any such thing.

You ARE a superside. No doubt and im with you that just becuase you lost today doesnt mean that there are not more flags that might be won by the core of this side.

However, this year in particular and last year to an extent the labelling of Essendon by other clubs (be they coaching staff, supporters) the actual term 'invincible' i dont believe i saw to often. When i did see it, it was more from Dons fans than anywhere else. Not ALL Dons fans, but more from them than others. Again fair enough too with the record you have had over the last three years.

So its still a mystery to me where you came up with the notion of the 'rest of the competition' labelling you with that tag of invincibility.

I can wear the 'super team' but not the other.

Cheers.

Just go to google and do a search for "Essendon" and "invincible" and you will see a few articles pop up.

Actually, a few hawthorn websites had articles claiming Essendon were at least somewhat invincible.

During last year it was a popular term used in the media at least.

I remember Bruce actually using the term a fair bit on channel 7, generally as a question tho. It still beats me why any Essendon fan would call their own team invincible like you say - to me that just sets one up for one rather large fall!!

This year not so much, as its hard to be called invincible when you lose 5 games in a year!!

Well done Lions - a great win. ;)

As usual, Essendon and Sheedy (what an idiot) didn't pay its opponents enough respect.

James, you could have been a little more gracious, as the team was on the podium last year. :rolleyes: Save the 'letting the supporters down' routine for the Family Day.

Michele

Yes Congrats Brisbane.

Very unhappy, obviously. I didn't really rate Brisbane much until very recently, thought they had an easy run. Still thought we'd win. We didn't, they did, and they obviously deserved it.

Was a better game than grand finals of late. (well, not for me, but generally).

Jimmy let himself down with his speach, but was obviously uspet. I wouldn't have been able to go up there at all if it were me. We can forgive him.

Thought we just weren't as hungry as we could have been. Not as hungry as Brisbane, I guess you can understand that.

Yes not very happy.

But to Brisbane supporters, enjoy the win. Lots.

And just thought I'd add that while there have been some Essendon supporters who have made stupid comments in the past, they aren't the majority. People are very quick to label anything that comes out of an Essendon supporter's mouth as arrogant, especially last year.
"We're playing well this year"
"Oh you arrogant bastard"

Originally posted by jod23
I knew, and so did a lot of others that they could be beaten. Today proved that.

Gee, you said that?

Who let you into that privy information??

You mean, you knew all along Essendon could lose ???:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Well done Brisbane..quite amazing considering the state they were in after the thrashing they received from Carlton in Round 8. When they were installed 2nd favourite for the flag I said I didn't rate them...how embarrassing!

Clearly the better side on the day, in what was a great game, full credit must go to them.

And to Kevin Sheedy, who claimed a 70% fit Mark Mercuri and James Hird is better than a 100% fit McGrath and Bolton - you must be kidding!

That hurt....Well Done Brisbane!