That is not football

Oct 9, 2006
Perth Wildcats basketball
Look I know that the saints got a goal from a ridiculous free kick so you could look at that second quarter Sydney goal, late in that quarter, as pay back.

But it wasn,t an over active blind umpire, it was an over active pea brain
interchange adjudicator, that gave the Swans a goal they didn,t earn .
That is not what football is about,someone needs sacking fair dinkum.

The Swans will win, they are really on but surely the fools that run the rules have to have a look at the over adjudication of this sport.

One of these idiots and the idiotic rules they have to follow will cost someone a premiership.

It has no effect on the game if Kossi runs across the lines instead of inside the interchange "gate" as they call it . That is disgraceful and like a lot of things is stuffing this game up. Give us a break for god sakes whats going on , ITS A BLOODY SPORT NOT A WAR.

Yeah, this is pretty much spot on. The Swans deserve the half time lead, that's pretty clear, but the interchange breach spoiled the end of the first half for me, I was desperately hoping that we wouldn't concede a goal in the last minute as St Kilda were about to go forward, and then we get gifted a goal we didn't really earn. It mars the game as a spectacle IMO.

Rules are there for a reason, Kosi broke them and the ump made a correct call. Instead of blaming the umpire for making a correct decision, why not blame Kosi for being a knob and not running in between two massive yellow lines? How hard is it to do that correctly?

Yes, it is incredibly hard on the players to get a free and a 50m for such a small thing, but they know about it, and it is incredibly easy to not do, so if you do it then the fault is 100% on you, not the umpire who called it correctly.

If the AFL were serious about policing this rule, they'd ahve a peg in the ground.

Well, technically the player did the wrong thing. Goodness knows how often that happens in a game, though.

Hopefully this will prompt the AFL into making a change.

Yeah... Cause who can see two massive yellow lines nowadays? :rolleyes:
Kosi can't see anything in his peripheral vision - common fact that was proven again by the tiny, wafer thin, light footed Chris Tarrant. Luckily St Kilda provide a chauffeured car for him otherwise I would feel less safe on the roads.

it was an over active pea brain
interchange adjudicator

Yep. What a dick that guy is :rolleyes:

His entire job, his entire purpose for being at the game is to watch that players are interchanged correctly. WTF did you expect him to do?

"Oh well, even though I'm paid to do this and I'll most likely be fired if I **** it up I'll just let it go because it's a silly rule"

Seriously? You can't blame a guy for doing what he gets paid to do.

If you're going to blame anyone blame the rules committee.

I'm of the opinion that it should just be a heavy fine for the players and or club. Surely this is an effective way to prevent it from happening without it ruining the game.

As I saw the incident, he had his foot well inside the line on the boundary side and crossed it as he stepped onto the field. So, intent to obey the rule was there. Technically failed to obey because he was looking to where he had to get to. Infraction worth the penalty? Hardly. Officiousness has replaced officiating in the direction from the AFL. The line judge was no doubt obeying orders. That wasn't a defense at Nuremburg either.

It goes way beyond whether its easy to do or not to do. Its about being sensible in a sporting arena and that sense comming from administrators.

The over reaction to having 19 men on the ground for a split second is a joke, and to cost clubs goals down the track for a fraction of a second is stupid and not needed.

I find the fact that when a player sneaks onto the ground and his mate spots him and hits him with a pass while he,s on his own , its almost like its pre arranged , actually it probably is. That is more unfair in my mind .

I think footy is about the competition for the ball between men not being swift and sneaky.

Real game dying I,m afraid.

The rule is pretty clear..lets not blame the adjudicator for enforcing it...how about we lay the blame on Kosi...who has the periphial vision of Mr Mcgoo.
Well then lets get really silly and officially protest that Kosi can,t see properly so we,d better let him off , give that goal the bullett go back and start again, rematch.

Then we can fine StKilda for not checking Kosi,s eye sight before the game and under OH&S the club could be charged for failing to apply safe working conditions in the interchange area.

Then Kosi could be reprimanded for not telling the club under OH&S rules that he couldn,t see the interchange lines . Why because he was looking at where he was running to or that he was irresponsible or , or , or.

Well thats how bloody stupid it is .
Its like getting the death penalty for double parking, its nonsense, and it really DOES spoil the game.

The greatest farce of the whole rule is that it probably happens a dozen times a game and is not enforced. The fact that a man is paid good money to sit and watch a line for 2 hours, making game-altering decisions on an action that has absolutely zero bearing on the contest, is completely laughable.

Umpiring needs to be simplified... not made more trivial. This stuff causes football people to switch off. Just pay the obvious ones that actually affect the contest, and let the rest go.

That is not football