The '06 back six

One of the things that concerns me is how much our defence leaks like a sieve. It doesn't take much for teams to run over the top of us when they win the ball from us.

The problem is that there is no reason why we should be doing any worse in that area than we were in 2006. Take a look at the backline we had then, during our peak performance run of games on the trot:

HB Mundy Johnson Black
B Parker McPharlin Hayden

Swap Parker for Grover and you generally have the same squad. We are missing Hayden and Black has retired, but that is by the bye. What stands out is that our backline has hardly resembled what we were putting out there in 2006, despite having very much the same players.

In 2006 we were conceding an average of 86 points a game. This year we are conceding at average of 123 points - and not one of the games has been near the 06 average.

Meanwhile, our midfield is performing almost the same as it ever was, and our forward line is doing little worse (kicking 82 points a game this year versus 95 in 2006, despite much lower output from Pav).

My belief: return the backline to what it was in 2006, with blokes like Broughton + Suban coming in as needs be. It won't make us world beaters but it will stop run on goals and perhaps win us a few more games. Mundy will never be a top class midfielder, because he cannot make enough contests - him and Johnson are far better suited to reading the play at half back. When Johnson was doing that on the weekend, we had the lowest score kicked against us this year and came the closest to winning.

Perhaps the difference was Shane Parker. Of the 6 he is the no 1 defender.

I was also thinking that didn't we use Dodd with Mundy as the spare man.
Hehe. I don't think Parker was the difference.

The point is we're throwing players everywhere - trying to make them midfielders or 'swingmen', while playing unaccountable footy. It isn't working, and I don't think anyone's learning anything.

I think Harvey should go back to basics. Man on man with a spare man floating around. We'd get done much less harshly and Harvey would be able to rotate new players through positions as needed, rather than an attempt at a revolution.

We are missing Hayden and Black has retired, but that is by the bye.

Really?

We've got nobody who can replace Black's output (21.4d, 5.7m and 2.1t) from 2006. Duffield was the closest, in terms of numbers, his effectiveness wasn't close to Black's though. Hopefully he'll be back this week, personally I'd like him in the midfield though. Which leaves Suban, who will hopefully get there in time, but he's not there yet.

Head is playing in Hayden's role. Again, vastly different output/players.

Dodd was generally our FP/HB in 2006 with Mundy/Johnson playing as a loose man. Then again, Dodd was able to play on Reiwoldt back in 2006, how do you reckon that would work out this year? Things change, players change. 2006 was 3 seasons ago now.

Swapping Grover for Parker doesn't generally give you the same squad either. Parker was far more versatile than Grover. He effectively gave us two defenders in one.

You're correct in saying we need to settle the back-line down. Then again Harvey also needs to know what he's working with. Rebuilding is hard.

Really?

We've got nobody who can replace Black's output (21.4d, 5.7m and 2.1t) from 2006. Duffield was the closest, in terms of numbers, his effectiveness wasn't close to Black's though. Hopefully he'll be back this week, personally I'd like him in the midfield though. Which leaves Suban, who will hopefully get there in time, but he's not there yet.

Head is playing in Hayden's role. Again, vastly different output/players.

Dodd was generally our FP/HB in 2006 with Mundy/Johnson playing as a loose man. Then again, Dodd was able to play on Reiwoldt back in 2006, how do you reckon that would work out this year? Things change, players change. 2006 was 3 seasons ago now.

Swapping Grover for Parker doesn't generally give you the same squad either. Parker was far more versatile than Grover. He effectively gave us two defenders in one.

You're correct in saying we need to settle the back-line down. Then again Harvey also needs to know what he's working with. Rebuilding is hard.
Black was an attacking backman. From a defensive point of view, he didn't stop many goals, but was there to link play up forward. That's a problem we're having now, but nowhere near as bad as the leaking of goals that occurs when teams are rebounding from defence. They get the ball in their backline and move it quickly to goal, while our players are standing still trying to mark space.

The problem is we're stretching players thinly with the zone. We're having blokes like Gilmore and Head zoning off, but they're neither stopping goals nor providing links for forward movements.

I reckon Dodd could still tackle Riewoldt. He's a terrible player with the ball in his hands, but does a reasonable enough stopping job.

Even comparing to last year we're conceding 30 more points per game and the player turnover is even less dramatic in the backline. Give the WAFL quality players simpler roles, and our defence will work much better.

Parker wasn't exactly a top class defender though, he was consistent at being average. Every now and then he would towel up an opponent but he also had his downsides. There was that period where he would gift 1-2 goals each game with his kicking out after behinds.We had players like Parker who may be able to defend OK, but if you look at the better defenders like Scarlett/Fletcher they also have an offensive side to them and decent skills. Our best defender is McPharlin, he is average 1 on 1 but his other work makes up for it.

I have liked Tarrant down back, but who do we have coming up for the backline of the future premiership Freo? We need someone 192-195cm who is fast with decent size on them to defend the likes of Franklin and rucks when they go forward. ATM we are relying on average defenders or undersized grunts to do the work, we don't have anyone solid down there or anyone solid coming up.

It would depend on number of inside 50's, number of clearances, the number of clangers, the number of options coming out of defence.

It is only so long the defensive unit can hold on if the ball just keeps getting down there and the midfield are not accountable.

If the team is scoring well it lifts the whole side. We have had quite a few key moments in every game which have had a huge negative impact. You can just feel everyone in the crowd thinking "F#*$, here we go again", and I bet the players do the same. Everyone drops their head and the flood gates open.

Also when we do a lot of good work and dominate (but fail to capitalize) and then you think "geez if they happened to pinch a goal it would undo everything" and guess what happens. Confidence is king, and we lack it big time.

Perhaps swap Suban For Black,
Than of course Grover for Parker, and you have a fair back six of:

HB Mundy Johnson Suban
B Grover McPharlin Hayden

It would depend on number of inside 50's, number of clearances, the number of clangers, the number of options coming out of defence.

It is only so long the defensive unit can hold on if the ball just keeps getting down there and the midfield are not accountable.

If the team is scoring well it lifts the whole side. We have had quite a few key moments in every game which have had a huge negative impact. You can just feel everyone in the crowd thinking "F#*$, here we go again", and I bet the players do the same. Everyone drops their head and the flood gates open.

Also when we do a lot of good work and dominate (but fail to capitalize) and then you think "geez if they happened to pinch a goal it would undo everything" and guess what happens. Confidence is king, and we lack it big time.
When Head buggered up that easy goal in the first I knew we were in for a shit day, despite being in front.

Seriously, the bloke is all at sea at this level.

the backline isnt that much different really

i think it shoudl line up like this

Broughton Tarrant Grover

Hayden McPharlin Mundy

tarrant, mcpharlin and grover to purely stop the 3 best forwards and hayden, mundy and broughton to provide the majority of the ball coming out of the backline.

Also the kicking out so far this season has been disgraceful. i think the best shot is mcpharlin or maybe mundy, but no real option.

The difference that is glaring IMO is that Johnson was a key back (Full back for the first half of the season and CHB for the other) that did some very good jobs on key defenders in 2006. Since then he has degenerated into a bit player.

The other thing is that not only are teams scoring more against us than any other team, but they are doing it with ridiculous accuracy. Teams are more accurate against us than any other side.

Like sieve, mate!

St Kilda were pretty accurate on the weekend. We could quite well get done.