The 1984 Grand Final

Arch

Jan 24, 2000
The Pub.
I just got a copy and since my childhood memories of the game are pretty hazy, I thought id revisit the old days.

MAN HAS FOOTBALL CHANGED.

We should all be thankful for what our game is today. Its so much slicker, better skilled and more professional than back then.I dont know if that was just a particularly scrappy game, or if that's what all footy was like back then.

also,The umpiring today is nothing short of perfection when compared to the shocking effort in that game. I say shocking effort but Im judging it year 2000 standards so I might be a bit harsh there. But gee so many "mystifiers". Play ons when the ball goes out of bounds, THE most mystifying holding the ball decision ive EVER seen (awarded to us I might add in the 2nd qtr)- and push in backs,early jumps, high tackles etc etc etc all day never called. amazing !!!

One thing though is that todays football definitely protects "soft" blokes i reckon.
Back then you had to be a real gladiator to play footy. It was so tough. Every altercation turns into a punch up. Every hit was brutal. I think Roger Merrit was allowed to finish punching the head of his opponent a few more times before the ump reported him.
Leigh Matthews (dirty bastard) took about 3 blokes out in the first qtr !!!!!!!!!
another interesting thing is how almost half of todays AFL coaches were playing in that game !!!!
anyway- quite an experience to relive.

Our game has come so far, no doubt.

ALthough weve lost some of the gladitorial element- todays game is much better i reckon.

A.

Arch,

I've watched that game (or more specifically, the last quarter) so many times, I can repeat the entire commentary.

It was a scrappy game. To see a really great game, go back two weeks and watch the Second-Semi Final. One of the greatest of all time.

I was 9 years old when the 1984 GF happened. I remember it vividly. My first ever premiership, and one of the most emotional games you would ever get.

4 goals down at 3 quarter time, having only kicked 5 goals for the game. Then we kick 9 goals in the last quarter !!!!!

How about magical Leon baker, with his blind turn to put us in front.

One of the best last quarters you will ever see. A must see for any Essendon fan.

First ever grand final Dan?

You guys are so lucky!

Arch,

It may come as a surprise
wink.gif
but I have a copy of the 1966 Grand Final and it is like a totally different sport. Still great mind you!

Commentary was fantastic too!

The game brings a tear to my eye everytime.

"All this talk of getting old... its getting me down my love..." The Verve got that right.

Seriously Arch, still a bit early to be rabbiting on about 16 year old glories when we've got a premiership to worry about - shit I for one am almost hoping that Carlton beat us in Round 20 just to get the fire in the belly (if Sydney is anything to go by). \

The key word there of course is "almost" - there's no way that scum deserve to be on the the same ground let alone deserve a win against us... just in case you thought I was relaxing my stance...

Dutch

PS. I see Murphy is almost back - time to Big Jack to work on his racial anecdotes...

Arch

I like this thread because it leads into the old "would a champion team from 10-20 years ago beat a champion team today?"

I have seen comparisons of the Hawthorn team of the 80's with the current Essendon team a no. of times on this site. People have said that the old Hawks teams would have eaten them up.

I don't agree with this. Todays footballers are bigger, stronger, faster, fitter, more skillfull (overall as a group), more versatile and more professional. They also play at a higher level of intensity for longer periods in games.

If the current essendon team played in the eighties they would be just as fit as they were then, and vice versa. The style of play or fitness level cannot be used to compare the 'greatness' of a team.

J Kennedy (I think) said the 1971 hawthorn team would beat the 1961 one on skill, but the 1961 team mighn't have let them get the ball.

i think if the current bombers side (or say norths premiership sides)played back in the 80's (and were allowed to hit and pummell their opponents as ferociously as they were back then) they'd destroy any team from the eighties.
The guys back then were so skinny (by and large) and couldnt even kick the ball as far it seemed.
Handballing wasnt as accurate either, and seemed to be a 2nd thought.

anyway- I especially liked the way sheeds was credited (mostly by Lou Richrads) for the turn around. After the game the interviewer said "sheeds- you should take all the glory" (or something to that effect) and Sheeds went "nah- its all the players mate"
He barely even touched the premiership cup on the dias (sp?) and let TD do the main "holding".
very admirable I think.
You could feel the emotion especially since we hadnt won one since 65.
Leon Baker played AWESOME and I reckon must've been close to the norm smith.
Was also funny seeing a young dermie, dipper, and (as Lou kept saying) "the blonde headed Harvey".

anyway- i think our score at 3 qtr time was something like 5.14, and to kick 9 in the last was amazing.

To the older blokes:
any ideas on which game I should buy next ???
ive only got the 93 prelim, and this one so far.
Was considering the 96 semi v WCE, but any suggestions would be appreciated.

cheers
Arch.

PS- also funny just looking at the boundary signage:
Mitsubishi Sigma !!!!!! wow
AWA REMOTE CONTROL !!!!!! wow
Cigarette advertising !!!! wow.

lol.

------------------
BOMBERS REIGN SUPREME.

If you don't mind black and white how about the 1965 GF ?

I think it is available from AFL Video and is the original ABC television broadcast.

Would be good not only to check out the 1960's vintage Bombers but also you can have a really close look at what is still PROBABLY the best St Kilda team ever.

I didn't see much of the early eighties (I was in england then) but how about Matthews, Brereton, Mew, Merrett to name a few who would not ne 'destroyed' quite so easily by any players from any era

Ah yes, the 84 Grand Final - fond memories indeed !

I remember sitting with two mates in front of the Long Room at 3/4 time in drizzel and looming darkness looking at each other and shaking our heads saying 'not again'(after the '83 debacle). The 4 goal deficit seemed insurmountable.

And then the succession of amazing Ess goals including those of Timmy Watson and Leon Baker. And we all know the final result......

However,one of the real lowlights of the final quarter was the mongrel act of Dipper's on Kevin Walsh. Done for a purpose no doubt to stop the flow. Terry Daniher putting his arm on one of the umps and talking earnestly to him - at the same time trying to marshal the troops. Can't remember the tribunal result- hope he got six !

I have an original ABC tape of the game with Drew Morphett and Mike Fitzpatrick commentating and Fitzpatrick saying how disgusting Dippers act was and how he should have 'gone' the week before for wiping out Curly Austin from Carlton. Good stuff.

Too true BA,

With the amount of talent we had in the 1960s, we should have at least a few more premierships. Also wasted a big opportunity in 1971 after leading by 3 goals at 3/4 time.

Could you imagine how much ridiculing about our teams history that would have saved me?

Oh well, I will continue to live on 1966 for a few more years (decades).
wink.gif

I know what you mean about a different game. I have 1978 final video and it was mostly 'paddleball' you know run along bent over the ball pretending to pick it up and hope you get a free for a high tackle. Like several peter materas all going for it !

Arch.

I suggest Essendon's last game of 1992 Vs Hawthorn. An absolute classic!

BTW all. Take a look at the opening quarter of the 1989 GF. That was footy at it's most beautiful! Hear Dennis Commetti's awe/despair after a piece of Hawthorn play from defence ending in the arms of Dunstall. You could almost hear his inner thought "No one will EVER beat this team"

Sainter

Who do you rate as your best team ever ?

64,65,66,67,70,71, 91, 92, or 97

Of course your 66 model went all the way but were they the best StK squad ever ?

Also do any teams pre 60's rate a mention ?

Gawd - Swans fan discusses with Saints fan who was their best team - why can't fans of loser teams get a life !!??!!
rolleyes.gif

Arch - BAKER WAS ROBBED.

I've watched the game 40 times and still can't work out how they gave it to bloody Billy.

Baker played an absolute blinder, got us back into the match, would've lost without him. Billy did very little I reckon and gave away alot of frees.

Any opposition supporters who can't understand our love of Baker should have a look at that game and see why. BOMBER LEGEND and he was there for only 2 years (I think).

------------------
BOMBER BLITZ IN 2000!

hawkforce,
yeh- i remember 89 pretty well (was old enough to take it in by that point !)

I reckon probably 89, 90 were the last days of the old era of brutality. *RIP*

Ricey- actually I was going to say that too but you never know if any huge billy fans might bite yer head off. Leon played a full 4 qtr game, missed a few gettable shots in the first half (well who didnt), but was the star in my mind.
also thought weston played a ripper last qtr, along with timmy, and harves.

HOPEFULLY in 2016, we can be talking about how good our 2000 GF win was huh ????

:)

------------------
BOMBERS REIGN SUPREME.

BA, pre-60s I think our only other team that made the Grand Final was 1913.

As for our best team, I have only witnessed the last 3 teams and of them I would say both the 1991 and 1992 teams were much better than the 1997 team. If you have a look at the talent of those teams across the board, I think we had the potential to give Hawthorn and West Coast a run for their money.

I wouldn't be able to pinpoint a specific team of the 1960s but I have been told many times that the talent we had during the period had the potential to have an era similar to Hawthorn in the 1980s. When you look at guys of the calibre of Baldock, Stewart, Neale, Ditterich and co, it was a waste.

I suppose this would be a very hard question for you to answer as well, going back to 1933.

We can reminisce about our great sides too, just don't have as many and have to go back a lot further!
biggrin.gif

Yeah - regarding the 'what might of been' scenarios of days gone by, the Swans were total particulary bad in the 1930's when we had the best squad in the comp. and probably the best squad ever to wear the red and white.

Yet we only won the one flag (1933) but we were in the finals most years, and contested the 1934, 35 and 36 Grand Finals losing to you guessed it Collingwood every time.

Saint 1960s were the same - a great team, one of the greatest of all time - but only the one flag to show for it - very sad, and very frustrating for fans (as you are well aware)

BSA,

Actually, you lost the 1934 GF to Richmond, then you lost "back-to-back" Grand Finals to Collingwood in 1935-36, after, you guessed it, finishing on TOP both years. The Maggies finished second both years.

Although Collingwood went on to lose 3 consecutive Grand Finals in the next 3 years (1937-38-39) to Geelong, Carlton and Melbourne respectively.

So, it wasn't all bad.

The 1984 Grand Final