The 20 biggest sport stadiums in the world ranked by current capacity

bombersfan4000

Jun 30, 2014
http://www.foxsports.com.au/what-th...y/news-story/80518908e2555e277565b87fd019e462

WORK has started in India on the world’s biggest cricket stadium that will be able to house 110,000 spectators.

The $155 million ground in Ahmedabad will surpass the Melbourne Cricket Ground as the sport’s largest arena.

The development is so big it will house an Olympic-sized swimming pool, three practice grounds and an indoor academy.

The Maracana stadium in Brazil had an all-time record attendance for a sporting event in an enclosed stadium of 199,854 for the Brazil v Uruguay match in the 1950 World Cup Final.

The crowd number is an unofficial number — with the actual number who bought tickets a mere 173,850.

THE 20 BIGGEST SPORTING STADIUMS IN THE WORLD?

1 RUNGRADO MAY DAY STADIUM — 114,000

548ec6fde18b504b0c1cc789779cd7c9

The massive Rungrado May Day Stadium in North Korea.Source: Supplied
Officially the world’s biggest stadium when it opened in North Korean capital Pyongyang in 1989, boasting a capacity of 150,000 at the time. Since then the area has been redeveloped, turning it all-seater and reducing the capacity although North Korea have yet to officially give a new figure. But stadium experts have analysed plans, photos and scale and the new total is widely accepted to be 114,000.

2 MICHIGAN STADIUM — 113,065

0363aac0b0488c1977f459f0c267aaba

Football fans attend the University of Michigan versus Michigan State game at Michigan Stadium.Source: Getty Images
Home to the University of Michigan American Football team, originally built in 1927 at a cost of $1.4 million. Nicknamed ‘The Big House’, the Wolverines have drawn a crowd of over 100,000 for every home match since November 1975 — a run stretching more than 200 games.

The venue is also used for other sports and in 2014 hosted a pre-season match between Manchester United and Real Madrid that drew a crowd of 109,318.

3 BEAVER STADIUM — 110,753

ce076a39dcd565863bbdb6ac6c5b90b9

Beaver Stadium.Source: Supplied
Home ground to Penn State, and built on the Pennsylvania State University campus — regarded as one of the most intimidating grounds for opposition teams to visit in college football.

4 OHIO STADIUM — 104,944

48dc4b949f2a4b6a423e835cc12e56f9

Ohio Stadium.Source: Supplied
Nicknamed ‘The Horseshoe’, the stadium in Columbus is home to Ohio State Buckeyes and the Ohio State University Marching Band. Built on the campus of the University, was also used as the home ground of MLS side Columbus Crew until they moved into their own stadium in 1999.

5 KYLE FIELD — 102,733

545caaa1a1e593743bf7bd0370c1c82b

Kyle Field.Source: Supplied
Home to the Texas A & M Aggie college football team since 1904, in College Station, Texas.

Has a record attendance of 110,631 set in 2014. The capacity has since been reduced, however, an expansion is planned which will see the stadium capacity increased by approximately 12,000.

6 NEYLAND STADIUM — 102,455

9e0851f1f5b14c05f59f64d16f11b17c

Neyland Stadium.Source: Supplied
Named after former Tennessee Volunteers Head Coach Robert Neyland, the stadium in Knoxville was originally built in 1921 and has since undergone 16 expansion programs.

7 TIGER STADIUM — 102,321

0109082e1786905dafa94f440824f8fc

LSU’s Tiger Stadium.Source: Supplied
Known as Death Valley, the arena in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, is the home ground of Louisiana State University. In 1931, student dormitories were built into the stadium, before being phased out and turned into offices in the 1980s.

8 BRYANT-DENNY STADIUM — 101,821

1b133fd0a20204e15f59249dfc75626e

Roll Tide ...Source: Supplied
Located in Tuscaloosa, Alabama and home to the University of Alabama college team.

Named after school president George Denny, until long-serving coach Paul Bryant had his name added in 1975.

9 DARRELL K ROYAL TEXAS MEMORIAL STADIUM — 100,119

2f6f660dccc0aad61eb884196e6dcae1

Darrell K Royal Texas Memorial Stadium.Source: Supplied
Built in 1924 to house the University of Texas college ball team in Austin, the are plans in place to increase the size of the arena in the next ten years to become the biggest in the US, although no official capacity has been submitted.

10 MELBOURNE CRICKET GROUND — 100,024

4ddfc7638f95f2db4e313f3f5869988e

The MCG.Source: Supplied
Currently the biggest cricket stadium in the world, has also hosted the 1956 Olympics, 2006 Commonwealth Games and two Cricket World Cups.

11 NOU CAMP — 99,354

e2dfbd91cbf0d7c937830f0045ca2ffe

Camp Nou,Source: Supplied
Home ground of Barcelona since it was built in 1957, has also staged two Champions League finals and a World Cup semi-final in 1982.

12 SOCCER CITY — 94,736

38b1dfdbcc75743a5595c40a42ae5f5f

Soccer City.Source: Supplied
Home stadium of South African side Kaizer Chiefs and the country’s national team, was used as the venue for the 2010 World Cup final.

13 LOS ANGELES MEMORIAL COLISEUM — 93,607

fdd59dc2bc0c249788a501077c375d9e

USC's Trojan Football team fans fill the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum to capacity.Source: Getty Images
Currently home stadium for the University of Southern California and the NFL LA Rams franchise, has twice hosted the Olympics in 1932 and 1984.

14 SANFORD STADIUM — 92,746

9790a05a9e2916a5683409c062ec23a3

Sanford Stadium.Source: Supplied
University of Georgia home stadium in Athens, Georgia that incorporates privet hedges in the design of the stadium and in the end zones.

15 ROSE BOWL — 92,542

d2d5152e319cc5f01d688ca96fef58d3

The Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California.Source: Supplied
Staged the 1994 World Cup final and now hosts home matches for UCLA.

Pasadena Rose Bowl

16 COTTON BOWL — 92,100

76778e17c46bb7af302a2a5a2d387612

The Cotton Bowl.Source: Supplied

Built on the site of the Texas State Fair in Dallas, formerly the home ground of the Dallas Cowboys.

17 WEMBLEY STADIUM — 90,000

327d6748beb3768137ce075d7672316c

Wembley Stadium,Source: Supplied
Rebuilt in 2007, is now the home stadium for the England national team and also hosts pop concerts and boxing matches.

18 BEN HILL GRIFFIN STADIUM — 88,548

0175416dd81336f60deeacafb2ce5c29

The Swamp.Source: Supplied
Known as The Swamp, the stadium in Gainesville, Florida, is home to the Florida Gators college team.

19 GELORA BUNG KARNO STADIUM — 88,306

e02c07b9f03f4155bb61def81fc3f1a5

Gelora Bung Stadium.Source: Supplied
A multipurpose venue build in Jakarta, Indonesia, is the home ground of the Indonesian national team.

20 JORDAN-HARE STADIUM — 87,451

4c5d440b2ae9581c6d983c6270316bff

Jordan-Hare Stadium in Alabama.Source: Supplied
Auburn University’s home stadium in Alabama, was built in 1939.

• Banned
pretty interesting looking at the designs of the 100k plus stadiums, looking at the lack seats that have any actual cover from the elements of the weather

Amazing the crowds they get to College football in the US.

Also amazing how big you can make your stadium when you don't have that pesky overhead of player salaries. I believe the MCG is the first stadium in that list that actually has a professional tenant.

Soccer city's home team - the Kaizer Chiefs - averaged 8400 (eighty four hundred) to their home games last year. Talk about a white elephant legacy from the World Cup. Heaps of those grounds now only host crowds of a tiny fraction of their capacity.

There is something about the pure roundness of the MCG and the stature of having the 4 tiers that just makes it stand out in that list to me.
That said, having come across the rose bowl just walking around in Pasadena one day and then doing a tour found it to be a beautiful stadium and a real beautiful nod to the architecture of that era

Those college stadiums, The Rose Bowl, and Nou Camp scream to me one thing: scary.

I had a mate go to a Barcelona game maybe five years ago. He was on the last or second last row and said you could barely see the ball – it was like it was moving as fast as a tennis shot and hovering, and he was too scared to look behind him. I used to get the wobbles sitting high up in the newest stand at the 'G.

So out of that lot, the MCG and the New Wembley are by far built to a superior standard than the rest.
One wonders what the MCG could hold if it had narrower bucket or bench seating and row depths a short as the College Football stadiums within the same envelope.
Biggest crowd @ the G? 1970 GF 121696 - standing room only at the City end

Those college stadiums, The Rose Bowl, and Nou Camp scream to me one thing: scary.

I had a mate go to a Barcelona game maybe five years ago. He was on the last or second last row and said you could barely see the ball – it was like it was moving as fast as a tennis shot and hovering, and he was too scared to look behind him. I used to get the wobbles sitting high up in the newest stand at the 'G.

When i was a kid, the top tier at the G scared the crap out of me whenever i stood up. I just remember it being so steep.

I remember going to a final in 2003 there, obviously the old ground, and holy s**t the Olympic Stand or whatever it's called back then was scary. I don't know if I just made this up but I reckon I remember there was just a fence up the top of it...

Yeah I was at the 1981 semi Pies V Roys and was on the top tier of the members side and remember when my lifted me over his head (was only 11) when we got in front in the last - F&$% it's high up there!

My first game was in 1977 against Collingwood,Hafeys first game against his old club,Pies fans had rabies that day,baying for Richmond blood,playing their grand final with a Tiger legend as their coach.
Sitting in the aisles,top of the Northern,crowd was huuuge.

We got smashed.

The distinct memory I have of that game was the ranga Tiger fan holding a steel bucket and pitchfork lol.
Never get that into the ground these days.

The sport was religion back then ,not organised crime like it is today.

Wembley, have to say is by far the best stadium in the world, everything is just top notch, and a history like no other fully embraced by the whole nation.

The new Wembley is not something i'd consider embraced by the whole nation. There are a lot of football fans over there that see it as a soulless stadium.

The old wembley was known for rivers of urine running down the stairwells

The one game I attended at Maracana (n the eighties) it was packed out but the prime front rows of the tier below to the top tier were all empty in the outer.

Went over to have a look and they were under the dripline from the top tier. steady curtain of drips the whole way round the ground

Clear sunny day not a cloud in the sky eeeeuuuuwwww!

Those college stadiums are a much different beast to the pro stadiums around the world.

Michigan stadium has 40cm - 45cm "seat" widths.

No one at a major pro sports stadium, whether its the MCG, Emirates in London, Adelaide, the new Perth, sees this

Penn State:

5612ba331b9f5.image.jpg

according to my calcs, the diameter of a circle covering 22,555 msq is 170m =the Korean stadium. The MCG is quoted at 169m length and 146m width avreage 157m average so the korean surface is 8% bigger.

Waverley is quoted as 201m long and 158m wide average 179m. No flooding in AFL back then!. but waverelt was probably the buggest surface other than the one which will be used in Beiging