The 2015 SANFL Crows thread.

I had a friend who went to get some Viagra from the chemist. The chemist said "do you have a prescription"?

And my mate said " no but here's a picture of my wife"

In that case he may need to take 3 tablets for it to take effect. I know someone who did that once because they didn't think one would be enough. But I have said too much.

Congrats to Merry for the Best on Ground medal (whatever they call it). 44 possessions I think it was, which is ridiculous for a Grand Final.
To waste time while in scoreboard control, they played alot of kick and catch amongst themselves in defense.

Porp looked great. Was moving well, pretty much the ball never made it past him when he was in the area. Interesting to see him off half back. It's one role that we never tried him in (he did great as a medium forward and even played some very good footy through the midfield, but never back).

He'd go back as a loose man, when required, if we were getting beat.

I like the idea.

Do you think the SANFL clubs would whinge that their players were being taken as top up players?

I think knowing that by the age of 21 they would have full access (if not drafted) then it would be ok. SANFL clubs are use to having restricted access to 17 year old's already thanks to U18 carnivals. Not many 18/19 year old's that don't get drafted have a real impact at SANFL level immediately anyway.

Why would they have full access by 21?

Why wouldn't Jono Beech for instance play with Port/Crows reserves to try to get drafted?

Why would they have full access by 21?

Why wouldn't Jono Beech for instance play with Port/Crows reserves to try to get drafted?

Because top up players are Under 20 under what I was saying. Taking, or messing with, mature age players will destroy even further the State Leagues and aren't doing much for the player when they are at the mercy of how many injured players are on the AFL list.

The purpose of the AFL Reserves sides are purely to develop AFL players and play a game plan to assist their league side being the best they can be. A nation wide "Futures League" would then also assist those players who miss out on the draft to be in "the system" and be assisted with AFL programs to get a good start in football and life outside football in those first couple of years after finishing school.

I personally think this would be a win for everyone. Need to keep the State League's strong.

Time to leave the SANFL in the lurch, see how they go without the $1 MILLION (I Think) that both clubs pay each year. I love the Norwood FC as much as I do the Crows but to only play 14 players is a disgrace (if more players are available).

Time to join the VFL - it would be awesome to play curtain raisers at Adelaide Oval before a AFL game, will be great to see the younger players in action
Norwood lack ambition.

They should join the national reserves league, become like Williamstown and Port Melbourne.

Because top up players are Under 20 under what I was saying. Taking, or messing with, mature age players will destroy even further the State Leagues and aren't doing much for the player when they are at the mercy of how many injured players are on the AFL list.
Top up players are under 20 under the current agreement with the AFL clubs so that they can participate in the SANFL.

That's out the door if they play in the VFL. So is the one mature age player thing. Porplyzia this year for instance could have played with Adelaide instead.

He wouldn't have known that at the time of choosing though would he

Maybe not but Jason is a very loyal and dedicated West Adelaide man. He won an under 17's premiership with West Adelaide and when he got sent back the first time from the Crows,it was his next season at West that got him redrafted/rookied. He always been very comfortable and settled at the club.
West is truly ingrained in Jason,helps coach our junior development squads.
The Crows already had Callinan as it's veteran signing so I'm not sure the rules allowed for it anyway.
Why would he want to be a top up player at the Crows reserves which is essentially a development squad.
Jason had his shot at the AFL and decided to come back to the club where he first started.
IMO he was always coming back to West, it was a pretty good decision on his behalf.

The rulesabout one veteran cease to exist if "No AFL in the SANFL" gets its way.

I'm sure the Crows would think that their list would develop better if our listed players were surrounded by Porps, J-Pod, Martin, Callinan and co rather than the top up players under the existing rules.

Norwood lack ambition.

They should join the national reserves league, become like Williamstown and Port Melbourne.

One thing I noticed with the NRL is the state league teams Final yesterday. I quite like that concept and think it must replicate our old Champions of Australia title.

I wonder if we could have the SANFL/WAFL/VFL and NEAFL premierships finish earlier and then have a semi final the AFL Prelim week between the four best state league teams, with a Grand Final played Grand Final day at the G.

Would be something good to watch in the arvo with beers if the AFL Grand Final becomes a night game.

The rulesabout one veteran cease to exist if "No AFL in the SANFL" gets its way.

I'm sure the Crows would think that their list would develop better if our listed players were surrounded by Porps, J-Pod, Martin, Callinan and co rather than the top up players under the existing rules.

The rule about one veteran is likely to go, as from now. The Crows would certainly like to surround their list with a host of experienced players, but that would signal the end of the SANFL, as that side would be close to unbeatable.

It also shows a one-eyed vision of the SA football structure, which relies on a balance between all parties.

Finally, Porplyzia works for West Adelaide and has been fantastic, along with Schmidt. There's no way you can arbitrarily decide Porps should be playing as a top-up player, just to suit the Crows. New baby, loves and works at Westies.

Premiers 2015.

Now for Crows 2016.

I personally think the set up was about right this year.

Winning an SANFL flag is not that important to us. The importance for us is in having our young draftees develop. This has worked well for us this year.

Could not care less about playing and winning SANFL Finals. Apart from the extra games our kids could play. To stack this side with older guys that have no part in our AFL team is a waste of resources. Keeping a guy like Pods as a playing coach is enough.

Sent from my HTC_0P6B6 using Tapatalk

We shouldn't have the goal purely to make the finals but if the lads were lucky enough to make it we would go all out to win ??

Having said all that, if Sturt played them in a final I wouldn't be barracking for VB and the boys.

Biggest reason we'd want to make the finals is so we've still got guys playing at the same time we're possibly playing the finals. Hurt a bit having the team finish for the season as our AFL team was still playing as those guys weren't still putting up performances to potentially put their hand up for selection over other guys that were struggling.