The 2nd "What are you reading now" thread

Discussion in 'BigFooty Book Club' started by Heisenberg_, Nov 11, 2008.

  1. bradrowe#32

    bradrowe#32 Brownlow Medallist

    Collingwood
    Other teams:
    Rochester FC, Waroona FC, Pacers
    Oct 5, 2004
    13,884
    Perth
    "Elizabeth Costello" by Coetzee. I don't mind Coetzee, but this was horseshit. And it won a Booker. FMD.
     

    (Log in to remove this ad.)

  2. mojito

    mojito misfortune comes in threes...

    Adelaide
    Other teams:
    Adel. Utd, Manc. Utd, Molde FK
    Feb 21, 2010
    5,127
    Adelaide
    Decided to start reading the Smiley series by Le Carre.
     
  3. Magpies B2B

    Magpies B2B Senior List

    Collingwood
    Other teams:
    Seattle Seahawks
    Apr 19, 2011
    237
    Melbourne
    Currently reading 'The Mammoth Book of Muhammad Ali'. I've always wanted to read a book of Ali and this seems to be the book that I was always after just saw it at the Collins in Puckle St.
    Also I have just bought for my Kindle, Churchill:The Unexpected Hero and Ghosts of Manila.
     
  4. Cthublhu

    Cthublhu Suspended

    Carlton
    Aug 9, 2007
    2,136
    Placid Island of Ignorance
    "The Name of the Wind" by Patrick Rothfuss. It's the first in a new-ish fantasy trilogy. Fans of GRRM or Robert Jordan would like it.

    Just finished Paul Kearney's latest: "King's of the Morning", sequel to "The Ten Thousand" and "Corvus". It's David Gemmell type fantasy heavily based on Ancient Greece. TTT is just Xenephon with the serial numbers filed off, and Corvus is a fairly obvious Alexander the Great analog. Fun reads!
     
  5. mojito

    mojito misfortune comes in threes...

    Adelaide
    Other teams:
    Adel. Utd, Manc. Utd, Molde FK
    Feb 21, 2010
    5,127
    Adelaide
    [​IMG]

    Basically it's a series of letters from a former SS and Gestapo officer to his brother-in-law, exploring and attempting to justify his past actions. Bit long winded in parts, but it's an interesting read
     
  6. blues4flag

    blues4flag Brownlow Medallist

    Carlton
    Jul 1, 2004
    21,357
    Melbourne
    Brilliant. Different to either of those books though as it's a much more focused story, with only one POV. Aside from the obvious 1st person style similarities, it'd probably be closer Hobb's Farseer trilogy, though not quite as emotionally harrowing. The romantic aspects are fairly similar.

    Second book is a bit of a let down. Loses itself but sort of works its way back together towards the end.
     
  7. Cursed_Cat

    Cursed_Cat Norm Smith Medallist

    Geelong
    Sep 15, 2005
    8,055
    Melbourne
    "Here, There and Everywhere - my life recording the music of the Beatles" by Geoff Emerick and Howard Massey.

    bit dry, some of the technical stuff is interesting but I've read a lot of it before in other publications ... Emerick comes across as a bit of a bore, and is on pretty good terms with himself too ..
    I also find his manlove for MacCartney a bit cloying ..
     
  8. Belnakor

    Belnakor Brownlow Medallist

    Fremantle
    Apr 10, 2005
    16,296
    Perth
    Nothing in fantasy holds a candle to the far seer trilogy in emotional stakes, nit even her own books post that.

    Will check out this new series sounds promising
     
  9. DREAM TEAM BUFF

    DREAM TEAM BUFF Moderator

    Adelaide
    Other teams:
    MUFC & HRT
    Feb 9, 2011
    22,117
    Western Australia
    Just started The Grapes of Wrath.
     
  10. Cthublhu

    Cthublhu Suspended

    Carlton
    Aug 9, 2007
    2,136
    Placid Island of Ignorance
    I hope not, I couldn't stand those things. I liked Hobb much better when she was Megan Lindholm.
     
  11. sydney eagle

    sydney eagle Norm Smith Medallist

    West Coast
    Other teams:
    South Sydney Rabbitohs
    Jan 11, 2006
    5,571
    Sydney, Australia
    Just finished "The Pirate Wars" by Peter Earle. What to read next ? Back to my favorite stamping grounds of SF/Fantasy/Pulp i'm thinking.
     

    (Log in to remove this ad.)

  12. bradrowe#32

    bradrowe#32 Brownlow Medallist

    Collingwood
    Other teams:
    Rochester FC, Waroona FC, Pacers
    Oct 5, 2004
    13,884
    Perth
    "Titus Alone" - Mervyn Peake.
     
  13. Dagless

    Dagless Hall of Famer

    West Coast
    Other teams:
    NYGiants
    Jan 26, 2007
    34,082
    Not Scotland
    Choice.
     
  14. Dixie Flatline

    Dixie Flatline Moderator

    Hawthorn
    Other teams:
    Cartagena C.F., NYJ, A's
    Jun 3, 2005
    21,186
    Wherever I pitch a tent
    Just finished Edgar Rice Burroughs' The Princess of Mars and George Orwell's Animal Farm in quick succession, after finding them for free on Project Gutenberg (Edgar Rice Burroughs) and Project Gutenberg Australia (Animal Farm).

    Now in to The Gods of Mars.

    God bless the kindle.
     
  15. placebo

    placebo Norm Smith Medallist

    West Coast
    May 27, 2007
    6,899
    Perth
    [​IMG]

    An excellent writer. Fourth book of his I've read and currently loving it.

    Prose is orgasmically good. Beautiful, sad and funny. :thumbsu:
     
  16. Dagless

    Dagless Hall of Famer

    West Coast
    Other teams:
    NYGiants
    Jan 26, 2007
    34,082
    Not Scotland
    Blood Meridian (And uni starting) has taken me a month and 4 days to get through only 250 pages :p

    He sure makes you work for it.
     
  17. Dixie Flatline

    Dixie Flatline Moderator

    Hawthorn
    Other teams:
    Cartagena C.F., NYJ, A's
    Jun 3, 2005
    21,186
    Wherever I pitch a tent
    Finished The Goddess of Mars and now onto the Warlord of Mars. Very easy to read, the ERB books.
     
  18. Cursed_Cat

    Cursed_Cat Norm Smith Medallist

    Geelong
    Sep 15, 2005
    8,055
    Melbourne
    Blood Meridian was a weird, hazy nightmare, loved it though I won't pretend to have completely comprehended it.

    Might give Suttre a try on your recommendation, Placebo; I've read three of Cormac McCarthy's books and thoroughly enjoyed them all ...
     
  19. sydney eagle

    sydney eagle Norm Smith Medallist

    West Coast
    Other teams:
    South Sydney Rabbitohs
    Jan 11, 2006
    5,571
    Sydney, Australia
    I read somewhere that the Coen brothers were talking about filming "Blood Meridian". If it can be done at all I would think that Joel and Ethan Coen would be the ones to do it !
     
  20. Cursed_Cat

    Cursed_Cat Norm Smith Medallist

    Geelong
    Sep 15, 2005
    8,055
    Melbourne
    that would be amazing - but I doubt it will happen.

    there is already a film of Blood Meridian 'in development'

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0983189/
     
  21. placebo

    placebo Norm Smith Medallist

    West Coast
    May 27, 2007
    6,899
    Perth
    I'm just about finished. Personally my favourite McCarthy yet.

    A word of warning - It is pretty much plotless so if a lack of narrative story throws you off it might not be for you, but his writing is utterly impeccable in it.
     
  22. grizzlym

    grizzlym Premium Platinum

    Hawthorn
    Other teams:
    ┼Źllamaliztli
    Sep 23, 2008
    80,145
    Witness Protection
    Just about finished the latest Murakami - 1Q84. Really love his writing; finds the unexpected in everything.
     
  23. Cursed_Cat

    Cursed_Cat Norm Smith Medallist

    Geelong
    Sep 15, 2005
    8,055
    Melbourne
    thanks - wow that is high praise, Blood Meridian was amazing, I would be hard pressed to find many other books that impressed me as much - the Road and No Country For Old Men are the other two McCarthy books I have read, both excellent.
     
  24. mojito

    mojito misfortune comes in threes...

    Adelaide
    Other teams:
    Adel. Utd, Manc. Utd, Molde FK
    Feb 21, 2010
    5,127
    Adelaide
    Gone for something a bit easier for my next one, little less involved

    [​IMG]
     
  25. Cursed_Cat

    Cursed_Cat Norm Smith Medallist

    Geelong
    Sep 15, 2005
    8,055
    Melbourne
    I'm nearly halfway through 'Moneyball' - I have no real interest in baseball, but the author has a nice breezy way of writing which makes what could be a very dry topic very interesting and engaging.
     

Share This Page

Loading...