The 90s thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Plugger35

R-249914-1426151161-4083.jpeg.jpg

This is the sort of song you'd chuck on if you knew you were going to die when you went to sleep that night. There's something I can't put into words about this song and tracks like Dinninit. Eyes glazed over, willing yourself not to crack a beer sort of song.

The other day Damien Lovelock died. I used to love watching The World Game as a kid – again, the 2000s. It was about seven hours of discussion and highlights. I used to love when this crazy looking bloke and his dog Rocket would come on. This is a nice article about his life and isn't fawning or sycophantic, just let's the anecdotes tell the story: https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-08-03/celibate-rifles-frontman-damien-lovelock-dead/11373500. Point is you were talking about watching AFL Squadron (what was that?) on a weekend morning. Well I wish I could spend a sunny afternoon with a banh mi and Gatorade then having a Coopers-hair-of-the-dog while watching this bloke talk about life and football.

I also reckon football, the round ball, in Australia would have been wild then. Guys like Mark Viduka taking the piss as super-talented 17-year olds, but also the generation of players who were mechanics and pizza chefs who, these days, would have 50 caps for Australia and be playing in the lower ends of the Dutch and Danish leagues.

Mental wogs punching the s**t out of each other... couldn't imagine how good the souvlakis and koftas would've been.

Meanwhile if you actually went to Europe or the UK, I hear these stories about blokes returning in 1992 and talking about ecstasy and all the cool clothes and clubs and chicks over there. You could imagine being down the local and you recognise a face you haven't seen for six months would have been a trip. These days you're considered private if you put up a photo a week from a cushy trip to the continent.

Soccer died in the 90s in Oz due to as you say, mental wogs.

Quite a few of the pubs I saw live bands at in the 90s have gone or turned into family friendly venues where there is no live bands anymore like The Shents, The Floreat, The Swanbourne and The Herdies. The Wembley Hotel is one of the few old pubs from that area that has survived but that was never a proper live music venue so didn't have the noise issues or the bogan/bikies types that some of those other pubs attracted and was the reason they got shut down.

The club scene in Perth wasn't that great back then from my experience, most of the clubs in Northbridge were sh*t, the only club I liked going to was the Hip-E Club in Leederville but that was different to most other clubs as they played 60s and 70s rock rather than dance music and drinks were at pub prices.
It seems like Perth just didn't have much of a drug culture, which probably comes before the music culture, and that was really reserved for Melbourne.

So by default it seems like pubs were the big thing, not clubs. Pubs in Perth are still different. There's big open windows and winter is seen as a hindrance. You go to Mewbs and a pub's best with the rain trickling down the windows, fireplace on. Here it's all about washing the salt out your mouth with a pint.

Kids don't go to a pub because a band they like always gigs there – and it seems certain pubs are attached to certain bands. Now people go to Mojos because they think it's cool, and so by default any band that gets on the lineup there is cool, and if you play there then you're cool. You track it back and it's really... not that cool. Freo has music venues where you need an eTicket and the beers are all crafties and that's all you can get.

Soccer died in the 90s in Oz due to as you say, mental wogs.
The blokes flogging some other bloke because some bloodthirsty terrorist wanted to scalp and rape some of your people – and then those pricks from the other side doing the same – well their kids, actually out on the pitch, were the greatest asset the game ever had. That's who got the country to a World Cup again. Viduka, Schwarzer, Aloisi, Zelic, Grella, Bresciano, Skoko, Culina...

All the strong Italian, Macedonian, Greek, Cypriot, Croat, Portuguese clubs all died out or are now run by Anglos and Lebanese. The 'issue' is those groups all integrated too well. They didn't need to have a club to sit around, eat their food, and speak their language while the men pumped up balls and wore Kappa while setting up nets. They just became bog-standard 'Australians.'

It's a shame Soccer Australia were such little bitches to the public. South Melbourne, Melbourne Knights, Heidelberg Alexander, Sydney Hakoah, Sydney Croatia, Sydney Olympic, Marconi Stallions... if those clubs were all in the top league, they'd be in little grounds and full of character and the modern day 'how good is inclusiveness!!! you can't call em wogs, even affectionately!' outlook would mean they became unique selling points in Australian sport. And people – anglos, trendy young feminists – would think it's cool to go sit down Lakeside and have a Mythos.

lovely Sandra Sully give you an update on the days news
90's Sandra Sully was peak Sandra Sully

I miss the 90's channel 10 jingles

toni perren :heart:

The OJ Simpson trial:

- The initial news that he’d been charged.
- The slow speed chase
- The trial itself and the glove demonstration :eek:
- The not guilty verdict

TV:

- The Late Show
- Frontline
- The Panel
- The Simpsons (when it was actually funny/good)
- Full Frontal (Eric Bana as Ray Martin and Poida, Seven National Nightly Network News, The Netty Show, Shaun Micallef as Fabio)

AFL:

Memorable games:

- 1997 Preliminary Final :'(
- 1999 Preliminary Final
- 1994 Preliminary Final
- 1996 Preliminary Final

Carey, Ablett, Plugger and Dunstall.

The slow demise of the Victorian suburban grounds.

Fitzroy’s merger with Brisbane.

Melbourne and Hawthorn’s near merger.

Video Games:

Favourites:

- AFL footy on original Nintendo (Out of booooooounds....on the full)

- Rad Gravity in Original Nintendo

- Super Mario on Original Nintendo and Nintendo 64

- FIFA 98 on the PC with the indoor setting

- FIFA Road To World Cup 98 on the PC

- FIFA 94 on the Sega (running away from the referee when he’s trying to give you a card)

Other Sport:

- Australia vs Iran 1997 World Cup Qualifier. The first soccer game I ever attended, remember it well for all the wrong reasons :(

- Kieran Perkins at the 1996 Olympics

- Sydney winning the bid for the 2000 Olympics and everyone going nuts

1997 Semi final :'(

FWIW I was at your prelim- scored free tickets on the day. Was ******* gutted you didnt get through, Saints v Dogs GF would have been great.

I remember your semi final too - Leigh Colbert’s non mark!

At the time I was relieved that Geelong had lost coz we had lost 4-5 finals already in the 90’s and was petrified you’d beat us again, so was relieved to get the Crows.

Worked out well for me :(

I didn't know Damien Lovelock died, that's sad. My memories of SBS panel shows were Les Murray as host, then Tony Palumbo would appear and mumble through highlights of the Serie A (I can't say Perugia or Filippo Inzaghi in my head without hearing it in his voice) and Damien Lovelock had a segment called the 'Donald Rumsfeld ground to air missiles' of long range goals. All dead now.

I remember your semi final too - Leigh Colbert’s non mark!

At the time I was relieved that Geelong had lost coz we had lost 4-5 finals already in the 90’s and was petrified you’d beat us again, so was relieved to get the Crows.

Worked out well for me :(

Yeah im not gonna rage about it no more... i shall not get into about how we unfairly had to go to Adelaide and play there and the ****ed up finals system that enabled it... and the ****ing umpire who was blinder than Stevie Wonder and... no. I'm ok :)

Oh man speaking of finals. Geelong v Dogs 1994. Pretty bloody epic game too that one/sorry.

Yeah im not gonna rage about it no more... i shall not get into about how we unfairly had to go to Adelaide and play there and the f’ed up finals system that enabled it... and the ******* umpire who was blinder than Stevie Wonder and... no. I'm ok :)

Oh man speaking of finals. Geelong v Dogs 1994. Pretty bloody epic game too that one/sorry.

Yes, the Billy Brownless Final, that was also....memorable :( Hah

We were going nuts 30 seconds earlier when Osborne put us in front.

From one extreme to the other in 30 seconds.

Yes, the Billy Brownless Final, that was also....memorable :( Hah

We were going nuts 30 seconds earlier when Osborne put us in front.

From one extreme to the other in 30 seconds.

I was down the end which Osborne kicked that goal! Maybe 10 or so rows back, i had my heads in my hands, thought it was all over for sure. Next minute- pure ecstasy. Same kind of feeling for the prelim (didnt go the semi). Shame about the GF.

I didn't know Damien Lovelock died, that's sad. My memories of SBS panel shows were Les Murray as host, then Tony Palumbo would appear and mumble through highlights of the Serie A (I can't say Perugia or Filippo Inzaghi in my head without hearing it in his voice) and Damien Lovelock had a segment called the 'Donald Rumsfeld ground to air missiles' of long range goals. All dead now.
Gee I didn't know that, when did it happen, how? Loved him on the football shows.