The 90s thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Plugger35

Seeing as you are determined to bore everyone on politics everywhere on BF as a Labor fanboy what do you think of Rudd's alcopops tax?
It got the kiddos onto the proper hard stuff but it was as dumb as Rudd was. Don't peg me as a fan of that man.

Proper uni student drinkers would be buying Tun Bitter or going to Aldi. You can get 24 cans of Rivet Lager (4.6%) for $26.99. It's probably bland AF and gives you a horrible headache the next day but when you are 18 isn't that the idea? I have tried the 4.8% Sainte Etienne lager in bottles and as far as generic Euro lagers go it's fine. Tell someone who isn't a beer snob it's $50 from Dan Murphys and they wouldn't know any different.

Yeah, 330ml is the average stubbie these days. I think that's the European standard (330 glass bottles, 455-500ml cans) and CUB, the lovely folk they are, cottoned onto it and realised people will still buy it. At the same price.

Coopers persist with 355 or 375ml still but they're only 1.3 standards. It's all tax-mandated.

I mean I've always had them but it's piss easy to knock over a six pack in a month. Crack one when you're cutting up the carrots, another two by the time you've finished your shower, couple by the time tea's come and then there's one lonely sitting there so of course you'll drink it. It's basically two litres of beer which is four pints. Usually consumed over two or three hours and not half that.
It used to be a fair achievement to knock off a carton, even though I don't drink that much now I reckon I could do it pretty easily now starting at lunch time on a Saturday.

It's ludicrous taxation. Beers go up 50 cents a six pack every six months. Even in my short drinking career, I remember Coopers was about 15 for a six pack. It's still affordable and a good all around beer, a common fall back, but it's deinitely not $15. When I was in first year uni, we'd go across the road to grab our beers. We used to drink this European swill called Amstel which they don't sell her anymore – clear bottle, scorpion pull-ring cap. I don't think I ever paid more than 40 bucks for a carton and quite regularly got muck like Buttweiper for 35, 38 bucks.

The worst thing are these smart-arse beers that come out that aren't even a real beer type. 'Summer Ale,' 'Session Ale,' 'extra pale ale.' It's just a made up term. It's not like pale ale, IPA, pilsener, lager. These pricks put a fancy label on it but they're 4-4.4% alcohol and still nearly 60 dollars a carton. Or 20 a four pack! Get f’ed.

Just another tax that preys on the average a-hole.
The thing is wine almost seems cheaper than ever before and bottles of spirits it feels like they have only gone up as much as you would expect them to do at least. When they are always on about curbing binge drinking the lowest % of alcohol forms of drinks in beer and pre-mixes have gone up the most.
Bit of a tangent but if Rudd's stupid alcopops tax got kids consuming less sugar then it would have actually achieved some benefit.
Yeah it's far healthier to go buy a bottle of spirits and just drink that straight.

It used to be a fair achievement to knock off a carton, even though I don't drink that much now I reckon I could do it pretty easily now starting at lunch time on a Saturday.
Phwooooar I'd struggle.

That's 31 standard drinks, 8.5 litres of beer. Or 16 pints.

I've had some big days but even they capped off at... maybe 8 pints, three stubbies? And I was pissed enough that I'm surprised – and thankful – that the worst I did was accidentally throw an iPhone into the Yarra with some McDonalds wrappers. One night, a mate and I wanted to go out last minute. Went to this immaculately kept, scarily quiet IGA Liquour down in Southbank got a cheap carton o Coopers red which we got into between half-time and post-game of whoever was playing that night. Next morning we had one stubbie left. Probably my strongest effort.

I don't think I've been close to that level for years. Four pints then six stubbies from 3-10 gets me a bit too mumbly.

Any time I've ventured into a bottle shop mid week during the day it's always people grabbing the $3 bottles of wine to get hammered on, no one is hitting up a 6 pack of locally brewed craft beers. The stupid thing is, the governments wont do anything about the tax because the opposition (even if they agree with it) will jump on any figures that show an increase in sales even if it's only because of population increase.

We've brought all this on ourselves by having no personal responsibility.

Liz Hurley as a fembot...

BRB.
Prime Liz Hurley (late 90s/early 00s) is one of the hottest women ever. I remember watching the entirety of that stupid, unfunny Bedazzled movie when it was on TV once just because she was in it.

Jennifer Love Hewett for favourite 90s girl, though.

Prime Liz Hurley (late 90s/early 00s) is one of the hottest women ever. I remember watching the entirety of that stupid, unfunny Bedazzled movie when it was on TV once just because she was in it.

great nominations jobe.

JLH. wow.

I'm not a big drinker but I have been tempted to buy a carton and lunchtime and sit on the couch all day trying to finish it off by night time. Reckon I'd be a complete write off not long after the fist 6 pack.
David Boon dislikes this.

I'm not a big drinker but I have been tempted to buy a carton and lunchtime and sit on the couch all day trying to finish it off by night time. Reckon I'd be a complete write off not long after the fist 6 pack.

On a hot day I reckon I could polish off a lot of beers over a long period as long as they weren't too strong/heavy. In any other normal situation after half a dozen or so I'm already feeling merry and more than likely bloated and not wanting to drink 18 more beers.

Never drunk a carton of beer in one go, you'd need to be a serious alcoholic to do that, half a carton would be my max and even that's a few beers too many.

I can easily drink a bottle of spirits in one go though, providing it's over a number of hours and I'm not mixing it too strong.

It was hard to believe that Hugh Grant hooked up with a scummy LA prostitute when he was in a relationship with Liz Hurley.

One of the iconic images of the 90s.

hugh-grant.jpg

It was even harder to believe that Liz Hurley hooked up with Shane Warne, although she was past her best by then.

Bit of a tangent but if Rudd's stupid alcopops tax got kids consuming less sugar then it would have actually achieved some benefit.

Just forced kids into drinking bottles of spirits and drinking it straight or mixing it themselves in higher alcohol volumes which is far more dangerous.

I used to drink alcopops, like bourbon and cola cans, occasionally but after the alcopops tax came in I never bought them again, they almost doubled in price.

It was hard to believe that Hugh Grant hooked up with a scummy LA prostitute when he was in a relationship with Liz Hurley.

One of the iconic images of the 90s.

hugh-grant.jpg

Hahaha had not seen that photo or heard about that before. Jeez he looks so ashamed, meanwhile she only looks slightly annoyed at the inconvenience.

It's more famous for the Jay Leno "What the hell were you thinking? HA HA HAHAHAHAHA!" interview than anything. I don't recall this photo.

How? Seriously it was on TV heaps with the whole story just after, then magazines months after.

I moved to Perth in 1990 from Geelong and had my eyes opened by the amount hard drugs going around,in Geelong you'd get well messed up on beer and mull,in Perth they would add speed and heroin to the equation.
Big Day Out in 1993 was an epic line-up
Iggy Pop
Sonic Youth
Mudhoney
Beasts of Bourbon
Nick Cave
Cosmic Pyschos
You Am I
The ultimate guitar attack at South Freo oval.

I moved to Perth in 1990 from Geelong and had my eyes opened by the amount hard drugs going around,in Geelong you'd get well messed up on beer and mull,in Perth they would add speed and heroin to the equation.
Big Day Out in 1993 was an epic line-up
Iggy Pop
Sonic Youth
Mudhoney
Beasts of Bourbon
Nick Cave
Cosmic Pyschos
You Am I
The ultimate guitar attack at South Freo oval.
Yeah they held a few at Freo Oval, and some other festival where the lineup was Pavement, Beck, and Sonic Youth for 10 bucks. Now they have Falls there which is a pretty nice setting. I like when it's on. Lots of young folks coming in off the train all excited and quasi-pissed. Very vibey.

There was an infamous Big Day Out at Bassendean Oval in the 90s where Marilyn Manson and Courtney Love got booed or pelted with sh*t and walked off.

Fair enough for Marilyn but Courtney deserved more respect.

Hole produced one of the great albums of the 90s.

Live Through This.

Hole sounded a lot like Nirvana and there was speculation that Kurt had written those songs and Courtney killed him to steal them for her own band.

I don't buy that, Nirvana fans were upset that Kurt had died and Courtney was an easy target but Hole wrote their own songs with help from other people.

Their comeback single was written by Billy Corgan

Courtney didn't murder Billy because he handed over the rights to Malibu under the threat of being murdered like Kurt.

Oh god I've said too much...