The 90s thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Plugger35

Loads of existentialism movies in 1999. More specifically people confronting their workaday lives.

Office Space
The matrix
Existenz
Fight Club
American beauty
Bringing out the dead
Being John malkovich
Eyes wide shut

Def somewhere eastside.

There was a soccer shop in one of the arcades in the city (pretty sure the whole building is gone now) called Soccer Central. Bobby Despotovski bought it and called it Bobby 10 Football World. It closed years ago and I imagine was never successful given it was a small outlet selling stuff that you can mostly get at Rebel, Jim Kidd etc. It's not like Hockey Action which used to exist in East Vic Park where Welshpool Rd, Shepparton Rd and Albany Hwy all converge which catered to a niche market.
I went to Bobby 10 Football World to get my first ever proper, real strip. It was the 2004/2005 Arsenal away shirt; the blue one. My parents remarked what a boring, dull, angry campaigner he was. We went in and I was really excited and he didn't give a shit. He had a whole heap of these little stickers in the front display and didn't give me one despite me flicking through them – feel like a ten year old kid spending 150 bucks on an Arsenal shirt from his own wallet would inspire some grace and 'hey mate, have one.'

He was a nasty old prick.

Speaking of that campaigner, Kappa, and football, I regularly wear this to Glory games. My mate has the half-half purple and white.

1wfbiu7dz9smy1uajil914tq8w.png

Kappa and Fila also had a huge come back recently. Became popular with teenagers who wear trackies and white sneakers but also the trendy sort; they did a collab with Urban Outfitters. Both did.

I went to Bobby 10 Football World to get my first ever proper, real strip. It was the 2004/2005 Arsenal away shirt; the blue one. My parents remarked what a boring, dull, angry campaigner he was. We went in and I was really excited and he didn't give a s**t. He had a whole heap of these little stickers in the front display and didn't give me one despite me flicking through them – feel like a ten year old kid spending 150 bucks on an Arsenal shirt from his own wallet would inspire some grace and 'hey mate, have one.'

He was a nasty old prick.

Speaking of that campaigner, Kappa, and football, I regularly wear this to Glory games. My mate has the half-half purple and white.

1wfbiu7dz9smy1uajil914tq8w.png

Kappa and Fila also had a huge come back recently. Became popular with teenagers who wear trackies and white sneakers but also the trendy sort; they did a collab with Urban Outfitters. Both did.

where did you get that kit from? I'd love some Glory kappa gear, particularly this jacket

P0.jpg

Loads of existentialism movies in 1999. More specifically people confronting their workaday lives.
Office Space....The matrix....Existenz
Fight Club....American beauty....Bringing out the dead
Being John Malkovich….Eyes wide shut

Kubrick's Eyes Wide Shut is about the Illuminati.

Playing Command & Conquer Red Alert on dial up with mates until the early hours of the morning. Watching Carlton and Melbourne Knights dominate the AFL and NSL. Music wise cant go past Insomnia and God is a DJ from Faithless. It was an awsome time to be a teenager then turning 18 in 97 and going to various raves and night spots in Melbourne.

where did you get that kit from? I'd love some Glory kappa gear, particularly this jacket

P0.jpg
Classic Football Shirts. Have a look. They'll have some good Bayern strips on there and some Eastern Bloc ones as well – all authentic.

It was about 150 bucks which is a little expensive sounding but considering they sting you $130 for some X Blades or Macron shirt that's shiny and ugly, it's good value. They're getting increasingly rare though. Even the Sekem shirts from the last few seasons. If you see one, doesn't matter the cost, try and justify it and snag it.

I would love a classic Bernd Stanger Kappa trackie. Does anyone else remember that when he left Perth, a kid followed him to the airport and Bernd gave him the trackie he wore to every game?

Playing Command & Conquer Red Alert on dial up with mates until the early hours of the morning. Watching Carlton and Melbourne Knights dominate the AFL and NSL. Music wise cant go past Insomnia and God is a DJ from Faithless. It was an awsome time to be a teenager then turning 18 in 97 and going to various raves and night spots in Melbourne.
Being a Croat I'm guessing, did you go to the Iran game at the MCG?

Classic Football Shirts. Have a look. They'll have some good Bayern strips on there and some Eastern Bloc ones as well – all authentic.

It was about 150 bucks which is a little expensive sounding but considering they sting you $130 for some X Blades or Macron shirt that's shiny and ugly, it's good value. They're getting increasingly rare though. Even the Sekem shirts from the last few seasons. If you see one, doesn't matter the cost, try and justify it and snag it.

I would love a classic Bernd Stanger Kappa trackie. Does anyone else remember that when he left Perth, a kid followed him to the airport and Bernd gave him the trackie he wore to every game?

I love the 90s/early 00s kit designs where the shirts are oversized and the sleeves come almost past the elbows. Reckon I'll get a 95 Bayern kit.

I don't know how much this site charges for shipping but these Bosnia kits are cheaper than the ones I actually bought in Bosnia. Good recommendation cheers:thumbsu:

Living in Adelaide there were so many West Coast games I had to just sit by a radio to either listen to it or listen to a different game and wait for score updates.

It was very nerve wracking.

"Lets go around the grounds... Yeah the Eagles have kicked away here Mike but just as I say that Footscray have kicked 2 quick goals and its back to a 3 goal margin" etc

I was 10-14 pacing around my room just trying to picture Sumich marking or Matera running down the wing.

We take things for granted today.

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app

There was a Fri night game where we beat Brisbane Bears at the WACA by over 100 and we kicked like 29 goals but it was during the 1992 Olympics so it was never shown here in SA.

I was devo but happy but annoyed.

I woke up the Sat morning and my dad had written the score on a napkin for me [emoji1787][emoji1787]

We were never a high scoring team under Malthouse and I thought what are the odds [emoji23]

I remember games in Melbourne like Princes Park or Vic Park those old scoreboards with the scores from the other games.

A: Hawthorn vs. D. Melbourne
F: Carlton vs. K: Geelong

Etc.

The codes were in the little footy records

There was a Fri night game where we beat Brisbane Bears at the WACA by over 100 and we kicked like 29 goals but it was during the 1992 Olympics so it was never shown here in SA.

I was devo but happy but annoyed.

I woke up the Sat morning and my dad had written the score on a napkin for me [emoji1787][emoji1787]

We were never a high scoring team under Malthouse and I thought what are the odds [emoji23]

Early 2000's ( could have been 90's too) but I remember if the Saints weren't on TV it'd be Bruce saying at half time ' If you don't want to know the scores, look away now'.

You'd get about a minute of highlights - sometimes in the Pura Milk jumper! then scores come up with Hunters and Collectors ' Do You See What I See' playing in the background.

Early 2000's ( could have been 90's too) but I remember if the Saints weren't on TV it'd be Bruce saying at half time ' If you don't want to know the scores, look away now'.

You'd get about a minute of highlights - sometimes in the Pura Milk jumper! then scores come up with Hunters and Collectors ' Do You See What I See' playing in the background.
Haha yeah those weird songs and giant blue graphics.

And you knew who won from the highlights because the last highlight was the team that won.

You had to look away from the whole thing.

Sure did amazing atmosphere felt like s**t after the game. I still get a bad feeling in my gut thinking about it.

I went to that as well. Top deck GSS- easily the best atmosphere ive witnessed at the g, was nuts.

ppilmzi8goyx.jpg

That's the thing about football by G.Champion
Camping out for days for Grand Final tickets
Cheersquads chucking up newspaper and streamers after goals
Whole merger with Fitzroy and the AFL giving them the final punch in the guts- last game ever in Perth. campaigners.
Scoreboard on fire at the MCG
Blackout at Waverly
Lockouts at Optus Oval
McIntyre Final 8 System.

The world before the internet too, and computer labs at school only having a few computers with the internet.

Going to the library to research. Using Encyclopedia Britannica as well for obtaining information.

People actually using landline phones, too.